DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . If status of the application as subject to 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Claims 5-6, 9-10, and 15-16 are withdrawn. Claims 1-4, 7-8, 11-14, and 17-22 were rejected in the office action mailed 4/13/2026. Claims 1-4, 7-8, 11-14, and 17-20 are presently examined.
Response to Amendment / Arguments
The 7/7/2026 amendment, in response to the 4/13/2026 office action, has been entered. Applicant’s claim amendments overcame the 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections; nevertheless, the claims remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 due to additional prior art.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1 & 18 recite:
“the positive electrode active material is not fixed to the positive electrode current collector” and “the negative electrode active material is not fixed to the negative electrode current collector”
The present specification provides the following guidance for the meaning of “not fixed”:
“[0039] In the positive electrode electrolytic solution filling part 9, the positive electrode active material preferably exists in a state of being dispersed in the positive electrode electrolytic solution (a non-aqueous solvent). In other words, the positive electrode active material is not retained (fixed) in the positive electrode current collector 6, and the positive electrode electrolytic solution filling part 9 preferably does not contain a binder for retaining (fixing) the positive electrode active material in the positive electrode current collector 6.”
“[0054] In the negative electrode electrolytic solution filling part 10, the negative electrode active material preferably exists in a state of being dispersed in the negative electrode electrolytic solution (a non-aqueous solvent). In other words, the negative electrode active material is not retained (fixed) in the negative electrode current collector 7, and the negative electrode electrolytic solution filling part 10 preferably does not contain a binder for retaining ( fixing) the negative electrode active material in the negative electrode current collector 7.”
These paragraphs teach that “not fixed” means that the active material is dispersed in the electrolytic solution. “Not fixed” also might mean that the electrolytic solution filling part does not have a binder. This second requirement of “not fixed” is uncertain because of the word “preferably”.
Claims 1, 11, & 18 require a conductive member that is a mesh structure. The word mesh includes the following dictionary definitions: “an interwoven or intertwined structure; network”1; “a network; net… any knit, woven, or knotted fabric of open texture… an interwoven or intertwined structure; network2”. The word “mesh” in claims 1, 11, & 18 is interpreted to include these definitions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
The claims are in bold font, the prior art is in parentheses.
Claims 1-2, 7, 11, & 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20160126543A1 (Ota) in view of US20150311516A1 (Chen).
Ota teaches the following claim 1 limitations:
A secondary battery comprising:
a positive electrode current collector (paragraph 25: positive current collector 110);
a negative electrode current collector (paragraph 25: negative current collector 120);
an electrolyte layer (paragraph 28: separator 130 is a porous polymer membrane infused with a liquid electrolyte) disposed between the positive electrode current collector and the negative electrode current collector (figure 1);
a positive electrode electrolytic solution filling part including a positive electrode electrolytic solution (abstract: 10% to 70% by volume of the semi-solid electrode is liquid electrolyte; paragraph 12: the semi-solid electrode can be the cathode) in a receiving space defined by the positive electrode current collector and the electrolyte layer (paragraph 25 & figure 1: semi-solid cathode 140 between 130 & 110), wherein a positive electrode active material is in the positive electrode electrolytic solution (paragraphs 25 & 29: semi-solid cathode 140 includes an active material); and
a negative electrode electrolytic solution filling part including a negative electrode electrolytic solution (abstract: 10% to 70% by volume of the semi-solid electrode is liquid electrolyte; paragraph 12: the semi-solid electrode can be the anode) in a receiving space defined by the negative electrode current collector and the electrolyte layer (paragraph 26 & figure 1: semi-solid anode 150 between 130 & 120), wherein a negative electrode active material is in the negative electrode electrolytic solution (paragraph 30: semi-solid anode 150 includes an active material), wherein
the negative electrode electrolytic solution filling part comprises: a negative electrode conductive member that is a mesh structure (paragraph 31: semi-solid anode 150 can include carbon fibers or carbon nanotube conductive material, which naturally form a mesh structure to allow for electrical conductivity)… and bringing the negative electrode current collector and the electrolyte layer into conduction (figure 1); the negative electrode active material retained in the negative electrode conductive member (paragraph 32: the semi-solid anode 150 includes active materials and conductive materials suspended in a non-aqueous liquid electrolyte); a negative electrode electrolyte salt; and a negative electrode non-aqueous solvent dissolving the electrolyte salt (paragraph 17: the semi-solid electrode includes lithium salt and liquid electrolyte / solvent; paragraph 12: the semi-solid electrode can be the anode), and
the negative electrode active material comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of silicon, tin, and aluminum, as a constituent element (paragraph 30: the anode 150 includes silicon as an active material),
Ota fails to teach that the negative electrode conductive member is selected from carbon felt, carbon paper, carbon cloth, or punched metal. Chen is directed to a battery with a porous layer 30 on an anode current collector 22 (paragraph 155; figure 18). The porous layer 30 is a carbon-based material (paragraph 158), which can include a mixture of carbon felt and an active material (paragraphs 63, 74, 155-156, 159). The porous layer 30 provides a diffusion path for active ions.
Applying this teaching of Chen to Ota would have been obvious for the following reason: Ota teaches a negative electrode conductive material, including carbon fiber (paragraph 31). Ota, however, fails to teach the specific negative electrode conductive material required by claim 1 (carbon felt, carbon paper, carbon cloth, or punched metal). Chen teaches carbon felt. Chen also teaches use of carbon felt and carbon fiber as optional conductive materials (paragraphs 135 & 159).
Chen thus recognizes the equivalency of carbon felt and carbon fiber for electrode conductive materials. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the carbon fiber of Ota with the carbon felt of Chen. This replacement is merely the selection of functionally equivalent a negative electrode conductive member recognized in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in making this replacement.
Claim 1 also recites that “the positive electrode active material is not fixed to the positive electrode current collector” and “the negative electrode active material is not fixed to the negative electrode current collector”. As discussed in the Claim Interpretation section above, “not fixed” means that the active material is dispersed in the electrolytic solution. Ota’s active material is mixed with a liquid electrolyte (abstract & paragraph 14); therefore, according to the definition of “not fixed” provided by the present specification, Ota’s active material is “not fixed” to the current collector.
Also, as discussed in the Claim Interpretation section above, “not fixed” might also mean that the electrolytic solution filling part does not have a binder. Ota doesn’t teach a binder, so if “not fixed” also means there is no binder, then Ota also fulfills this requirement.
With regard to claim 2, modified Ota teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Ota also teaches the following claim 2 limitation:
the negative electrode conductive member includes a carbon material (paragraph 31)
With regard to claims 7 and 17, modified Ota teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Ota also teaches the following limitations of claims 7 and 17:
the negative electrode non-aqueous solvent comprises 10% by mass or more of at least one selected from the group consisting of g-butyrolactone… on a basis of a total amount of the negative electrode non-aqueous solvent (paragraph 58: 70% gamma butyrolactone)
With regard to claim 11, modified Ota teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Ota also teaches the following claim 11 limitation:
the positive electrode electrolytic solution filling part comprises…
a positive electrode electrolyte salt; and a positive electrode non-aqueous solvent dissolving the positive electrode electrolyte salt (paragraph 17: the semi-solid electrode includes lithium salt and liquid electrolyte / solvent; paragraph 12: the semi-solid electrode can be the cathode)
Claim 11 also states:
a positive electrode conductive member having a mesh structure and bringing the positive electrode current collector and the electrolyte layer into conduction;
the positive electrode active material in the positive electrode conductive member;
Although Ota teaches that the semi-solid cathode 140 can include carbon fibers or carbon nanotube conductive material, which naturally form a mesh around the active material in order to conduct electricity (paragraphs 29 & 32), Ota fails to explicitly use the word “mesh” for the conductive material.
Ota teaches the following claim 18 limitations:
A secondary battery comprising:
a positive electrode current collector (paragraph 25: positive current collector 110);
a negative electrode current collector (paragraph 25: negative current collector 120);
an electrolyte layer (paragraph 28: separator 130 is a porous polymer membrane infused with a liquid electrolyte) between the positive electrode current collector and the negative electrode current collector (figure 1);
a positive electrode electrolytic solution filling part including a positive electrode electrolytic solution (abstract: 10% to 70% by volume of the semi-solid electrode is liquid electrolyte; paragraph 12: the semi-solid electrode can be the cathode) between the positive electrode current collector and the electrolyte layer (paragraph 25 & figure 1: semi-solid cathode 140 between 130 & 110), wherein a positive electrode active material is in the positive electrode electrolytic solution (paragraphs 25 & 29: semi-solid cathode 140 includes an active material), wherein the positive electrode active material is not fixed to the positive electrode current collector (Ota’s active material is mixed with a liquid electrolyte; therefore it is not fixed. See further discussion under claim 1 and in the Claim Interpretation section above.); and
a negative electrode electrolytic solution filling part including a negative electrode electrolytic solution (abstract: 10% to 70% by volume of the semi-solid electrode is liquid electrolyte; paragraph 12: the semi-solid electrode can be the anode) between the negative electrode current collector and the electrolyte layer (paragraph 26 & figure 1: semi-solid anode 150 between 130 & 120), wherein a negative electrode active material is in the negative electrode electrolytic solution (paragraph 30: semi-solid anode 150 includes an active material), wherein the negative electrode active material is not fixed to the negative electrode current collector (Ota’s active material is mixed with a liquid electrolyte; therefore it is not fixed. See further discussion under claim 1 and in the Claim Interpretation section above.), wherein
the negative electrode electrolytic solution filling part comprises… a negative electrode electrolyte salt; and a non-aqueous solvent dissolving the negative electrode electrolyte salt (paragraph 17: the semi-solid electrode includes lithium salt and liquid electrolyte / solvent; paragraph 12: the semi-solid electrode can be the anode),
wherein the negative electrode active material comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of silicon, tin, and aluminum, as a constituent element (paragraph 30: the anode 150 includes silicon as an active material), and
wherein the electrolyte layer is a solid electrolyte material layer (paragraph 28: the separator 130 can be a solid membrane)
Claim 18 also states:
a negative electrode conductive member having a mesh structure and bringing the negative electrode current collector and the electrolyte layer into conduction;
the negative electrode active material retained in the negative electrode conductive member;
Although Ota teaches that the semi-solid anode 150 can include carbon fibers or carbon nanotube conductive material, which naturally form a mesh around the active material in order to conduct electricity (paragraph 31), Ota fails to explicitly use the word “mesh” for the conductive material.
With regard to claims 19-20, modified Ota teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Claims 19-20 recite:
Claim 19
the positive electrode electrolytic solution filling part does not include a binder
Claim 20
the negative electrode electrolytic solution filling part does not include a binder
Ota doesn’t teach a binder for either electrode.
Claims 3-4 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20160126543A1 (Ota) in view of US20150311516A1 (Chen), with regard to claim 1, and further in view of US20180287120A1 (Nakajima).
With regard to claims 3-4, modified Ota teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Ota, however, fails to teach the following limitations of claims 3-4, which are taught by Nakajima:
Claim 3
the negative electrode non-aqueous solvent comprises 10% by mass or more of fluoroethylene carbonate on a basis of a total amount of the negative electrode non-aqueous solvent
Claim 4
the negative electrode non-aqueous solvent consists of the fluoroethylene carbonate
Nakajima is directed to a secondary battery, with excellent energy density and charge-discharge cycle performance (paragraph 14). The battery includes a nonaqueous solvent as the negative electrode electrolyte (paragraph 89), which can be fluoroethylene carbonate (paragraph 90). Nakajima’s fluoroethylene carbonate, which “can be used singly” (paragraph 90), and therefore 100 mass% of the solvent.
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for Ota’s solvent to be ≥ 10 mass%, or to consist of, fluoroethylene carbonate, as taught by Nakajima, as part of a battery with excellent energy density and charge-discharge cycle performance.
With regard to claims 13-14, modified Ota teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11 as described above. Ota, however, fails to teach the following limitations of claims 13-14, which are taught by Nakajima:
Claim 13
a content of fluoroethylene carbonate in the positive electrode electrolytic solution filling part is 0.1% by mass or less on a basis of a total amount of the positive electrode non-aqueous solvent contained in the positive electrode electrolytic solution filling part
Claim 14
the positive electrode electrolytic solution filling part does not comprise fluoroethylene carbonate
Nakajima teaches fluoroethylene carbonate, as one of several additives in the positive electrode electrolyte (paragraph 90). Other additives “can be used singly”, thus excluding fluoroethylene carbonate from the positive electrode electrolyte.
Nakajima is directed to a secondary battery, with excellent energy density and charge-discharge cycle performance (paragraph 14). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for Ota’s cathode semi-solid electrode to not comprise fluoroethylene carbonate, as taught by Nakajima, as part of a battery with excellent energy density and charge-discharge cycle performance.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20160126543A1 (Ota) in view of US20150311516A1 (Chen), with regard to claim 1, and further in view of US20130273439A1 (Tanaka). Claim 8 recites:
the negative electrode active material comprises 10% by mass or more of silicon on a basis of a total amount of the negative electrode active material, as a constituent element
As discussed under claim 1, Ota teaches silicon as a negative electrode active material (paragraph 30). Ota, however, fails to teach the percent silicon in the active material.
Tanaka teaches 0.004 to 14 mass% silicon based on the total amount of the negative electrode active material (paragraphs 20, 25, & 29).
Following is the calculation of Tanaka’s range:
SiOx and carbon is 0.01 to 20 mass% of the negative electrode active material (paragraph 29).
10 to 30 mass% of the SiOx and carbon is carbon (paragraph 25); therefore, 70 to 90 mass% of the SiOx and carbon is SiOx. Thus, SiOx is 0.007 to 18 mass% of the negative electrode active material: 0.01*0.70=0.007 and 20*0.90=18.
0.5≤x≤1.5 (paragraph 20). Selecting x=1.5 for the lower end, and x=0.5 for the upper end, Si is 0.004 to 14 mass% of the negative electrode active material: 0.007*28/(28+16*1.5)=0.004 and 18*28/(28+16*0.5)=14. Note that the molar mass for silicon is about 28 g/mol and the molar mass for oxygen is about 16 g/mol.
Tanaka is directed to a secondary battery with high capacity and excellent storage characteristics (paragraph 11). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for Ota’s battery to include 0.004 mass% to 14 mass% silicon in the negative electrode active material, as taught by Tanaka, for a battery with high capacity and excellent storage characteristics.
Tanaka’s 0.004 mass% to 14 mass% range overlaps the claimed range of ≥10 mass%. MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A) provides the law for this issue:
“In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)”.
Given that Tanaka’s range overlaps the claimed range, and further given the fact that no criticality is disclosed for the claimed range, the range in claim 8 is an obvious variant of Tanaka’s range.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20160126543A1 (Ota) in view of US20150311516A1 (Chen), with regard to claims 1 and 11, and further in view of WO2012161989A1 (Scordilis). Claim 12 recites:
the positive electrode non-aqueous solvent contained in the positive electrode electrolytic solution filling part is a non-aqueous solvent that is different from the negative electrode non-aqueous solvent contained in the negative electrode electrolytic solution filling part
Ota teaches a solvent for the cathode and the anode, as discussed under claims 1 and 11 above. Ota, however, fails to teach a different solvent in the cathode compared to the anode.
Scordilis describes —
“a first electrolyte solvent (e.g., dioxolane (DOL)) that partitions towards the anode and is favorable towards the anode… and a second electrolyte solvent (e.g., 1,2 dimethoxyethane (DME)) that partitions towards the cathode and is favorable towards the cathode”
(page 24, lines 7-10)
Scordilis teaches various benefits of having these different solvents at the anode with respect to the cathode, including longer cell life (page 24, lines 21-24). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for the positive electrode electrolyte solvent to be different from the negative electrode electrolyte solvent, as taught by Scordilis, for longer cell life.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.G.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721
1 https://www.dictionary.com/browse/mesh
2 https://www.thefreedictionary.com/mesh