DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 2 shows an unreferenced “01” and “02” not explained in the specification.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Specification does not explain “01” and “02” shown in Fig. 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13 recites “A display panel, comprising: a display panel main body comprising…”., which should have been “The display panel, comprising the display panel main body comprising…” since claim 13 depends on claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (US 20210151697 A1, and hereinafter “Cao”) in view of Choi et al. (US 20240015904 A1, and hereinafter “Choi”).
Regarding claim 1, Cao teaches a support plate (Fig. 1, Abstract, [0042-0043] : support structure for a flexible display panel), applied in a display panel (same as support structure + flexible display panel mentioned in abstract and [0042-0043]) to supply supporting for a display panel main body (same as body of the flexible display panel) of the display panel (see note below regarding preamble), and comprising a support body (Fig. 1, [0042-0046] : support structure including deformation compensation region A1, primary bending region A2, fixed region C) comprising at least one bending area (Fig. 1, [0042-0046] : support structure including deformation compensation region A1, and primary bending region A2), wherein the bending area comprises a plurality of stress relief members disposed in an array (Fig. 1, [0042-0046] : support structure including deformation compensation region A1, primary bending region A2 include hollowed-out patterns arranged in an array).
Cao does not teach every four adjacent stress relief members enclose a stress relief region, and each of the stress relief members comprises:
a first stress relief part comprising a first physical part and a second physical part that are integrally disposed and are centrally symmetrical with respect to each other; and
a second stress relief part intersected with the first stress relief part, wherein when the second stress relief part is rotated by a preset angle around a center of symmetry of the first stress relief part, the second stress relief part overlaps with the first stress relief part.
However, Choi teaches every four adjacent stress relief members (Fig. 6, [0066-0067], [0075-0078] : portions of components LP1 and LP2 of stress control layer SRL represented by the first physical part, second physical part, and second stress relief member in the Annotated Figure. 1 below) enclose a stress relief region (Fig. 6, [0066-0067], [0075-0078] : every four portions of components LP1, and LP2 encloses an opening OP), and each of the stress relief members comprises:
a first stress relief part (Fig. 6, [0066-0067], [0075-0078] : second component LP2) comprising a first physical part (Fig. 6, [0066-0067], [0075-0078] : first physical part) and a second physical part (Fig. 6, [0066-0067], [0075-0078] : second physical part) that are integrally disposed and are centrally symmetrical with respect to each other (Fig. 6, [0066-0067], [0075-0078] : first physical part and second physical part are integrally disposed and are centrally symmetrical with respect to each other); and
a second stress relief part (Fig. 6, [0066-0067], [0075-0078] : second stress relief part) intersected with the first stress relief part (Fig. 6, [0066-0067], [0075-0078] : first component LP1 and second component LP2 intersects), wherein when the second stress relief part is rotated by a preset angle around a center of symmetry of the first stress relief part (Fig. 6, [0066-0067], [0075-0078] : second component LP2 is rotated by a preset angle around a center of symmetry of the first component LP1), the second stress relief part overlaps with the first stress relief part (Fig. 6, [0066-0067], [0075-0078] : second component LP2 overlaps with the first component LP1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate stress relief members as taught by Choi into Cao’s support plate by modifying the shape of the supporting structure forming the hollowed-out patterns in the primary bending region and the deformation compensation region. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to further reduce stress due to mechanical deformation, and preventing the bending occurring from other portions from being transferred ([0026-0027] of Choi).
*Note: The recitation “applied in a display panel to supply supporting for a display panel main body of the display panel” has not been given patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of the limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951).
Regarding claim 4, Cao as modified by Choi teaches the support plate according to claim 1, wherein a number of the bending area is two (Fig. 9, [0042-0046], [0077-0078] of Cao : support structure including first deformation compensation region A1, primary bending region A2, and second deformation compensation region B1, second primary bending region B2), and bending axes of the two bending areas intersect at a first included angle (Fig. 9, [0042-0046], [0077-0078] of Cao : support structure including first deformation compensation region A1, primary bending region A2, and second deformation compensation region B1, second primary bending region B2 intersect at a first included angle).
Regarding claim 5, Cao as modified by Choi teaches the support plate according to claim 4, wherein the first included angle is equal to the preset angle (Fig. 9, [0042-0046], [0077-0078] of Cao, and Fig. 6, [0066-0067], [0075-0078] of Choi : support structure including first deformation compensation region A1, primary bending region A2, and second deformation compensation region B1, second primary bending region B2 intersect at 90 degrees, and first component LP1 and second component LP2 has a preset angle of 90 degrees).
Regarding claim 6, Cao as modified by Choi teaches the support plate according to claim 5.
Cao as modified by Choi does not teach wherein an included angle between the bending axis of one bending area and the centerline of the first stress relief part is equal to an included angle between the bending axis of the other bending area and the centerline of the first stress relief part.
However, Cao also teaches wherein an included angle between the bending axis of one bending area and the centerline of the first stress relief part is equal to an included angle between the bending axis of the other bending area and the centerline of the first stress relief part (Fig. 4-5, [0042-0046], [0058-0062] : the hollowed out patterns of holes 11 and 12 in Fig. 4 can be in the direction parallel or orthogonal to the bending axis of the support structure, or the hollowed out patterns of holes 13 and 14 in Fig. 5 can be in the direction that is 45 degrees from the bending axis of the support structure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the included angle between the bending axis of the bending areas and the first stress relief part as taught by Cao into Cao and Choi combination’s support plate by modifying and rotating the components by 45 degrees. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to relieve the bending stress due of the support plate in the bending direction and the non-bending direction ([0062] of Cao). Additionally, substituting one bending relief pattern with another bending relief pattern is known as evidence by Cao such that it would be a mere obvious selection of an art recognized equivalence for the same purpose (MPEP §2144.06).
Regarding claim 7, Cao as modified by Choi teaches the support plate according to claim 1, wherein the first physical part is a fan ring comprising two concentric arcs (Fig. 6, [0066-0067], [0075-0078] of Choi : first physical part is a fan ring comprising two concentric arcs).
Regarding claim 9, Cao as modified by Choi teaches the support plate according to claim 1, wherein the stress relief region is formed by four adjacent stress relief members disposed end to end in sequence (Fig. 6, [0066-0067], [0075-0078] of Choi : opening OP is formed by four adjacent portions of components LP1 and LP2 deposed end to end in sequence).
Regarding claim 10, Cao as modified by Choi teaches the support plate according to claim 9, wherein the stress relief region is a hollow structure (Fig. 4, [0042-0046], [0058-0062] of Cao, and Fig. 6, [0066-0067], [0075-0078] of Choi : hollowed-out holes 11 are hollow structures, and openings OP is are hollow structures).
Claim(s) 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao and Choi combination as applied above, in view of Wang et al. (US 20220147107 A1, and hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 2, Cao as modified by Choi teaches the support plate according to claim 1.
Cao as modified by Choi does not teach wherein a number of the bending area is two, and bending axes of the two bending areas are parallel.
However, Wang teaches wherein a number of the bending area is two (Fig. 6A, [0092-0094] : two patterned regions 03), and bending axes of the two bending areas are parallel (Fig. 6A, [0092-0094] : the bending axis of the two patterned regions 03 are parallel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the second bending area as taught by Wang into Cao and Choi combination’s support plate by adding a second deformation compensation region, and a second primary bending region. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to provide adequate stress relief based on the bending needs of the support and magnitude of bending stress on the support ([0092-0094] of Wang). Additionally, having multiple bending areas is known as evidence by Wang such that it would be a mere duplication of parts (MPEP §2144.04)
Regarding claim 3, Cao as modified by Choi and Wang teaches the support plate according to claim 2, wherein the preset angle is 90 degrees (Fig. 6, [0066-0067], [0075-0078] of Choi : second component LP2 is rotated by a preset angle of 90 degrees around a center of symmetry of the first component LP1).
Cao as modified by Choi and Wang does not teach and an included angle between a centerline of the first stress relief part and the bending axis of any bending areas is 45 degrees.
However, Cao also teaches and an included angle between a centerline of the first stress relief part and the bending axis of any bending areas is 45 degrees (Fig. 4-5, [0042-0046], [0058-0062] : the hollowed out patterns of holes 11 and 12 in Fig. 4 can be in the direction parallel or orthogonal to the bending axis of the support structure, or the hollowed out patterns of holes 13 and 14 in Fig. 5 can be in the direction that is 45 degrees from the bending axis of the support structure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the included angle between a centerline of the first stress relief part and the bending axis of any bending area is 45 degrees as taught by Cao into Cao, Choi, and Wang combination’s support plate by modifying and rotating the components by 45 degrees. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to relieve the bending stress due of the support plate in the bending direction and the non-bending direction ([0062] of Cao). Additionally, substituting one bending relief pattern with another bending relief pattern is known as evidence by Cao such that it would be a mere obvious selection of an art recognized equivalence for the same purpose (MPEP §2144.06).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao and Choi combination as applied above, in view of Lee (US 20190204872 A1, and hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 8, Cao as modified by Choi teaches the support plate according to claim 1.
Cao as modified by Choi does not teach wherein an intersection of the first stress relief part and the second stress relief part comprises a plurality of arc chamfers.
However, Lee teaches wherein an intersection of the first stress relief part and the second stress relief part comprises a plurality of arc chamfers (Fig. 12, [0085-0089] : pattern H8 of buffer member 208 has arc chamfers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the arc chamfers as taught by Lee into Cao and Choi combination’s support plate by adding the arc chamfers to the first and second components. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to alleviate the tensile stress at the support plate ([0048-0052] of Lee). Additionally, substituting one bending relief pattern with another bending relief pattern is known as evidence by Lee such that it would be a mere obvious selection of an art recognized equivalence for the same purpose (MPEP §2144.06).
Claim(s) 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao and Choi combination as applied above, in view of Kim et al. (US 20190036068 A1, and hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 11, Cao as modified by Choi teaches the support plate according to claim 9.
Cao as modified by Choi does not teach wherein the stress relief region is a groove structure, and a ratio of a depth of the groove structure to a thickness of the support body is 1/2 to 4/5.
However, Kim teaches wherein the stress relief region is a groove structure (Fig. 8A-8B, [0152] : slits 202 groove with partial thickness P1 or be hollow), and a ratio of a depth of the groove structure to a thickness of the support body is 1/2 to 4/5 (Fig. 8A-8B, [0152] : ratio of a depth of the slits 202, and body 200a is greater than 0.5 and less than or equal to 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate groove structure as taught by Kim into Cao and Choi combination’s support plate by modifying the holes to have partial depth. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to achieve the desired balance of flexibility and stiffness for the support plate ([0152-0153] of Kim). Additionally, substituting a stress relief region with a through hole with a stress relief region with a partial hole is known as evidence by Kim such that it would be a mere obvious selection of an art recognized equivalence for the same purpose (MPEP §2144.06).
Regarding claim 12, Cao as modified by Choi and Kim teaches the support plate according to claim 11, wherein the depth of the groove structure is 30 μm to 100 μm (Fig. 6, [0066-0067], [0075-0078] of Choi : thickness of line pattern LP is between 5 μm and 150 μm).
Claim(s) 13-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao in view of Choi, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20220147107 A1, and hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 13, Cao in view of Choi teaches the support plate according to claim 1, and Cao further teaches the display panel (same as support structure + flexible display panel mentioned in abstract and [0042-0043]), comprising: the display panel main body (same as body of the flexible display panel); and the support plate of claim 1.
Cao does not explicitly teach a display panel main body comprising a light-emitting surface and a backlight surface opposite to the light-emitting surface; and the support plate disposed on the backlight surface of the display panel main body.
However, Wang teaches a display panel main body comprising a light-emitting surface (Fig. 3, [0072-0075] : display substrate 21 and first base 210 of flexible display panel 2 includes plurality of light-emitting devices) and a backlight surface (Fig. 1, [0067-0070] : backlight module) opposite to the light-emitting surface (Fig. 1, [0067-0070] : backlight module is between the flexible display panel 2 and the support plate 1); and
a support plate (Fig. 1, [0067-0070] : support plate 1) disposed on the backlight surface of the display panel main body (Fig. 1, [0067-0070] : backlight module is between the flexible display panel 2 and the support plate 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention have a display panel main body comprising a light-emitting surface and a backlight surface opposite to the light-emitting surface; and the support plate disposed on the backlight surface of the display panel main body in Cao in view of Choi, as taught by Wang, in order provide light source for the flexible display panel ([0070] of Wang).
Regarding claim 14, Cao as modified Choi and Wang teaches the display panel according to claim 13, wherein a number of the bending area is two (Fig. 9, [0042-0046], [0077-0078] of Cao : support structure including first deformation compensation region A1, primary bending region A2, and second deformation compensation region B1, second primary bending region B2), and bending axes of the two bending areas intersect at a first included angle (Fig. 9, [0042-0046], [0077-0078] of Cao : support structure including first deformation compensation region A1, primary bending region A2, and second deformation compensation region B1, second primary bending region B2 intersect at a first included angle).
Regarding claim 15, Cao as modified by Choi and Wang teaches the display panel according to claim 14, wherein the first included angle is equal to the preset angle (Fig. 9, [0042-0046], [0077-0078] of Cao, and Fig. 6, [0066-0067], [0075-0078] of Choi : support structure including first deformation compensation region A1, primary bending region A2, and second deformation compensation region B1, second primary bending region B2 intersect at 90 degrees, and first component LP1 and second component LP2 has a preset angle of 90 degrees).
Regarding claim 16, Cao as modified by Choi and Wang teaches the display panel according to claim 15.
Cao as modified by Wang and Choi does not teach wherein an included angle between the bending axis of one bending area and the centerline of the first stress relief part is equal to an included angle between the bending axis of the other bending area and the centerline of the first stress relief part.
However, Cao also teaches wherein an included angle between the bending axis of one bending area and the centerline of the first stress relief part is equal to an included angle between the bending axis of the other bending area and the centerline of the first stress relief part (Fig. 4-5, [0042-0046], [0058-0062] : the hollowed out patterns of holes 11 and 12 in Fig. 4 can be in the direction parallel or orthogonal to the bending axis of the support structure, or the hollowed out patterns of holes 13 and 14 in Fig. 5 can be in the direction that is 45 degrees from the bending axis of the support structure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the included angle between the bending axis of the bending areas and the first stress relief part as taught by Cao into Cao, Wang, and Choi combination’s support plate by modifying and rotating the components by 45 degrees. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to relieve the bending stress due of the support plate in the bending direction and the non-bending direction ([0062] of Cao). Additionally, substituting one bending relief pattern with another bending relief pattern is known as evidence by Cao such that it would be a mere obvious selection of an art recognized equivalence for the same purpose (MPEP §2144.06).
Regarding claim 17, Cao as modified by Choi and Wang teaches the display panel according to claim 13, wherein the first physical part is a fan ring comprising two concentric arcs (Fig. 6, [0066-0067], [0075-0078] of Choi : first physical part is a fan ring comprising two concentric arcs).
Regarding claim 19, Cao as modified by Choi and Wang teaches the display panel according to claim 13, wherein the stress relief region is formed by four adjacent stress relief members disposed end to end in sequence (Fig. 6, [0066-0067], [0075-0078] of Choi : opening OP is formed by four adjacent portions of components LP1 and LP2 deposed end to end in sequence)..
Regarding claim 20, Cao as modified by Choi and Wang teaches the display panel according to claim 19, wherein the stress relief region is a hollow structure (Fig. 4, [0042-0046], [0058-0062] of Cao, and Fig. 6, [0066-0067], [0075-0078] of Choi : hollowed-out holes 11 are hollow structures, and openings OP is are hollow structures).
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao, Choi, and Wang combination as applied above, and further in view of Lee (US 20190204872 A1, and hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 18, Cao as modified by Choi and Wang teaches the display panel according to claim 13.
Cao as modified by Choi and Wang does not teach wherein an intersection of the first stress relief part and the second stress relief part comprises a plurality of arc chamfers.
However, Lee teaches wherein an intersection of the first stress relief part and the second stress relief part comprises a plurality of arc chamfers (Fig. 12, [0085-0089] : pattern H8 of buffer member 208 has arc chamfers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the arc chamfers as taught by Lee into Cao, Choi and Wang combination’s support plate by adding the arc chamfers to the first and second components. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to alleviate the tensile stress at the support plate ([0048-0052] of Lee). Additionally, substituting one bending relief pattern with another bending relief pattern is known as evidence by Lee such that it would be a mere obvious selection of an art recognized equivalence for the same purpose (MPEP §2144.06).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Applicant also made the following argument:
1. Applicant alleges the function of the line pattern LP disclosed in Choi is completely different from the stress relief members recited in the amended claim 1 (response at pg. 8).
In response to applicant's argument that the function of the line pattern LP disclosed in Choi is completely different from the stress relief member, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the stress relief members of Choi is capable of performing the same function that the claim requires. Thus, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument.
2. Applicant further alleges, for those skilled in the art, the support layer SPL including the support sticks ST, rather than the stress control layer SRL, should be considered corresponding to the support plate as claimed (response at pg. 9).
SPL and SRL, individually or both, can be considered as a support plate. Note support plate is a broad term. However, Examiner only used SRL to teach about the stress relief members, which reads on claim 1 and can be modified to Cao’s support plate to further reduce stress. Thus, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument.
3. Applicant lastly alleges that the support layer SPL of Choi is not provided with structures similar to the stress relief members as claimed (response at pg. 10).
Examiner did not used SPL in the rejection. Thus, the argument is moot. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841