Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 4, filed 02/20/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 7-8 and 11-12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive in part. The amendments partially clarify the claims but “structural analog or derivative” remains indefinite. See rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) below for further explanation.
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 4-6, filed 02/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 7-8 and 11-12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Amendments exclude the administration of secretin from the claims, mooting the rejection(s). The rejection(s) of 08/20/2026 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 and 11-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7-8 and 11-14 encompass the administration of KSD179019 structural analogs and derivatives. The specification provides no guidance to these terms and it is therefore unclear to what extent a compound must have structural similarity to KSD179019 in order to be considered a structural analog or derivative. For example, it is unclear whether a compound merely having a purine ring system may be considered a structural analog or derivative. Accordingly, the metes and bounds of the terms are unclear and the claims are indefinite. Because the degree of structural similarity necessary to be considered encompassed by the terms is unclear, the terms are given their broadest reasonable interpretation to include compounds which share at least two functional groups and corresponding points of attachment in common with KSD179019.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7-8 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)/(2) as being anticipated by WO2006076595A1 to Albers et al.
Albers et al. teaches compounds such as
(p.31). The prior art compound can be considered encompassed by KSD179019 structural analogs/derivatives as it shares a 9N-cyclohexyl purine moiety with KSD179019. The compounds of the disclosure are useful for treating pulmonary hypertension (Para. [0026]) and asthma (Para. [00202]). While the arrangement of claims 8 and 14 wherein the subject has both hypertension and asthma is not explicitly recited, said arrangement can be at once envisaged by a PHOSITA given that the compound is taught as useful for treating both hypertension and asthma.
Claims 13 and 14 each recite parameters regarding biological activity. The identical compound (i.e., a KSD179019 structural analog or derivative) applied to an identical subject (e.g., a subject in need of hypertension treatment of claim 13 or a subject in need of hypertension treatment and having a further condition of disease of claim 14) must inherently have the same claimed effect, even if not recognized in the art. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the claimed chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. Consequently, a “a method for treating hypertension, the method comprising administering to a subject in need of hypertension treatment” of claim 13 and “a method for treating hypertension and a further condition of disease, the method comprising administering to a subject in need of hypertension treatment” of claim 14 would inherently fulfill the limitations regarding parameters of biological activity recited in claims 13-14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2006076595A1 to Albers et al. in view of Cheng "Azilsartan/chlorthalidone combination therapy for blood pressure control" Integrated Blood Pressure Control 2013:6 39–48.
Albers et al. teaches compounds such as
(p.31). The prior art compound can be considered encompassed by KSD179019 structural analogs/derivatives as it shares a 9N-cyclohexyl purine moiety with KSD179019. The compounds of the disclosure are useful for treating pulmonary hypertension (Para. [0026]) and asthma (Para. [00202]). While the arrangement of claims 8 and 14 wherein the subject has both hypertension and asthma is not explicitly recited, said arrangement can be at once envisaged by a PHOSITA given that the compound is taught as useful for treating both hypertension and asthma.
Claims 13 and 14 each recite parameters regarding biological activity. The identical compound (i.e., a KSD179019 structural analog or derivative) applied to an identical subject (e.g., a subject in need of hypertension treatment of claim 13 or a subject in need of hypertension treatment and having a further condition of disease of claim 14) must inherently have the same claimed effect, even if not recognized in the art. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the claimed chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. Consequently, a “a method for treating hypertension, the method comprising administering to a subject in need of hypertension treatment” of claim 13 and “a method for treating hypertension and a further condition of disease, the method comprising administering to a subject in need of hypertension treatment” of claim 14 would inherently fulfill the limitations regarding parameters of biological activity recited in claims 13-14.
Alsers et al. does not teach co-administration with an an additional therapeutic agent such as a diuretic or angiotension II receptor blocker.
Cheng teaches Azilsartan/chlorthalidone as an antihypertensive combination therapy. Azilsartan is an angiotensin II receptor blocker and chlorthalidone is a diuretic (see Background, Conclusions, pp. 39). It would have been prima facie obvious to combine the secretin composition taught by Hashimoto et al. with the Azilsartan/chlorthalidone which are taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose of lowering blood pressure and thereby treating hypertension. See MPEP 2144.06(I). Accordingly, claims 7-8 and 11-14 are obvious.
Conclusion
Claims 7-8 and 11-14 are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JED A KUCHARCZK/Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/VALERIE RODRIGUEZ-GARCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621 06/26/2026