DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's response filed on 08/21/2023 have been acknowledged. Claims 1, 4-6, 13-20, 22 and 24 are currently under examination on the merits.
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 13-16, 19-20, 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imanishi et al (US 2015/0259507, of record, ‘507 hereafter) in view of Nakai et al (JP 2011-132453, of record, ‘453 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1, 4-6, 13, 22 and 24, ‘507 discloses a cellulose resin composition comprising a cellulose derivative being a cellulose acetate having acetyl group introduction ratio (DSAC) of 2.7 ([0013], thus hydroxy group remaining degree is 0.3, satisfying present claim 24); a lubricant ([0058]); and a plasticizer being a mixture of adipic esters having following chemical formulae ([0016]-[0017]):
The formulae read upon the plasticizers as recited in the present claims 1 and 13, which are used together to render a cellulose resin composition having high thermo-plasticity ([0006]-[0007], [0011]-[0024]). ‘507 also discloses that a content range of the plasticizer used in the cellulose resin composition is of 1 to 50 per 100 parts of cellulose derivative ([0040]), which significantly overlaps presently claimed ranges as in claims 1 and 22. ‘507 discloses that the composition contains a lubricant ([[058]) but does not specifically set forth that the lubricant is fatty metal salt being calcium stearate or magnesium stearate in a content range of 0.1 to 10% by mass. However, in the same field of endeavor, ‘453 discloses a cellulose resin composition comprising a cellulose derivative ([0008]) and a lubricant being a fatty metal salt preferably calcium stearate or magnesium stearate in a content range of 0.1 to 10% by mass ([0060], [0065], [0072], [0102]), to improve fluidity of composition and facilitate releasing molded product from mold ([0059]). In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the lubricants as taught by ‘453, to modify the cellulose resin composition of ‘507, in order to render a cellulose resin composition having better moldability.
Regarding claims 14-16, modified ‘507 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘507 also discloses that the cellulose resin composition may further contain a colorant ([0058]), and ‘453 discloses that the colorant can be a black colorant being a carbon black ([0099]).
Regarding claims 19-20, modified ‘507 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘507 also discloses a molded body and a product comprising the cellulose resin composition ([0061]-[0062]).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imanishi et al (US 2015/0259507, of record, ‘507 hereafter) in view of Nakai et al (JP 2011-132453, of record, ‘453 hereafter) as applied to claim 15 above, further in view of Toyama et al (WO2017217504, English equivalent US 2019/0330450, ‘450 hereafter is cited in this office action).
Regarding claims 17-18, modified ‘507 teaches all the limitations of claim 15, but the references do not specifically set forth that the carbon black is an acidic carbon black. However . in the same field of endeavor, ‘450 discloses that an acidic carbon black in a content range of 0.05 to 10 % by mass can be used to render a cellulose resin composition having improved colorant dispersion and high external appearance quality ([0023]-[0030], [0093]-[0095]). In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have used the acidic carbon black as taught by ‘450, to modify the cellulose resin composition of modified ‘507, in order to render the cellulose resin composition which is capable of being made into a molded article having improved external appearance quality.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/06/2025 have been fully considered. Arguments which are still deemed relevant are addressed below.
Applicant argues that the references Imanishi and Nakai do not render the claims unpatentable because Imanishi discloses cellulose esters and Nakai discloses cellulose ethers and these references are not compatible because these cellulose derivatives contain different amount of plasticizer. It is noted that the reference Nakai expressly set forth that the cellulose derivatives contains acyl groups (See [0011]) which is a cellulose ester. It is known in the art that plasticizer is used to increase polymeric material’s plasticity and flexibility, its amount in the material can be adjusted based on its desired flexibility for a specific application, the difference amount of plasticizer used in the compositions of cited references does not render cited references being not compatible. Regarding scratch resistance and appearance quality as argued, the examiner’s position is that the subject matter as claimed does not require having a specific scratch resistance and appearance quality. In addition, the cited references fairly suggest a composition satisfying all the limitations as claimed, thus it is expected that the prior composition would exhibit desired scratch resistance and appearance quality as argued.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782