Claim 46 have been amended.
Claims 46-87 are pending.
Claims 1-45 are cancelled.
Claims 51-55 are withdrawn.
Note, rejections and objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Double Patenting
Claims 46-50 and 56-57 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 18, and 23 of copending Application No. 17/040,445 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The copending application teaches a composition for an adult dog comprising methionine an cysteine (claim 1). The ratio of methionion:cysteine is 1:2.5 w/w. Methionine is in a concentration of 0.71 g/100kcal (claim 23), therefor the cysteine, when following the ratio, would be at an amount of 1.78 g/100kcal. The composition is administered to a dog (claim 18).
The difference between instant application and the patented claims is that the patent claims include additional limitations. Thus, the invention of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”, and, therefore, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the claims of the patent and are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In the instant case, the copending application recites a narrower “species” of values compared to the broad “generic” ranges recited in the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 46-50 and 56-57 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 46, recites “administering an edible pet food product”, however it does not state how or what the composition is administered to. For instance, it could be interpreted as being administered directly to the companion animal or being administered to the companion animal’s food bowl. It is therefor indefinite due to the multiple interpretations.
The dependent claims fall therewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 46, 50, 56, and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pet Medical Center (7 Healthy People Foods to Feed Your Dog. 2018.) as evidenced by NUTRITIONVALUE. (Egg, hard-boiled, cooked, whole. Via wayback machine 2015.).
Regarding claim 46, Pet Medical Center teaches that feeding your dog a hardboiled egg can be beneficial in giving dogs protein and important vitamins (page 2, bullet 1). A hardboiled egg has the species of amino acids, methionine and cysteine, in the specified values as recited by claim 46 as evidenced by NUTRITIONVALUE. NUTRITIONVALUE teaches that an cooked egg per 100g has 155 calories, 0.392 g methionine and 0.292 g cysteine. When converted to g/1,000 kcal the values are 2.53g/1000kcal of methionine and 1.88g/1000kcal of cysteine. Note, “Calories” as listed on the nutrition label correlate to “kcal”.
Note, since the prior art is doing the same step, administering, with the same species and values, methionine and cysteine, it would result in the same result of “modulating an oral microbiota of a companion animal” unless proven otherwise.
Regarding claim 50, A 'whereby' clause that merely states the result of the limitations in the claim adds nothing to the patentability or substance of the claim." Texas Instruments, Inc. v. International Trade Comm., 988 F.2d 1165, 1172 (Fed. Cir. 1993). See also Minton v. National Assoc. of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381 (Fed. Cir. 2003) ("A whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.") MPEP 2111.04 The wherein clause merely characterizes the results of those steps. Therefore, we determine that the "wherein" clause is not entitled to weight in construing the claim. This is in regards to “wherein modulating the oral microbiota comprises increasing the uber of species of or prevalence of bacteria associated with good oral health”. Furthermore, the prior art teaches all steps, administering, and the species in their respective values, methionine and cysteine, so it would perform the same action unless proven otherwise.
Regarding claim 56, Pet Medical Center, evidenced by NUTRITIONVALUE, teaches the composition is administered in the same concentrations as claimed by Applicant, which is therefor an amount effective to improve oral health of the animal, unless proven otherwise.
Regarding claim 57, Pet Medical Center teaches that feeding your dog a hardboiled egg can be beneficial in giving dogs protein and important vitamins (page 2, bullet 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 46, 50, 56, 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pet Medical Center (7 Healthy People Foods to Feed Your Dog. 2018.) in view of NUTRITIONVALUE. (Egg, hard-boiled, cooked, whole. Via wayback machine 2015.).
Regarding claim 46, Pet Medical Center teaches that feeding your dog a hardboiled egg can be beneficial in giving dogs protein and important vitamins (page 2, bullet 1).
Pet Medical Center does not teach the amounts of methionine and cysteine present in the egg.
NUTRITIONVALUE teaches that an cooked egg per 100g has 155 calories, 0.392 g methionine and 0.292 g cysteine. When converted to g/1,000 kcal the values are 2.53g/1000kcal of methionine and 1.88g/1000kcal of cysteine. Note, “Calories” as listed on the nutrition label correlate to “kcal”.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate an egg with the cysteine and methionine values cited above. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications and reasonably would have expected success because those are the nutritional values of a normal egg.
Note, since the prior art is doing the same step, administering, with the same species and values, methionine and cysteine, it would result in the same result of “modulating an oral microbiota of a companion animal” unless proven otherwise.
Regarding claim 56, Pet Medical Center, in view of NUTRITIONVALUE, teaches the composition is administered in the same concentrations as claimed by Applicant, which is therefor an amount effective to improve oral health of the animal, unless proven otherwise.
Regarding claim 57, Pet Medical Center teaches that feeding your dog a hardboiled egg can be beneficial in giving dogs protein and important vitamins (page 2, bullet 1).
Regarding claim 50, A 'whereby' clause that merely states the result of the limitations in the claim adds nothing to the patentability or substance of the claim." Texas Instruments, Inc. v. International Trade Comm., 988 F.2d 1165, 1172 (Fed. Cir. 1993). See also Minton v. National Assoc. of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381 (Fed. Cir. 2003) ("A whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.") MPEP 2111.04 The wherein clause merely characterizes the results of those steps. Therefore, we determine that the "wherein" clause is not entitled to weight in construing the claim. This is in regards to “wherein modulating the oral microbiota comprises increasing the uber of species of or prevalence of bacteria associated with good oral health”. Furthermore, the prior art teaches all steps, “administering”, and the species in their respective values, methionine and cysteine, so it would perform the same action unless proven otherwise.
Claims 46-50, 56, 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pet Medical Center (7 Healthy People Foods to Feed Your Dog. 2018.) and NUTRITIONVALUE. (Egg, hard-boiled, cooked, whole. Via wayback machine 2015.) in view of HOWE (Food for Pregnant Dogs. 2018.).
Pet Medical Center and NUTRITIONVALUE teach Applicant’s invention as discussed above.
Regarding claims 47-49,Pet Medical Center and NUTRITIONVALUE do not specifically teach how many times to administer the egg.
Regarding claims 47-49, HOWE teaches that giving dogs hard boiled eggs every other day for 2 weeks and every day for 1 week is beneficial as it gives the dog protein (page 4, paragraph 2), which would be at least 5 times and at least once daily.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate administering the egg multiple times, such as at least 5 times. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because it is safe and provides the dog protein and important vitamins, and reasonably would have expected success because all references are in the same field of endeavor such as administering eggs to dogs.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues, the claimed values show unexpected results. As an initial matter, increasing methionine levels from 0.55g/1,000kcal (Diet B) to 0.71g/1,000kcal (Diet C) increases the prevalence of many bacterial species associated with good oral health (e.g., Bacteroidetes, Proteobacteria, and Fusobacteria), see Example 1 at page 26, Table 2 within the present application. Surprisingly, Diet A comprising the highest amount of methionine and the lowest amount of cysteine uniquely promotes an increased prevalence of bacteria associated with good oral health while simultaneously reducing the prevalence of bacteria associated with poor oral health ( e.g., Firmicutes, Actinobacteria, Synergistetes, WS6, Spirochaetae, and Chlorobi), see Table 2 and page 27, lines 21-25 of the present application. Therefore, administering a pet food product comprising the claimed amounts of methionine and cysteine yields unexpected advantages in modulating the oral microbiome that are not suggested by Fahim.
In order to overcome a prima facie case of obviousness, it is incumbent upon the Applicant to provide comparative test evidence that demonstrates unexpected superiority of the claimed compositions versus the closest prior art compositions, and not simply an advantage predictable from the prior art. See In re Chapman, 148 USPQ 711, 715 (CCPA, 1966). Moreover, such proffered comparisons must be commensurate in scope with the breadth of the claims. See In re Clemens, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA, 1980) and In re Coleman, 205 USPQ 1172, 1175 (CCPA 1980). In the instant case, the prior art teaches the claimed amounts of methionine and cysteine, see rejection above. Therefor it would have the same properties of the claimed invention unless proven otherwise.
For a complete discussion of unexpected results, Applicants are referred to MPEP 716.02 et seq.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 1618 /JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618