DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the application 17/617,172 filed on December 7th, 2021.
Claim Status
This office action is based upon claims received on 12/23/2025, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
Claims 1 – 5, 7, and 9 – 20 are pending.
Claims 1 – 5, 7, and 9 – 20 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/23/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Claim Rejection: Claims 1, 19, and 20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The appropriate corrections have not been made in the respective claims. The claim rejection is hereby maintained.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 8 – 10 of the Remarks, filed 12/23/2025, with respect to the rejections of independent claims 1, 19, and 20, and dependent claims 2 – 5, 7, and 9 – 18, under applied prior art references of record in the office action dated 09/23/2025, have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been maintained as set forth below. See office action below.
Applicant’s argument regarding the 112(a) rejection has been fully considered. Examiner respectfully disagrees with these arguments as has been outlined in the 112(a) rejection of the previous office action dated 09/23/2025, and maintained below. Applicant cited sections of the specification, particularly pg. 44, II. 9 – 12, pg. 47, II. 3 – 5, and pg. 44, II. 25 – 27. The page 44 of the Specification (dated: 12/07/2021) as originally filed by the applicant is reproduced below, along with the relevant section of page 47 as cited by the applicant. These paragraphs are reproduced below with emphasis on the important sections.
Applicant’s arguments centers around the procedure of Fig. 6.
Fig. 6, Step 1 clearly describes “a local event on the UE causes the UE to determine that a new user needs to be associated with the UE”. Fig. 6 Step 1 further provides examples of what a local event is and states “Examples of local events include a person entering a new username in a GUI (i.e. a web browser, application, etc.) and the UE receiving a User Identity from another device after the other device pairs, connects, or communicates with the UE via Bluetooth or Wi-Fi. The event may also involve the UE receiving a password, or credential, with the user identifier. The UE may derive the User ID and associated credentials that will be sent to the 3GPP System based on the entered or received information.” Therefore, Fig. 6 clearly indicates that a new user with a new user identifier is the local event procedure that shows how a UE may request that the network associate a User Identifier with the UE, resulting in the network sending the UE a new configured NSSAI, wherein the new configured NSSAI includes S-NSSAI that were not previously in the UE’s NSSAI due to the user (i.e., the new user entered in Step 1 of Fig. 6) being linked to the UE’s subscription.
This description in the originally filed specification is contrary to the claim limitation which states “wherein the local event comprises a reception of a new configured NSSAI that is associated with the user identifier” and “wherein the new configured NSSAI comprises at least one new configured S-NSSAI that is associated with the user identifier” in lines 16 – 18 of claim 1. The limitations on lines 16 – 18 of claim 1 refer back (i.e., has an antecedent) to the “transmit, to a wireless network, a link request message requesting a user identifier be associated with a subscription identifier …” limitation in lines 2 – 3 of claim 1. However, in the arguments, the applicant appears to suggest that the same user with the same user identifier is the one receiving the new configured NSSAI with a new configured S-NSSAI.
The section of page 47 as cited by the applicant and as reproduced below merely refers back to Fig.6 as described on page 44, which involves a new user providing a new user identifier in a local event, either by entering it through a GUI or by receiving it from another device.
Thus, the argument that “the local event is triggered by the same user with the same user identifier” does not seem to have any support in the written specification and drawings of the present application. The support in the specification is for a network that may provide a new configured NSSAI to the UE which is updated to account for the fact that the user is no longer using the UE. A person having ordinary skill in the art will find it obvious that when the user is no longer using the UE or associated with the UE, the new configured NSSAI will not be associated with the same user with the same user identifier. Therefore when a different user becomes associated with the UE, the NSSAI information will be updated in order for the different user to be able to access the allowed slices and subscriptions as needed. Thus, it cannot be ascertained by a person skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed limitation.
Applicant further argues that Wang does not does not teach “send, based on a local event on the electronic device, a NSSAI request message to the wireless network, wherein the local event comprises a reception of a new configured NSSAI that is associated with the user identifier, wherein the new configured NSSAI comprises at least one new configured S-NSSAI that is associated with the user identifier”. Examiner respectfully disagrees and the explanation has been provided in the response to arguments regarding the 112(a) rejection above. Therefore the rejection will be maintained.
All remaining arguments presented by Applicant not specifically addressed herein and directed to various dependent claims are found unpersuasive for the same reasons as stated herein, with regard to independent claims. The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are rejected specifically in view of the limitation “wherein the local event comprises a reception of a new configured NSSAI that is associated with the user identifier” and “wherein the new configured NSSAI comprises at least one new configured S-NSSAI that is associated with the user identifier” in lines 16 – 18 of claim 1. In the arguments section (see page 9 of Remarks filed 07/21/2025), Applicant argues that the prior art reference does not teach that “the local event is triggered by the same user with the same user identifier”. Page 44, lines 5 – 14 of the specification, as cited in the arguments as support for the amended limitations, recites as follows:
If the UE indicates that the user should no longer be associated with the UE or that the user is no longer linked with the subscription, the network may provide the UE with a new Configured NSSAI which will be updated to account for the fact that the user is no longer using the UE or linked with the UE’s subscription.
The procedure of Figure 6 shows how a UE may request that the network associates a User Identifier with the UE, resulting in the network sending the UE a new Configured NSSAI. The new Configured NSSAI includes S-NSSAI’s that were not previously in the UE’s NSSAI due to the user now being linked to the UE’s subscription. The new Configured NSSAI may also no longer include certain S-NSSAI’s that were previously in the UE’s NSSAI due to the user now being linked to the UE’s subscription.
However, as best understood according to the written specification and drawings of the present application, the cited portion above of the written specification describes a scenario where the user is no longer associated with a UE or when the user is no longer linked with a subscription. That is when the network may provide the UE with a new configured NSSAI which will be updated to account for the fact that he user is no longer associated with the UE.
Thus, the argument that “the local event is triggered by the same user with the same user identifier” does not seem to have any support in the written specification and drawings of the present application. The support in the specification is for a network that may provide a new configured NSSAI to the UE which is updated to account for the fact that the user is no longer using the UE. A person having ordinary skill in the art will find it obvious that when the user is no longer using the UE or associated with the UE, the new configured NSSAI will not be associated with the same user with the same user identifier. Therefore when a different user becomes associated with the UE, the NSSAI information will be updated in order for the different user to be able to access the allowed slices and subscriptions as needed. Thus, it cannot be ascertained by a person skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed limitation.
For examination purpose, the limitation will be interpreted as “wherein the local event comprises a reception of a new configured NSSAI that is associated with the current user identifier, wherein the new configured NSSAI comprises at least one new configured S-NSSAI that is associated with the current user identifier”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2, 7, and 19 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. [U.S. PG PUB 20210185602] hereinafter Wang, and further in view of Lee et al. [US 20200229079 A1] hereinafter Lee, Arkko et al. [Nokia, Network Working Group; Request for Comments: RFC 4187; Category Informational; January 2006], as cited in the IDS, hereinafter Arkko, and Watfa et al. [WO 2018034924 A1] hereinafter Watfa.
Regarding claim 1 (as best understood), Wang teaches an electronic device (Wang: Fig. 3, ¶ 74; communications device 300) comprising: a processor (Wang: Fig. 3, ¶ 74 – 75; processor 301) configured to
transmit (Wang: Fig. 4, ¶ 88, S401-S403), to a wireless network (Wang: Fig. 4, ¶ 88 - ¶ 121; wherein the UDM wireless network element and the first AMF network element are together, the wireless network), a link request message requesting a user identifier be associated with a subscription identifier corresponding to a subscription that is associated with the electronic device (Wang: Fig. 4, Steps S401 – S408, ¶ 88 - ¶ 108; wherein the first terminal (the electronic device) sends a message 1 (including requested NSSAI of the first terminal, and the first indication information is tag information in S-NSSAI included in the requested NSSAI (¶ 90)) requesting access to the subscription data from the UDM network, the UDM determines that the first terminal has user characteristic information. The first AMF network element sends a message 2 (User identifier request message) in Step S406, and the first terminal responds in S407. The first AMF network element then forwards the User information request message to the wireless network in S408);
receive, from the wireless network, a registration response confirming that the user identifier has been associated with the subscription identifier that is associated with the electronic device (Wang: Fig. 4, Steps S409 – S410, ¶ 111 - ¶ 115; wherein the UDM wireless network element determines the user characteristics information of a current user of the first terminal (electronic device) and sends the response message to the first AMF network Element in S410);
perform procedure to authenticate a user with the wireless network based on the user identifier (Wang: Fig. 4, Step S409 – S413 ¶ 111 - ¶ 130; wherein the wireless network receives the User identifier information, determines the user characteristics information of the current user of the first terminal, determines the allowed network access and subscription allowed for the current user, and sends a registration accept message in S413 to the first terminal);
receive, from the wireless network, updated configuration information for the electronic device, wherein at least part of the updated configuration information is associated with the user identifier (Wang: Fig. 4, Steps S411 – S413, ¶ 118 - ¶ 130; wherein the first AMF wireless network element determines to support serving a network slice indicated in one or more pieces of S-NSSAI corresponding to the current user of the first terminal, then sends the registration accept message (comprising the updated configuration information) to the first terminal device in step S413 (i.e., the electronic device receives from the wireless network the registration accept message which comprises the updated and allowed NSSAI configuration information (i.e., wherein an example of the update is the additional S-NSSAI 4 that was added to the subscribed NSSAI of the first terminal which has three pieces of NSSAI e.g., S-NSSAI 1, S-NSSAI 2, and S-NSSAI 3 (Wang: ¶ 125 – 126)))) and comprises a network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) for the electronic device, wherein the NSSAI comprises at least one single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) that is associated with the user identifier (Wang: Fig. 4, Steps S411 – S413, ¶ 121 - 123; wherein the first AMF network element determines, based on the one or more pieces of S-NSSAI corresponding to the current user (i.e., user identifier) of the first terminal, the allowed NSSAI corresponding to the first terminal, where the allowed NSSAI includes the one or more pieces of S-NSSAI corresponding to the current user (i.e., user identifier) of the first terminal);
send, based on a local event on the electronic device (Wang: Fig. 4, Steps S401 – S408, ¶ 4, ¶ 6, ¶ 71, ¶ 88 - ¶ 108; wherein a local event is a situation where user B logs into the same first terminal (electronic device)), a NSSAI request message to the wireless network (Wang: Fig. 4, Steps S401 – S408, ¶ 88 - ¶ 108; wherein in the second iteration of the process, when user B logs into the first terminal (electronic device), the first terminal (the electronic device) sends a message 1 (including requested NSSAI of the first terminal, and the first indication information is tag information in S-NSSAI included in the requested NSSAI (¶ 90)) requesting access to the subscription data from the UDM network, the UDM determines that the first terminal has current user characteristic information. The first AMF network element sends a message 2 (User identifier request message) in Step S406, and the first terminal responds in S407. The first AMF network element then forwards the User information request message to the wireless network in S408), wherein the local event comprises a reception of a new configured NSSAI that is associated with the user identifier (Wang: ¶ 117; wherein the allowed NSSAI of the first terminal is sent to the first terminal, a network slice that is selected and accessed by the first terminal based on the allowed NSSAI may be a network slice in the one or more network slices that the current user of the first terminal is allowed to access. In other words, the corresponding network slice can be selected and accessed based on the user), wherein the new configured NSSAI comprises at least one new configured S-NSSAI that is associated with the user identifier (Wang: ¶ 117; wherein the allowed NSSAI includes the one or more pieces of S-NSSAI corresponding to the current user of the first terminal); and
receive, an indication of allowed NSSAI based on the NSSAI request message, wherein the indication of allowed NSSAI indicates whether the at least one new configured S-NSSAI that is associated with the user identifier is allowed (Wang: Fig. 4, Steps S411 – S413, ¶ 121 - 123; wherein the first AMF network element determines, based on the one or more pieces of S-NSSAI corresponding to the current user (i.e., user identifier) of the first terminal, the allowed NSSAI corresponding to the first terminal (i.e., the indication of allowed NSSAI is based on the second NSSAI request message that comprises the user information of user B), where the allowed NSSAI includes the one or more pieces of S-NSSAI corresponding to the current user (i.e., user identifier) of the first terminal).
Wang teaches that a plurality of users can share the same terminal and each user will have their different/corresponding network slice which gives them access to their customized services provided by a network in order to ensure the rights and interests of each user (Wang: ¶ 4 and ¶ 6).
Referring to the invention Lee, Lee teaches that that an electronic device may transmit a registration request message a plurality of times and may receive a registration accept message a plurality of times (Lee: Fig. 8, Fig. 10, ¶ 133, ¶ 137; wherein in operation 815 the electronic device 101 may transmit a second registration request message including the second requested NSSAI, and according to an embodiment, the electronic device 101 may generate a second requested NSSAI such that the second requested NSSAI indicates the s-NSSAIs depending on the priorities of the s-NSSAIs, and after operation 815 of FIG. 8 is performed, in operation 1005, the electronic device 101 may receive an Nth registration accept message including an Nth allowed NSSAI and an Nth rejected NSSAI. N may be a natural number of greater than or equal to 2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Network slice selection teachings of Lee into the Network slice selection teachings of Wang in order to ensure that the electronic device receives different types of services, even when the quality of the services differs between the different slices (Lee: ¶ 3).
Wang in view of Lee teaches the process of transmitting to a wireless network requesting authentication of a user identifier, receiving a response, performing a procedure to authenticate, and providing subscription services based on the specific user identifier configuration. However, Wang in view of Lee fails to specifically teach that the procedure to authenticate the user is an extensible authentication protocol (EAP) based procedure.
Referring to the invention of Arkko, Arkko teaches performing authentication by using an extensible authentication protocol (EAP) based procedure (Arkko: Fig. 1, page 9 – 11, section 3: wherein extensible authentication protocol Authentication and Key Agreement (EAP-AKA) uses two roundtrips to authenticate and authorize the peer (i.e., the electronic device) and generate session keys. As in other EAP schemes, an identity request/response message pair is usually exchanged first. On full authentication, the peer’s identity response includes either the user’s International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) (i.e., the user identifier), or a temporary identity (pseudonym) if identity privacy is in effect).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the EAP teachings of Arkko into the authentication procedure teachings of Wang and Lee in order to achieve successful authentication and the use of AKA in the EAP serves also as a secure PPP authentication method in devices that already contain an identity module (Arkko: Page 4, section 1).
Referring to the invention of Watfa, Watfa also teaches a reception of a new configured NSSAI that is associated with the user identifier (Watfa: ¶ 113; wherein a network may maintain a list of currently active network slices for the WTRU. The network may be configured to update the list, e.g., after the WTRU is disconnected from an existing network slice and/or after a new network slice has been assigned to the WTRU).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the update of NSSAI after a terminal device is disconnected from an existing network teachings of a Watfa into the combined teachings of Wang, Lee, and Arkko, in order to improve on existing processes and to reduce latency.
Regarding claim 2, Wang in view of Lee, Arkko, and Watfa teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein
the processor is configured to determine that the user identifier is to be associated with the subscription identifier that is associated with the electronic device based on information entered into a graphical user interface (GUI) of the electronic device (Wang: ¶ 70; wherein the first terminal is an entry for interaction between a mobile user and a network, and comprises a display service window to a user, receives a user operation input and the like, and can be a handheld device, wearable device, computing device and more).
Regarding claim 7, Wang in view of Lee, Arkko, and Watfa teach the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the updated configuration information indicates at least one additional service that is available to the electronic device and is associated with the user identifier (Wang: ¶ 117; wherein the one or more pieces of S-NSSAI (which includes a slice/service type, SST (Wang: ¶ 37)) that correspond to the current user of the first terminal and that are included in the user characteristic information are used to indicate one or more network slices that the current user of the first terminal is allowed to access).
Regarding claim 19 (as best understood), Wang teaches a method performed by an electronic device (Wang: Fig. 3, ¶ 74; communications device 300), the method comprising:
transmitting (Wang: Fig. 4, ¶ 88, S401-S403), to a wireless network (Wang: Fig. 4, ¶ 88 - ¶ 121; wherein the UDM wireless network element and the first AMF network element are together, the wireless network), a link request message requesting a user identifier be associated with a subscription identifier that is associated with the electronic device (Wang: Fig. 4, Steps S401 – S408, ¶ 88 - ¶ 108; wherein the first terminal (the electronic device) sends a message 1 (including requested NSSAI of the first terminal, and the first indication information is tag information in S-NSSAI included in the requested NSSAI (¶ 90)) requesting access to the subscription data from the UDM network, the UDM determines that the first terminal has user characteristic information. The first AMF network element sends a message 2 (User identifier request message) in Step S406, and the first terminal responds in S407. The first AMF network element then forwards the User information request message to the wireless network in S408);
receiving, from the wireless network, a registration response confirming that the user identifier has been associated with the subscription identifier that is associated with the electronic device (Wang: Fig. 4, Steps S409 – S410, ¶ 111 - ¶ 115; wherein the UDM wireless network element determines the user characteristics information of a current user of the first terminal (electronic device) and sends the response message to the first AMF network Element in S410);
performing procedure to authenticate a user with the wireless network based on the user identifier (Wang: Fig. 4, Step S409 – S413 ¶ 111 - ¶ 130; wherein the wireless network receives the User identifier information, determines the user characteristics information of the current user of the first terminal, determines the allowed network access and subscription allowed for the current user, and sends a registration accept message in S413 to the first terminal);
receiving, from the wireless network, updated configuration information for the electronic device, wherein at least part of the updated configuration information is associated with the user identifier (Wang: Fig. 4, Steps S411 – S413, ¶ 118 - ¶ 130; wherein the first AMF wireless network element determines to support serving a network slice indicated in one or more pieces of S-NSSAI corresponding to the current user of the first terminal, then sends the registration accept message (comprising the updated configuration information) to the first terminal device in step S413 (i.e., the electronic device receives from the wireless network the registration accept message which comprises the updated and allowed NSSAI configuration information (i.e., wherein an example of the update is the additional S-NSSAI 4 that was added to the subscribed NSSAI of the first terminal which has three pieces of NSSAI e.g., S-NSSAI 1, S-NSSAI 2, and S-NSSAI 3 (Wang: ¶ 125 – 126)))) and comprises a network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) for the electronic device, wherein the NSSAI comprises at least one single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) that is associated with the user identifier (Wang: Fig. 4, Steps S411 – S413, ¶ 121 - 123; wherein the first AMF network element determines, based on the one or more pieces of S-NSSAI corresponding to the current user (i.e., user identifier) of the first terminal, the allowed NSSAI corresponding to the first terminal, where the allowed NSSAI includes the one or more pieces of S-NSSAI corresponding to the current user (i.e., user identifier) of the first terminal);
sending, based on a local event on the electronic device (Wang: Fig. 4, Steps S401 – S408, ¶ 4, ¶ 6, ¶ 71, ¶ 88 - ¶ 108; wherein a local event is a situation where user B logs into the same first terminal (electronic device)), a NSSAI request message to the wireless network (Wang: Fig. 4, Steps S401 – S408, ¶ 88 - ¶ 108; wherein in the second iteration of the process, when user B logs into the first terminal (electronic device), the first terminal (the electronic device) sends a message 1 (including requested NSSAI of the first terminal, and the first indication information is tag information in S-NSSAI included in the requested NSSAI (¶ 90)) requesting access to the subscription data from the UDM network, the UDM determines that the first terminal has current user characteristic information. The first AMF network element sends a message 2 (User identifier request message) in Step S406, and the first terminal responds in S407. The first AMF network element then forwards the User information request message to the wireless network in S408), wherein the local event comprises a reception of a new configured NSSAI that is associated with the user identifier (Wang: ¶ 117; wherein the allowed NSSAI of the first terminal is sent to the first terminal, a network slice that is selected and accessed by the first terminal based on the allowed NSSAI may be a network slice in the one or more network slices that the current user of the first terminal is allowed to access. In other words, the corresponding network slice can be selected and accessed based on the user), wherein the new configured NSSAI comprises at least one new configured S-NSSAI that is associated with the user identifier (Wang: ¶ 117; wherein the allowed NSSAI includes the one or more pieces of S-NSSAI corresponding to the current user of the first terminal); and
receiving, an indication of allowed NSSAI based on the NSSAI request message, wherein the indication of allowed NSSAI indicates whether the at least one new configured S-NSSAI that is associated with the user identifier is allowed (Wang: Fig. 4, Steps S411 – S413, ¶ 121 - 123; wherein the first AMF network element determines, based on the one or more pieces of S-NSSAI corresponding to the current user (i.e., user identifier) of the first terminal, the allowed NSSAI corresponding to the first terminal (i.e., the indication of allowed NSSAI is based on the second NSSAI request message that comprises the user information of user B), where the allowed NSSAI includes the one or more pieces of S-NSSAI corresponding to the current user (i.e., user identifier) of the first terminal).
Wang teaches that a plurality of users can share the same terminal and each user will have their different/corresponding network slice which gives them access to their customized services provided by a network in order to ensure the rights and interests of each user (Wang: ¶ 4 and ¶ 6).
Referring to the invention Lee, Lee teaches that that an electronic device may transmit a registration request message a plurality of times and may receive a registration accept message a plurality of times (Lee: Fig. 8, Fig. 10, ¶ 133, ¶ 137; wherein in operation 815 the electronic device 101 may transmit a second registration request message including the second requested NSSAI, and according to an embodiment, the electronic device 101 may generate a second requested NSSAI such that the second requested NSSAI indicates the s-NSSAIs depending on the priorities of the s-NSSAIs, and after operation 815 of FIG. 8 is performed, in operation 1005, the electronic device 101 may receive an Nth registration accept message including an Nth allowed NSSAI and an Nth rejected NSSAI. N may be a natural number of greater than or equal to 2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Network slice selection teachings of Lee into the Network slice selection teachings of Wang in order to ensure that the electronic device receives different types of services, even when the quality of the services differs between the different slices (Lee: ¶ 3).
Wang in view of Lee teaches the process of transmitting to a wireless network requesting authentication of a user identifier, receiving a response, performing a procedure to authenticate, and providing subscription services based on the specific user identifier configuration. However, Wang in view of Lee fails to specifically teach that the procedure to authenticate the user is an extensible authentication protocol (EAP) based procedure.
Referring to the invention of Arkko, Arkko teaches performing authentication by using an extensible authentication protocol (EAP) based procedure (Arkko: Fig. 1, page 9 – 11, section 3: wherein extensible authentication protocol Authentication and Key Agreement (EAP-AKA) uses two roundtrips to authenticate and authorize the peer (i.e., the electronic device) and generate session keys. As in other EAP schemes, an identity request/response message pair is usually exchanged first. On full authentication, the peer’s identity response includes either the user’s International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) (i.e., the user identifier), or a temporary identity (pseudonym) if identity privacy is in effect).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the EAP teachings of Arkko into the authentication procedure teachings of Wang and Lee in order to achieve successful authentication and the use of AKA in the EAP serves also as a secure PPP authentication method in devices that already contain an identity module (Arkko: Page 4, section 1).
Referring to the invention of Watfa, Watfa also teaches a reception of a new configured NSSAI that is associated with the user identifier (Watfa: ¶ 113; wherein a network may maintain a list of currently active network slices for the WTRU. The network may be configured to update the list, e.g., after the WTRU is disconnected from an existing network slice and/or after a new network slice has been assigned to the WTRU).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the update of NSSAI after a terminal device is disconnected from an existing network teachings of a Watfa into the combined teachings of Wang, Lee, and Arkko, in order to improve on existing processes and to reduce latency.
Regarding claim 20 (as best understood), Wang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium including computer program instructions (Wang: Fig. 3, ¶ 82; processors 301 and 308 for processing computer program instruction), which when executed by an electronic device (Wang: Fig. 3, ¶ 74; communications device 300), cause the electronic device to:
transmit (Wang: Fig. 4, ¶ 88, S401-S403), to a wireless network (Wang: Fig. 4, ¶ 88 - ¶ 121; wherein the UDM wireless network element and the first AMF network element are together, the wireless network), a link request message requesting a user identifier be associated with a subscription identifier that is associated with the electronic device (Wang: Fig. 4, Steps S401 – S408, ¶ 88 - ¶ 108; wherein the first terminal (the electronic device) sends a message 1 (including requested NSSAI of the first terminal, and the first indication information is tag information in S-NSSAI included in the requested NSSAI (¶ 90)) requesting access to the subscription data from the UDM network, the UDM determines that the first terminal has user characteristic information. The first AMF network element sends a message 2 (User identifier request message) in Step S406, and the first terminal responds in S407. The first AMF network element then forwards the User information request message to the wireless network in S408);
receive, from the wireless network, a registration response confirming that the user identifier has been associated with the subscription identifier that is associated with the electronic device (Wang: Fig. 4, Steps S409 – S410, ¶ 111 - ¶ 115; wherein the UDM wireless network element determines the user characteristics information of a current user of the first terminal (electronic device) and sends the response message to the first AMF network Element in S410);
perform procedure to authenticate a user with the wireless network based on the user identifier (Wang: Fig. 4, Step S409 – S413 ¶ 111 - ¶ 130; wherein the wireless network receives the User identifier information, determines the user characteristics information of the current user of the first terminal, determines the allowed network access and subscription allowed for the current user, and sends a registration accept message in S413 to the first terminal);
receive, from the wireless network, updated configuration information for the electronic device, wherein at least part of the updated configuration information is associated with the user identifier (Wang: Fig. 4, Steps S411 – S413, ¶ 118 - ¶ 130; wherein the first AMF wireless network element determines to support serving a network slice indicated in one or more pieces of S-NSSAI corresponding to the current user of the first terminal, then sends the registration accept message (comprising the updated configuration information) to the first terminal device in step S413 (i.e., the electronic device receives from the wireless network the registration accept message which comprises the updated and allowed NSSAI configuration information (i.e., wherein an example of the update is the additional S-NSSAI 4 that was added to the subscribed NSSAI of the first terminal which has three pieces of NSSAI e.g., S-NSSAI 1, S-NSSAI 2, and S-NSSAI 3 (Wang: ¶ 125 – 126)))) and comprises a network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) for the electronic device, wherein the NSSAI comprises at least one single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) that is associated with the user identifier (Wang: Fig. 4, Steps S411 – S413, ¶ 121 - 123; wherein the first AMF network element determines, based on the one or more pieces of S-NSSAI corresponding to the current user (i.e., user identifier) of the first terminal, the allowed NSSAI corresponding to the first terminal, where the allowed NSSAI includes the one or more pieces of S-NSSAI corresponding to the current user (i.e., user identifier) of the first terminal);
send, based on a local event on the electronic device (Wang: Fig. 4, Steps S401 – S408, ¶ 4, ¶ 6, ¶ 71, ¶ 88 - ¶ 108; wherein a local event is a situation where user B logs into the same first terminal (electronic device)), a NSSAI request message to the wireless network (Wang: Fig. 4, Steps S401 – S408, ¶ 88 - ¶ 108; wherein in the second iteration of the process, when user B logs into the first terminal (electronic device), the first terminal (the electronic device) sends a message 1 (including requested NSSAI of the first terminal, and the first indication information is tag information in S-NSSAI included in the requested NSSAI (¶ 90)) requesting access to the subscription data from the UDM network, the UDM determines that the first terminal has current user characteristic information. The first AMF network element sends a message 2 (User identifier request message) in Step S406, and the first terminal responds in S407. The first AMF network element then forwards the User information request message to the wireless network in S408), wherein the local event comprises a reception of a new configured NSSAI that is associated with the user identifier (Wang: ¶ 117; wherein the allowed NSSAI of the first terminal is sent to the first terminal, a network slice that is selected and accessed by the first terminal based on the allowed NSSAI may be a network slice in the one or more network slices that the current user of the first terminal is allowed to access. In other words, the corresponding network slice can be selected and accessed based on the user), wherein the new configured NSSAI comprises at least one new configured S-NSSAI that is associated with the user identifier (Wang: ¶ 117; wherein the allowed NSSAI includes the one or more pieces of S-NSSAI corresponding to the current user of the first terminal); and
receive, an indication of allowed NSSAI based on the NSSAI request message, wherein the indication of allowed NSSAI indicates whether the at least one new configured S-NSSAI that is associated with the user identifier is allowed (Wang: Fig. 4, Steps S411 – S413, ¶ 121 - 123; wherein the first AMF network element determines, based on the one or more pieces of S-NSSAI corresponding to the current user (i.e., user identifier) of the first terminal, the allowed NSSAI corresponding to the first terminal (i.e., the indication of allowed NSSAI is based on the second NSSAI request message that comprises the user information of user B), where the allowed NSSAI includes the one or more pieces of S-NSSAI corresponding to the current user (i.e., user identifier) of the first terminal).
Wang teaches that a plurality of users can share the same terminal and each user will have their different/corresponding network slice which gives them access to their customized services provided by a network in order to ensure the rights and interests of each user (Wang: ¶ 4 and ¶ 6).
Referring to the invention Lee, Lee teaches that that an electronic device may transmit a registration request message a plurality of times and may receive a registration accept message a plurality of times (Lee: Fig. 8, Fig. 10, ¶ 133, ¶ 137; wherein in operation 815 the electronic device 101 may transmit a second registration request message including the second requested NSSAI, and according to an embodiment, the electronic device 101 may generate a second requested NSSAI such that the second requested NSSAI indicates the s-NSSAIs depending on the priorities of the s-NSSAIs, and after operation 815 of FIG. 8 is performed, in operation 1005, the electronic device 101 may receive an Nth registration accept message including an Nth allowed NSSAI and an Nth rejected NSSAI. N may be a natural number of greater than or equal to 2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Network slice selection teachings of Lee into the Network slice selection teachings of Wang in order to ensure that the electronic device receives different types of services, even when the quality of the services differs between the different slices (Lee: ¶ 3).
Wang in view of Lee teaches the process of transmitting to a wireless network requesting authentication of a user identifier, receiving a response, performing a procedure to authenticate, and providing subscription services based on the specific user identifier configuration. However, Wang in view of Lee fails to specifically teach that the procedure to authenticate the user is an extensible authentication protocol (EAP) based procedure.
Referring to the invention of Arkko, Arkko teaches performing authentication by using an extensible authentication protocol (EAP) based procedure (Arkko: Fig. 1, page 9 – 11, section 3: wherein extensible authentication protocol Authentication and Key Agreement (EAP-AKA) uses two roundtrips to authenticate and authorize the peer (i.e., the electronic device) and generate session keys. As in other EAP schemes, an identity request/response message pair is usually exchanged first. On full authentication, the peer’s identity response includes either the user’s International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) (i.e., the user identifier), or a temporary identity (pseudonym) if identity privacy is in effect).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the EAP teachings of Arkko into the authentication procedure teachings of Wang and Lee in order to achieve successful authentication and the use of AKA in the EAP serves also as a secure PPP authentication method in devices that already contain an identity module (Arkko: Page 4, section 1).
Referring to the invention of Watfa, Watfa also teaches a reception of a new configured NSSAI that is associated with the user identifier (Watfa: ¶ 113; wherein a network may maintain a list of currently active network slices for the WTRU. The network may be configured to update the list, e.g., after the WTRU is disconnected from an existing network slice and/or after a new network slice has been assigned to the WTRU).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the update of NSSAI after a terminal device is disconnected from an existing network teachings of a Watfa into the combined teachings of Wang, Lee, and Arkko, in order to improve on existing processes and to reduce latency.
Claims 3 – 5, 9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al., Lee et al., Arkko et al., and Watfa et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of 3GPP TR 22.904 V16.1.0 (2018-09), 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on user centric identifiers and authentication, (Release 16), as cited in IDS, hereinafter 3GPP TR 22.904.
Regarding claim 3, Wang in view of Lee, Arkko, and Watfa teaches the electronic device of claim 1.
Wang in view of Lee, Arkko, and Watfa does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to: wirelessly pair with another electronic device, and determine that the user identifier is to be associated with the subscription identifier that is associated with the electronic device based on reception of the user identifier from the another electronic device.
Referring to the invention of 3GPP TR 22.904, 3GPP TR 22.904 teaches wherein the processor is configured to:
wirelessly pair with another electronic device (3GPP TR 22.904: Section 5.7.2 and 5.7.3; wherein the 3GPP system supports pairing, and Rosy is able to pair her medical devices (inhaler) and wearable devices (smart watch) with Joseph’s smart phone (UE)), and
determine that the user identifier is to be associated with the subscription identifier that is associated with the electronic device based on reception of the user identifier from the another electronic device (3GPP TR 22.904: Section 5.8.4 PR 5.7-3; wherein Rosy’s devices (i.e., the smart watch and the inhaler) are paired with Joseph’s phone (UE) because she had already done the configurations earlier. When Rosy uses her inhaler it connects to the medical center via Joseph’s UE, and is logged in as Rosy’s inhaler, because of the previous user authentication over the 3GPP system).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the configuration information associated with user identifier teachings of the 3GPP TR 22.904 in the configuration teachings of the Wang, Lee, Arkko, and Watfa invention in order to properly provide user identification in the operator network to provide an enhanced user experience and optimized performance, as well as to offer services to devices that are not part of 3GPP network (3GPP TR 22.904: Section 4.1 Background and Motivation).
Regarding claim 4, Wang in view of Lee, Arkko, and Watfa teach the electronic device of claim 1.
Wang in view of Lee, Arkko, and Watfa does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to receive an alias for the user ID.
Referring to the invention of 3GPP TR 22.904, 3GPP TR 22.904 teaches receive an alias for the user ID (3GPP TR 22.904: Section 5.8.4 PR 5.8-3; “wherein the 3GPP system shall support using aliases with a User Identity for 3GPP and non-3GPP services”, and in section 5.8.3 paragraph 4, “She uses the tablet with the operator’s communication client app to setup a call to her friend Martin, who sees her preferred alias that is linked with her account as incoming call identity” (i.e., the processor of the electronic device is configured to receive an alias for the user ID)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the configuration information associated with user identifier teachings of the 3GPP TR 22.904 in the configuration teachings of the Wang, Lee, Arkko, and Watfa invention in order to properly provide user identification in the operator network to provide an enhanced user experience and optimized performance, as well as to offer services to devices that are not part of 3GPP network (3GPP TR 22.904: Section 4.1 Background and Motivation).
Regarding claim 5, Wang in view of Lee, Arkko, and Watfa, and 3GPP TR 22.904 teach the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the subscription identifier that is associated with the electronic device is an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) of the electronic device (3GPP TR 22.904: Section 5.1.4 PR 5.1-1; wherein the subscription identifier can be one of many identifiers to include International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI)).
Regarding claim 9, Wang in view of Lee, Arkko, and Watfa teach the electronic device of claim 1.
Wang in view of Lee, Arkko, and Watfa does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to update configuration information linking user identifiers to available services that are permitted to be accessed by the user identifiers upon receiving the updated configuration information.
Referring to the invention of 3GPP TR 22.904, 3GPP TR 22.904 teaches wherein the processor is configured to update configuration information linking user identifiers to available services that are permitted to be accessed by the user identifiers upon receiving the updated configuration information (3GPP TR 22.904: Section 5.1.3; the service settings including the web filter are reconfigured according to Lucy’s account settings. i.e., wherein the updated configuration is the user identifier information of Lucy, and the web filters determine the services available to Lucy based on the user identifier authenticated for Lucy).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the configuration information associated with user identifier teachings of the 3GPP TR 22.904 in the configuration teachings of the Wang, Lee, Arkko, and Watfa invention in order to properly provide user identification in the operator network to provide an enhanced user experience and optimized performance, as well as to offer services to devices that are not part of 3GPP network (3GPP TR 22.904: Section 4.1 Background and Motivation).
Regarding claim 14, Wang in view of Lee, Arkko, and Watfa teach the electronic device of claim 1.
Wang in view of Lee, Arkko, and Watfa does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to store information linking each of a plurality of user identifiers with one or more services permitted to be accessed by the user identifier.
Referring to the invention of 3GPP TR 22.904, 3GPP TR 22.904 teaches wherein the processor is configured to store information linking each of a plurality of user identifiers with one or more services permitted to be accessed by the user identifier (3GPP TR 22.904: Section 5.1.3; wherein the tablet (UE) stores multiple user identifiers for the different users of the device like Linus, Lucy and their mom, and for each user identifier, there are web filters to determine what services they have access to or are permitted to access, based on their user identifier authentication).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the configuration information associated with user identifier teachings of the 3GPP TR 22.904 in the configuration teachings of the Wang, Lee, Arkko, and Watfa invention in order to properly provide user identification in the operator network to provide an enhanced user experience and optimized performance, as well as to offer services to devices that are not part of 3GPP network (3GPP TR 22.904: Section 4.1 Background and Motivation).
Claims 10 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al., Lee et al., Arkko et al., and Watfa et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of 3GPP TS 23.502 V16.0.2 (2019-04), 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Procedures for the 5G System; Stage 2, (Release 16), as cited in IDS, hereinafter 3GPP TR 23.502.
Regarding claim 10, Wang in view of Lee, Arkko, and Watfa teach the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to transmit, to the wireless network.
Wang in view of Lee, Arkko, and Watfa does not specifically disclose a registration update request requesting access to services based on at least one of the user identifier and subscription identifier that is associated with the electronic device.
Referring to the invention of 3GPP TS 23.502, 3GPP TS 23.502 teaches a registration update request requesting access to services based on at least one of the user identifier and subscription identifier that is associated with the electronic device (3GPP TS 23.502: Fig. 4.2.2.2.2-1, Page 21, 3rd Paragraph; wherein the UE transmits in Step 1, a Mobility Registration Update (i.e. the UE is in RM-REGISTERED state and initiates a Registration procedure due to mobility or due to the UE needs to update its capabilities or protocol parameters, or to request a change of the set of network slices it is allowed to use), a Periodic Registration Update (i.e. the UE is in RM-REGISTERED state and initiates a Registration procedure due to the Periodic Registration Update timer expiry, see clause 4.2.2.2.1) or an Emergency Registration (i.e. the UE is in limited service state)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the registration update request teachings of the combined Wang, Lee, Arkko, and Watfa invention to include the registration update request teachings of the 3GPP TS 23.502 invention in order to improve aspects related to dual registration call flow in 3GPP and non-3GPP access (3GPP TS 23.502; Page 19, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 11, Wang in view of Lee, Arkko, and Watfa teach the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to transmit, to the wireless network.
Wang in view of Lee, Arkko, and Watfa does not specifically disclose a registration update request requesting access to services based on the user identifier and the subscription identifier corresponding to the electronic device.
Referring to the invention of 3GPP TS 23.502, 3GPP TS 23.502 teaches a registration update request requesting access to services based on the user identifier and the subscription identifier corresponding to the electronic device (3GPP TS 23.502: Fig. 4.2.2.2.2-1, Page 21, 3rd Paragraph; wherein the UE transmits in Step 1, a Mobility Registration Update (i.e. the UE is in RM-REGISTERED state and initiates a Registration procedure due to mobility or due to the UE needs to update its capabilities or protocol parameters (which depends on its user identifier), or to request a change of the set of network slices it is allowed to use (which depends on its subscription identifier))).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the registration update request teachings of the combined Wang, Lee, Arkko, and Watfa invention to include the registration update request teachings of the 3GPP TS 23.502 invention in order to improve aspects related to dual registration call flow in 3GPP and non-3GPP access (3GPP TS 23.502; Page 19, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 12, Wang in view of Lee, Arkko, and Watfa teach the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to transmit, to the wireless network.
Wang in view of Lee, Arkko, and Watfa does not specifically disclose a registration update request requesting access to services based on the user identifier.
Referring to the invention of 3GPP TS 23.502, 3GPP TS 23.502 teaches a registration update request requesting access to services based on the user identifier (3GPP TS 23.502: Fig. 4.2.2.2.2-1, Page 21, 3rd Paragraph; wherein the UE transmits in Step 1, a Periodic Registration Update (i.e. the UE is in RM-REGISTERED state and initiates a Registration procedure due to the Periodic Registration Update timer expiry, see clause 4.2.2.2.1) or an Emergency Registration (i.e. the UE is in limited service state)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the registration update request teachings of the combined Wang, Lee, Arkko, and Watfa invention to include the registration update request teachings of the 3GPP TS 23.502 invention in order to improve aspects related to dual registration call flow in 3GPP and non-3GPP access (3GPP TS 23.502; Page 19, paragraph 4).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al., Lee et al., Arkko et al., Watfa et al., and 3GPP TR 23.502 as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of 3GPP TR 22.904 V16.1.0 (2018-09), 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on user centric identifiers and authentication, (Release 16), as cited in IDS, hereinafter 3GPP TR 22.904.
Regarding claim 13, Wang in view of Lee, Arkko, Watfa and 3GPP TR 23.502 teach the electronic device of claim 10.
Wang in view of Lee, Arkko, Watfa and 3GPP TR 23.502 does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to receive information identifying one or more services that the electronic device is permitted to access based on the registration update request.
Referring to the invention 3GPP TR 22.904, 3GPP TR 22.904 teaches wherein the processor is configured to receive information identifying one or more services that the electronic device is permitted to access based on the registration update request (3GPP TR 22.904: Section 5.1.3; the service settings including the web filter are reconfigured according to Lucy’s account settings. i.e., wherein the updated configuration is the user identifier information of Lucy, and the web filters determine the services available to Lucy based on the user identifier authenticated for Lucy).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the configuration information associated with user identifier teachings of the 3GPP TR 22.904 in the configuration teachings of the Wang, Lee, Arkko, Watfa, and 3GPP TS 23.502 inventions in order to properly provide user identification in the operator network to provide an enhanced user experience and optimized performance, as well as to offer services to devices that are not part of 3GPP network (3GPP TR 22.904: Section 4.1 Background and Motivation).
Claims 15 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al., Lee et al., Arkko et al., and Watfa et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of 3GPP TS 23.503 V15.2.0 (2018-07), 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; 5G; Policy and Charging Control Framework for the 5G System; Stage 2, (Release 15), as cited in IDS, hereinafter 3GPP TS 23.503.
Regarding claim 15, Wang in view of Lee, Arkko, and Watfa teach the electronic device of claim 1.
Wang in view of Lee, Arkko, and Watfa does not specifically disclose wherein the processor is configured to receive and store information corresponding to a policy section identifying how traffic generated at the electronic device is to be handled wherein at least one of the policy sections is associated with the user identifier.
Referring to the invention of 3GPP TS 23.503, 3GPP TS 23.503 teaches wherein the processor is configured to receive and store information corresponding to a policy section identifying how traffic generated at the electronic device is to be handled wherein at least one of the policy sections is associated with the user identifier (3GPP TS 23.503: Page 23, Section 6.1.2.2.2; wherein the AMF transparently transfers the UE policy container (UE access selection and PDU session selection related policy information) received form the PCF to the UE. The UE policy container includes the list of Policy Sections as described in TS 23.503 [20]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the registration update request teachings of the combined Wang, Lee, Arkko, and Watfa invention to include the registration update request teachings of the 3GPP TS 23.503 invention in order to improve aspects related to policy control for session management and service data flows, management for access and mobility related policies and management for UE access selection and PDU session selection related policies (3GPP TS 23.503; Page 7, Scope).
Regarding claim 16, Wang in view of Lee, Arkko, Watfa and 3GPP TS 23.503 teach the electronic device of claim 15, wherein the processor is configured to receive information indicating that a policy section is no longer associated with the user identifier (3GPP TS 23.503; Page 23, paragraph 9; wherein when the AMF sends the UE access selection and PDU session related policy information to the UE, the UE updates the stored information provided by the PCF and the UE may remove the stored Policy Section if the received information content is empty).
Regarding claim 17, Wang in view of Lee, Arkko, and Watfa teach the electronic device of claim 1.
Wang in view of Lee, Arkko, and Watfa does not specifically disclose wherein: the processor is configured to send a PDU Session Establishment Request wherein the request indicates that the PDU Session is to be associated with a user identifier and receive PDU Session Establishment Response with QoS Rules that are associated PDU.
Referring to the invention of 3GPP TS 23.503, 3GPP TS 23.503 teaches wherein: the processor is configured to send a PDU Session Establishment Request (3GPP TS 23.503: page 20, 6.1.1.2.1, General; wherein the general setup is for the UE to send a PDU session establishment request) wherein the request indicates that the PDU Session is to be associated with a user identifier (3GPP TS 23.503: page 35, 6.1.3.10, last paragraph; wherein upon Rx session establishment the PCF shall provide the IMEI (user identifier) and the subscriber identifiers (IMSI, MSISDN) (if available), received from the SMF at PDU Session establishment) and receive PDU Session Establishment Response with QoS Rules that are associated PDU Session (3GPP TS 23.503: Page 46, Section 6.2.2.4; wherein During the PDU Session establishment, the SMF generates the default QoS rule based on the PCC rule in which the authorized default 5QI and ARP are used).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the registration update request teachings of the combined Wang, Lee, Arkko, and Watfa invention to include the registration update request teachings of the 3GPP TS 23.503 invention in order to improve aspects related to policy control for session management and service data flows, management for access and mobility related policies and management for UE access selection and PDU session selection related policies (3GPP TS 23.503; Page 7, Scope).
Regarding claim 18, Wang in view of Lee, Arkko, Watfa and 3GPP TS 23.503 teach the electronic device of claim 17, wherein the QoS rules indicate if they are associated with a user identifier (3GPP TS 23.503: Page 11, Section 4.3.3.2.3; wherein During the PDU Session establishment, the SMF generates the default QoS rule based on the PCC rule in which the authorized default 5QI and ARP are used, and the PCF provides the authorized default 5QI/ARP combination for PDU Session of IP type, Ethernet type and unstructured type unconditionally or conditionally (i.e., based on the user identifier/identity (3GPP TS 23.503: page 20, 6.1.1.2.1 paragraph 2))).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al. [US 20180352501 A1]: Method and Apparatus for Virtualized Network Service Provision.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HD/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414