DETAILED ACTIONStatus of Application
Claims 1-32 are pending.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
The remarks filed 1/14/2026 have been fully considered and are sufficient in overcoming the previous art rejections which are withdrawn. However, in an updated search Examiner now relies on the teachings Ghosh (US6149927A) in view of Gao (CN107032915A Machine English Translation).
Since the new grounds of rejection are not necessitated by amendment, this action is made NON-FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention.
Claims 1-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghosh (US6149927A) in view of Gao (CN107032915A Machine English Translation).
Regarding claims 1-32, Ghosh is drawn to solid compositions containing biocidal compounds that do not rapidly release the biocidal compounds when added to a locus to be protected and methods of controlling or inhibiting the growth of microorganisms in a locus comprising introducing into or onto the locus an effective amount of the solid composition (abstract).
Ghosh discloses a method of eliminating or inhibiting the growth of marine organisms on a structure comprising introducing into or onto the structure to be protected an effective amount of the composition (col. 2, ln 10-20).
Ghosh discloses the term "biocidal compounds" refers to microbicides and marine antifouling agents. "Microbicide" refers to a compound capable of inhibiting the growth of or controlling the growth of microorganisms in a locus. The term "locus" does not include pharmaceutical or veterinary applications. The term "microorganism" includes, but is not limited to, fungi, bacteria, and algae (col. 2, ln 27-34). Ghosh discloses zinc 2-pyridinethiol-1-oxide (col. 2, ln 64).
Ghosh discloses any conventional binder may be utilized in the marine antifouling coating incorporating the compositions. Suitable binders include, but are not limited to: acrylic resins in solvent based or aqueous systems (col. 7 ln 28).
Ghosh does not explicitly disclose the presence of shell fragments in the composition.
However, Gao is drawn to a zinc-rich slow-release fertilizer, comprising the following components by weight: oyster shell, polylactic acid (abstract).
Gao discloses zinc-rich, off-season, pollution-free, high-efficiency slow-release fertilizer [0009]. Gao discloses aA zinc-rich, off-season, pollution-free, high-efficiency slow-release fertilizer for cauliflower comprises the following components by weight: oyster shell 81-82, polylactic acid 45-46, zinc-rich yeast 9-10, cellulase [0011].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine these references and modify the composition of Ghosh, to comprise oyster shell, as previously disclosed by Gao, and arrive at the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Ghosh and Gao are both in the field of inhibiting the growth of microorganisms. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making the claimed composition of Ghosh in view of Gao, by applying a known technique to a known product ready for improvement to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Gao discloses reducing the occurrence of pests and diseases. Further, one having ordinary still in the art would reasonably expect success in combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, see MPEP 2141.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/QUANGLONG N TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1615