DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment of September 25, 2025 is considered herein.
Claims 1, 10 and 18 have been amended.
Claims 8 and 16 have been cancelled.
Claim 22 has been added.
Claims 1-7, 9-15, and 17-22 are pending and have been considered on the merits herein.
Claim Interpretation
The term “irregularities” is shown in the specification as “protrusions (irregularities)” as shown in figure 13 per paragraph [0164], wherein figure 13 shows regularly patterned protrusions. Paragraph [0102] correlates irregularities with texturization, with no limitation as to what type of patterning. Moreover, paragraph [0166] also refers to figures 10, 13 and 14 showing curved surfaces or irregularities, wherein figures 13 and 14 clearly show a patterned or regular surface. A broad interpretation of the plain meaning of “irregularities” can include irregular patterning or patterning of any style which is different or irregular when compared to another surface absent patterning. Herein, when interpreted in light of the specification, the examiner is interpreting the term “irregularities” present in claims to include irregular and regular patterned structures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 9, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HIRAHARA et al (JP2012/033843, wherein citations are made to the English machine translation supplied with the first non-final rejection), in view of VANDAL et al (US PG PUB 2012/0097218), ZHANG et al (TWM563073U, as supplied with the final rejection of 4/9/2025) and AITKEN et al (EP 2740160B1).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, HIRAHARA et al teaches method for manufacturing a graphic cover substrate for a solar cell panel (cover substrate is the cover glass layer 5 with graphics on the solar array, as detailed in the abstract), the method comprising:
forming a cover layer (9, color display pattered printing) on a transfer member (transfer paper, paragraph [0004], components (2) and (4) detail the use of transfer printing or printing using transfer paper. This would necessarily include printing the pattern onto the transfer paper, interpreted as the transfer member herein) (forming the cover layer on the transfer member would necessarily happen, as the cover layer exists (forming) and placement of the cover layer on the printed transfer member is necessarily occurring in this step detailed in HIRAHARA et al), wherein the cover layer includes a ceramic material layer (ceramic ink, paragraphs [0004] and [0007]); and
transferring the cover layer (9 ceramic ink/color printing) to a base member (5, cover glass) and removing the transfer member (since the final product does not include the transfer paper, the method obviously includes the removal of the transfer member. Moreover, the premise of a “transfer paper” is merely the use of a paper for the formation then transfer step, not of use in the final solar module.) wherein the base member comprises a glass substrate (paragraph [0004] details printing the pattern or ceramic material layer ink onto the cover glass via transfer printing).
wherein the ceramic ink strengthens the base member (paragraph [0007] teaches drying, firing and fixing the cover glass with printed ceramic ink to strengthen the cover glass).
HIRAHARA et al is silent to the ceramic material layer including a ceramic frit, the presence of irregularities on the surface of the base member, and a content of sodium or potassium in the cover layer is similar to or lower than that of the base member.
VANDAL et al teaches fabrication of photovoltaic modules with glass cover layer substrates in the abstract, just as in HIRAHARA et al. VANDAL et al further teaches the application of a printed pattern to the glass substrates via a ceramic frit in paragraph [0045] for aesthetic purposes.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a ceramic frit material (as in VANDAL et al) as the ceramic ink of HIRAHARA et al so as to apply a pattern to a glass substrate for aesthetic purposes. To be clear, while HIRAHARA et al teaches the application of heat to the ceramic ink pattern to “strengthen” the cover glass (not ceramic frit to provide this functionality), it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art the heating or firing the stack of HIRAHARA et al with the ceramic frit of VANDAL et al would clearly provide the “strengthened base member” claimed functionality.
Modified HIRAHARA et al is silent to the presence of irregularities on the surface of the base member, and a content of sodium or potassium in the cover layer is similar to or lower than that of the base member.
ZHANG teaches a cover member for a solar cell in the abstract, just as in HIRAHARA et al. ZHANG further teaches the use of irregularities (protrusions or micro-sized convex pyramids, page 2, 4th paragraph) on the surface of the glass member (10, page 2, 4th paragraph). In this citation, ZHANG further discloses the use of the protrusions or irregularities to provide anti-reflection, high light transmittance and concentrating effects. This reads on the irregularities of claim 1 and claim 9.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to impart the irregularities of the glass base layer of ZHANG, to the glass base layer of modified HIRAHARA et al, so as to provide anti-reflection, high light transmittance and concentrating effects, increasing the light impacting the photovoltaic active layers. The combination provides irregularities or protrusions of the claimed size during formation of the base glass layer of HIRAHARA et al, as disclosed by ZHANG, then applying the cover layer to the textured substrate in modified HIRAHARA et al (wherein texturizing is disclosed via ZHANG), fulfilling the claim as written.
Modified HIRAHARA et al is silent to a content of sodium or potassium in the cover layer is similar to or lower than that of the base member.
AITKEN et al teaches a double glass encapsulated solar module (abstract) comprising a frit pattern application present thereon (paragraph [0045]), just as in modified HIRAHARA et al. AITKEN et al teaches the use of substantially sodium free fused glass (equivalent to the base member of modified HIRAHARA et al) and frit glass to minimize sodium migration (paragraph [0073], which can reach through the module from any surface (paragraph [0007]) to minimize module performance degradation over time (paragraph [0027]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to utilize sodium free glass in both the frit (cover layer) and glass encapsulant layers (base member) of modified HIRAHARA et al, as taught in AITKEN et al, because it will minimize sodium migration within the module to minimize module performance degradation over time.
Regarding claim 4, HIRAHARA et al teaches wherein the step of forming the cover layer on a transfer member includes forming the cover layer by a printing process (“printing method” including “transfer printing”, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 5, HIRAHARA et al teaches wherein in the printing process is a digital inkjet printing process (paragraph [0004] teaches the use of inkjet printing, reading on the claimed process).
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HIRAHARA et al, in view of VANDAL et al, ZHANG, AITKEN et al and CHE et al (US PG PUB 2020/0185545A1).
Regarding claim 2, while modified HIRAHARA et al teaches the use of ceramic frit (VANDAL et al), modified HIRAHARA et al fails to teach the ceramic material layer includes an oxide ceramic composition.
CHE et al teaches the use of patterned materials on the exterior of a roughened solar cell to manipulate the color of the modules in the abstract, just as in HIRAHARA et al. CHE et al teaches the use of titanium dioxide particles (paragraph [0052]) as a coloring agent in a printed, ceramic ink (paragraph [0053]). Paragraph [0053] of CHE et al teaches the use of titanium dioxide particles to impart white coloring while enhancing the passage of light to the photovoltaic layers beneath.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the titanium dioxide in CHE et al (oxide material) within the ceramic frit ink of modified HIRAHARA et al, so as to impart desired coloring (CHE et al and HIRAHARA et al) while also enhancing the passage of light to the photovoltaic layers beneath, reading on an oxide ceramic composition as a whole.
Regarding claim 3, HIRAHARA et al teaches the use of firing and baking the ink materials on the base member (cover glass) after placement in paragraph [0007], this baking step (which provides strengthening) when applied to the frit of VANDAL et al, is interpreted to provide the ceramic frit stabilizes the base member by penetrating into an interior of the base member.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HIRAHARA et al, in view of VANDAL et al, ZHANG, AITKEN et al and JACOBS et al (US PG PUB 2012/0011783).
Regarding claim 6, HIRAHARA et al teaches the use of ceramic materials to form an image on the solar module, but modified HIRAHARA et al fails to disclose use of a central particle diameter of 50 micron or more.
JACOBS et al teaches the surface treatment of a solar module with ceramic materials, in the abstract and paragraph [0057], just as in HIRAHARA et al. Furthermore, the ceramic materials (granules of JACOBS et al) are taught to have sizing of about .2mm to 3 mm in paragraph [0062], reading on the claimed range. The use of ceramic particles this size is desirable to give a rough textured surface, consistent with surfaces which support the panels and are overall aesthetically appealing.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a ceramic particle size of .2-3 mm, as in JACOBS et al, in the ceramic ink of modified HIRAHARA et al, so as to convey the aesthetically appealing rough texture desired to imitate building surfaces. Moreover, this range is not interpreted to render any criticality based on the disclosure of the specification. Paragraph [075] of the instant specification details the use of small particles to be beneficial and teaches in paragraph [0129] for particles both within the claimed range and a smaller range (50 micron or less) to be usable and with no benefit either way. For this reason, this range is interpreted to lack criticality, wherein the selection of a sizing below the claimed range would still read on the claim based on its lack on criticality or unexpected result.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HIRAHARA et al, in view of VANDAL et al, ZHANG, AITKEN et al and SHIAO et al (US PG PUB 2009/0133739)
Regarding claim 7, while HIRAHARA et al teaches the use of a color printed surface pattern and the strengthening of the ceramic printing via heating as discussed above (the cover portion), modified HIRAHARA et al is silent to the thickness of the cover portion is 20 micron or less.
SHIAO et al teaches the use of a colored, ceramic pattern layer on the surface of a photovoltaic module, paragraphs [0010], [0030] and [0035], just as in HIRAHARA et al. Moreover, SHIAO et al teaches the use of a patterned layer (cover portion) with a thickness of 5 micron to 50 micron, in paragraph [0038], which is taught to render a desired “opacity” and aesthetic coloring. This range is interpreted to render obvious the range of the instant claim based on the substantial overlapping components.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a thickness of SHIAO et al for the ceramic layer (cover portion once deposited on the surface of the base member) of modified HIRAHARA et al, so as to provide the desired aesthetic characteristic. For this reason, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a thickness of the cover layer which is between 5 and 20 micron following printing and heating, as in modified HIRAHARA et al, as this thickness is detailed to be useful to impart “opacity” of coloring as desired.
Claim(s) 10, 13, 14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HIRAHARA et al, in view of VANDAL et al, ZHANG, AITKEN et al and LEFEVRE et al (US PG PUB 2019/0097571).
Regarding claims 10 and 17, HIRAHARA et al teaches a method for manufacturing a solar cell panel (abstract), comprising:
stacking a first cover member and a solar cell portion (cover glass 5 is the cover member and module 7 is the solar cell portion),
forming a cover layer (9, color display pattered printing) on a transfer member (transfer paper, paragraph [0004], components (2) and (4) detail the use of transfer printing or printing using transfer paper. This would necessarily include printing the pattern onto the transfer paper, interpreted as the transfer member herein) (forming the cover layer on the transfer member would necessarily happen, as the cover layer exists (forming) and placement of the cover layer on the printed transfer member is necessarily occurring in this step detailed in HIRAHARA et al), wherein the cover layer includes a ceramic material layer (ceramic ink, paragraphs [0004] and [0007]); and
transferring the cover layer (9 ceramic ink/color printing) to a base member (5, cover glass) wherein the base member includes a glass substrate (paragraph [0004] details printing the pattern or ceramic material layer ink onto the cover glass via transfer printing).
wherein the ceramic ink strengthens the base member (paragraph [0007] teaches drying, firing and fixing the cover glass with printed ceramic ink to strengthen the cover glass).
HIRAHARA et al is silent to the ceramic material layer including a ceramic frit, the presence of irregularities on the surface of the base member, and a first sealing material, a second sealing material, and a second cover member, wherein applying heat and pressure to the stacked structure integrates the first cover member, the first sealing member, the solar cell portion, the second sealing member, and the second cover member in a lamination process and a content of sodium or potassium in the cover layer is similar to or lower than that of the base member.
VANDAL et al teaches fabrication of photovoltaic modules with glass cover layer substrates in the abstract, just as in HIRAHARA et al. VANDAL et al further teaches the application of a printed pattern to the glass substrates via a ceramic frit in paragraph [0045] for aesthetic purposes.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a ceramic frit material (as in VANDAL et al) as the ceramic ink of HIRAHARA et al so as to apply a pattern to a glass substrate for aesthetic purposes. To be clear, while HIRAHARA et al teaches the application of heat to the ceramic ink pattern to “strengthen” the cover glass (not ceramic frit to provide this functionality), it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art the heating or firing the stack of HIRAHARA et al with the ceramic frit of VANDAL et al would clearly provide the “strengthened base member” claimed functionality.
HIRAHARA et al is silent to the formation of irregularities on the surface of the base member. Of note, consistent with the claim interpretation section above, the irregularities are interpreted to include both irregular or regularly patterned protrusions. Further, HIRAHARA et al and VANDAL et al fail to disclose a first sealing material, a second sealing material, and a second cover member, a content of sodium or potassium in the cover layer is similar to or lower than that of the base member and wherein applying heat and pressure to the stacked structure integrates the first cover member, the first sealing member, the solar cell portion, the second sealing member, and the second cover member in a lamination process.
ZHANG teaches a cover member for a solar cell in the abstract, just as in HIRAHARA et al. ZHANG further teaches the use of irregularities (protrusions or micro-sized convex pyramids, page 2, 4th paragraph) on the surface of the glass member (10, page 2, 4th paragraph). In this citation, ZHANG further discloses the use of the protrusions or irregularities to provide anti-reflection, high light transmittance and concentrating effects.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to impart the irregularities of the glass base layer of ZHANG, to the glass base layer of modified HIRAHARA et al, so as to provide anti-reflection, high light transmittance and concentrating effects, increasing the light impacting the photovoltaic active layers. The combination provides irregularities or protrusions of the claimed size during formation of the base glass layer of HIRAHARA et al, as disclosed by ZHANG, then applying the cover layer to the textured substrate in modified HIRAHARA et al (wherein texturizing is disclosed via ZHANG), fulfilling the claim as written.
While modified HIRAHARA et al teaches the fabrication of the cover member with ceramic frit, modified HIRAHARA et al is silent to and a content of sodium or potassium in the cover layer is similar to or lower than that of the base member, a first sealing material, a second sealing material, and a second cover member; wherein applying heat and pressure to the stacked structure integrates the first cover member, the first sealing member, the solar cell portion, the second sealing member, and the second cover member in a lamination process.
AITKEN et al teaches a double glass encapsulated solar module (abstract) comprising a frit pattern application present thereon (paragraph [0045]), just as in modified HIRAHARA et al. AITKEN et al teaches the use of substantially sodium free fused glass (equivalent to the base member of modified HIRAHARA et al) and frit glass to minimize sodium migration (paragraph [0073], which can reach through the module from any surface (paragraph [0007]) to minimize module performance degradation over time (paragraph [0027]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to utilize sodium free glass in both the frit (cover layer) and glass encapsulant layers (base member) of modified HIRAHARA et al, as taught in AITKEN et al, because it will minimize sodium migration within the module to minimize module performance degradation over time.
Modified HIRAHARA et al is silent to a first sealing material, a second sealing material, and a second cover member; wherein applying heat and pressure to the stacked structure integrates the first cover member, the first sealing member, the solar cell portion, the second sealing member, and the second cover member in a lamination process.
LEFEVRE et al teaches a solar panel with a colored layer present with the glass cover layer to manipulate aesthetic look of the panel, as in paragraph [0052], just as in HIRAHARA et al. Furthermore LEFEVRE et al teaches the solar panel to comprise a stack of first cover member (502/510, including a glass layer paragraph [0071] and color adjustment layer or cover layer), a sealing member (508, encapsulant, shown between the front cover 502 and the cells 506 in figures 5A and 5C), a solar cell portion (506, one or more photovoltaic structures), a sealing member (508, encapsulant, shown between the back cover 544 and the cells 506 in figures 5A and C) and a second cover member (504, backsheet). Figure 8 details the method of stacking the above components and then laminating the tile accordingly. Paragraph [0093] discloses the use of the fabrication of this stacked method allows for formation of a fully encapsulated panel and solar cell string, known in the art to provide weatherability for the panel.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to utilize the stack (of sealing member, solar cells, sealing member and back sheet behind a patterned glass front layer) and method of LEFEVRE et al to fabricate the solar panel of HIRAHARA et al (present behind the patterned glass base member) because the structure of the solar cell panel enables formation of a sealed, encapsulated module capable of power generation, enabling weatherability and sustainable power production of the panel.
Regarding claim 13, HIRAHARA et al teaches wherein the step of forming the cover layer on a transfer member includes forming the cover layer by a printing process (“printing method” including “transfer printing”, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 14, HIRAHARA et al teaches wherein in the printing process is a digital inkjet printing process (paragraph [0004] teaches the use of inkjet printing, reading on the claimed process).
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HIRAHARA et al, in view of VANDAL et al, ZHANG, AITKEN et al, LEFEVRE et al and CHE et al.
Regarding claim 11, while modified HIRAHARA et al teaches the use of ceramic frit (VANDAL et al), modified HIRAHARA et al fails to teach the ceramic material layer includes an oxide ceramic composition.
CHE et al teaches the use of patterned materials on the exterior of a roughened solar cell to manipulate the color of the modules in the abstract, just as in HIRAHARA et al. CHE et al teaches the use of titanium dioxide particles (paragraph [0052]) as a coloring agent in a printed, ceramic ink (paragraph [0053]). Paragraph [0053] of CHE et al teaches the use of titanium dioxide particles to impart white coloring while enhancing the passage of light to the photovoltaic layers beneath.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the titanium dioxide in CHE et al (oxide material) within the ceramic frit ink of modified HIRAHARA et al, so as to impart desired coloring (CHE et al and HIRAHARA et al) while also enhancing the passage of light to the photovoltaic layers beneath, reading on an oxide ceramic composition as a whole.
Regarding claim 12, HIRAHARA et al teaches the use of firing and baking the ink materials on the base member (cover glass) after placement in paragraph [0007], this baking step (which provides strengthening) when applied to the frit of VANDAL et al, is interpreted to provide the ceramic frit stabilizes the base member by penetrating into an interior of the base member.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HIRAHARA et al, in view of VANDAL et al, ZHANG, AITKEN et al, LEFEVRE et al and SHIAO et al.
Regarding claim 15, while HIRAHARA et al teaches the use of a color printed surface pattern and the strengthening of the ceramic printing via heating as discussed above (the cover portion), modified HIRAHARA et al is silent to the thickness of the cover portion is 20 micron or less.
SHIAO et al teaches the use of a colored, ceramic pattern layer on the surface of a photovoltaic module, paragraphs [0010], [0030] and [0035], just as in HIRAHARA et al. Moreover, SHIAO et al teaches the use of a patterned layer (cover portion) with a thickness of 5 micron to 50 micron, in paragraph [0038], which is taught to render a desired “opacity” and aesthetic coloring. This range is interpreted to render obvious the range of the instant claim based on the substantial overlapping components.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a thickness of SHIAO et al for the ceramic layer (cover portion once deposited on the surface of the base member) of modified HIRAHARA et al, so as to provide the desired aesthetic characteristic. For this reason, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a thickness of the cover layer which is between 5 and 20 micron following printing and heating, as in modified HIRAHARA et al, as this thickness is detailed to be useful to impart “opacity” of coloring as desired.
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over view of LEFEVRE et al, in view of VANDAL et al, ZHANG and AITKEN et al. HIRAHARA et al is cited as evidence herein.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, LEFEVRE et al teaches a solar cell panel (500, figure 5A), comprising:
a solar cell (506);
a sealing material sealing the solar cell (encapsulant, 508);
a first cover member (502/510, in other embodiment 7A also 702/704/706, glass, paragraph [0052]) positioned on one surface of the solar cell (506) on the sealing material (508); and
a second cover member (504) positioned on the other surface of the solar cell (506) on the sealing material (508) and wherein the first cover member (502/702) includes a base member (702) having a protruding portion (triangle, louvred components 704) on one surface (lower surface).
While LEFEVRE et al teaches the use of a cover portion (filter coatings, AR or HR, abstract, paragraphs [0073], [0075] and [0081]) comprising oxide materials to manipulate the color and reflectivity of the surface of the front sheet to particular wavelengths in the abstract and paragraphs [0073] and [0081], LEFEVRE et al fails to address the cover portion be made of an oxide ceramic composition comprising a ceramic frit that strengthens the base member, wherein the base member includes irregularities and a content of sodium or potassium in the cover layer is similar to or lower than that of the base member.
VANDAL et al teaches fabrication of photovoltaic modules with glass cover layer substrates in the abstract, just as in LEFEVRE et al. VANDAL et al further teaches the application of a printed, fired ceramic pattern (cover portion of the claim) to the glass substrate (cover portion/base member of the claim) via a ceramic frit in paragraph [0045] for aesthetic purposes.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a ceramic frit material (as in VANDAL et al) as the colored pattern material of LEFEVRE et al so as to apply a pattern to a glass substrate for aesthetic purposes. While VANDAL et al is silent to the ceramic ink providing strengthening functionality, HIRAHARA et al is cited herein as evidence that the firing of the ceramic ink on the glass substrate of the combination above will provide strengthening as identified in paragraph [0007] of HIRAHARA et al.
Modified LEFEVRE et al is silent to wherein irregularities having certain height difference are provided on a surface of the base member on which the cover portion is formed and the use of curved or protruding shapes on the second surface opposite the irregularities and a content of sodium or potassium in the cover layer is similar to or lower than that of the base member.
ZHANG teaches a cover member for a solar cell in the abstract, just as in LEFEVRE et al. ZHANG further teaches the use of irregularities (protrusions or micro-sized convex pyramids, page 2, 4th paragraph) on the surface of the glass member (10, page 2, 4th paragraph). In this citation, ZHANG further discloses the use of the protrusions or irregularities to provide anti-reflection, high light transmittance and concentrating effects. This reads on the irregularities of claims 18 and 19.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to impart the irregularities of the glass base layer of ZHANG, to the glass base layer of modified LEFEVRE et al, so as to provide anti-reflection, high light transmittance and concentrating effects, increasing the light impacting the photovoltaic active layers. The combination provides irregularities or protrusions of the claimed size during formation of the base glass layer of LEFEVRE et al, as disclosed by ZHANG, then applying the cover layer to the textured substrate in modified LEFEVRE et al (wherein texturizing is disclosed via ZHANG), fulfilling the claim as written.
Modified LEFEVRE et al is silent to a content of sodium or potassium in the cover layer is similar to or lower than that of the base member.
AITKEN et al teaches a double glass encapsulated solar module (abstract) comprising a frit pattern application present thereon (paragraph [0045]), just as in modified HIRAHARA et al. AITKEN et al teaches the use of substantially sodium free fused glass (equivalent to the base member of modified HIRAHARA et al) and frit glass to minimize sodium migration (paragraph [0073], which can reach through the module from any surface (paragraph [0007]) to minimize module performance degradation over time (paragraph [0027]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to utilize sodium free glass in both the frit (cover layer) and glass encapsulant layers (base member) of modified HIRAHARA et al, as taught in AITKEN et al, because it will minimize sodium migration within the module to minimize module performance degradation over time.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over view of LEFEVRE et al, in view of VANDAL et al, ZHANG, AITKEN et al and BALIFF et al (US PG PUB 2017/0033250). HIRAHARA et al is cited as evidence.
Regarding claim 20, while LEFEVRE et al teaches the use of a colored glass portion, modified LEFEVRE et al is silent to wherein in the cover portion, a first transmittance, which is an average light transmittance of the cover portion with respect to light in an infrared region is equal to or greater than a second transmittance, which is an average light transmittance of the cover portion with respect to light in a visible light region.
BALIFF teaches a solar module comprising a front sheet with colored, cover portion to control reflectivity and transmittance of particular wavelengths (paragraph [0014]), just as in LEFEVRE et al. BALIFF teaches the use of ZnO materials as the filtering layer (paragraphs [0068] and [0185]) to maximize IR light transmission and minimize visible light transmission, as shown in figure 14a/b and discussed in the paragraph citation above. BALIFF teaches the cover portion (filter, 4 with ZnO layering), having a first transmittance (transmittance for wavelengths of light from about 800 nm and above in figure 14b), which is an average light transmittance of the cover portion with respect to light in an infrared region is equal to or greater than a second transmittance (transmittance of light from greater than 400 nm to less than 800 nm, shown in figure 14b), which is an average light transmittance of the cover portion with respect to light in a visible light region, as figure 14b makes clear the average transmittance of IR light is well above the average transmittance of visible light. The filter or cover portion of BALIFF enables a more pleasing aesthetic color to the module while maximizing light penetration of the cells in wavelengths the cells are most efficiency (paragraphs [0013] and [0014]).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the colored glass treatment of BALIFF, in the cover portion of modified LEFEVRE because it allows for a more pleasing aesthetic color to the module while maximizing light penetration of the cells in wavelengths the cells are most efficiency. Moreover, the manipulation of the transmittance as claimed via the cover layer enables greater transmittance as is preferred for the desired solar panel for increased power generation.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HIRAHARA et al, in view of VANDAL et al, ZHANG, AITKEN et al and MALONEY et al (US PG PUB 2016/0225966A1).
Regarding claim 21, HIRAHARA et al, VANDAL et al, ZHANG and AITKEN et al all teach the use of a glass base substrate with VANDAL et al directed to a ceramic frit printing or transfer on the surface thereover with heating to affix or strengthen the frit/base combination (HIRAHARA et al), as disclosed above, with the combination disclosing the glass substrate having a cover layer strengthened to form a cover portion. However, modified HIRAHARA et al fails to disclose the strengthening of the cover layer to render a cover portion having an air bubble therein.
MALONEY et al teaches the use of glass frit for semiconductor packaging (here LED, analogous to the solar cells of HIRAHARA et al in structure and for frit as in VANDAL et al) in the abstract, just as in modified HIRAHARA et al. MALONEY et al further discloses the frit, when sintered (as in HIRAHARA et al), softens but does not attain a viscosity to remove trapped air bubbles so “some amount of air bubbles remain in the sintered enamel layer” (paragraph [0072]).
At the time of filing, heating or sintering of the ceramic frit cover layer (HIRAHARA et al and VANDAL et al) to provide strengthening (per HIRAHARA et al) would obviously render the presence of air bubbles within the heated frit or cover portion as disclosed in MALONEY et al. The treatment of the device of modified HIRAHARA et al would obviously render a cover portion having an air bubble therein.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HIRAHARA et al, in view of VANDAL et al, ZHANG, AITKEN et al and THOMSEN et al (US PG PUB 2006/0249199).
Regarding claim 22, ZHANG teaches the use of irregularities (protrusions or micro-sized convex pyramids, page 2, 4th paragraph) on the surface of the glass member (10, page 2, 4th paragraph) greater than 5 micron. In this citation, ZHANG further discloses the use of the protrusions or irregularities to provide anti-reflection, high light transmittance and concentrating effects. Moreover, while ZHANG teaches formation of patterning on the light-receiving side of the base member and discussion of prior art which utilizes texturization on the rear side of the cover glass, modified HIRAHARA et al is silent to wherein a second surface of the base member opposite the first surface has a light diffusion portion, the light diffusion portion having a protruding shape or a concave shape.
THOMSEN et al teaches the use of a glass cover layer, in figure 1, as in HIRAHARA et al and ZHANG. Moreover, paragraph [0016] teaches the use of patterning or texturing (via protruding shapes like peaks and valleys detailed in the citation) the glass substrate on the interior surface (second surface of the claim) so as to cause light to proceed through the semiconductor layers at an angle such that the path is longer, increasing the quantity of absorbed light, output and efficiency. Also, the citation teaches the use of patterning on both the interior and exterior major surfaces of the glass substrates to be beneficial and known in the art.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a pattern or protrusions on the interior or second side of the glass substrate of modified HIRAHARA et al, rendering protrusions on both sides of the glass cover, as in THOMSEN et al, so as to benefit from an increased light path from the protrusions on the rear side in addition to the decreased reflection and increased light absorption realized from protrusions on the front side (ZHANG), correlating to greater output and efficiency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection utilizing AITKEN et al and does not rely on a combination applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
AITKEN et al is used to address the content of sodium present in the cover glass and base member (optional recitation in the claim of potassium). Of note, the Applicant states in the remarks that HIRAHARA et al is silent that the color display print pattern and cover glass “can contain sodium and potassium elements”, but to be clear the claim just requires similar levels of one of those elements in each, which can include an interpretation of the elements not be present (as long as these levels are the same in each), as disclosed in AITKEN et al.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KOURTNEY R S CARLSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 10/10/2025