DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-2, 5-7, and 15-19 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. Claims 1, 15, and 18 are amended. Claims 3-4, 8-14, and 20 are cancelled.
Response to Amendments
The amendments to the claims filed on October 28, 2025 are acknowledged. The 112b rejection of Claim 4 has been withdrawn due the amendments to the claims. The objections to Claims 1 and 18 have been withdrawn due the amendments to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pgs 7-14, filed October 28, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-7, and 14-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and they are persuasive. Applicant has amended claims 1 and 18 to require a limitation that the previously applied prior art does not disclose: “wherein an area of the thermal conductive adhesive gradually increases along the direction from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member; wherein a gap between the supporting member and the housing member gradually decreases, and a thickness of the thermal conductive adhesive correspondingly decreases.” Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art references in combination with previously applied prior art.
The following is a modified rejection based on amendments made to the claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 17-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1, ln 27, “a thermal conductive adhesive is filled” should read “the thermal conductive adhesive is filled”
In Claim 17, ln 3, “form” should read “from”
In Claim 18, ln 28-29, “a thermal conductive adhesive is filled” should read “the thermal conductive adhesive is filled”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 16 recites the limitation “wherein a through-hole penetrating the supporting member is provided in the supporting member, a depth direction of the through-hole is an extending direction of the supporting member; and the groove in a shape of a screw thread is provided in a peripheral wall of the supporting member, the heating main body twines in the groove, one of the two pins of the heating coil is connected to an end of the heating main body and extends into the through-hole and out of the supporting member; and another one of the two pins of the heating coil is connected to another end of the heating main body, and also extends out of the supporting member” on ln 1-5. However, Claim 1 has been amended such that “the groove comprises a first groove, a second groove and a third groove, the second groove is connected to an end of the first groove, and the third groove is connected to another end of the first groove; wherein the first groove is arranged in the top of the supporting member, either of the second groove and the third groove twines from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member, respectively, and the second groove and the third groove are disposed at an interval; wherein the heating main body comprises a first heating section, a second heating section and a third heating section, the second heating section is connected to an end of the first heating section, the third heating section is connected to another end of the first heating section; and wherein the first heating section is disposed inside the first groove, the second heating section is disposed inside the second groove, and the third heating section is disposed inside the third groove”. If the pins are connected to the second heating section and the third heating section of the heating main body, it is physically unclear how either of the pins is capable of extending into an axial through-hole of the supporting member because the pins would be located on an exterior surface of the supporting member near the bottom of the supporting member. Additionally, the figures of the instant specification do not provide an example configuration of the supporting member having both: a through-hole for a pin; and a first, second, and third groove for sections of the heating main body. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 14-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo (CN 210611028 U, cited on the IDS dated 12/5/2021, English Translation) in view of Deng (CN 2363452 Y, cited on the IDS dated 12/5/2021, English Translation), Zhao (CN 110839965 A, English Translation), Xiang-021 (US 2017/0224021 A1), Xiang-488 (CN 106102488 B, English Translation), Moloney (US 2022/0408823 A1), Aoun (US 2019/0230988 A1), and Auber (US 2005/0063689 A1), as evidenced by Choi (US 2014/0146524 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Luo, directed to heating devices ([0002]), teaches a heating module ([0034], Figs. 1-3; Heating element 10 (heating module) is used in an electric heating smoke extraction device), comprising:
a heating assembly comprising a supporting member and a heating coil, wherein at least part of the heating coil is arranged on the supporting member ([0034]-[0036], Figs. 1-3; Heating element 10 (heating module) comprises base 1 (supporting member) and heating wire 2 (heating coil) which is coiled around (arranged on) base 1. Base 1 and heating wire 2 for a heating assembly)); and
a housing member disposed around an outer peripheral side of the heating assembly ([0034]-[0036], Figs. 1-3; Heating element 10 (heating module) comprises shell 3 (housing member) disposed around an outer peripheral side of base 1 and wire 2 (heating assembly));
wherein the heating coil comprises a heating main body ([0039], Figs. 2-3; Heating wire 2 (coil) comprises spiral section 21 (heating main body) wound on the outer wall of the substrate 1 configured to generate heat),
wherein the heating module further comprises a thermal conductive coating, and the thermal conductive coating is positioned in a gap between the heating assembly and the housing member, wherein the thermal conductive coating is disposed between the heating assembly and the housing member ([0038], Figs. 1-3; Shell 3 (housing member) can also be made of a metal material with good thermal conductivity. An insulating coating, such as a ceramic coating, needs to be applied to the inner surface of the housing 3 to achieve insulation between the housing 3 and the heating wire 2 (heating assembly); Ceramic materials are known to be thermally conductive; see instant specification, [0015]);
wherein the heating assembly is positioned in the housing member ([0034]-[0036], Figs. 1-3; Base 1 and wire 2 (heating assembly) is positioned in the shell 3 (housing member));
wherein the heating coil further comprises pins, the pins are connected to the heating main body ([0039], Figs. 2-3; Heating wire 2 (coil) comprises first electrical connection end 23 and second electrical connection end 24 (pins) connected to spiral section 21 (heating main body),
wherein the supporting member comprises an insulated metal ([0036], Figs. 1-3; The substrate 1 can be made of a metal material. In this case, an insulating and high-temperature resistant coating needs to be applied to the outer wall of the substrate 1 to achieve insulation between the substrate 1 and the heating wire 2),
but does not teach the heating module i) wherein a groove is arranged in an external surface of the supporting member, and the heating main body twines inside the groove, wherein a shape of the groove matches a shape of the heating coil, and the groove fits the heating coil, which increases a contacting area between the heating coil and the supporting member, at least one groove for winding the heating coil is formed on an outer surface of the supporting member, and the heating coil is uniformly wound within the groove; ii) wherein the thermal conductive coating is a thermal conductive adhesive, and the thermal conductive adhesive is selected from ceramic inorganic adhesives or inorganic adhesives of glass enamel, wherein the thermal conductive adhesive fills a gap between the heating assembly and the housing member, a thermal conductive adhesive is filled between the heating assembly and the housing member; iii) wherein the heating coil further comprises a conductive layer, and the conductive layer covers an outer periphery of the pins; a resistivity of the conductive layer is lower than a resistivity of the pins, a material of the conductive layer is selected from one or a combination of at least two of silver, copper, and gold; iv) wherein a material of the pins is different from a material of the heating main body, and the resistivity of the pins is lower than a resistivity of the heating coil; v) wherein the supporting member comprises a metal body with a thermal conductivity not less than 80 W/m-K and a metal oxide insulating layer provided on a surface of the metal body; vi) wherein an area of the supporting member gradually increases along a direction from a top of the supporting member to a bottom of the supporting member; and an area of the thermal conductive adhesive gradually increases along the direction from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member; wherein a gap between the supporting member and the housing member gradually decreases, and a thickness of the thermal conductive adhesive correspondingly decreases; and vii) wherein the groove comprises a first groove, a second groove and a third groove, the second groove is connected to an end of the first groove, and the third groove is connected to another end of the first groove; wherein the first groove is arranged in the top of the supporting member, either of the second groove and the third groove twines from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member, respectively, and the second groove and the third groove are disposed at an interval; wherein the heating main body comprises a first heating section, a second heating section and a third heating section, the second heating section is connected to an end of the first heating section, the third heating section is connected to another end of the first heating section; and wherein the first heating section is disposed inside the first groove, the second heating section is disposed inside the second groove, and the third heating section is disposed inside the third groove.
With respect to i), Deng, directed to heating devices ([0001]), teaches a heating module ([0001], [0006] [0009], Fig. 1 shows a tubular electric heater), comprising:
a heating assembly comprising a supporting member and a heating coil ([0009]-[0011], Fig. 1; The tubular electric heater of Fig. 1 comprises heating resistance wire 1 and insulating rod 3, which supports wire 1. Heating resistance wire 1 is wound around insulating rod 3 to form a coil. Wire 1 (heating coil) and rod 3 (supporting member) for a heating assembly),
wherein at least part of the heating coil is arranged on the supporting member ([0009]-[0011], Fig. 1; Heating resistance wire 1 (heating coil) is arranged on insulating rod 3 (supporting member)); and
a housing member disposed around an outer peripheral side of the heating assembly ([0009], Fig. 1; Insulating tube 2 is a housing member is disposed around an outer peripheral side of heating resistance wire 1 and insulating rod 3 (heating assembly));
wherein a groove is arranged in an external surface of the supporting member ([0009]-[0011], Fig. 1; Insulating rod 3 (supporting member) is provided with a spiral groove arranged in its external surface),
the heating coil comprises a heating main body ([0009]-[0011], Fig. 1; The portion of heating resistance wire 1 (heating coil) which contacts insulating rod 3 (supporting member) is the heating main body), and
the heating main body twines inside the groove ([0009]-[0011], Fig. 1; The portion of heating resistance wire 1 which contacts insulating rod 3 (heating main body) twines inside the spiral groove provided on insulating rod 3 (supporting member)), and
wherein a shape of the groove matches a shape of the heating coil, and the groove fits the heating coil, which increases a contacting area between the heating coil and the supporting member ([0009]-[0011], Fig. 1 shows that a shape of the groove provided on insulating rod 3 (supporting member) matches the shape of heating resistance wire 1 (heating coil), and that the groove fits wire 1. The limitation “which increases a contacting area between the heating coil and the supporting member” is a latent property of the limitation “wherein a shape of the groove matches a shape of the heating coil, and the groove fits the heating coil”. Because the heating module taught by Deng teaches the limitation “wherein a shape of the groove matches a shape of the heating coil, and the groove fits the heating coil”, the configuration of Deng would necessarily “[increase] a contacting area between the heating coil and the supporting member”),
at least one groove for winding the heating coil is formed on an outer surface of the supporting member, and the heating coil is uniformly wound within the groove ([0009]-[0011], Fig. 1; Insulating rod 3 (supporting member) is provided with a spiral groove arranged in its outer surface for winding of heating resistance wire 1 (heating coil). Heating resistance wire 1 is uniformly wound within the spiral groove).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the heating module taught by Luo wherein a groove is arranged in an external surface of the supporting member, and the heating main body twines inside the groove, wherein a shape of the groove matches a shape of the heating coil, and the groove fits the heating coil, which increases a contacting area between the heating coil and the supporting member, at least one groove for winding the heating coil is formed on an outer surface of the supporting member, and the heating coil is uniformly wound within the groove as taught by Deng because Luo and Deng are directed to heating devices, and Deng demonstrates that the spiral groove ensures that the heating coil is accurately positioned on the supporting member (Deng, [0005]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Luo in view of Deng does not teach the heating module ii) wherein the thermal conductive coating is a thermal conductive adhesive, and the thermal conductive adhesive is selected from ceramic inorganic adhesives or inorganic adhesives of glass enamel, wherein the thermal conductive adhesive fills a gap between the heating assembly and the housing member, a thermal conductive adhesive is filled between the heating assembly and the housing member; iii) wherein the heating coil further comprises a conductive layer, and the conductive layer covers an outer periphery of the pins; a resistivity of the conductive layer is lower than a resistivity of the pins, a material of the conductive layer is selected from one or a combination of at least two of silver, copper, and gold; iv) wherein a material of the pins is different from a material of the heating main body, and the resistivity of the pins is lower than a resistivity of the heating coil; v) wherein the supporting member comprises a metal body with a thermal conductivity not less than 80 W/m-K and a metal oxide insulating layer provided on a surface of the metal body; vi) wherein an area of the supporting member gradually increases along a direction from a top of the supporting member to a bottom of the supporting member; and an area of the thermal conductive adhesive gradually increases along the direction from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member; wherein a gap between the supporting member and the housing member gradually decreases, and a thickness of the thermal conductive adhesive correspondingly decreases; and vii) wherein the groove comprises a first groove, a second groove and a third groove, the second groove is connected to an end of the first groove, and the third groove is connected to another end of the first groove; wherein the first groove is arranged in the top of the supporting member, either of the second groove and the third groove twines from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member, respectively, and the second groove and the third groove are disposed at an interval; wherein the heating main body comprises a first heating section, a second heating section and a third heating section, the second heating section is connected to an end of the first heating section, the third heating section is connected to another end of the first heating section; and wherein the first heating section is disposed inside the first groove, the second heating section is disposed inside the second groove, and the third heating section is disposed inside the third groove.
With respect to ii), Zhao, directed to heating devices ([0002]), teaches a heating module ([0027], Figs. 1-4; The electronic cigarette heating component shown in Fig. 2), comprising:
a heating assembly comprising a supporting member and a heating wire, wherein at least part of the heating wire is arranged on the supporting member ([0027], Fig. 2; The electronic cigarette heating component comprises a shell 1 and an electric heating component 2 (heating assembly). [0028], The electric heating assembly 2 includes a heating wire 20, an insulating support 21 (supporting member), and lead electrodes 22. Heating wire 20 is arranged on insulating support 21); and
a housing member disposed around an outer peripheral side of the heating assembly ([0027], Fig. 2; The electronic cigarette heating component comprises shell 1 (housing member) is disposed around an outer peripheral side of electric heating component 2 (heating assembly));
wherein the heating module further comprises a thermal conductive adhesive ([0041], Figs. 1-4; A high-temperature resistant ceramic adhesive (thermal conductive adhesive) is filled between the outer casing 1 and the electric heating component 2 to fix the heating wire 20 and the outer casing 1. [0042], The end of the outer casing 1 furthest from the tobacco body a is cone-shaped, making it convenient to insert the outer casing 1 into the tobacco. [0027], The electronic cigarette heating component is used to heat tobacco. If the electronic cigarette heating component (heating module) is configured to inserted into a tobacco substrate (e. g. a cigarette) and configured to heat the tobacco substrate, the high-temperature resistant ceramic adhesive must be necessarily capable of conducting heat from the heating wire 20 to the outer casing 1),
the thermal conductive adhesive is selected from ceramic inorganic adhesives or inorganic adhesives of glass enamel, wherein the thermal conductive adhesive fills a gap between the heating assembly and the housing member, a thermal conductive adhesive is filled between the heating assembly and the housing member ([0041], Figs. 1-4; A high-temperature resistant ceramic adhesive (thermal conductive adhesive) is filled in a gap between the outer casing 1 and the electric heating component 2 (heating assembly). Ceramics are inorganic).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to providing the heating module taught by Luo in view of Deng wherein the thermal conductive coating is a thermal conductive adhesive, and the thermal conductive adhesive is selected from ceramic inorganic adhesives or inorganic adhesives of glass enamel, wherein the thermal conductive adhesive fills a gap between the heating assembly and the housing member, a thermal conductive adhesive is filled between the heating assembly and the housing member as taught by Zhao because Luo and Zhao are directed to heating devices, Luo demonstrates that the thermal conductive coating must be capable of adhering to a surface (Luo, [0038], Figs. 1-3), the thermally conductive adhesive of Zhao is necessarily capable of adhering to a surface (Zhao, [0041]), Zhao demonstrates that filling a gap between a heating assembly and a housing member with a thermal conductive adhesive fixies the position of the heating assembly (Zhao, [0041]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Luo in view of Deng and Zhao does not teach the heating module iii) wherein the heating coil further comprises a conductive layer, and the conductive layer covers an outer periphery of the pins; a resistivity of the conductive layer is lower than a resistivity of the pins, a material of the conductive layer is selected from one or a combination of at least two of silver, copper, and gold; iv) wherein a material of the pins is different from a material of the heating main body, and the resistivity of the pins is lower than a resistivity of the heating coil; v) wherein the supporting member comprises a metal body with a thermal conductivity not less than 80 W/m-K and a metal oxide insulating layer provided on a surface of the metal body; vi) wherein an area of the supporting member gradually increases along a direction from a top of the supporting member to a bottom of the supporting member; and an area of the thermal conductive adhesive gradually increases along the direction from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member; wherein a gap between the supporting member and the housing member gradually decreases, and a thickness of the thermal conductive adhesive correspondingly decreases; and vii) wherein the groove comprises a first groove, a second groove and a third groove, the second groove is connected to an end of the first groove, and the third groove is connected to another end of the first groove; wherein the first groove is arranged in the top of the supporting member, either of the second groove and the third groove twines from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member, respectively, and the second groove and the third groove are disposed at an interval; wherein the heating main body comprises a first heating section, a second heating section and a third heating section, the second heating section is connected to an end of the first heating section, the third heating section is connected to another end of the first heating section; and wherein the first heating section is disposed inside the first groove, the second heating section is disposed inside the second groove, and the third heating section is disposed inside the third groove.
With respect to iii), Xiang-021, directed to heating devices ([0001]), teaches a heating coil ([0063], Figs. 1-3, 5-6, 9; Heating wire 60 is coiled into a heating coil) comprising:
a heating main body ([0063], Figs. 1-3, 9; Heating wire 60 comprises heating section 62),
two pins ([0063], Figs. 1-3, 5-6, 9; Heating wire 60 comprises two connecting sections 61, which are covered by coatings 2 as shown in Fig. 9) and
a conductive layer ([0063], [0068], Figs. 1-3, 9; Connecting sections 61 are covered by coatings 2 as shown in Fig. 9. Coatings 2 are made of one or more of gold, silver, copper, zinc and tin, which are conductive materials),
the two pins are connected to the heating main body ([0063], Figs. 1-3, 9; The two connecting sections 61 (pins), covered by coatings 2 as shown in Fig. 9, are connected to heating section 62 (heating main body)),
the conductive layer covers a periphery of each of the two pins ([0063], [0089], Figs. 1-3, 9; Coatings 2 cover the periphery of connecting sections 61), and
a resistivity of the conductive layer is lower than a resistivity of the two pins ([0063], Fig. 9; The resistivity of coatings 2 is lower than that of the heating wire that forms connecting sections 61), and
a material of the conductive layer is selected from one or a combination of at least two of silver, copper, and gold ([0068], Fig. 9; Coatings 2 are made of materials selecting from one or more of gold, silver, and copper).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the heating coil taught by Luo in view of Deng and Zhao with a conductive layer covering a periphery of each of the two pins, wherein a resistivity of the conductive layer is lower than a resistivity of the two pins, and a material of the conductive layer is selected from one or a combination of at least two of silver, copper, and gold as taught by Xiang-021 because Luo and Xiang-021 are directed to heating devices, the ends of the heating coil taught by Luo connect to a power source (Luo, [0039]), Xiang-021 demonstrates that the conductive layer over the two pins increases the structural strength of the pins and reduce the generated heat, and the two pins are convenient to be connected to a power source via the coating (Xiang-021, [0003]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods in order to yield predictable results.
Luo in view of Deng, Zhao, and Xiang-021 does not teach the heating module iv) wherein a material of the pins is different from a material of the heating main body, and the resistivity of the pins is lower than a resistivity of the heating coil; v) wherein the supporting member comprises a metal body with a thermal conductivity not less than 80 W/m-K and a metal oxide insulating layer provided on a surface of the metal body; vi) wherein an area of the supporting member gradually increases along a direction from a top of the supporting member to a bottom of the supporting member; and an area of the thermal conductive adhesive gradually increases along the direction from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member; wherein a gap between the supporting member and the housing member gradually decreases, and a thickness of the thermal conductive adhesive correspondingly decreases; and vii) wherein the groove comprises a first groove, a second groove and a third groove, the second groove is connected to an end of the first groove, and the third groove is connected to another end of the first groove; wherein the first groove is arranged in the top of the supporting member, either of the second groove and the third groove twines from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member, respectively, and the second groove and the third groove are disposed at an interval; wherein the heating main body comprises a first heating section, a second heating section and a third heating section, the second heating section is connected to an end of the first heating section, the third heating section is connected to another end of the first heating section; and wherein the first heating section is disposed inside the first groove, the second heating section is disposed inside the second groove, and the third heating section is disposed inside the third groove.
With respect to iv), Xiang-488, directed to heating devices ([0002]), teaches a heating coil ([0080], Fig. 4a; Heating wire 101, first end wire 102 and second end wire 103 form the heating coil. Heating wire 101 has a coiled shape) comprising
a heating main body ([0080], Fig. 4a; Heating wire 101) and
two pins ([0080], Fig. 4a; First end wire 102 and second end wire 103 electrically connect to a power supply device),
wherein the pins are connected to the heating main body ([0080], Fig. 4a; First end wire 102 and second end wire 103 are connected to heating wire 101),
wherein a material of the pins differs from a material of the heating main body ([0080], Fig. 4a; The materials of the heating wire 101, the first end wire 102 and the second end wire 103 are all different), and
the resistivity of the pins is lower than a resistivity of the heating coil ([0080]-[0081], Fig. 4a; The resistivities of the first end wire 102 and the second end wire 103 are lower than a resistivity of the heating wire 101. The resistivity of nickel, silver, copper is lower than the resistivity of nickel-chromium alloy; see Xiang-021, [0065]-[0066], [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the pins from a different material than the material of the heating main body, and the resistivity of the pins is lower than a resistivity of the heating coil as taught by Xiang-488 because Luo and Xiang-488 are directed to heating devices, Xiang-488 demonstrates that forming the pins from two different materials with lower resistivities than the material of heating main body allows a user to detect a temperature of the heating main body (Xiang-488, [0079]-[0080]), and this involves substituting pin materials for others to yield predictable results.
Luo in view of Deng, Zhao, Xiang-021, and Xiang-488 does not teach the heating module v) wherein the supporting member comprises a metal body with a thermal conductivity not less than 80 W/m-K and a metal oxide insulating layer provided on a surface of the metal body; vi) wherein an area of the supporting member gradually increases along a direction from a top of the supporting member to a bottom of the supporting member; and an area of the thermal conductive adhesive gradually increases along the direction from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member; wherein a gap between the supporting member and the housing member gradually decreases, and a thickness of the thermal conductive adhesive correspondingly decreases; and vii) wherein the groove comprises a first groove, a second groove and a third groove, the second groove is connected to an end of the first groove, and the third groove is connected to another end of the first groove; wherein the first groove is arranged in the top of the supporting member, either of the second groove and the third groove twines from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member, respectively, and the second groove and the third groove are disposed at an interval; wherein the heating main body comprises a first heating section, a second heating section and a third heating section, the second heating section is connected to an end of the first heating section, the third heating section is connected to another end of the first heating section; and wherein the first heating section is disposed inside the first groove, the second heating section is disposed inside the second groove, and the third heating section is disposed inside the third groove.
With respect to v), Moloney, directed to heating devices ([0002]), teaches a heater ([0098]) comprising
a supporting main body comprising a metal body with a thermal conductivity not less than 80 W/m-K ([0116]-[0117], the heater may be made from a metal material imbedded in a ceramic material. The metal material is the supporting main body. The metal material embedded within the ceramic material may be aluminum. Aluminum has a thermal conductivity of 175 W/m-K; see Choi, [0013]) and
a metal oxide insulating layer provided on a surface of the metal body ([0117], The heater may be made from a metal material imbedded in a ceramic material. The ceramic material forms an insulating layer over the metal material. The ceramic material may be alumina (aluminum oxide)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the insulated metal supporting member taught by Luo in view of Deng, Zhao, Xiang-021, and Xiang-488 with the metal material imbedded in a ceramic material taught by Moloney because Luo and Moloney are directed to heating devices, Luo states that the supporting member can comprise an insulated metal (Luo, [0039]), and Moloney demonstrates that providing an metal oxide insulating layer over a metal body is a suitable material composition for a heating component (Moloney, [0116]-[0117]), and this involves substituting one material composition for another to yield predictable results.
Luo in view of Deng, Zhao, Xiang-021, Xiang-488, and Moloney does not teach the heating module vi) wherein an area of the supporting member gradually increases along a direction from a top of the supporting member to a bottom of the supporting member; and an area of the thermal conductive adhesive gradually increases along the direction from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member; wherein a gap between the supporting member and the housing member gradually decreases, and a thickness of the thermal conductive adhesive correspondingly decreases; and vii) wherein the groove comprises a first groove, a second groove and a third groove, the second groove is connected to an end of the first groove, and the third groove is connected to another end of the first groove; wherein the first groove is arranged in the top of the supporting member, either of the second groove and the third groove twines from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member, respectively, and the second groove and the third groove are disposed at an interval; wherein the heating main body comprises a first heating section, a second heating section and a third heating section, the second heating section is connected to an end of the first heating section, the third heating section is connected to another end of the first heating section; and wherein the first heating section is disposed inside the first groove, the second heating section is disposed inside the second groove, and the third heating section is disposed inside the third groove.
With respect to vi), Aoun, directed to heating devices ([0002]), teaches a heating module ([0072], Fig. 3 shows an apparatus 100 is for heating smokable material. [0100], Fig. 5; The apparatus 300 of FIG. 5 is alternate embodiment of apparatus 100 of FIG. 3. Apparatus 100 is a heating module), comprising:
a heating assembly comprising a supporting member and a heating coil ([0072]-[0079], Fig. 3; Apparatus 100 comprises a heating coil 114 and a thermally-conductive element 140 which cooperate to heat heating zone 111. Heating coil 114 and thermally-conductive element 140 form a heating assembly. [0100]-[0105], Fig. 5; The apparatus 300 of FIG. 5 is identical to the apparatus 100 of FIG. 3 except for the form of the thermally-conductive element 140, the heating zone 111, and the coil 114 of the apparatus. Apparatus 300 is shown in Fig. 5, wherein coil 114 (heating coil) is supported by thermally-conductive element 140. Thermally-conductive element 140 is therefore a supporting member),
wherein at least part of the heating coil is arranged on the supporting member ([0100]-[0105], Fig. 5; Coil 114 (heating coil) is arranged on thermally-conductive element 140 (supporting member)); and
a housing member disposed around an outer peripheral side of the heating assembly ([0072]-[0074], Fig. 3; Apparatus 100 comprises body 110 disposed around an outer peripheral side of heating coil 114 and a thermally-conductive element 140 (heating assembly). [0100], Fig. 5; Apparatus 300 similarly comprises body 110 disposed around an outer peripheral side of heating coil 114 and a thermally-conductive element 140 (heating assembly));
wherein the heating coil comprises a heating main body, and the heating main body coiled around the supporting member ([0100]-[0105], Fig. 5; The entire length of coil 114 (heating coil) is the heating main body. Coil 114 (heating main body) is arranged on thermally-conductive element 140 (supporting member)); and
an area of the supporting member increases along a direction from a top of the supporting member to a bottom of the supporting member ([0100]-[0105], Fig. 5; Element 140 (supporting member) comprises a first (upper) portion 140a and a second (lower) portion 140b. Fig. 5 shows that the cross-sectional area of element 140 (supporting member) increases along a direction from a top of the supporting member (first portion 140a) to a bottom of the supporting member (second portion 140b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the heating module taught by Luo in view of Deng, Zhao, Xiang-021, Xiang-488, and Moloney wherein an area of the supporting member increases along a direction from a top of the supporting member to a bottom of the supporting member as taught by Aoun because Luo and Aoun are directed to heating devices, and changing the shape of the supporting member taught by Luo to the shape of the supporting member taught by Aoun constitutes a change in form of shape to another known shape in the art. The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See MPEP § 2144.04 IV B.
Further, because Luo has been modified in view of Zhao such that a thermal conductive adhesive fills a gap between the heating assembly and the housing member, and Luo has been modified in view of Aoun such that an area of the supporting member increases along a direction from a top of the supporting member to a bottom of the supporting member, the invention of Luo in view of Deng, Zhao, Xiang-021, Xiang-488, Moloney, and Aoun reads on the limitation: “an area of the thermal conductive adhesive gradually increases along the direction from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member; wherein a gap between the supporting member and the housing member gradually decreases, and a thickness of the thermal conductive adhesive correspondingly decreases.” If the supporting member has the shape shown Fig. 5 of Aoun (Aoun, [0105], Fig. 5; Element 140) and the thermal conductive adhesive fills a gap between the heating assembly and the housing member, the area of the thermal conductive adhesive in direct contact with the supporting member gradually increases along the direction from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member, wherein a gap between the supporting member and the housing member gradually decreases along the direction from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member, and a thickness of the thermal conductive adhesive correspondingly decreases along the direction from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member.
Luo in view of Deng, Zhao, Xiang-021, Xiang-488, Moloney, and Aoun does not teach the heating module vii) wherein the groove comprises a first groove, a second groove and a third groove, the second groove is connected to an end of the first groove, and the third groove is connected to another end of the first groove; wherein the first groove is arranged in the top of the supporting member, either of the second groove and the third groove twines from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member, respectively, and the second groove and the third groove are disposed at an interval; wherein the heating main body comprises a first heating section, a second heating section and a third heating section, the second heating section is connected to an end of the first heating section, the third heating section is connected to another end of the first heating section; and wherein the first heating section is disposed inside the first groove, the second heating section is disposed inside the second groove, and the third heating section is disposed inside the third groove.
With respect to viii), Auber, directed to heating devices ([0002]), teaches a heating assembly ([0018]-[0020], Fig. 2; The liquid line shown in Fig. 2 forms an assembly for heating a liquid) comprising:
a supporting member ([0018]-[0020], Fig. 2; Plastic layer 1 supports heating wire 2) and
a heating coil ([0018]-[0020], Fig. 2; Heating wire 2 is wound around plastic layer 1 to form a coil),
wherein at least part of the heating coil is arranged on the supporting member ([0018]-[0020], Fig. 2; Heating wire 2 is wound around plastic layer 1 to form a coil);
wherein the heating coil comprises a heating main body ([0018]-[0020], Fig. 2; The length of heating wire 2 is the heating main body),
wherein the heating main body comprises a first heating section, a second heating section and a third heating section ([0010]-[0011], [0018]-[0024], Figs. 2-3; Heating wire 2 is a single wire helically wound around plastic layer 1 to form a double helix with a loop at the end. Heating wire 2 comprises: a forward line from the right end of plastic layer 1 to the left end as illustrated in Fig. 2; a return line from the left end to the right side; and a portion which connects the forward and return lines located at the left end. The connecting portion is the first heating section, the forward line is the second heating section, and the return line is the third heating section),
the second heating section is connected to an end of the first heating section ([0010]-[0011], [0018]-[0024], Fig. 2; Forward line (second heating section) is connected to an end of the connecting portion (first heating section)),
the third heating section is connected to another end of the first heating section ([0010]-[0011], [0018]-[0024], Fig. 2; Return line (third heating section) is connected to an end of the connecting portion (first heating section));
the first heating section is arranged at the top of the supporting member ([0010]-[0011], [0018]-[0024], Figs. 2-3; The portion of heating wire 2 which connects the forward and return lines (first heating section) is located at the left end of plastic layer 1 as shown in Fig. 2. Fig. 3 more clearly shows the heating wire 2 forming a loop around the left end of plastic layer 1. If the assembly rotated 90 degrees in a clockwise direction, the left end becomes the top end),
either of the second heating section and the third heating section twines from the top of the supporting member to a bottom of the supporting member, respectively ([0010]-[0011], [0018]-[0024], Fig. 2; Both the forward line and return lines (second and third heating sections) twine from the top of plastic layer 1 to the bottom of plastic layer 1, when the assembly is rotated 90 degrees in a clockwise direction), and
the second heating section and the third heating section are disposed at an interval ([0010]-[0011], [0018]-[0024], Fig. 2; The forward line and return lines (second and third heating sections) are disposed at an interval).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the heating main body taught by Luo in view of Deng, Zhao, Xiang-021, Xiang-488, Moloney, and Aoun coiled around the supporting member in the double helix configuration as taught by Auber because Luo and Auber are directed to heating devices, Auber demonstrates that high heating power per surface area can be achieved by winding the heating main body around the supporting member in the form of a double helix (Auber, [0010], [0023]), and this involves substituting one heating coil configuration for another.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide each of the heating sections of the heating main body taught by Luo in view of Deng, Zhao, Xiang-021, Xiang-488, Moloney, Aoun, and Auber with a groove supporting the heating section such that the groove comprises a first groove, a second groove and a third groove, the second groove is connected to an end of the first groove, and the third groove is connected to another end of the first groove; and the first groove is arranged in a top of the supporting member, either of the second groove and the third groove twines from the top of the supporting member to a bottom of the supporting member, respectively, and the second groove and the third groove are disposed at an interval; and the first heating section is disposed inside the first groove, the second heating section is disposed inside the second groove, and the third heating section is disposed inside the third groove as claimed because Deng demonstrates that a groove on a supporting member ensures that the heating coil is accurately positioned on the supporting member (Deng, [0005]), and this involves combining prior art element according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 2, Luo in view of Deng, Zhao, Xiang-021, Xiang-488, Moloney, Aoun, and Auber teaches the heating module according to the claim 1. Moloney further teaches the heating module wherein the supporting member comprises a supporting main body ([0117], the heater may be made from a metal material imbedded in a ceramic material. The metal material is the supporting main body) and
an insulating layer ([0117], The heater may be made from a metal material imbedded in a ceramic material. The ceramic material forms an insulating layer over the metal material), and
the insulating layer is disposed on an external surface of the supporting main body ([0117], The heater may be made from a metal material imbedded in a ceramic material. The ceramic material forms an insulating layer over the metal material).
Regarding Claim 5, Luo in view of Deng, Zhao, Xiang-021, Xiang-488, Moloney, Aoun, and Auber teaches the heating module according to the claim 1. Moloney further teaches the heating module wherein a material of the supporting main body is metal ([0116]-[0117], The metal material embedded within the ceramic material may be aluminum), and a material of the insulating layer comprises metal oxide formed on the supporting main body ([0117], The ceramic material may be zirconia (ZrO2)).
Regarding Claim 6, Luo in view of Deng, Zhao, Xiang-021, Xiang-488, Moloney, Aoun, and Auber teaches the heating module according to the claim 5. Moloney further teaches the heating module wherein the material of the insulating layer comprises one of alumina ceramics and zirconia ([0117], The ceramic material may be zirconia).
Regarding Claim 7, Luo in view of Deng, Zhao, Xiang-021, Xiang-488, Moloney, Aoun, and Auber teaches the heating module according to the claim 6. Moloney further teaches the heating module wherein the material of the supporting main body is aluminum ([0116]-[0117], The metal material embedded within the ceramic material may be aluminum), and the material of the insulating layer comprises zirconia formed on the supporting main body ([0117], The ceramic material may be zirconia).
Regarding Claim 15, Luo in view of Deng, Zhao, Xiang-021, Xiang-488, Moloney, Aoun, and Auber teaches the heating module according to the claim 1. Auber further teaches the heating module wherein the first groove is positioned at the top of the supporting member ([0010]-[0011], [0018]-[0024], Figs. 2-3; The portion of heating wire 2 which connects the forward and return lines (first heating section) is located at the left end of plastic layer 1 as shown in Fig. 2. Fig. 3 more clearly shows the heating wire 2 forming a loop around the left end of plastic layer 1. If the assembly rotated 90 degrees in a clockwise direction, the left end becomes the top end. The location of the first groove corresponds the location of the first heating section as applied to Claim 14), but does not teach the heating module wherein the first groove is disposed on a central line of the top of the supporting member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to dispose the first groove on a central line of the top of the supporting member taught the central line of the top of the supporting member provides the shortest path between the ends of the second heating section and the third heating section (Auber, [0010]-[0011], [0018]-[0024], Fig. 2; The forward line (second heating section) terminates at the bottom of the left end of plastic layer 1 (supporting member) as shown in Fig. 2. The return line (third heating section) begins at the top of the left end of the plastic layer 1 (supporting member). The shortest path between the two points is a straight line).
Regarding Claim 17, Luo in view of Deng, Zhao, Xiang-021, Xiang-488, Moloney, Aoun, and Auber teaches the heating module according to the claim 1. Auber further teaches the heating module wherein the heating main body comprises a first heating section, a second heating section and a third heating section, the second heating section is connected to one end of the first heating section, the third heating section is connected to another end of the first heating section; and the first heating section is mounted on the top of the supporting member ([0010]-[0011], [0018]-[0024], Figs. 2-3; Heating wire 2 is a single wire helically wound around plastic layer 1 to form a double helix with a loop at the end. Heating wire 2 comprises: a forward line from the right end of plastic layer 1 to the left end as illustrated in Fig. 2; a return line from the left end to the right side; and a connecting portion which connects the forward and return lines located at the left end. The connecting portion is the first heating section, the forward line is the second heating section, and the return line is the third heating section. Forward line (second heating section) is connected to an end of the connecting portion (first heating section). Return line (third heating section) is connected to an end of the connecting portion (first heating section). The connecting portion (first heating section) is located at the left end of plastic layer 1 as shown in Fig. 2. Fig. 3 more clearly shows the heating wire 2 forming a loop around the left end of plastic layer 1. If the assembly rotated 90 degrees in a clockwise direction, the left end becomes the top end).
As applied to Claim 1, Luo has been modified such that the groove comprises a first groove, a second groove and a third groove, the second groove is connected to an end of the first groove, and the third groove is connected to another end of the first groove; and the first groove is arranged in a top of the supporting member, the second groove and the third groove twines from the top of the supporting member to a bottom of the supporting member, respectively, and the second groove and the third groove are disposed at an interval; and the first heating section is disposed inside the first groove, the second heating section is disposed inside the second groove, and the third heating section is disposed inside the third groove. The only differences between the groove configuration claimed in Claim 1 and the groove configuration recited in Claim 17 (“wherein a first groove and a second groove are provided in a peripheral side of the supporting member, and either of the first groove and the second groove twines form a top of the supporting member to a bottom of the supporting member, respectively, the first groove and the second groove disposed at an interval; the second heating section is disposed inside the first groove, and the third heating section is disposed inside the second groove”) is the omission of a first groove located at the top of the supporting member, and a nominal change of the second and third grooves. Specifically, the second groove and third groove of Claim 1 read on the first groove and second groove of Claim 17 respectively; and therefore, Luo in view of Deng, Zhao, Xiang-021, Xiang-488, Moloney, Aoun, and Auber teaches the limitations of Claim 17.
Regarding Claim 18, Luo, directed to heating devices ([0002]), teaches a smoking device ([0047], Fig. 9; an electric heating smoking device, including a heating cavity 20 and a heating element 10), comprising
a heating module ([0047], Fig. 9; an electric heating smoking device, including a heating cavity 20 and a heating element 10 (heating module)),
wherein the heating module comprises: a heating assembly comprising a supporting member and a heating coil, wherein at least part of the heating coil is arranged on the supporting member ([0034]-[0036], Figs. 1-3; Heating element 10 (heating module) comprises base 1 (supporting member) and heating wire 2 (heating coil) which is coiled around (arranged on) base 1. Base 1 and heating wire 2 for a heating assembly)); and
a housing member disposed around an outer peripheral side of the heating assembly ([0034]-[0036], Figs. 1-3; Heating element 10 (heating module) comprises shell 3 (housing member) disposed around an outer peripheral side of base 1 and wire 2 (heating assembly));
wherein the heating coil comprises a heating main body ([0039], Figs. 2-3; Heating wire 2 (coil) comprises spiral section 21 (heating main body) wound on the outer wall of the substrate 1 configured to generate heat),
wherein the heating module further comprises a thermal conductive coating, and the thermal conductive coating is positioned in a gap between the heating assembly and the housing member, wherein the thermal conductive coating is disposed between the heating assembly and the housing member ([0038], Figs. 1-3; Shell 3 (housing member) can also be made of a metal material with good thermal conductivity. An insulating coating, such as a ceramic coating, needs to be applied to the inner surface of the housing 3 to achieve insulation between the housing 3 and the heating wire 2 (heating assembly); Ceramic materials are known to be thermally conductive; see instant specification, [0015]);
wherein the heating assembly is positioned in the housing member ([0034]-[0036], Figs. 1-3; Base 1 and wire 2 (heating assembly) is positioned in the shell 3 (housing member));
wherein the heating coil further comprises pins, the pins are connected to the heating main body ([0039], Figs. 2-3; Heating wire 2 (coil) comprises first electrical connection end 23 and second electrical connection end 24 (pins) connected to spiral section 21 (heating main body),
wherein the supporting member comprises an insulated metal ([0036], Figs. 1-3; The substrate 1 can be made of a metal material. In this case, an insulating and high-temperature resistant coating needs to be applied to the outer wall of the substrate 1 to achieve insulation between the substrate 1 and the heating wire 2),
but does not teach the smoking device i) wherein a groove is arranged in an external surface of the supporting member, and the heating main body twines inside the groove, wherein a shape of the groove matches a shape of the heating coil, and the groove fits the heating coil, which increases a contacting area between the heating coil and the supporting member, at least one groove for winding the heating coil is formed on an outer surface of the supporting member, and the heating coil is uniformly wound within the groove; ii) wherein the thermal conductive coating is a thermal conductive adhesive, and the thermal conductive adhesive is selected from ceramic inorganic adhesives or inorganic adhesives of glass enamel, wherein the thermal conductive adhesive fills a gap between the heating assembly and the housing member, a thermal conductive adhesive is filled between the heating assembly and the housing member; iii) wherein the heating coil further comprises a conductive layer, and the conductive layer covers an outer periphery of the pins; a resistivity of the conductive layer is lower than a resistivity of the pins, a material of the conductive layer is selected from one or a combination of at least two of silver, copper, and gold; iv) wherein a material of the pins is different from a material of the heating main body, and the resistivity of the pins is lower than a resistivity of the heating coil; v) wherein the supporting member comprises a metal body with a thermal conductivity not less than 80 W/m-K and a metal oxide insulating layer provided on a surface of the metal body; vi) wherein an area of the supporting member gradually increases along a direction from a top of the supporting member to a bottom of the supporting member; and an area of the thermal conductive adhesive gradually increases along the direction from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member; wherein a gap between the supporting member and the housing member gradually decreases, and a thickness of the thermal conductive adhesive correspondingly decreases; and vii) wherein the groove comprises a first groove, a second groove and a third groove, the second groove is connected to an end of the first groove, and the third groove is connected to another end of the first groove; wherein the first groove is arranged in the top of the supporting member, either of the second groove and the third groove twines from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member, respectively, and the second groove and the third groove are disposed at an interval; wherein the heating main body comprises a first heating section, a second heating section and a third heating section, the second heating section is connected to an end of the first heating section, the third heating section is connected to another end of the first heating section; and wherein the first heating section is disposed inside the first groove, the second heating section is disposed inside the second groove, and the third heating section is disposed inside the third groove.
With respect to i), Deng, directed to heating devices ([0001]), teaches a heating module ([0001], [0006] [0009], Fig. 1 shows a tubular electric heater), comprising:
a heating assembly comprising a supporting member and a heating coil ([0009]-[0011], Fig. 1; The tubular electric heater of Fig. 1 comprises heating resistance wire 1 and insulating rod 3, which supports wire 1. Heating resistance wire 1 is wound around insulating rod 3 to form a coil. Wire 1 (heating coil) and rod 3 (supporting member) for a heating assembly),
wherein at least part of the heating coil is arranged on the supporting member ([0009]-[0011], Fig. 1; Heating resistance wire 1 (heating coil) is arranged on insulating rod 3 (supporting member)); and
a housing member disposed around an outer peripheral side of the heating assembly ([0009], Fig. 1; Insulating tube 2 is a housing member is disposed around an outer peripheral side of heating resistance wire 1 and insulating rod 3 (heating assembly));
wherein a groove is arranged in an external surface of the supporting member ([0009]-[0011], Fig. 1; Insulating rod 3 (supporting member) is provided with a spiral groove arranged in its external surface),
the heating coil comprises a heating main body ([0009]-[0011], Fig. 1; The portion of heating resistance wire 1 (heating coil) which contacts insulating rod 3 (supporting member) is the heating main body), and
the heating main body twines inside the groove ([0009]-[0011], Fig. 1; The portion of heating resistance wire 1 which contacts insulating rod 3 (heating main body) twines inside the spiral groove provided on insulating rod 3 (supporting member)), and
wherein a shape of the groove matches a shape of the heating coil, and the groove fits the heating coil, which increases a contacting area between the heating coil and the supporting member ([0009]-[0011], Fig. 1 shows that a shape of the groove provided on insulating rod 3 (supporting member) matches the shape of heating resistance wire 1 (heating coil), and that the groove fits wire 1. The limitation “which increases a contacting area between the heating coil and the supporting member” is a latent property of the limitation “wherein a shape of the groove matches a shape of the heating coil, and the groove fits the heating coil”. Because the heating module taught by Deng teaches the limitation “wherein a shape of the groove matches a shape of the heating coil, and the groove fits the heating coil”, the configuration of Deng would necessarily “[increase] a contacting area between the heating coil and the supporting member”),
at least one groove for winding the heating coil is formed on an outer surface of the supporting member, and the heating coil is uniformly wound within the groove ([0009]-[0011], Fig. 1; Insulating rod 3 (supporting member) is provided with a spiral groove arranged in its outer surface for winding of heating resistance wire 1 (heating coil). Heating resistance wire 1 is uniformly wound within the spiral groove).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the smoking device taught by Luo wherein a groove is arranged in an external surface of the supporting member, and the heating main body twines inside the groove, wherein a shape of the groove matches a shape of the heating coil, and the groove fits the heating coil, which increases a contacting area between the heating coil and the supporting member, at least one groove for winding the heating coil is formed on an outer surface of the supporting member, and the heating coil is uniformly wound within the groove as taught by Deng because Luo and Deng are directed to heating devices, and Deng demonstrates that the spiral groove ensures that the heating coil is accurately positioned on the supporting member (Deng, [0005]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Luo in view of Deng does not teach the smoking device ii) wherein the thermal conductive coating is a thermal conductive adhesive, and the thermal conductive adhesive is selected from ceramic inorganic adhesives or inorganic adhesives of glass enamel, wherein the thermal conductive adhesive fills a gap between the heating assembly and the housing member, a thermal conductive adhesive is filled between the heating assembly and the housing member; iii) wherein the heating coil further comprises a conductive layer, and the conductive layer covers an outer periphery of the pins; a resistivity of the conductive layer is lower than a resistivity of the pins, a material of the conductive layer is selected from one or a combination of at least two of silver, copper, and gold; iv) wherein a material of the pins is different from a material of the heating main body, and the resistivity of the pins is lower than a resistivity of the heating coil; v) wherein the supporting member comprises a metal body with a thermal conductivity not less than 80 W/m-K and a metal oxide insulating layer provided on a surface of the metal body; vi) wherein an area of the supporting member gradually increases along a direction from a top of the supporting member to a bottom of the supporting member; and an area of the thermal conductive adhesive gradually increases along the direction from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member; wherein a gap between the supporting member and the housing member gradually decreases, and a thickness of the thermal conductive adhesive correspondingly decreases; and vii) wherein the groove comprises a first groove, a second groove and a third groove, the second groove is connected to an end of the first groove, and the third groove is connected to another end of the first groove; wherein the first groove is arranged in the top of the supporting member, either of the second groove and the third groove twines from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member, respectively, and the second groove and the third groove are disposed at an interval; wherein the heating main body comprises a first heating section, a second heating section and a third heating section, the second heating section is connected to an end of the first heating section, the third heating section is connected to another end of the first heating section; and wherein the first heating section is disposed inside the first groove, the second heating section is disposed inside the second groove, and the third heating section is disposed inside the third groove.
With respect to ii), Zhao, directed to heating devices ([0002]), teaches a heating module ([0027], Figs. 1-4; The electronic cigarette heating component shown in Fig. 2), comprising:
a heating assembly comprising a supporting member and a heating wire, wherein at least part of the heating wire is arranged on the supporting member ([0027], Fig. 2; The electronic cigarette heating component comprises a shell 1 and an electric heating component 2 (heating assembly). [0028], The electric heating assembly 2 includes a heating wire 20, an insulating support 21 (supporting member), and lead electrodes 22. Heating wire 20 is arranged on insulating support 21); and
a housing member disposed around an outer peripheral side of the heating assembly ([0027], Fig. 2; The electronic cigarette heating component comprises shell 1 (housing member) is disposed around an outer peripheral side of electric heating component 2 (heating assembly));
wherein the heating module further comprises a thermal conductive adhesive ([0041], Figs. 1-4; A high-temperature resistant ceramic adhesive (thermal conductive adhesive) is filled between the outer casing 1 and the electric heating component 2 to fix the heating wire 20 and the outer casing 1. [0042], The end of the outer casing 1 furthest from the tobacco body a is cone-shaped, making it convenient to insert the outer casing 1 into the tobacco. [0027], The electronic cigarette heating component is used to heat tobacco. If the electronic cigarette heating component (heating module) is configured to inserted into a tobacco substrate (e. g. a cigarette) and configured to heat the tobacco substrate, the high-temperature resistant ceramic adhesive must be necessarily capable of conducting heat from the heating wire 20 to the outer casing 1),
the thermal conductive adhesive is selected from ceramic inorganic adhesives or inorganic adhesives of glass enamel, wherein the thermal conductive adhesive fills a gap between the heating assembly and the housing member, a thermal conductive adhesive is filled between the heating assembly and the housing member ([0041], Figs. 1-4; A high-temperature resistant ceramic adhesive (thermal conductive adhesive) is filled in a gap between the outer casing 1 and the electric heating component 2 (heating assembly). Ceramics are inorganic).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to providing the smoking device taught by Luo in view of Deng wherein the thermal conductive coating is a thermal conductive adhesive, and the thermal conductive adhesive is selected from ceramic inorganic adhesives or inorganic adhesives of glass enamel, wherein the thermal conductive adhesive fills a gap between the heating assembly and the housing member, a thermal conductive adhesive is filled between the heating assembly and the housing member as taught by Zhao because Luo and Zhao are directed to heating devices, Luo demonstrates that the thermal conductive coating must be capable of adhering to a surface (Luo, [0038], Figs. 1-3), the thermally conductive adhesive of Zhao is necessarily capable of adhering to a surface (Zhao, [0041]), Zhao demonstrates that filling a gap between a heating assembly and a housing member with a thermal conductive adhesive fixies the position of the heating assembly (Zhao, [0041]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Luo in view of Deng and Zhao does not teach the smoking device iii) wherein the heating coil further comprises a conductive layer, and the conductive layer covers an outer periphery of the pins; a resistivity of the conductive layer is lower than a resistivity of the pins, a material of the conductive layer is selected from one or a combination of at least two of silver, copper, and gold; iv) wherein a material of the pins is different from a material of the heating main body, and the resistivity of the pins is lower than a resistivity of the heating coil; v) wherein the supporting member comprises a metal body with a thermal conductivity not less than 80 W/m-K and a metal oxide insulating layer provided on a surface of the metal body; vi) wherein an area of the supporting member gradually increases along a direction from a top of the supporting member to a bottom of the supporting member; and an area of the thermal conductive adhesive gradually increases along the direction from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member; wherein a gap between the supporting member and the housing member gradually decreases, and a thickness of the thermal conductive adhesive correspondingly decreases; and vii) wherein the groove comprises a first groove, a second groove and a third groove, the second groove is connected to an end of the first groove, and the third groove is connected to another end of the first groove; wherein the first groove is arranged in the top of the supporting member, either of the second groove and the third groove twines from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member, respectively, and the second groove and the third groove are disposed at an interval; wherein the heating main body comprises a first heating section, a second heating section and a third heating section, the second heating section is connected to an end of the first heating section, the third heating section is connected to another end of the first heating section; and wherein the first heating section is disposed inside the first groove, the second heating section is disposed inside the second groove, and the third heating section is disposed inside the third groove.
With respect to iii), Xiang-021, directed to heating devices ([0001]), teaches a heating coil ([0063], Figs. 1-3, 5-6, 9; Heating wire 60 is coiled into a heating coil) comprising:
a heating main body ([0063], Figs. 1-3, 9; Heating wire 60 comprises heating section 62),
two pins ([0063], Figs. 1-3, 5-6, 9; Heating wire 60 comprises two connecting sections 61, which are covered by coatings 2 as shown in Fig. 9) and
a conductive layer ([0063], [0068], Figs. 1-3, 9; Connecting sections 61 are covered by coatings 2 as shown in Fig. 9. Coatings 2 are made of one or more of gold, silver, copper, zinc and tin, which are conductive materials),
the two pins are connected to the heating main body ([0063], Figs. 1-3, 9; The two connecting sections 61 (pins), covered by coatings 2 as shown in Fig. 9, are connected to heating section 62 (heating main body)),
the conductive layer covers a periphery of each of the two pins ([0063], [0089], Figs. 1-3, 9; Coatings 2 cover the periphery of connecting sections 61), and
a resistivity of the conductive layer is lower than a resistivity of the two pins ([0063], Fig. 9; The resistivity of coatings 2 is lower than that of the heating wire that forms connecting sections 61), and
a material of the conductive layer is selected from one or a combination of at least two of silver, copper, and gold ([0068], Fig. 9; Coatings 2 are made of materials selecting from one or more of gold, silver, and copper).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the heating coil taught by Luo in view of Deng and Zhao with a conductive layer covering a periphery of each of the two pins, wherein a resistivity of the conductive layer is lower than a resistivity of the two pins, and a material of the conductive layer is selected from one or a combination of at least two of silver, copper, and gold as taught by Xiang-021 because Luo and Xiang-021 are directed to heating devices, the ends of the heating coil taught by Luo connect to a power source (Luo, [0039]), Xiang-021 demonstrates that the conductive layer over the two pins increases the structural strength of the pins and reduce the generated heat, and the two pins are convenient to be connected to a power source via the coating (Xiang-021, [0003]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods in order to yield predictable results.
Luo in view of Deng, Zhao, and Xiang-021 does not teach the smoking device iv) wherein a material of the pins is different from a material of the heating main body, and the resistivity of the pins is lower than a resistivity of the heating coil; v) wherein the supporting member comprises a metal body with a thermal conductivity not less than 80 W/m-K and a metal oxide insulating layer provided on a surface of the metal body; vi) wherein an area of the supporting member gradually increases along a direction from a top of the supporting member to a bottom of the supporting member; and an area of the thermal conductive adhesive gradually increases along the direction from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member; wherein a gap between the supporting member and the housing member gradually decreases, and a thickness of the thermal conductive adhesive correspondingly decreases; and vii) wherein the groove comprises a first groove, a second groove and a third groove, the second groove is connected to an end of the first groove, and the third groove is connected to another end of the first groove; wherein the first groove is arranged in the top of the supporting member, either of the second groove and the third groove twines from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member, respectively, and the second groove and the third groove are disposed at an interval; wherein the heating main body comprises a first heating section, a second heating section and a third heating section, the second heating section is connected to an end of the first heating section, the third heating section is connected to another end of the first heating section; and wherein the first heating section is disposed inside the first groove, the second heating section is disposed inside the second groove, and the third heating section is disposed inside the third groove.
With respect to iv), Xiang-488, directed to heating devices ([0002]), teaches a heating coil ([0080], Fig. 4a; Heating wire 101, first end wire 102 and second end wire 103 form the heating coil. Heating wire 101 has a coiled shape) comprising
a heating main body ([0080], Fig. 4a; Heating wire 101) and
two pins ([0080], Fig. 4a; First end wire 102 and second end wire 103 electrically connect to a power supply device),
wherein the pins are connected to the heating main body ([0080], Fig. 4a; First end wire 102 and second end wire 103 are connected to heating wire 101),
wherein a material of the pins differs from a material of the heating main body ([0080], Fig. 4a; The materials of the heating wire 101, the first end wire 102 and the second end wire 103 are all different), and
the resistivity of the pins is lower than a resistivity of the heating coil ([0080]-[0081], Fig. 4a; The resistivities of the first end wire 102 and the second end wire 103 are lower than a resistivity of the heating wire 101. The resistivity of nickel, silver, copper is lower than the resistivity of nickel-chromium alloy; see Xiang-021, [0065]-[0066], [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the pins from a different material than the material of the heating main body, and the resistivity of the pins is lower than a resistivity of the heating coil as taught by Xiang-488 because Luo and Xiang-488 are directed to heating devices, Xiang-488 demonstrates that forming the pins from two different materials with lower resistivities than the material of heating main body allows a user to detect a temperature of the heating main body (Xiang-488, [0079]-[0080]), and this involves substituting pin materials for others to yield predictable results.
Luo in view of Deng, Zhao, Xiang-021, and Xiang-488 does not teach the smoking device v) wherein the supporting member comprises a metal body with a thermal conductivity not less than 80 W/m-K and a metal oxide insulating layer provided on a surface of the metal body; vi) wherein an area of the supporting member gradually increases along a direction from a top of the supporting member to a bottom of the supporting member; and an area of the thermal conductive adhesive gradually increases along the direction from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member; wherein a gap between the supporting member and the housing member gradually decreases, and a thickness of the thermal conductive adhesive correspondingly decreases; and vii) wherein the groove comprises a first groove, a second groove and a third groove, the second groove is connected to an end of the first groove, and the third groove is connected to another end of the first groove; wherein the first groove is arranged in the top of the supporting member, either of the second groove and the third groove twines from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member, respectively, and the second groove and the third groove are disposed at an interval; wherein the heating main body comprises a first heating section, a second heating section and a third heating section, the second heating section is connected to an end of the first heating section, the third heating section is connected to another end of the first heating section; and wherein the first heating section is disposed inside the first groove, the second heating section is disposed inside the second groove, and the third heating section is disposed inside the third groove.
With respect to v), Moloney, directed to heating devices ([0002]), teaches a heater ([0098]) comprising
a supporting main body comprising a metal body with a thermal conductivity not less than 80 W/m-K ([0116]-[0117], the heater may be made from a metal material imbedded in a ceramic material. The metal material is the supporting main body. The metal material embedded within the ceramic material may be aluminum. Aluminum has a thermal conductivity of 175 W/m-K; see Choi, [0013]) and
a metal oxide insulating layer provided on a surface of the metal body ([0117], The heater may be made from a metal material imbedded in a ceramic material. The ceramic material forms an insulating layer over the metal material. The ceramic material may be alumina (aluminum oxide)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the insulated metal supporting member taught by Luo in view of Deng, Zhao, Xiang-021, and Xiang-488 with the metal material imbedded in a ceramic material taught by Moloney because Luo and Moloney are directed to heating devices, Luo states that the supporting member can comprise an insulated metal (Luo, [0039]), and Moloney demonstrates that providing an metal oxide insulating layer over a metal body is a suitable material composition for a heating component (Moloney, [0116]-[0117]), and this involves substituting one material composition for another to yield predictable results.
Luo in view of Deng, Zhao, Xiang-021, Xiang-488, and Moloney does not teach the smoking device vi) wherein an area of the supporting member gradually increases along a direction from a top of the supporting member to a bottom of the supporting member; and an area of the thermal conductive adhesive gradually increases along the direction from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member; wherein a gap between the supporting member and the housing member gradually decreases, and a thickness of the thermal conductive adhesive correspondingly decreases; and vii) wherein the groove comprises a first groove, a second groove and a third groove, the second groove is connected to an end of the first groove, and the third groove is connected to another end of the first groove; wherein the first groove is arranged in the top of the supporting member, either of the second groove and the third groove twines from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member, respectively, and the second groove and the third groove are disposed at an interval; wherein the heating main body comprises a first heating section, a second heating section and a third heating section, the second heating section is connected to an end of the first heating section, the third heating section is connected to another end of the first heating section; and wherein the first heating section is disposed inside the first groove, the second heating section is disposed inside the second groove, and the third heating section is disposed inside the third groove.
With respect to vi), Aoun, directed to heating devices ([0002]), teaches a heating module ([0072], Fig. 3 shows an apparatus 100 is for heating smokable material. [0100], Fig. 5; The apparatus 300 of FIG. 5 is alternate embodiment of apparatus 100 of FIG. 3. Apparatus 100 is a heating module), comprising:
a heating assembly comprising a supporting member and a heating coil ([0072]-[0079], Fig. 3; Apparatus 100 comprises a heating coil 114 and a thermally-conductive element 140 which cooperate to heat heating zone 111. Heating coil 114 and thermally-conductive element 140 form a heating assembly. [0100]-[0105], Fig. 5; The apparatus 300 of FIG. 5 is identical to the apparatus 100 of FIG. 3 except for the form of the thermally-conductive element 140, the heating zone 111, and the coil 114 of the apparatus. Apparatus 300 is shown in Fig. 5, wherein coil 114 (heating coil) is supported by thermally-conductive element 140. Thermally-conductive element 140 is therefore a supporting member),
wherein at least part of the heating coil is arranged on the supporting member ([0100]-[0105], Fig. 5; Coil 114 (heating coil) is arranged on thermally-conductive element 140 (supporting member)); and
a housing member disposed around an outer peripheral side of the heating assembly ([0072]-[0074], Fig. 3; Apparatus 100 comprises body 110 disposed around an outer peripheral side of heating coil 114 and a thermally-conductive element 140 (heating assembly). [0100], Fig. 5; Apparatus 300 similarly comprises body 110 disposed around an outer peripheral side of heating coil 114 and a thermally-conductive element 140 (heating assembly));
wherein the heating coil comprises a heating main body, and the heating main body coiled around the supporting member ([0100]-[0105], Fig. 5; The entire length of coil 114 (heating coil) is the heating main body. Coil 114 (heating main body) is arranged on thermally-conductive element 140 (supporting member)); and
an area of the supporting member increases along a direction from a top of the supporting member to a bottom of the supporting member ([0100]-[0105], Fig. 5; Element 140 (supporting member) comprises a first (upper) portion 140a and a second (lower) portion 140b. Fig. 5 shows that the cross-sectional area of element 140 (supporting member) increases along a direction from a top of the supporting member (first portion 140a) to a bottom of the supporting member (second portion 140b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the smoking device taught by Luo in view of Deng, Zhao, Xiang-021, Xiang-488, and Moloney wherein an area of the supporting member increases along a direction from a top of the supporting member to a bottom of the supporting member as taught by Aoun because Luo and Aoun are directed to heating devices, and changing the shape of the supporting member taught by Luo to the shape of the supporting member taught by Aoun constitutes a change in form of shape to another known shape in the art. The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See MPEP § 2144.04 IV B.
Further, because Luo has been modified in view of Zhao such that a thermal conductive adhesive fills a gap between the heating assembly and the housing member, and Luo has been modified in view of Aoun such that an area of the supporting member increases along a direction from a top of the supporting member to a bottom of the supporting member, the invention of Luo in view of Deng, Zhao, Xiang-021, Xiang-488, Moloney, and Aoun reads on the limitation: “an area of the thermal conductive adhesive gradually increases along the direction from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member; wherein a gap between the supporting member and the housing member gradually decreases, and a thickness of the thermal conductive adhesive correspondingly decreases.” If the supporting member has the shape shown Fig. 5 of Aoun (Aoun, [0105], Fig. 5; Element 140) and the thermal conductive adhesive fills a gap between the heating assembly and the housing member, the area of the thermal conductive adhesive in direct contact with the supporting member gradually increases along the direction from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member, wherein a gap between the supporting member and the housing member gradually decreases along the direction from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member, and a thickness of the thermal conductive adhesive correspondingly decreases along the direction from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member.
Luo in view of Deng, Zhao, Xiang-021, Xiang-488, Moloney, and Aoun does not teach the smoking device vii) wherein the groove comprises a first groove, a second groove and a third groove, the second groove is connected to an end of the first groove, and the third groove is connected to another end of the first groove; wherein the first groove is arranged in the top of the supporting member, either of the second groove and the third groove twines from the top of the supporting member to the bottom of the supporting member, respectively, and the second groove and the third groove are disposed at an interval; wherein the heating main body comprises a first heating section, a second heating section and a third heating section, the second heating section is connected to an end of the first heating section, the third heating section is connected to another end of the first heating section; and wherein the first heating section is disposed inside the first groove, the second heating section is disposed inside the second groove, and the third heating section is disposed inside the third groove.
With respect to vii), Auber, directed to heating devices ([0002]), teaches a heating assembly ([0018]-[0020], Fig. 2; The liquid line shown in Fig. 2 forms an assembly for heating a liquid) comprising:
a supporting member ([0018]-[0020], Fig. 2; Plastic layer 1 supports heating wire 2) and
a heating coil ([0018]-[0020], Fig. 2; Heating wire 2 is wound around plastic layer 1 to form a coil),
wherein at least part of the heating coil is arranged on the supporting member ([0018]-[0020], Fig. 2; Heating wire 2 is wound around plastic layer 1 to form a coil);
wherein the heating coil comprises a heating main body ([0018]-[0020], Fig. 2; The length of heating wire 2 is the heating main body),
wherein the heating main body comprises a first heating section, a second heating section and a third heating section ([0010]-[0011], [0018]-[0024], Figs. 2-3; Heating wire 2 is a single wire helically wound around plastic layer 1 to form a double helix with a loop at the end. Heating wire 2 comprises: a forward line from the right end of plastic layer 1 to the left end as illustrated in Fig. 2; a return line from the left end to the right side; and a portion which connects the forward and return lines located at the left end. The connecting portion is the first heating section, the forward line is the second heating section, and the return line is the third heating section),
the second heating section is connected to an end of the first heating section ([0010]-[0011], [0018]-[0024], Fig. 2; Forward line (second heating section) is connected to an end of the connecting portion (first heating section)),
the third heating section is connected to another end of the first heating section ([0010]-[0011], [0018]-[0024], Fig. 2; Return line (third heating section) is connected to an end of the connecting portion (first heating section));
the first heating section is arranged at the top of the supporting member ([0010]-[0011], [0018]-[0024], Figs. 2-3; The portion of heating wire 2 which connects the forward and return lines (first heating section) is located at the left end of plastic layer 1 as shown in Fig. 2. Fig. 3 more clearly shows the heating wire 2 forming a loop around the left end of plastic layer 1. If the assembly rotated 90 degrees in a clockwise direction, the left end becomes the top end),
either of the second heating section and the third heating section twines from the top of the supporting member to a bottom of the supporting member, respectively ([0010]-[0011], [0018]-[0024], Fig. 2; Both the forward line and return lines (second and third heating sections) twine from the top of plastic layer 1 to the bottom of plastic layer 1, when the assembly is rotated 90 degrees in a clockwise direction), and
the second heating section and the third heating section are disposed at an interval ([0010]-[0011], [0018]-[0024], Fig. 2; The forward line and return lines (second and third heating sections) are disposed at an interval).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the heating main body taught by Luo in view of Deng, Zhao, Xiang-021, Xiang-488, Moloney, and Aoun coiled around the supporting member in the double helix configuration as taught by Auber because Luo and Auber are directed to heating devices, Auber demonstrates that high heating power per surface area can be achieved by winding the heating main body around the supporting member in the form of a double helix (Auber, [0010], [0023]), and this involves substituting one heating coil configuration for another.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide each of the heating sections of the heating main body taught by Luo in view of Deng, Zhao, Xiang-021, Xiang-488, Moloney, Aoun, and Auber with a groove supporting the heating section such that the groove comprises a first groove, a second groove and a third groove, the second groove is connected to an end of the first groove, and the third groove is connected to another end of the first groove; and the first groove is arranged in a top of the supporting member, either of the second groove and the third groove twines from the top of the supporting member to a bottom of the supporting member, respectively, and the second groove and the third groove are disposed at an interval; and the first heating section is disposed inside the first groove, the second heating section is disposed inside the second groove, and the third heating section is disposed inside the third groove as claimed because Deng demonstrates that a groove on a supporting member ensures that the heating coil is accurately positioned on the supporting member (Deng, [0005]), and this involves combining prior art element according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 19, Luo in view of Deng, Zhao, Xiang-021, Xiang-488, Moloney, Aoun, and Auber teaches the smoking device according to the claim 18. Moloney further teaches the heating module wherein the supporting member comprises a supporting main body ([0117], the heater may be made from a metal material imbedded in a ceramic material. The metal material is the supporting main body) and
an insulating layer ([0117], The heater may be made from a metal material imbedded in a ceramic material. The ceramic material forms an insulating layer over the metal material), and
the insulating layer is disposed on an external surface of the supporting main body ([0117], The heater may be made from a metal material imbedded in a ceramic material. The ceramic material forms an insulating layer over the metal material).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.M.M./
Examiner, Art Unit 1755/PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755