Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/17/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 4, 6-22, and 31-36 remain pending in this application. Claims 1, 11, and 21 have been amended. Claims 3, 5, and 23-30 have been cancelled. Claims 31-36 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/17/2026 regarding prior art rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. All previous prior art rejections are overcome in consideration of amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 9-14, 16-17, 19-22, and 31-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dzierwa (US 20190208491 A1), hereinafter Dzierwa, in view of Arditi (US 20190147331 A1), hereinafter Arditi, in further view of Chen (US 20180208208 A1), hereinafter Chen.
Regarding claim 1, Dzierwa, as shown below, discloses a system comprising the following limitations:
at least one hardware processor (See at least Fig. 2A, Item 214, [0096] “In an embodiment, the RF receiver 210 may be connected to a signal processor 214”); and
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon program instructions, the program instructions executable by the at least one hardware processor to (See at least [0264] “The steps of a method or algorithm disclosed herein may be embodied in a processor-executable software module which may reside on a non-transitory computer-readable”):
receive a dataset comprising data representing a plurality of radio frequency (RF) wireless transmissions (See at least Fig. 1, [0095] “The wireless environment 100 may include various sources 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, and 114 generating various radio frequency (RF) signals 116, 118, 120, 122, 124, 126 […] A spectrum management device 102 in the wireless environment 100 may measure the RF energy in the wireless environment 100 across a wide spectrum and identify the different RF signals 116, 118, 120, 122, 124, 126” Dzierwa discloses receiving a plurality of RF signals transmitted from various sources in different locations.) at least two of:
(i) signal parameters of said wireless transmissions, (ii) transmission metadata included in said wireless transmissions, and (iii) locational parameters with respect to said object (See at least [0099] “The measured signal data 234 may include the raw RF energy measurements, time stamps, location information, one or more signal parameters for any identified signals” Dzierwa discloses obtaining at least (i) and (iii)),
(See at least [0096] “The spectrum management device 202 may include an antenna structure 204 configured to receive RF energy expressed in a wireless environment.”)
Dzierwa does not explicitly disclose at a training stage, train a machine learning model on a training set comprising said dataset and labels indicating at least one attribute of each of said objects, and at an inference stage, apply said trained machine learning model to a target dataset comprising signal parameters, transmission metadata, and locational parameters classify at least one of: (i) a type of said target object, (ii) movement behavior of said target object, and (iii) usage parameters of said target object. However, Arditi, in the same or in a similar field of endeavor, discloses:
at a training stage, train a machine learning model on a training set comprising said dataset and labels indicating at least one attribute of each of said objects (See at least [0065] “The machine-learning models may be trained using any suitable training algorithm, including supervised learning based on labeled training data”), and
at an inference stage, apply said trained machine learning model to a target dataset comprising signal parameters, transmission metadata, and locational parameters (See at least [0025] “The radar's metadata 422 may include any combination of, e.g.: the mounting location of the radar in three-dimensional space relative to a reference point; the radar's orientation; radar type; radio wave transceiver configurations; […] and any other pertinent data at the time the radar data 421 was captured” The Examiner notes that the radar system of Arditi corresponds to the RF receiving system of Dzierwa, which operates as a passive radar system))
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the radiofrequency system disclosed by Dzierwa with the machine learning system disclosed by Arditi. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously increase system accuracy (See at least [0017] “Since data from every data-gathering vehicle may be mapped to this common space, discrepancies between the data would be reduced or minimized, which in turn may yield a more accurate HD map”).
The combination of Dzierwa and Arditi does not explicitly disclose
on said object, (See at least [0004] “a computer-implemented method for identifying at least one passenger of a vehicle by a pattern of movement that includes receiving at least one sensor signal from at least one wearable device.”)
(See at least [0030] “the wearable device(s) 108 may include a device that is physically associated to the individual(s)” Chen discloses a wearable associated with a person/ vehicle occupant.)
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the radiofrequency system disclosed by Dzierwa with the machine learning system disclosed by Arditi with the object association system disclosed by Chen. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously increase identification accuracy (See at least [0032] “application 104 may determine if the pattern of movement of one or more of the individuals wearing the wearable device(s) 108 are consistent with at least”).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Dzierwa, Arditi, and Chen as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Dzierwa does not disclose said plurality of objects are selected from a group consisting of: a pedestrian, a bicycle rider, a scooter rider, a vehicle operator, a vehicle occupant, a vehicle passenger, and a public transportation passenger; wherein said plurality of scenes are selected from the group consisting of: roadways, highways, public roads, public transportation systems, public venues, work sites, manufacturing facilities, and warehousing facilities. However, Arditi further discloses
said plurality of objects are selected from a group consisting of: a pedestrian, a bicycle rider, a scooter rider, a vehicle operator, a vehicle occupant, a vehicle passenger, and a public transportation passenger (See at least [0044] “HD map to be updated may depend on the classification of the new object (e.g., as previously described, the machine-learning model may output map data with labeled objects). For example, the HD map may not be updated if the object is classified as being a person, an animal, a car, or any other object that is likely to move on its own.”);
wherein said plurality of scenes are selected from the group consisting of: roadways, highways, public roads, public transportation systems, public venues, work sites, manufacturing facilities, and warehousing facilities (See at least [0042] “HD map may be considered as complete when it has map data for every drivable street within a geographic region.”)
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the radiofrequency system disclosed by Dzierwa with the object association system disclosed by Chen with the machine learning system disclosed by Arditi. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously increase system accuracy (See at least [0017] “Since data from every data-gathering vehicle may be mapped to this common space, discrepancies between the data would be reduced or minimized, which in turn may yield a more accurate HD map”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Dzierwa, Arditi, and Chen as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Dzierwa further discloses
said wireless transmissions are transmitted from at least one wireless device associated with each of said objects (See at least Fig. 1, Items 104, 114, [0095] “The wireless environment 100 may include various sources 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, and 114 generating various radio frequency (RF) signals 116, 118, 120, 122, 124, 126”)
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Dzierwa, Arditi, and Chen, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 4. Dzierwa further discloses
said wireless device is selected from a group consisting of: a mobile device, a smartphone, a smart watch, wireless headphones, a tablet, a laptop, a micro-mobility mounted telematics unit, vehicle-mounted telematics unit, vehicle infotainment system, vehicle handsfree system, vehicle tire pressure monitoring system, a drone, a camera, a dashcam, a printer, an access point, and a kitchen appliance (See at least Fig. 1, Items 104, 106, [0095] “The wireless environment 100 may include various sources 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, and 114 generating various radio frequency (RF) signals 116, 118, 120, 122, 124, 126”)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Dzierwa, Arditi, and Chen, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Dzierwa further discloses
said signal parameters of said wireless transmissions are selected from the group consisting of: signal frequency, signal bandwidth, signal strength, signal phase, signal coherence, and signal timing (See at least [0099] “The measured signal data 234 may include the raw RF energy measurements, time stamps, location information, one or more signal parameters for any identified signals, such as center frequency, bandwidth”)
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Dzierwa, Arditi, and Chen as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Dzierwa does not disclose said dataset is labelled with said labels. However, Arditi further discloses
said dataset is labelled with said labels (See at least [0044] “HD map to be updated may depend on the classification of the new object (e.g., as previously described, the machine-learning model may output map data with labeled objects)).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the radiofrequency system disclosed by Dzierwa with the object association system disclosed by Chen with the machine learning system disclosed by Arditi. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously increase system accuracy (See at least [0017] “Since data from every data-gathering vehicle may be mapped to this common space, discrepancies between the data would be reduced or minimized, which in turn may yield a more accurate HD map”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Dzierwa, Arditi, and Chen, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9. Dzierwa does not disclose said labelling comprises:(i) automatically determining a label for at least one of: object type, object movement behavior or object's data usage based on at least one data instance within said dataset associated with one of said objects; and (ii) applying said label as a label to all of said data instances associated with said one of said objects. However, Arditi further discloses
said labelling comprises:(i) automatically determining a label for at least one of: object type, object movement behavior or object's data usage based on at least one data instance within said dataset associated with one of said objects; and (ii) applying said label as a label to all of said data instances associated with said one of said objects (See at least [0044] “HD map to be updated may depend on the classification of the new object (e.g., as previously described, the machine-learning model may output map data with labeled objects), [0046] “he object classifier may further label the detected objects by classification type (e.g., the box 620 and pothole 630 may be specifically labeled as such, or generally labeled as debris)”).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the radiofrequency system disclosed by Dzierwa with the object association system disclosed by Chen with the machine learning system disclosed by Arditi. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously increase system accuracy (See at least [0017] “Since data from every data-gathering vehicle may be mapped to this common space, discrepancies between the data would be reduced or minimized, which in turn may yield a more accurate HD map”).
Regarding claim 11, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 1. Accordingly, claim 11 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 1, shown above.
Regarding claim 12, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 2. Accordingly, claim 12 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 2, shown above.
Regarding claim 13, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 2. Accordingly, claim 13 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 2, shown above.
Regarding claim 14, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 4. Accordingly, claim 14 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 4, shown above.
Regarding claim 16, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 6. Accordingly, claim 16 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 6, shown above.
Regarding claim 17, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 7. Accordingly, claim 17 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 7, shown above.
Regarding claim 19, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 9. Accordingly, claim 19 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 9, shown above.
Regarding claim 20, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 10. Accordingly, claim 20 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 10, shown above.
Regarding claim 21, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 1. Accordingly, claim 21 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 1, shown above.
Regarding claim 22, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 2. Accordingly, claim 22 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 2, shown above.
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Dzierwa, Arditi, and Chen as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. The combination of Dzierwa and Arditi does not disclose at least one attribute comprises a road-user type of said target object, selected from a group consisting of: a pedestrian, a bicycle rider, a scooter rider, a vehicle operator, a vehicle occupant, a vehicle passenger, and a public transportation passenger. However, Chen further discloses
at least one attribute comprises a road-user type of said target object, selected from a group consisting of: a pedestrian, a bicycle rider, a scooter rider, a vehicle operator, a vehicle occupant, a vehicle passenger, and a public transportation passenger (See at least [0068] “Additionally, the setup/learning phase allows the vehicle owner, the one or more approved drivers, and/or the one or more approved passengers to link one or more wearable devices 108”)
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the radiofrequency system disclosed by Dzierwa with the machine learning system disclosed by Arditi with the object association system disclosed by Chen. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously increase identification accuracy (See at least [0032] “application 104 may determine if the pattern of movement of one or more of the individuals wearing the wearable device(s) 108 are consistent with at least”).
Regarding claim 32, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 31. Accordingly, claim 32 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 31, shown above.
Regarding claim 33, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 31. Accordingly, claim 33 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 31, shown above.
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Dzierwa, Arditi, and Chen, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Dzierwa further discloses
said locational parameters comprise movement parameters of said target object, derived from wireless transmission patterns and comprising at least one of location, speed, acceleration, trajectory, and jerk (See at least [0099] “The measured signal data 234 may include the raw RF energy measurements, time stamps, location information, one or more signal parameters for any identified signals”), and
The combination of Dzierwa and Arditi does not disclose wherein said at least one attribute is classified based at least in part on said movement parameters. However, Chen further discloses
wherein said at least one attribute is classified based at least in part on said movement parameters (See at least [0030] “the wearable device(s) 108 may include a device that is physically associated to the individual(s) and may be configured to be worn to sense physical movement parameters and biosignal biometric parameters pertaining to the individual”)
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the radiofrequency system disclosed by Dzierwa with the machine learning system disclosed by Arditi with the object association system disclosed by Chen. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously increase identification accuracy (See at least [0032] “application 104 may determine if the pattern of movement of one or more of the individuals wearing the wearable device(s) 108 are consistent with at least”).
Regarding claim 35, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 34. Accordingly, claim 35 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 34, shown above.
Regarding claim 36, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 34. Accordingly, claim 36 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 34, shown above.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dzierwa, in view of Arditi,in further view of Chen, in further view of Ewert (US 20180165965 A1), hereinafter Ewert.
Regarding claim 8, The combination of Dzierwa, Arditi, and Chen as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. The combination of Dzierwa, Arditi, and Chen does not explicitly disclose aid transmission metadata included in said wireless transmissions are selected from the group consisting of: data packet parameters, unique device identifier, MAC address, Service Set Identifier (SSID), Basic Service Set Identifier (BSSID), Extended Basic Service Set (ESS), international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI), and temporary IMSI. However, Ewert, in the same or in a similar field of endeavor, discloses
aid transmission metadata included in said wireless transmissions are selected from the group consisting of: data packet parameters, unique device identifier, MAC address, Service Set Identifier (SSID), Basic Service Set Identifier (BSSID), Extended Basic Service Set (ESS), international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI), and temporary IMSI (See at least [0037] “According to one alternative exemplary embodiment, pedestrian 110 is, or further pedestrians are, additionally or alternatively located with the aid of radio position finding, such as via NFC (near field communication) chips” NFC is a unique device identifier).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the radiofrequency system disclosed by Dzierwa with the machine learning system disclosed by Arditi with the object association system disclosed by Chen with the signal parameter system disclosed by Ewert. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously quickly and easily obtain precise positions (See at least [0006] “As a result of the externally situated unit reading in the pedestrian signal, highly precise pedestrian positions, which, for example, were read in or provided by the external unit itself, such as a cell phone, may advantageously be utilized quickly and easily.”).
Regarding claim 18, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 8. Accordingly, claim 18 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 8, shown above.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dzierwa, in view of Arditi, in further view of Chen, in further view of Wang (US 20160366548 A1), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 15, The combination of Dzierwa, Arditi, and Chen as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claims 14 and 11. The combination of Dzierwa, Arditi, and Chen does not explicitly disclose at least some of said wireless devices comprise more than one transmitter. However, Wang, in the same or in a similar field of endeavor, discloses
at least some of said wireless devices comprise more than one transmitter (See at least [0008] “direction finding (DF) positioning in a wireless location area network (WLAN) is proposed. A multiple antenna IEEE 802.11 transmitting device can transmit signal preamble containing multiple Long Training Field (LTF) symbols in a radio frame from multiple antennas”).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the radiofrequency system disclosed by Dzierwa with the machine learning system disclosed by Arditi with the object association system disclosed by Chen with the transmitter system disclosed by Wang. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve accuracy by decreasing potential error (See at least [0008] “As a result, angle of departure (AoD) of the transmitting device can be resolved by using the resolved signals from each antenna for DF positioning purpose. Furthermore, when the radial resolution error of AoD or AoA positioning increases, DF positioning and fine-timing measurement (FTM) ranging can be jointly applied to reduce the radial resolution error and extends the AoD/AoA service area with positing accuracy”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KENNETH W GOOD/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/RESHA DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648