DETAILED ACTION
Joint Inventors
Status of Claims
The amendment filed 04/09/2026 has been entered. Claims 21, 22, 24, 26, 28, 41, and 44 have been amended. Claims 1-20, 23,25, 27, 29-40, 45-47 have been canceled. Claims 48-59 have been newly added. Claims 21-22, 24, 26, 28, 41-44 and 48-59 are now pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with regard to the previously presented 35 USC 103 arguments have been fully considered but are moot because amendments to the claim language have necessitated new grounds of rejection set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-22, 24, 26, 28, 41-44 and 48-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Porcella et al. (US 10415286 B1), hereinafter Porcella in view of Oakley et al. (US 20140265978 A1), hereinafter Oakley.
Regarding claim 21, Porcella discloses:
A method of controlling a closure member of a vehicle with an actuator having an electric motor (see at least col. 5, lines 52-63: “Operation of the motion control component 212 based on the proximity signal may be applied to a fixed-location door to prevent the door from being opened rapidly toward an unseen person. This may be applied to a door on a movable structure, such as vehicle, to prevent the door from contacting external objects that are temporarily positioned near the door.”), the method comprising:
determining a force to assist a user manually moving the closure member in a door check position using the actuator (see at least col. 7, lines 28-42: “In operation 433 a feedback force is determined. The feedback force is a force applied to the motion control component 212 in order to resist or assist motion of the first structure 104 relative to the second structure 106.”)
increasing the force to resist external forces from the user manually moving the closure member away from the door check position whereat the closure member is stationary (see at least col. 7, lines 28-42: “In operation 433 a feedback force is determined. The feedback force is a force applied to the motion control component 212 in order to resist or assist motion of the first structure 104 relative to the second structure 106. The magnitude of the resisting force may be determined by the controller 320 based on the force profile that was obtained in operation 431 and the position signal that was obtained in operation 432. The feedback force may be applied in the same direction as an external force or in opposition to the external force. In operation 434, a control signal is output. The control signal regulates operation of the motion control component 212. The control signal is generated by the controller 320 to cause the motion control component 212 to apply a force to the axle 210 according to the magnitude of the feedback force that was determined in operation 433.”)
and operating the electric motor to apply the increased force on the closure member to provide sensations to the user while moving the closure member away from the door check position (see at least col. 3, lines 22-46: “FIG. 3 is a block diagram showing a motion control system 318 that may be utilized with the hinge assembly 100. The motion control system 318 includes the motion control component 212 and regulates operation of the motion control component 212 in order to apply friction and/or torque to the hinge 102 at a magnitude that allows for smooth operation of the hinge 102 while providing tactile feedback to the user of the hinge 102.”)
Porcella does not explicitly disclose, but Oakley, in an analogous field of endeavor teaches:
without a clutch mechanism between the electric motor and an output of the actuator (see at least [0004]: “In particular, it would be advantageous to replace structural control mechanisms, such as clutches and positive temperature coefficient (PTC) thermal breakers, with electronic control mechanisms that can be applied without consuming valuable space within or near the motor housing.”)
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to combine the invention of Porcella with the lack of a clutch between the electric motor and the output of the actuator because as stated by Oakley [0004], alternative control mechanisms “can be applied without consuming valuable space within or near the motor housing.”
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Porcella and Oakley teaches the method of claim 21.
Porcella further discloses wherein the method further comprises detecting a motion input from a movement sensor due to the user manually moving the closure member and in response to determining the force to move the closure member using the actuator (see at least col. 1, lines 37-50: “Another aspect of the disclosed embodiments is an assembly that includes a first structure, a second structure, a hinge that connects the first structure to the second structure for rotation of the first structure relative to the second structure around an axis, a sensor that detects an externally applied force, and a motion control component. The motion control component applies a feedback force to the hinge. A magnitude of the feedback force is set to a first value when the externally applied force is below a threshold value and the magnitude of the feedback force is set to a second value when the externally applied force is above the threshold value, wherein the first value is greater than the second value.”)
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Porcella and Oakley teaches the method of claim 21.
Porcella further discloses wherein increasing the force to resist the external forces moving the closure member away from the door check position causes the actuator to apply the increased force on the closure member to resist the user moving the closure member with a resistance greater than a resistance holding the closure member in the door check position (see at least col. 9, lines 9-30: “In operation 544, torque is applied toward the rest position. Operation 544 may be performed by sending a control signal from the controller 320 to the motion control component 212, such that the motion control component 212 applies torque to the axle 210 at an appropriate magnitude and direction, according to the determination in operation 543. Operation 544 may include continuing application of torque until the rest position is reached. In some embodiments, if the rest position is reached, application of torque may be ceased. In some embodiments, if the rest position is reached, torque or resisting force may be applied to resist motion away from the rest position until the first structure 104 is again moved relative to the second structure 106 by a user-applied external force. As a result of the torque applied in operation 544, the motion control component 212 may simulate a spring-like feedback effect, for example, by retracting slightly away from the direction of motion when the external force applied by the user is released or reduced. The magnitude of this effect may be adjusted, such as by user inputs received through a user interface and supplied to the controller 320 of the motion control system 318.”)
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Porcella and Oakley teaches the method of claim 21.
Porcella further discloses wherein increasing the force comprises increasing a resistance on the closure member in either of an open direction or a closed direction when the user moves the closure member away from the door check position (see at least col. 9, lines 9-30: “In operation 544, torque is applied toward the rest position. Operation 544 may be performed by sending a control signal from the controller 320 to the motion control component 212, such that the motion control component 212 applies torque to the axle 210 at an appropriate magnitude and direction, according to the determination in operation 543. Operation 544 may include continuing application of torque until the rest position is reached. In some embodiments, if the rest position is reached, application of torque may be ceased. In some embodiments, if the rest position is reached, torque or resisting force may be applied to resist motion away from the rest position until the first structure 104 is again moved relative to the second structure 106 by a user-applied external force. As a result of the torque applied in operation 544, the motion control component 212 may simulate a spring-like feedback effect, for example, by retracting slightly away from the direction of motion when the external force applied by the user is released or reduced. The magnitude of this effect may be adjusted, such as by user inputs received through a user interface and supplied to the controller 320 of the motion control system 318.”)
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Porcella and Oakley teaches the method of claim 26.
Porcella further discloses wherein the external forces comprise at least one of:
a force relating to inclination of the closure member, a force relating to inertia of the closure member, a force relating to friction resisting motion of the closure member, a force relating to a dampening device acting on the closure member, a force relating to a detent or braking mechanism, a force related to a slam event of the closure member, and a force relating to a detent device, wherein increasing the force transitions from a resistive force to an assistive force after the closure member has moved away from the door check position by a certain amount (see at least col. 3, lines 23-46: “FIG. 3 is a block diagram showing a motion control system 318 that may be utilized with the hinge assembly 100. The motion control system 318 includes the motion control component 212 and regulates operation of the motion control component 212 in order to apply friction and/or torque to the hinge 102 at a magnitude that allows for smooth operation of the hinge 102 while providing tactile feedback to the user of the hinge 102. The motion control system 318 may include a controller 320 and one or more sensors that provide inputs to the controller 320 that are used by the controller 320 to control operation of the motion control component 212. The one or more sensors may include, as examples, a position sensor 321, a torque sensor 322, an incline sensor 323, a proximity sensor 324, a touch sensor 325, and/or a light sensor 326. Based on the inputs, the controller 320 determines a control signal and transmits the control signal to the motion control component 212, which causes operation of the motion control component 212 in accordance with the control signal, such as causing application of a feedback force of a particular magnitude to the axle 210. The feedback force may be a resisting force that is applied in opposition to an external force or may be a supplementing force that is applied in the same direction as the external force.”)
Regarding claim 41, the combination of Porcella and Oakley teaches the method of claim 21.
Porcella discloses wherein the method further comprises detecting a motion input of the user manually moving the closure member to transition the closure member from an automatic mode to a power assist mode (see at least col. 10, lines 12-36: “The determination made at operation 652 may control whether a resisting force to be applied to the first structure 104 by the motion control component 212 is set to a first magnitude or a second magnitude. At operation 653, in response to determining at operation 652 that an external force has been applied to the first structure 104, a low-magnitude resisting force is set. The low-magnitude resisting force may be selected or determined to allow easy movement of the first structure 104 relative to the second structure 106 by the user. In some implementations, the magnitude of the low-magnitude resisting force is zero. In some implementations, a supplementing force may be applied in the same direction as the external force, to assist the user in moving a heavy object upon sensing the external force. At operation 654, in response to determining at operation 652 that an external force has not been applied to the first structure 104, a high-magnitude resisting force is set. The high-magnitude resisting force may be selected or determined to resist movement of the first structure 104 relative to the second structure 106. For example, the magnitude of the high-magnitude resisting force may be selected or determined (e.g., based in part on other sensor inputs such as the incline signal) to restrain motion of the first structure 104 relative to the second structure 106 in the absence of application of the external force by the user.”)
Regarding claim 42, the combination of Porcella and Oakley teaches the method of claim 21.
Porcella further discloses wherein the method further comprises using a controller configured to calculate increases in the force countering the external forces causing the closure member to move away from the door check position (see at least col. 4, lines 46-67: “In some embodiments, the force profile may specify one or more areas of high feedback force or torque along the angular range of motion of the first structure 104 with respect to the second structure 106. These areas of high feedback force or torque may be overlaid on a baseline level of feedback force or torque that resists motion of the first structure 104 with respect to the second structure 106. The high-level of feedback force may be applied bidirectionally to the first structure 104 both in a first direction and a second direction relative to the second structure 106. When the force profile applied using the motion control component 212 in dependence on position signal output by the position sensor 321 to, for example, increase the resisting force or torque to provide feedback to the user that is analogous to the sensation provided mechanical detents. This may allow the user to, for example, quickly find a desired angular position for the first structure 104 relative to the second structure 106, such as by stopping at the third simulated detent. In addition, the controller 320 may allow the user to specify aspects of the force profile, such as the number and location of the simulated detents, through a user interface (not shown in FIG. 3).”)
Regarding claim 43, the combination of Porcella and Oakley teaches the method of claim 21.
Porcella further discloses where in the method further comprises configuring a controller to control the actuator to return the closure member back to the door check position if a deviation of the closure member does not exceed an angular change in a position of the closure member (see at least col. 8, lines 44-59: “In operation 543 a rest position is determined. The rest position represents a position that the first structure 104 is biased to by the motion control component 212 in the absence of an external force applied by the user. In some embodiments, the rest position is a single fixed position. In some embodiments, the rest position is selected from a group of multiple fixed positions, such as the simulated detent positions described previously. In such embodiments, determining the rest position may include selecting the closest rest position from the group of rest positions, determining the rest position may include selecting the closest rest position in the current direction of travel of the first structure 104 relative to the second structure 106, or determining the rest position may include selecting the closest rest position opposite the current direction of travel of the first structure 104 relative to the second structure 106.”)
Regarding claim 44, the combination of Porcella and Oakley teaches the method of claim 21.
Porcella further discloses wherein the method further comprises configuring a controller to control motion of the closure member in a power assist mode after the user had moved the closure member past a release angular position (see at least col. 9, lines 9-22: “In operation 544, torque is applied toward the rest position. Operation 544 may be performed by sending a control signal from the controller 320 to the motion control component 212, such that the motion control component 212 applies torque to the axle 210 at an appropriate magnitude and direction, according to the determination in operation 543. Operation 544 may include continuing application of torque until the rest position is reached. In some embodiments, if the rest position is reached, application of torque may be ceased. In some embodiments, if the rest position is reached, torque or resisting force may be applied to resist motion away from the rest position until the first structure 104 is again moved relative to the second structure 106 by a user-applied external force.”)
Regarding claim 48, the combination of Porcella and Oakley teaches the method of claim 22.
Porcella further discloses wherein the method includes determining a force to assist the user manually moving the closure member away from the door check position using the actuator in response to the user manually moving the closure member away from the door check position beyond a predetermined angular release position (see at least col. 4, lines 31-45: “In some embodiments, the force profile specifies a feedback force or torque to be applied by the motion control component dependent upon the current angular position of the first structure 104 relative to the second structure 106. Thus, the feedback force or torque applied to the axle 210 may vary as the first structure 104 is rotated with respect to the second structure 106. As one example, a force profile may specify a high resisting force or torque at or near an end limit of rotational motion of the first structure 104 relative to the second structure 106. This high resisting force or torque may be used to resist motion of the first structure 104 away from a closed position toward an open position, or to slow motion of the first structure 104 relative to the second structure 106 as the first structure 104 nears a fully open position.”)
Regarding claim 49, the combination of Porcella and Oakley teaches the method of claim 48.
Porcella further discloses wherein the method includes operating the electric motor to return the closure member to the door check position in response to the user manually moves the closure member away from the door check position but not beyond the predetermined angular release position (see at least col. 9, lines 9-22: “In operation 544, torque is applied toward the rest position. Operation 544 may be performed by sending a control signal from the controller 320 to the motion control component 212, such that the motion control component 212 applies torque to the axle 210 at an appropriate magnitude and direction, according to the determination in operation 543. Operation 544 may include continuing application of torque until the rest position is reached. In some embodiments, if the rest position is reached, application of torque may be ceased. In some embodiments, if the rest position is reached, torque or resisting force may be applied to resist motion away from the rest position until the first structure 104 is again moved relative to the second structure 106 by a user-applied external force.”)
Regarding claim 50, the combination of Porcella and Oakley teaches the method of claim 21.
Porcella further discloses wherein the method further comprises using a controller to supply command signals to the electric motor for operating the electric motor in a door check mode, wherein the controller comprises a memory for storing a door check force profile the controller uses to generate command signals to the electric motor (see at least col. 7, lines 15-20: “In some embodiments, the force profile may be a predetermined force profile obtained from a storage device that is associated with the controller 320. In some embodiments, the force profile may be obtained in response to receiving a user selection of a predetermined force profile. In some embodiments, the force profile may be user-specified.”)
Regarding claim 51, the combination of Porcella and Oakley teaches the method of claim 21.
Porcella further discloses wherein operating the electric motor to apply the increased force on the closure member is based upon a door check force profile (see at least col. 4, lines 31-45: “In some embodiments, the force profile specifies a feedback force or torque to be applied by the motion control component dependent upon the current angular position of the first structure 104 relative to the second structure 106. Thus, the feedback force or torque applied to the axle 210 may vary as the first structure 104 is rotated with respect to the second structure 106. As one example, a force profile may specify a high resisting force or torque at or near an end limit of rotational motion of the first structure 104 relative to the second structure 106. This high resisting force or torque may be used to resist motion of the first structure 104 away from a closed position toward an open position, or to slow motion of the first structure 104 relative to the second structure 106 as the first structure 104 nears a fully open position.”)
Claims 52-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Porcella in view of Xiao et al. (US 20180202212 A1), hereinafter Xiao.
Regarding claim 52, Porcella discoses:
A power door actuator for a door of a vehicle that is moveable relative to a vehicle body about a hinge axis between a closed position and a fully-open position (see at least Fig. 1.)
the power door actuator comprising:
an electric motor (see at least col. 4, lines 3-19: “As one example, the motion control component 212 may include electric motor.”)
wherein the electric motor is activated in a door check mode to output a force that provides sensations to a user manually moving the door away from a stationary door check position that simulates a detent mechanism that provides resistances to the user moving the door away from a detent position (see at least col. 3, lines 22-46: “FIG. 3 is a block diagram showing a motion control system 318 that may be utilized with the hinge assembly 100. The motion control system 318 includes the motion control component 212 and regulates operation of the motion control component 212 in order to apply friction and/or torque to the hinge 102 at a magnitude that allows for smooth operation of the hinge 102 while providing tactile feedback to the user of the hinge 102.”)
Porcella does not explicitly disclose, but Xiao, in an analogous field of endeavor teaches:
a sensor configured to count revolutions of the electric motor (see at least [0061]: “Control of the angular velocity of the door closing can be achieved by using Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) techniques, where the angular position of the door 16 is determined by the count of Hall effect sensor pulses which are generated as the door 16 moves.”)
a geartrain coupled to the electric motor for receiving a motor output force from the electric motor (see at least [0079]: “In the case of the second embodiment of the power assist device 10 shown in FIG. 5B, when in the manual mode, movement of the door 16 in either the opening direction or closing direction causes the gear rack 208 in the extending check strap arm 206 to rotate the driven gear 204. As a result, the drive shaft 80A coupled to the driven gear 204 is caused to rotate at an angular velocity proportional to the speed of the door 16 opening or closing.”)
and an extensible member coupled to a geartrain output and configured for extension and retraction relative to a housing in response to actuation by the geartrain output, the extensible member being coupled to one of the door and the vehicle body (see at least [0034]: “The drive nut 144 is further operably coupled via a drive cylinder 158 to an exteriorly extending shaft 162, which is provided with a ball-shaped coupling device 164 on a distal end 166 thereof. The chassis mounting bracket 72 mounted to the hinge pillar 18A is, in turn, provided with a socket coupling device 168. Preferably, the socket coupling device 168 of the chassis mounting bracket 72 fittingly receives the ball-shaped coupling device 164 of the exteriorly extending shaft 162 to form a ball-and-socket coupling 184 to allow the exteriorly extending shaft 162 to function as described below. A similar ball-and-socket coupling 186 is provided opposite the ball-and-socket coupling 184 to couple the power assist device 10 to the door 16.”)
Regarding claim 53, the combination of Porcella and Xiao teaches the power door actuator of claim 52.
Porcella further discloses wherein the electric motor is in communication with a controller, wherein the electric motor is configured to receive command signals from the controller to operate the electric motor to output a force according to a door check force profile (see at least col. 7, lines 28-42: “In operation 433 a feedback force is determined. The feedback force is a force applied to the motion control component 212 in order to resist or assist motion of the first structure 104 relative to the second structure 106. The magnitude of the resisting force may be determined by the controller 320 based on the force profile that was obtained in operation 431 and the position signal that was obtained in operation 432. The feedback force may be applied in the same direction as an external force or in opposition to the external force. In operation 434, a control signal is output. The control signal regulates operation of the motion control component 212. The control signal is generated by the controller 320 to cause the motion control component 212 to apply a force to the axle 210 according to the magnitude of the feedback force that was determined in operation 433.”)
Regarding claim 54, the combination of Porcella and Xiao teaches the power door actuator of claim 52, wherein the electric motor is configured to output a force that is increasing as the door is manually moved by the user away from the stationary door check position (see at least col. 9, lines 9-22: “In operation 544, torque is applied toward the rest position. Operation 544 may be performed by sending a control signal from the controller 320 to the motion control component 212, such that the motion control component 212 applies torque to the axle 210 at an appropriate magnitude and direction, according to the determination in operation 543. Operation 544 may include continuing application of torque until the rest position is reached. In some embodiments, if the rest position is reached, application of torque may be ceased. In some embodiments, if the rest position is reached, torque or resisting force may be applied to resist motion away from the rest position until the first structure 104 is again moved relative to the second structure 106 by a user-applied external force.”)
Regarding claim 55, the combination of Porcella and Xiao teaches the power door actuator of claim 52, wherein the electric motor is deactivated from operating in the door check mode in response to the user manually moving the door away from the stationary door check position beyond a predetermined angular release position (see at least col. 9, lines 9-22: “In operation 544, torque is applied toward the rest position. Operation 544 may be performed by sending a control signal from the controller 320 to the motion control component 212, such that the motion control component 212 applies torque to the axle 210 at an appropriate magnitude and direction, according to the determination in operation 543. Operation 544 may include continuing application of torque until the rest position is reached. In some embodiments, if the rest position is reached, application of torque may be ceased. In some embodiments, if the rest position is reached, torque or resisting force may be applied to resist motion away from the rest position until the first structure 104 is again moved relative to the second structure 106 by a user-applied external force.”)
Regarding claim 56, the combination of Porcella and Xiao teaches the power door actuator of claim 55.
Porcella further discloses wherein the electric motor is operated in a power assist mode in response to the user manually moving the door away from the stationary door check position beyond the predetermined angular release position, wherein in a power assist mode the electric motor is operated to output a force to assist the user manually moving the door (see at least col. 7, lines 28-42: “In operation 433 a feedback force is determined. The feedback force is a force applied to the motion control component 212 in order to resist or assist motion of the first structure 104 relative to the second structure 106. The magnitude of the resisting force may be determined by the controller 320 based on the force profile that was obtained in operation 431 and the position signal that was obtained in operation 432. The feedback force may be applied in the same direction as an external force or in opposition to the external force. In operation 434, a control signal is output. The control signal regulates operation of the motion control component 212. The control signal is generated by the controller 320 to cause the motion control component 212 to apply a force to the axle 210 according to the magnitude of the feedback force that was determined in operation 433.”)
Regarding claim 57, the combination of Porcella and Xiao teaches the power door actuator of claim 52.
Porcella further discloses wherein the electric motor is operable to output a force to return the door to the stationary door check position in response to the user manually moving the door away from the stationary door check position but not beyond a predetermined angular release position (see at least col. 7, lines 28-42: “In operation 433 a feedback force is determined. The feedback force is a force applied to the motion control component 212 in order to resist or assist motion of the first structure 104 relative to the second structure 106. The magnitude of the resisting force may be determined by the controller 320 based on the force profile that was obtained in operation 431 and the position signal that was obtained in operation 432. The feedback force may be applied in the same direction as an external force or in opposition to the external force. In operation 434, a control signal is output. The control signal regulates operation of the motion control component 212. The control signal is generated by the controller 320 to cause the motion control component 212 to apply a force to the axle 210 according to the magnitude of the feedback force that was determined in operation 433.”)
Regarding claim 58, the combination of Porcella and Xiao teaches the power door actuator of claim 52.
Porcella further discloses wherein the electric motor is activated in the door check mode to output a force providing the sensations to the user manually moving the door away from the stationary door check position that simulates the detent mechanism according to a door check force profile (see at least col. 3, lines 22-46: “FIG. 3 is a block diagram showing a motion control system 318 that may be utilized with the hinge assembly 100. The motion control system 318 includes the motion control component 212 and regulates operation of the motion control component 212 in order to apply friction and/or torque to the hinge 102 at a magnitude that allows for smooth operation of the hinge 102 while providing tactile feedback to the user of the hinge 102.”)
Regarding claim 59, the combination of Porcella and Xiao teaches the power door actuator of claim 58.
Porcella further discloses wherein the electric motor is in communication with a controller and is configured to receive commands from the controller to operate the electric motor according to the door check force profile stored in a memory device of the controller see at least col. 7, lines 28-42: “In operation 433 a feedback force is determined. The feedback force is a force applied to the motion control component 212 in order to resist or assist motion of the first structure 104 relative to the second structure 106. The magnitude of the resisting force may be determined by the controller 320 based on the force profile that was obtained in operation 431 and the position signal that was obtained in operation 432. The feedback force may be applied in the same direction as an external force or in opposition to the external force. In operation 434, a control signal is output. The control signal regulates operation of the motion control component 212. The control signal is generated by the controller 320 to cause the motion control component 212 to apply a force to the axle 210 according to the magnitude of the feedback force that was determined in operation 433.”)
Conclusion
/JASON HOLLOWAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/E.R.N./ Examiner, Art Unit 3658