DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims:
Claims 1-26, 31-35 and 37 are cancelled. Claims 27-30, 36, 38-44 and 48 are pending and are being examined. New claim 49 is withdrawn as being directed to unelected species. Claims 45-47 and 49 are withdrawn as being directed to unelected group.
Claim Interpretation
Optional embodiments are not required by the claim, and are not considered for patentability as they are not required elements. For example, section (c) of claim 1 requires an optional polynucleotide linker is not being considered for patentability.
WITHDRAWN REJECTIONS
Claim 37 and 35 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim 37 was rejected under 35 USC 112(a) as failing to comply with the enablement requirement.
The rejection is withdrawn following cancellation of the claims.
MAINTAINED REJECTION
Double Patenting
Claim 27-28, 31-35 and 44 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18, and 20-21 of copending Application No. 18/258,039 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claims 27-28: Claim 20 of ‘039 application disclosed a nucleic acid encoding a first DNA binding protein capable of binding and cleaving a nucleic acid construct and a second nucleic acid construct comprising a transposase is a modified hyperactive PiggyBac, comprising one or more amino acid mutations as compared to hyperactive PiggyBac of SEQ ID NO: 9. As such the disclosure of claim 1 of ‘039 application reads on the subject matter of claim 27.
Regarding claim 31-35: Claim 8 of ‘039 application disclosed mutations at R275, R277, R347, R372, K375, R376, E377, and/or E380.
Regarding claim 44: Claim 21 of 039 Application recited “method for site specific integration of an exogenous nucleic acid sequence into the genome of a cell, the method comprising delivering to the cell the composition according to claim 1, a guide RNA, and the exogenous nucleic acid”. As such it would have been obvious for a person to arrive at the claimed method of site specific integration using the nucleic acid of claim 27 and an exogenous nucleic acid in view of the steps taught by ‘039 application.
Response to Arguments: Applicants argued that the present application has an effective filing date of June 11, 2020, which is earlier than the effective filing date of December 16, 2021, for the 18/258,039 Application. Consequently, pursuant to M.P.E.P. § 1490(VI)(D) this rejection should be withdrawn.
It is submitted that according to MPEP 804(I)(B)(1)(b)(i) and MPEP 1490(VI)(D)(2)(a), a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection is only withdrawn when it is the only rejection remaining in an application having the earliest effective U.S. filing date (taking into account any benefit under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) ) with respect to the conflicting claims); at which point the "provisional" nonstatutory double patenting rejection in the other (later filed) application(s) will be converted into a nonstatutory double patenting rejection when the application with the earliest U.S. effective filing date issues as a patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 27-28, 30, 38, 39, 40 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrock et al (WO2018175872A1; Hereinafter "Shrock;" Published Sep. 27, 2018; See PTO-892 of 10/07/2025) in view of Li et al (Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2013 Jun 18; Hereinafter “Li;” See PTO-892 of 10/07/2025).
Regarding claims 27-28, 30, 38-40 and 44: Claim 32 of Shrock (WO2018175872A1) disclosed a method of altering a target nucleic acid sequence in a cell using Cas9 fused to a hyperactive piggybac transposase. Cas9 reads on the first polynucleotide sequence. Hyperactive piggybac transposase reads on the claimed (b)(i) element – a second polynucleotide comprising a nucleic acid encoding a second DNA binding protein which enables insertion of an exogenous nucleic acid into a genome, wherein the second DNA binding protein is a hyperactive piggybac transposase. While Shrock did not explicitly teach a nucleic acid encoding a hyperactive piggybac transposase Cas9 fusion protein, Example I of Shrock taught a hyperactive piggyBac transposase sequence downstream of Cas9 was cloned into a pcDNA3.3 backbone vector using Gateway recombination. (this orientation reads on Cas9-piggyback as required by claim 30 and vector of claim 38). A such, Shrock taught a method to arrive at a nucleic acid encoding the Cas9-hyperactive piggybac fusion protein. It is also pointed out that Shrock taught in Example I, [i]n certain embodiments, linkers are included between Cas9 and the hyperactive piggyBac transposase. Shrock also taught integration of GFP in ROSA26 locus of porcine fibroblast cells nucleofected with a Cas9-piggyBac transposase fusion construct, a 20 kb piggyBac transposon (harboring a GFP reporter sequence), and a gRNA targeting the ROSA26 locus of the porcine genome. The porcine fibroblasts nucleofected with a Cas9-piggyBac transposase fusion construct read on claim 39. Additionally successful integration of the GFP reporter requires expression of Cas9-transposase protein as required by claim 40. (Also see Claims 1 and 34 of Shrock). As such Shrock taught a method for controlled site-specific integration of an exogenous nucleic acid by delivering Cas9-transposase and exogenous nucleic acid and resulting in integration of one nucleic acid into the genome of cells.
However, Li taught R372A and D450N mutations in iPB7, a piggyback transposase with I30V, S103P, G165S, M282V, S509G, N570S, N538K (See Li, Fig. 7). Li explicitly taught that engineered ZFPs fused to the iPB7R372A/D450N can restore the DNA target-binding function and demonstrated preservation of iPB7 integration activity. (See Li E2283, col. 1, para 2, Fig. 7). It is submitted that as both Li and Shrock taught the claimed Cas9 (or ZFN)-transposase construct, and the Li taught the use of claimed mutations, the claimed mutants represent a predictable combination of known elements and rendering the claims prima facie obvious. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate one or more of the known piggybac fusion construct of Shrock. Li taught that R372A/D450N retain integration activity, and thus a skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success that a Cas9-piggybac transposase fusion containing integration competent substitution would still achieve the site specific insertion.
Regarding claim 28: Shrock taught that “mechanism of integration involves simultaneous cleavage of the ROSA26 locus by Cas9 and the transposon by the piggyBac transposase, followed by non-homologous end joining of the transposon at the site of Cas9 cleavage.” (See Shrock, Example I). It is also submitted that in Example I, Shrock used a gRNA targeting the ROSA26 locus of the porcine genome. As such it is submitted that the Cas9 protein used in Shrock comprises an active DNA cleavage domain and gRNA binding domain as required by the claim.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrock et al (WO2018175872A1; Hereinafter "Shrock;" Published Sep. 27, 2018; See PTO-892 of 10/07/2025) in view of Li et al (Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2013 Jun 18; Hereinafter “Li;” See PTO-892 of 10/07/2025) and further in view of Chen et al (Adv Drug Deliv Rev. 2013 Oct; hereinafter “Chen”; See PTO-892 of 10/07/2025).
Regarding claim 29: Example I of Shrock taught that there is a 6-amino acid linker (GSGSGS (glycine-serine-glycine-serine-glycine-serine)) downstream of the gateway attachment site and upstream of the hyperactive piggyBac transposase. While Shrock and Li did not explicitly teach a GGS or XTEN linker, Chen taught that linkers have shown increasing importance in the construction of stable, bioactive fusion proteins. (See Chen Abstract). Chen exemplified several linkers for design of fusion proteins including GGS linkers (See Table 1). Chen taught that “[t]he rational choice of linkers should be based on the properties of the linkers and the desired fusion proteins.“ (See Chen p. 7, para 3). it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the GSGSGS linker in the fusion protein of Shrock with the GGS linker as taught by Chen because the choice of linker is a matter of routine experimentation depending on the desired properties of the fusion protein. Chen taught that GGS linker is known flexible linker and a POSITA would have had a reasonable expectation of success in achieving a functional fusion protein by such substitutions.
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrock et al (WO2018175872A1; Hereinafter "Shrock;" Published Sep. 27, 2018; See PTO-892 of 10/07/2025) in view of Li et al (Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2013 Jun 18; Hereinafter “Li;” See PTO-892 of 10/07/2025) and further in view of Wu et al (US20180320196A1; Published Nov 8, 2018; Hereinafter “Wu;” See IDS 5/1/2026).
Regarding claim 36: Shrock and Li did not specifically teach a transposase comprising SEQ ID NO: 120 as claimed. However, US20180320196A1 (Published Nov 8, 2018; Hereinafter “Wu”) taught a transposase that is 100% identical to the claimed and elected SEQ ID NO: 120. Wu taught that an exogenous sequence can be integrated into the genome of an organism using the transposase comprising instant SEQ ID NO: 120.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to substitute transposase taught by Wu for the transposase domain taught by Shrock since both polypeptides are known to have transposase capability. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize this as simply substituting one type of transposase for another useful for the same purpose ((KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007) pg 14 and 12). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the sequence comprising SEQ ID NO: 120 in the nucleic acid composition as recited in claim 27.
Query Match 100.0%; Score 3132; Length 899;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 594; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MGSSLDDEHILSALLQSDDELVGEDSDSEVSDHVSEDDVQSDTEEAFIDEVHEVQPTSSG 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 19 MGSSLDDEHILSALLQSDDELVGEDSDSEVSDHVSEDDVQSDTEEAFIDEVHEVQPTSSG 78
Qy 61 SEILDEQNVIEQPGSSLASNRILTLPQRTIRGKNKHCWSTSKPTRRSRVSALNIVRSQRG 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 79 SEILDEQNVIEQPGSSLASNRILTLPQRTIRGKNKHCWSTSKPTRRSRVSALNIVRSQRG 138
Qy 121 PTRMCRNIYDPLLCFKLFFTDEIISEIVKWTNAEISLKRRESMTSATFRDTNEDEIYAFF 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 139 PTRMCRNIYDPLLCFKLFFTDEIISEIVKWTNAEISLKRRESMTSATFRDTNEDEIYAFF 198
Qy 181 GILVMTAVRKDNHMSTDDLFDRSLSMVYVSVMSRDRFDFLIRCLRMDDKSIRPTLRENDV 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 199 GILVMTAVRKDNHMSTDDLFDRSLSMVYVSVMSRDRFDFLIRCLRMDDKSIRPTLRENDV 258
Qy 241 FTPVRKIWDLFIHQCIQNYTPGAHLTIDEQLLGFRGRCPFRVYIPNKPSKYGIKILMMCD 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 259 FTPVRKIWDLFIHQCIQNYTPGAHLTIDEQLLGFRGRCPFRVYIPNKPSKYGIKILMMCD 318
Qy 301 SGTKYMINGMPYLGRGTQTNGVPLGEYYVKELSKPVHGSCRNITCDNWFTSIPLAKNLLQ 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 319 SGTKYMINGMPYLGRGTQTNGVPLGEYYVKELSKPVHGSCRNITCDNWFTSIPLAKNLLQ 378
Qy 361 EPYKLTIVGTVRSNKREIPEVLKNSRSRPVGTSMFCFDGPLTLVSYKPKPAKMVYLLSSC 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 379 EPYKLTIVGTVRSNKREIPEVLKNSRSRPVGTSMFCFDGPLTLVSYKPKPAKMVYLLSSC 438
Qy 421 DEDASINESTGKPQMVMYYNQTKGGVDTLDQMCSVMTCSRKTNRWPMALLYGMINIACIN 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 439 DEDASINESTGKPQMVMYYNQTKGGVDTLDQMCSVMTCSRKTNRWPMALLYGMINIACIN 498
Qy 481 SFIIYSHNVSSKGEKVQSRKKFMRNLYMGLTSSFMRKRLEAPTLKRYLRDNISNILPKEV 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 499 SFIIYSHNVSSKGEKVQSRKKFMRNLYMGLTSSFMRKRLEAPTLKRYLRDNISNILPKEV 558
Qy 541 PGTSDDSTEEPVMKKRTYCTYCPSKIRRKASASCKKCKKVICREHNIDMCQSCF 594
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 559 PGTSDDSTEEPVMKKRTYCTYCPSKIRRKASASCKKCKKVICREHNIDMCQSCF 612
Alignment of SEQ ID NO: 120 with SEQ ID NO: 4 of USPN 11345926
Claims 41-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrock et al (WO2018175872A1; Hereinafter "Shrock;" Published Sep. 27, 2018; See PTO-892 of 10/07/2025) in view of Li et al (Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2013 Jun 18; Hereinafter “Li;” See PTO-892 of 10/07/2025) and further in view of Hart et al (G3 (Bethesda). 2017 Aug 7; Hereinafter "Hart;" See PTO-892 of 10/07/2025).
Regarding claims 41-43: The teachings of Shrock and Li are set forth above. Shrock and Li however, did not teach a packaging vector bound to a piggybac-cas9 fusion construct. It is noted that co-transfection of lentiviral vectors with packaging vectors, envelope vectors and the vectors encoding CRISPR enzymes and the inserts are well known in the art of gene editing with lentivirus. For example, Hart taught “TKOv3 library lentivirus was produced by co-transfection of lentiviral vectors psPAX2 (packaging vector) and pMDG.2 (envelope vector) with TKOv3 lentiCRISPR plasmid library, using X-tremeGene 9 transfection reagent (Roche).” Hart taught that the packaging vector is a lentivirus particle as required by claim 43. Hart taught the gRNAs were cloned into the lentiCRISPR plasmid library, which contains cas9. Hart taught a composition comprising a nucleic acid insert and the Crispr enzyme comprising vector bound to a packaging vector as required by claim 41. Hart taught that the nucleic acid inserts are amplified into a DNA and cloned into the vector comprising Cas9 nuclease as required by claim 42. As such it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the nucleic acid construct taught by Shrock and gRNA inserts bound to the packaging vector as taught by Hart to generate lentivirus to transduce mammalian cells.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention by combining the teachings of Shrock and Hart. Shrock taught a composition of Cas9-hyperactive piggybac transposase as enumerated above. Hart taught a method of delivering vectors by packaging into a viral vector. It would have been obvious to combine the teachings to the person of skill in the art to arrive at the claimed composition with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments:
Applicant argues that Li teaches excision competent/integration defective transposases and therefore teaches away from the claimed invention. However, the rejection relies specifically on the iPB7R372A/D450N mutant disclosed in Li. Li expressly taught “ZFPs fused to the iPB7R372A/D450N can restore the DNA target-binding function” See Li Fig. 7. It is also noted that Fig. 7 showed retention of 80% if integration activity by the iPB7R372A/D450N transposase. Thus Li did not discourage the use of the R372A/D450N mutant in a targeted integration system. Rather Li affirmatively taught that the mutants remain suitable for targeted integration when fused to a DNA-binding protein. Accordingly Li supported, rather than taught away from incorporation of the disclosed transposase mutant into the analogous Cas9-transposase fusion system of Shrock. It is also pointed out that the rejection does not rely on substituting a ZFP for Cas9. Shrock already taught the Cas9 fusion architecture. Li relied upon only for the known transposase mutation and its demonstrated functionality in a DNA-binding-domain-directed integration system.
NEW REJECTIONS NECESSITATED BY CLAIM AMENDMENTS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrock et al (WO2018175872A1; Hereinafter "Shrock;" Published Sep. 27, 2018; See PTO-892 of 10/07/2025) in view of Li et al (Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2013 Jun 18; Hereinafter “Li;” See PTO-892 of 10/07/2025) and further in view of Wu et al (US20180320196A1; Published Nov 8, 2018; Hereinafter “Wu;” See IDS 5/1/2026).
Regarding claims 48: The teachings of Shrock and Li are set forth above. Shrock and Li did not specifically teach a transposase comprising SEQ ID NO: 120 as claimed. However, US20180320196A1 (Published Nov 8, 2018; Hereinafter “Wu”) taught a transposase that is 100% identical to the claimed and elected SEQ ID NO: 120. Wu taught that an exogenous sequence can be integrated into the genome of an organism using the transposase comprising instant SEQ ID NO: 120.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to substitute transposase taught by Wu for the transposase domain taught by Shrock since both polypeptides are known to have transposase capability. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize this as simply substituting one type of transposase for another useful for the same purpose ((KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007) pg 14 and 12). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the sequence comprising SEQ ID NO: 120 in the nucleic acid composition as recited in claim 27.
Query Match 100.0%; Score 3132; Length 899;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 594; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MGSSLDDEHILSALLQSDDELVGEDSDSEVSDHVSEDDVQSDTEEAFIDEVHEVQPTSSG 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 19 MGSSLDDEHILSALLQSDDELVGEDSDSEVSDHVSEDDVQSDTEEAFIDEVHEVQPTSSG 78
Qy 61 SEILDEQNVIEQPGSSLASNRILTLPQRTIRGKNKHCWSTSKPTRRSRVSALNIVRSQRG 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 79 SEILDEQNVIEQPGSSLASNRILTLPQRTIRGKNKHCWSTSKPTRRSRVSALNIVRSQRG 138
Qy 121 PTRMCRNIYDPLLCFKLFFTDEIISEIVKWTNAEISLKRRESMTSATFRDTNEDEIYAFF 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 139 PTRMCRNIYDPLLCFKLFFTDEIISEIVKWTNAEISLKRRESMTSATFRDTNEDEIYAFF 198
Qy 181 GILVMTAVRKDNHMSTDDLFDRSLSMVYVSVMSRDRFDFLIRCLRMDDKSIRPTLRENDV 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 199 GILVMTAVRKDNHMSTDDLFDRSLSMVYVSVMSRDRFDFLIRCLRMDDKSIRPTLRENDV 258
Qy 241 FTPVRKIWDLFIHQCIQNYTPGAHLTIDEQLLGFRGRCPFRVYIPNKPSKYGIKILMMCD 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 259 FTPVRKIWDLFIHQCIQNYTPGAHLTIDEQLLGFRGRCPFRVYIPNKPSKYGIKILMMCD 318
Qy 301 SGTKYMINGMPYLGRGTQTNGVPLGEYYVKELSKPVHGSCRNITCDNWFTSIPLAKNLLQ 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 319 SGTKYMINGMPYLGRGTQTNGVPLGEYYVKELSKPVHGSCRNITCDNWFTSIPLAKNLLQ 378
Qy 361 EPYKLTIVGTVRSNKREIPEVLKNSRSRPVGTSMFCFDGPLTLVSYKPKPAKMVYLLSSC 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 379 EPYKLTIVGTVRSNKREIPEVLKNSRSRPVGTSMFCFDGPLTLVSYKPKPAKMVYLLSSC 438
Qy 421 DEDASINESTGKPQMVMYYNQTKGGVDTLDQMCSVMTCSRKTNRWPMALLYGMINIACIN 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 439 DEDASINESTGKPQMVMYYNQTKGGVDTLDQMCSVMTCSRKTNRWPMALLYGMINIACIN 498
Qy 481 SFIIYSHNVSSKGEKVQSRKKFMRNLYMGLTSSFMRKRLEAPTLKRYLRDNISNILPKEV 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 499 SFIIYSHNVSSKGEKVQSRKKFMRNLYMGLTSSFMRKRLEAPTLKRYLRDNISNILPKEV 558
Qy 541 PGTSDDSTEEPVMKKRTYCTYCPSKIRRKASASCKKCKKVICREHNIDMCQSCF 594
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 559 PGTSDDSTEEPVMKKRTYCTYCPSKIRRKASASCKKCKKVICREHNIDMCQSCF 612
Alignment of SEQ ID NO: 120 with SEQ ID NO: 4 of USPN 11345926
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAGAMYA NMN VIJAYARAGHAVAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1633
/EVELYN Y PYLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1633