DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings were received on 26 February 2026. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erdem (WO 2021133363) and in view of Dumitru (PG Pub 20150177078).
Considering claim 1, Erdem (Figure 1) teaches a water treatment apparatus comprising a membrane module (1 + lines 1-5 + page 19) and a device to monitor the integrity of the membrane module (lines 30-35 + page 16); said membrane module comprising a membrane and a housing (14 + lines 30-31 + page 17) for the membrane; and said device comprising a piezoelectric sensor capable (13 + lines 1-5 + page 17) of generating an electrical signal when exposed to vibrations (lines 16-21 + page 17) and a visual indicator comprising a light emitting diode (7 + lines 15-21 + page 17); wherein the visual indicator is electrically connected to the piezoelectric sensors; wherein the electrical signal is used to power the light emitting diode (lines 15-21 + page 17).
However, Erdem does not teach wherein the piezoelectric sensor and the visual indicator are located sufficiently close to the membrane module to sense a vibration from the membrane module; and wherein the visual indicator provides visual indication proportional to the intensity of the vibration from the membrane module.
Dumitru teaches wherein the piezoelectric sensor and the visual indicator are located sufficiently close to the membrane module to sense a vibration from the membrane module (paragraph 0025); and wherein the visual indicator provides visual indication proportional to the intensity of the vibration from the membrane module (paragraph 0025).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the piezoelectric sensor and the visual indicator are located sufficiently close to the membrane module to sense a vibration from the membrane module; and wherein the visual indicator provides visual indication proportional to the intensity of the vibration from the membrane module into Erdem’s device for the benefit of indicating the strain of the apparatus.
Considering claim 2, Erdem (Figure 1) teaches wherein the device (4 + 6 + 13 + lines 1-15 + page 17) is attached to the housing (14 + lines 30-31 + page 17).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 26 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner has found prior art reference Erdem which replaces Kim so therefore those arguments are moot. Regarding the arguments that prior art Dumitru requires an external power source and therefore there is no reason to use Dumitru the examiner argues that Dumitru is only used for a teaching of the visual indicator providing a visual indication proportional to the intensity. Adding that limitation to Erdem does not destroy the device. Furthermore, Erdem teaches the applicant’s limitations. Also, the applicant’s claimed limitation do not specifically forbid the use of an external power source. The claims just require to use of a piezoelectric sensor capable of generating a voltage. Lastly, using a piezoelectric sensor to generate a voltage is not novel. Therefore, using Dumitru in combination with Erdem is proper.
Conclusion
/BRYAN P GORDON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837