DETAILED ACTION
Objections/Rejections Withdrawn
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous Office Actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied, and constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Response to Amendment
1. The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 8/3/2026 is sufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 4-8 and 10-25 based upon indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
2. The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 8/3/2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 4-8 and 10-25 based upon the obviousness rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 concerning the André reference as set forth in the last Office action.
Declarant states that Weber et al. 2010 teaches the peptide WYKYW (instant SEQ ID NO: 4) binds to asialofetuin (ASF) rather than Galectin-1 (Gal-1), which contradicts the teachings of André et al. 2005 (cited on non-final Office Action mailed 3/2/2026), which teaches that SEQ ID NO: 4 binds to Gal-1. The experiments set forth in Weber support the Applicant’s position that SEQ ID NO: 4 binds to ASF but do not expressly rule out binding to Gal-1. Figure 6 of Weber (NMR titration experiment) is the most convincing piece of evidence to support the notion that SEQ ID NO: 4 binds to ASF rather than Gal-1. However, the strength of this conclusion is undermined by the lack of its depiction; in other words, although Weber states that SEQ ID NO: 4 binds to ASF based on these experiments, the data to support this position is not actually shown.
In contrast, André initially identified SEQ ID NO: 4 as a peptide that can bind to Gal-1 based on a one bead-one peptide approach. The initial identification of SEQ ID NO: 4 as a binding partner of Gal-1 is further supported by Figure 4, which demonstrates that surface plasmon resonance ASF-loaded chips flooded with varying combinations of Gal-1, SEQ ID NO: 4, and lactose exhibit varying degrees of interaction between Gal-1 and SEQ ID NO: 4. In particular, Figure 4B demonstrates reduced interactions between Gal-1 and SEQ ID NO: 4 when lactose is flooded into the system (see Figure 4B, changes in the detected binding between conditions (A), (B), and (C)-(E)). Taken all together, the evidence of André outweighs the evidence of Weber.
Further, the Declaration refer(s) only to the system described in the above referenced application and not to the individual claims of the application. Thus, there is no showing that the objective evidence of nonobviousness is commensurate in scope with the claims. See MPEP § 716. More specifically, the Declarant states that Tyr-Xxx-Tyr peptides have the ability to inhibit the Gal-1-ASF (Section IV, point 1). However, the instant claims recite peptides comprising general formula I: R1-R2-Lys-R3-Trp, wherein R1 is selected from Trp and β3-homo-Trp and R2 and R3 are each selected from Tyr or β3-homo-Tyr, which is a much narrower subset of the genus discussed in the Declaration. Consequently, the statements regarding Tyr-Xxx-Tyr peptides and their functions at large at not found persuasive.
Additionally, Declarant further states that Weber does not suggest SEQ ID NO: 4 would bind ganglioside GM1 or act as an endocytosis routing sequence (see Section VII, points 2 and 3). However, the instant claims pertain to a composition or a product, not a method of use, and the properties discussed (ability to bind GM1) would be expected to be an inherent characteristic of the peptides claimed. Consequently, these considerations have not been given any weight in favor of nonobviousness.
In view of the foregoing, when all of the evidence is considered, the totality of the rebuttal evidence of nonobviousness fails to outweigh the evidence of obviousness. Accordingly, the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on André in view of Dings have been maintained/modified herein.
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments, see Pg 9-12, filed 8/3/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 4-8 and 10-24 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections have been withdrawn.
2. Applicant’s arguments, see Pg 14-16, filed 8/3/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 4-8 and 10-25 under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on Hancock in view of Eckert have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections have been withdrawn.
3. Applicant's arguments, see Pg 16-19, filed 8/3/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 4-8 and 10-25 under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on André in view of Dings have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s position is that 1) Weber et al. does not teach that SEQ ID NO:4 binds to Gal-1 but instead binds to ASF, 2) the instant Specification teaches away from use of SEQ ID NO: 4 as an endocytosis routing peptide, 3) there would be no reasonable expectation of success because of the structural differences between the peptides and uncertainties in mechanism, and 4) SEQ ID NO: 4 and its analogs exhibit unexpected effects in terms of their ability to function as a targeting tag, their selectivity to bind GM1, and function as endocytosis routing sequences.
Regarding 1 and 2), see above response to the Declaration filed on 8/3/2026.
Regarding 3), MPEP 2143.02(II) states, “Obviousness does not require absolute predictability, but at least some degree of predictability is required. Evidence showing there was no reasonable expectation of success may support a conclusion of nonobviousness. In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976).”. In other words, absolute predictability is not required to support a conclusion of obviousness, only some degree of predictability. In the instant case, there is a reasonable expectation of success in substituting the anginex peptide of Dings for the instant SEQ ID NO: 4 of Andre because both peptides functionally bind to the same target.
Regarding 4), the elected claims are drawn to peptide conjugates of SEQ ID NO: 4 and derivatives thereof. While the unexpected results support the non-obviousness of a method of using SEQ ID NO: 4 and derivatives thereof, they have no impact on the claimed peptide conjugate as one skilled in the art would reasonably expect the peptide structure to impart the peptide function, which would be an inherent characteristic of the peptide conjugate.
Examiner’s Note
The point of novelty in this application lies in a method of molecular cargo delivery facilitated by the claimed peptide conjugates binding to GM1, thereby triggering lipid-raft mediated endocytosis. If the Applicant is interested, the Examiner would permit a shift in invention.
Claim Status
Claims 1-28 are pending. Claims 1-3 and 9 are withdrawn as non-elected inventions. Claims 26-28 are new. Claims 1, 4, 7, 12, and 19 are currently amended. It is noted that Claim 12 states it is currently amended but there does not appear to be any difference between the claim set filed on 8/3/2026 and the one filed on 11/20/2025.
Priority
The application is the 371 national stage filing of PCT/HU2020/050023, filed 6/8/2020, which claims priority to HUP1900205, filed 6/7/2019. The filing date of 6/7/2019 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 4 recites said peptide of the conjugate “as an endocytosis routing sequence peptide (ERS)”. This limitation describes a functional rather than a structural element of the instant invention. As such, the claim is being interpreted based upon the structural limitation (a peptide of general formula R1-R2-Lys-R3-Trp), where the ERS function is endowed by the structure. This same interpretation is being applied to claims dependent on claim 4 as well as dependent claims that recite “the ERS peptide” or similar language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection for a peptide consisting of the formula R1-R2-Lys-R3-Trp
Claim(s) 4, 7, 10, 11, 17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over André et al. (Identification of peptide ligands for malignancy- and growth-regulating galectins using random phage-display and designed combinatorial peptide libraries. Bioorg Med Chem. 2005 Jan 17;13(2):563-73.) in view of Dings et al. (Inhibiting tumor growth by targeting tumor vasculature with galectin-1 antagonist anginex conjugated to the cytotoxic acylfulvene, 6-hydroxylpropylacylfulvene. Bioconjug Chem. 2010 Jan;21(1):20-7.).
André teaches that members of the galectin family are involved in tumor growth regulation and in establishing characteristics of the malignant phenotype via protein-carbohydrate and protein-protein interactions (Abstract). The interaction of galectin-1 (Gal-1) with the oncogenic H-Ras facilitates the transforming protein’s routing and ensuing cell activation. André teaches the peptide WYKYW (instant SEQ ID NO: 4) binds to galectin-1 (Figures 2 and 3; Pg 567, right column, second paragraph).
André does not teach creating a conjugate comprising a cargo and a linker moiety between the instant SEQ ID NO: 4 and the cargo.
Dings teaches the creation of a conjugate consisting of the cytotoxic agent 6-hydroxypropylacylfulvene (HPAF) and anginex, a peptide that targets Gal-1, which is highly expressed and upregulated in tumor-activated endothelial cells and connected to several types of cancers (Abstract; Introduction, second paragraph). HPAF and anginex are connected through a leucyl ester linkage, providing space between the components, as shown in Figure 1. Dings teaches that the HPAF-anginex conjugate displays better inhibition of tumor growth in cancer mouse models than either individual component alone (Abstract; Figure 2-5).
Therefore, regarding claim 4, André teaches the instant SEQ ID NO: 4 can bind to Gal-1. Dings teaches a peptide-therapeutic conjugate consisting of a cytotoxic agent linked to the peptide anginex that can bind Gal-1, which is highly expressed on endothelial cells of cancerous tumors. Based on these teachings, it would be obvious to substitute anginex for the instant SEQ ID NO: 4. One skilled in the art would be motivated to do so as the art teaches that SEQ ID NO: 4 can bind to Gal-1. One would have a reasonable expectation of success as Dings already established that such a conjugate could be used to successfully target Gal-1 expressing endothelial cells.
Regarding claims 7 and 11, André teaches the instant SEQ ID NO: 4.
Regarding claim 10, 17, and 21, as described above, Dings teaches the therapeutically active molecule HPAF.
Claim(s) 4, 7, 10, 11, 17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over André et al. (Identification of peptide ligands for malignancy- and growth-regulating galectins using random phage-display and designed combinatorial peptide libraries. Bioorg Med Chem. 2005 Jan 17;13(2):563-73.) and Dings et al. (Inhibiting tumor growth by targeting tumor vasculature with galectin-1 antagonist anginex conjugated to the cytotoxic acylfulvene, 6-hydroxylpropylacylfulvene. Bioconjug Chem. 2010 Jan;21(1):20-7.) in view of Kant (Homo-β-amino acid containing MBP(85–99) analogs alleviate experimental autoimmune encephalomyelitis. Sci Rep 5, 8205 (2015).) as evidenced by Nosov (“Amino Acids”, March 16, 2016, accessed 2/24/2026).
The teachings of André and Dings have been set forth above. André further teaches that, in the search to identify peptides that bind Gal-1 that led to the peptide WYKYW, the Tyr residues were kept constant (equivalent to R2 and R3 in the instant general formula R1-R2-Lys-R3-Trp; Figure 1; Pg 565, right column, middle of first paragraph); additionally, changing Lys to and/or Trp at the C-terminal position to Asp substantially reduced the peptide’s ability to bind to Gal-1 (Figure 2 and 3). André and Dings do not teach a peptide with the general formula R1-R2-Lys-R3-Trp wherein R1, R2, and R3 are homo-β-amino acids of Trp, Tyr, and Tyr, respectively.
Kant teaches improvements to the peptide inhibitor J5, wherein amino acid residues are substituted for homo-β-amino acids (Abstract). Kant teaches that homo-β-amino acids have their amino group attached to β-carbon instead of an α-carbon and their side chains (R groups) are identical to that of their naturally occurring counterparts (Pg 2, left column, third paragraph). Introducing homo-β-amino acids into J5 improved its resistance to proteases and increased peptide backbone flexibility and ability to cross cell barriers (Pg 6, “Discussion”, left column, second paragraph, and Pg 8, left column, third paragraph). Nosov discloses homo-β-amino acids of Trp and Tyr.
Therefore, regarding claim 11, André and Dings teach a peptide consisting of “WYKYW” conjugated to a molecular cargo through a linker, wherein modification of the Lys and C-terminal Trp results in reduced ability to bind Gal-1. Kant teaches that introduction of homo-β-amino acids into a peptide improves its protease resistance, peptide backbone flexibility, and ability to cross cell barriers; Nosov evidences homo-β-amino acids of Trp and Tyr. Based upon these teachings, it would be prima facie obvious to substitute Trp and Tyr at positions R1, R2, and R3 for their homo-β-amino acid counterparts, thus leading to the instant SEQ ID NO: 15, 16, 18, 20, 22, and 23. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to confer the advantages taught by Kant into the peptide conjugate of André and Dings. One would have a reasonable expectation of success as Kant successfully improved other peptides through substituting their L-amino acids for homo-β-amino acids.
Additionally, it would be obvious to try substituting each of the residues Trp and Tyr residues at positions R1, R2, and R3 in the peptide “WYKYW” for their corresponding homo-β-amino acids. At the time of filing, the art recognized that substitution of α-amino acids for their corresponding homo-β-amino acids in peptide sequences improved the peptide in various ways described above. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize, based upon the teachings of André and Dings, only the amino acids at positions R1, R2, and R3 were ideal substitutions as alterations to the Lys and C-terminal Trp negatively impact the protein’s ability to bind to Gal-1; this would leave only three potential residues that could be substituted. Therefore, it would be obvious to try each possible combination of substituting R1, R2, and R3 for their corresponding homo-β-amino acids based upon the teachings of André and Dings, thus leading one to the instant SEQ ID NO: 15, 16, 18, 20, 22, and 23.
Claim(s) 4-8, 10-15, 17, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over André et al. (Identification of peptide ligands for malignancy- and growth-regulating galectins using random phage-display and designed combinatorial peptide libraries. Bioorg Med Chem. 2005 Jan 17;13(2):563-73.) and Dings et al. (Inhibiting tumor growth by targeting tumor vasculature with galectin-1 antagonist anginex conjugated to the cytotoxic acylfulvene, 6-hydroxylpropylacylfulvene. Bioconjug Chem. 2010 Jan;21(1):20-7.), as applied to claims 4, 7, 10, 11, 17, and 21 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (Fusion protein linkers: property, design and functionality. Adv Drug Deliv Rev. 2013 Oct;65(10):1357-69.).
The teachings of André and Dings have been set forth above. André and Dings do not teach connecting the instant SEQ ID NO: 4 to a cargo via a spacer oligopeptide sequence or a PEG-based oligomeric moiety.
Chen teaches peptide linkers used to connect fusion proteins or distinct protein domains together (Abstract). Chen teaches that connecting components without a flexible linker may lead to undesirable outcomes such as misfolding of the protein, low production yield, or impaired bioactivity (Pg 2, “Introduction”, second paragraph). Peptide linkers can adopt various structures and exert diverse functions. In particular, flexible linkers allow joined domains a certain degree of movement or interaction and are composed of small non-polar or polar amino acids, which contributes to the flexibility and mobility of the connected domains (Pg 4, “3.1 Flexible linkers”; Table 4).
Thus, regarding claims 5, 6, and 13, André and Dings teach a conjugate comprising the instant SEQ ID NO: 4 connected to a cargo via a leucyl ester linkage. Chen teaches peptide linkers can connect distinct domains or pieces of conjugates together, including the advantages of using flexible linkers and the disadvantages associated with the lack of a linker completely. Based on these teachings, it would be prima facie obvious to substitute the leucyl ester linker taught by André and Dings for a flexible peptide linker taught by Chen. One skilled in the art would be motivated to do so in order to take of advantage of the benefits of a flexible linker as taught by Chen. One would have a reasonable expectation of success given that Chen established that such linkers are commonly used in the art to connect peptide parts.
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Chen teaches that naturally-occurring peptide linkers preferably include charged residues (Pg 3, second paragraph).
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches examples wherein the peptide linker is attached to the N-terminus of another peptide sequence (Pg 5, “3.1 Flexible linkers”, third paragraph).
Regarding claim 14, 22, and 23, Chen teaches linkers comprising GG (Pg 5, “3.1 Flexible linkers,” second and 4th paragraphs; Tables 2 and 3).
Claim(s) 4-8 and 10-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over André et al. (Identification of peptide ligands for malignancy- and growth-regulating galectins using random phage-display and designed combinatorial peptide libraries. Bioorg Med Chem. 2005 Jan 17;13(2):563-73.), Dings et al. (Inhibiting tumor growth by targeting tumor vasculature with galectin-1 antagonist anginex conjugated to the cytotoxic acylfulvene, 6-hydroxylpropylacylfulvene. Bioconjug Chem. 2010 Jan;21(1):20-7.), and Chen et al. (Chen X, Zaro JL, Shen WC. Fusion protein linkers: property, design and functionality. Adv Drug Deliv Rev. 2013 Oct;65(10):1357-69.), as applied to claims 4-8, 10-15, 17, and 21-23 above, and further in view of Eckert et al. (WO 2010/091294 A2, published 8/12/2010).
The teachings of André, Dings, and Chen have been set forth above. André, Dings, and Chen do not teach that the peptide linker is a penetratin moiety.
Eckert teaches chimeric moieties comprising targeting moiety and an effector, wherein the effector comprises a moiety selected from the group consisting of a detectable label, an AMP, an antibiotic and a photosensitizer ([0007]). The targeting moiety can be chemically conjugated to the effector via a linker comprising PEG or a peptide linker ([0008]).
Eckert teaches that one of the targeting moieties can be the cell penetrating peptide penetratin (Pg 53, Table 4). Although penetratin is not explicitly taught as a linker in the chimeric moiety, Ecker states that some linkers may be selected to influence some property of the molecule, such as folding, net charge, or hydrophobicity ([0207]). Additionally, Eckert teaches that the purpose of the targeting moieties of Table 4 is to preferentially/specifically bind to a desired target to help deliver effectors to targets ([0081]).
Thus, regarding claim 16, André, Dings, and Chen teach a conjugate consisting of SEQ ID NO: 4 linked via a peptide linker to a cargo molecule. Eckert teaches the cell penetrating peptide penetratin can be included in chimieric moieties and that peptide linkers can be selected to influence some property of the molecule. Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to use penetratin as the peptide linker in the conjugate. One would be motivated to do so in order to take advantage of the benefits of including penetratin in the conjugate, namely, the addition of another feature that would help get cargo into the cells targeted by SEQ ID NO: 4. One would have a reasonable expectation of success as Eckert established that penetratin could be included in such conjugates.
Regarding claims 18, 20, and 26-28, Eckert teaches that effectors can include but are not limited to detectable labels, small molecule antibiotics, AMPs, porphyrins or other photosensitizers, epitope tags/antibodies, microparticles and/or microcapsules, nanoparticles and/or nanocapsules, “carrier” vehicles such as lipids, liposomes, dendrimers, cholic acid-based peptide mimics or other peptide mimics, steroid antibodies, and the like ([0114]).
Regarding claims 19 and 24, Eckert teaches that the linking agent of the linker can comprise a chelator ([0196]). Per the instant specification, a ligand-receptor interaction as understood comprises a binding molecule or receptor and a ligand which is bound by said binding molecule with a high affinity sufficiently strong to provide that the cargo, or a sufficiently high ration thereof, is not dissociated from the ERS-peptide (or linker plus ERS-peptide) part upon routing into the cell (Pg 13, lines 3-6).
Regarding claim 25, Eckert teaches that detectable labels are useful for detecting the presence and/or quantity and/or location of the microorganisms to which the targeting moiety is directed ([0115]). Fluorescent dyes are contemplated (i.e., fluorescein, Texas red, rhodamine, green fluorescent protein and the like) ([0116]).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARA E KONOPELSKI SNAVELY/Examiner, Art Unit 1658
/Melissa L Fisher/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1658