DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2008/0236185) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2011/0023532) and Yoshida (JPH1183115A).
Per claim 1, Choi teaches a refrigerant cycle system comprising:
a primary-side vapor compression cycle (vapor compression cycle associated with 30), wherein the primary-side vapor compression cycle circulates a first refrigerant (“a first refrigerant”, para. 0029);
a secondary-side vapor compression cycle (vapor compression cycle associated with 35), wherein the secondary-side vapor compression cycle circulates a second refrigerant (“a second refrigerant”, para. 0029); and
a cascade heat exchanger (40) that exchanges heat between the first refrigerant and the second refrigerant,
wherein the primary-side vapor compression cycle comprises:
a heat-source heat exchanger (100) for giving cold or heat to the first refrigerant; and
a primary-side connection pipe (18,22) that connects the cascade heat exchanger and the heat-source heat exchanger,
the secondary-side vapor compression cycle comprises:
a usage heat exchanger (300) for using the cold or the heat obtained by the second refrigerant from the cascade heat exchanger; and
a secondary-side connection pipe (52,56) that connects the cascade heat exchanger and the usage heat exchanger,
the primary-side connection pipe comprises:
a primary-side gas connection pipe (18); and
a primary-side liquid connection pipe (22),
the secondary-side connection pipe comprises:
a secondary-side gas connection pipe (52); and
a secondary-side liquid connection pipe (56), and
a pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe (52) (to clarify, there is necessarily a diameter of pipe 52), a pipe diameter of the primary-side gas connection pipe (18) (to clarify, there is necessarily a diameter of pipe 18),
a pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe (56) (to clarify, there is necessarily a diameter of pipe 52), and a pipe diameter of the primary-side liquid connection pipe (22) (to clarify, there is necessarily a diameter of pipe 22)
but fails to explicitly teach
wherein the secondary-side compressor uses a refrigerating-machine oil and
at least one of the following is satisfied:
the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe is smaller than the pipe diameter of the primary-side gas connection pipe,
the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe is smaller than the pipe diameter of the primary-side liquid connection pipe, and
wherein the first refrigerant and the second refrigerant are of a same material.
Regarding the refrigerating-machine oil, it is old and well known to use refrigerating-machine oil in vapor-compression refrigerating systems. Kobayashi teaches a cascade refrigeration system (200) including a secondary-side compressor (401) using a refrigerating-machine oil (“oil”, para. 0049) for improving air tightness and ensuring lubrication of the compressor (para. 0049) and wherein a first refrigerant and a second refrigerant are of a same material (“the refrigerant sealed in the first refrigerant circuit 300 is the same as the refrigerant sealed in the second refrigerant circuit 400”, para. 0116) for improved cooling efficiency (para. 0019). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a secondary-side compressor that uses a refrigerating-machine oil wherein a first refrigerant and a second refrigerant are of a same material for improved cooling efficiency (para. 0019), as taught by Kobayashi in the invention of Choi, in order to advantageously improve air tightness and ensure lubrication of the compressor (para. 0049), thereby inhibiting damage to the system and improved cooling efficiency (para. 0019).
Regarding the pipe diameters, Yoshida teaches that a refrigeration system uses parameters such as pipe diameter, pipe length, and refrigerant type (“at least one of outdoor air temperature, indoor air temperature, total operating indoor unit capacity, total number of operating indoor units, pipe length, pipe diameter, height difference between outdoor unit indoor units, amount of refrigerant charged, and type of charged refrigerant When the dynamic characteristic of the control variable with respect to the manipulated variable fluctuates due to the difference between these conditions, the above robust based on the value of the estimated parameter is used to cope with the fluctuation of the parameter representing the dynamic characteristic of the control variable. An adaptive robust control device for adaptively controlling the stabilization gain by changing the stabilization gain is provided”, pg. 6 of translation) to control performance (“An object of the present invention is to provide an air using adaptive robust control so that a plurality of control amounts can be stably adjusted with little interference when adjusting control amounts such as refrigerant discharge pressure, temperature, and room temperature of a compressor. To provide a harmony machine.”, pg. 4 of translation). Thus depending upon the pipe length and refrigerant type the diameter of the pipe can be optimized to be larger or smaller based on the system design. For example, a refrigerant type with a long pipe length could need a large diameter and the same or different refrigerant type with a small pipe length could need a smaller diameter. Thus depending upon the design of the system, the diameter will be optimized. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12). No unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be smaller than the pipe diameter of the primary-side gas connection pipe, or the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe is smaller than the pipe diameter of the primary-side liquid connection pipe. Applicant is reminded to establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. Therefore it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be smaller than the pipe diameter of the primary-side gas connection pipe, or the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe is smaller than the pipe diameter of the primary-side liquid connection pipe, in order to advantageously optimize for the performance of the primary and/or secondary side vapor compression system. Further, no unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be smaller than the pipe diameter of the primary-side gas connection pipe, or the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe is smaller than the pipe diameter of the primary-side liquid connection pipe.
Claim(s) 2-8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2008/0236185) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2011/0023532) and Yoshida (JPH1183115A) as applied to the claims above and further in view of Wakamoto et al. (US 2007/0271936) and Schwarz et al. (US 2004/0237551).
Per claim 2, Choi, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Choi, as modified, teaches the second refrigerant (“a second refrigerant”, para. 0029), a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side vapor compression cycle (i.e. there is necessarily a refrigerating capacity associated with the secondary-side cycle), and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe (52) but fails to explicitly teach wherein the second refrigerant is carbon dioxide, a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle is 4.5 kW or more and 5.6 kW or less, and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe is 5/16 inch.
Regarding carbon dioxide as the second refrigerant, carbon dioxide is an old and well known refrigerant. For example, Wakamoto teaches using carbon dioxide as a refrigerant in an air conditioning system for providing a low global warming potential and improved coefficient of performance (para. 0009). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide carbon dioxide as a refrigerant, as taught by Wakamoto in the invention of Choi, as modified, in order to advantageously provide a refrigerant having a low global warming potential and an improved coefficient of performance (para. 0009).
Regarding the refrigerating capacity, Schwarz teaches that an air conditioner refrigerating capacity relates the amount of cooling a space is able to be provide by the air conditioner (i.e. greater refrigerating capacity provides greater cooling capability) (para. 0057 of Schwarz) and optimizing for cooling capacity promotes minimum energy consumption (para. 0057). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle was disclosed in the prior art by Choi, as modified, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable value of the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle disclosed by Choi, as modified, be 4.5 kW or more and 5.6 kW or less.
Regarding the pipe diameter, Yoshida teaches that a refrigeration system uses parameters such as pipe diameter, pipe length, and refrigerant type (“at least one of outdoor air temperature, indoor air temperature, total operating indoor unit capacity, total number of operating indoor units, pipe length, pipe diameter, height difference between outdoor unit indoor units, amount of refrigerant charged, and type of charged refrigerant When the dynamic characteristic of the control variable with respect to the manipulated variable fluctuates due to the difference between these conditions, the above robust based on the value of the estimated parameter is used to cope with the fluctuation of the parameter representing the dynamic characteristic of the control variable. An adaptive robust control device for adaptively controlling the stabilization gain by changing the stabilization gain is provided”, pg. 6 of translation) to control performance (“An object of the present invention is to provide an air using adaptive robust control so that a plurality of control amounts can be stably adjusted with little interference when adjusting control amounts such as refrigerant discharge pressure, temperature, and room temperature of a compressor. To provide a harmony machine.”, pg. 4 of translation). Thus depending upon the pipe length and refrigerant type the diameter of the pipe can be optimized to be larger or smaller based on the system design. For example, a refrigerant type with a long pipe length could need a large diameter and the same or different refrigerant type with a small pipe length could need a smaller diameter. Thus depending upon the design of the system, the diameter will be optimized. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12). No unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be 5/16 inch. Applicant is reminded to establish unexpected results over a claimed range (or value), applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range (or above and below the claimed value) to show the criticality of the claimed range (to clarify, to show criticality, Applicant should show what would be expected below 5/16 inches, above 5/16 inches, and what unexpected result is achieved at 5/16 inches). Therefore it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be 5/16 inch, in order to advantageously optimize for the performance of the secondary side vapor compression system. Further, no unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be 5/16 inch.
Per claim 3, Choi, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Choi, as modified, teaches the second refrigerant (“a second refrigerant”, para. 0029), a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side vapor compression cycle (i.e. there is necessarily a refrigerating capacity associated with the secondary-side cycle), and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe (52) but fails to explicitly teach wherein the second refrigerant is carbon dioxide, a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle is 7.1 kW or more and 9.0 kW or less, and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe is 3/8 inch.
Regarding carbon dioxide as the second refrigerant, carbon dioxide is an old and well known refrigerant. For example, Wakamoto teaches using carbon dioxide as a refrigerant in an air conditioning system for providing a low global warming potential and improved coefficient of performance (para. 0009). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide carbon dioxide as a refrigerant, as taught by Wakamoto in the invention of Choi, as modified, in order to advantageously provide a refrigerant having a low global warming potential and an improved coefficient of performance (para. 0009).
Regarding the refrigerating capacity, Schwarz teaches that an air conditioner refrigerating capacity relates the amount of cooling a space is able to be provide by the air conditioner (i.e. greater refrigerating capacity provides greater cooling capability) (para. 0057 of Schwarz) and optimizing for cooling capacity promotes minimum energy consumption (para. 0057). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle was disclosed in the prior art by Choi, as modified, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable value of the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle disclosed by Choi, as modified, be 7.1 kW or more and 9.0 kW or less.
Regarding the pipe diameter, Yoshida teaches that a refrigeration system uses parameters such as pipe diameter, pipe length, and refrigerant type (“at least one of outdoor air temperature, indoor air temperature, total operating indoor unit capacity, total number of operating indoor units, pipe length, pipe diameter, height difference between outdoor unit indoor units, amount of refrigerant charged, and type of charged refrigerant When the dynamic characteristic of the control variable with respect to the manipulated variable fluctuates due to the difference between these conditions, the above robust based on the value of the estimated parameter is used to cope with the fluctuation of the parameter representing the dynamic characteristic of the control variable. An adaptive robust control device for adaptively controlling the stabilization gain by changing the stabilization gain is provided”, pg. 6 of translation) to control performance (“An object of the present invention is to provide an air using adaptive robust control so that a plurality of control amounts can be stably adjusted with little interference when adjusting control amounts such as refrigerant discharge pressure, temperature, and room temperature of a compressor. To provide a harmony machine.”, pg. 4 of translation). Thus depending upon the pipe length and refrigerant type the diameter of the pipe can be optimized to be larger or smaller based on the system design. For example, a refrigerant type with a long pipe length could need a large diameter and the same or different refrigerant type with a small pipe length could need a smaller diameter. Thus depending upon the design of the system, the diameter will be optimized. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12). No unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be 3/8 inch. Applicant is reminded to establish unexpected results over a claimed range (or value), applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range (or above and below the claimed value) to show the criticality of the claimed range (to clarify, to show criticality, Applicant should show what would be expected below 3/8 inches, above 3/8 inches, and what unexpected result is achieved at 3/8 inches). Therefore it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be 3/8 inch, in order to advantageously optimize for the performance of the secondary side vapor compression system. Further, no unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be 3/8 inch.
Per claim 4, Choi, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Choi, as modified, teaches the second refrigerant (“a second refrigerant”, para. 0029), a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side vapor compression cycle (i.e. there is necessarily a refrigerating capacity associated with the secondary-side cycle), and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe (52) but fails to explicitly teach wherein the second refrigerant is carbon dioxide, a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle is 16 kW or more and 22.4 kW or less, and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe is 1/2 inch.
Regarding carbon dioxide as the second refrigerant, carbon dioxide is an old and well known refrigerant. For example, Wakamoto teaches using carbon dioxide as a refrigerant in an air conditioning system for providing a low global warming potential and improved coefficient of performance (para. 0009). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide carbon dioxide as a refrigerant, as taught by Wakamoto in the invention of Choi, as modified, in order to advantageously provide a refrigerant having a low global warming potential and an improved coefficient of performance (para. 0009).
Regarding the refrigerating capacity, Schwarz teaches that an air conditioner refrigerating capacity relates the amount of cooling a space is able to be provide by the air conditioner (i.e. greater refrigerating capacity provides greater cooling capability) (para. 0057 of Schwarz) and optimizing for cooling capacity promotes minimum energy consumption (para. 0057). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle was disclosed in the prior art by Choi, as modified, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable value of the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle disclosed by Choi, as modified, be 16 kW or more and 22.4 kW or less.
Regarding the pipe diameter, Yoshida teaches that a refrigeration system uses parameters such as pipe diameter, pipe length, and refrigerant type (“at least one of outdoor air temperature, indoor air temperature, total operating indoor unit capacity, total number of operating indoor units, pipe length, pipe diameter, height difference between outdoor unit indoor units, amount of refrigerant charged, and type of charged refrigerant When the dynamic characteristic of the control variable with respect to the manipulated variable fluctuates due to the difference between these conditions, the above robust based on the value of the estimated parameter is used to cope with the fluctuation of the parameter representing the dynamic characteristic of the control variable. An adaptive robust control device for adaptively controlling the stabilization gain by changing the stabilization gain is provided”, pg. 6 of translation) to control performance (“An object of the present invention is to provide an air using adaptive robust control so that a plurality of control amounts can be stably adjusted with little interference when adjusting control amounts such as refrigerant discharge pressure, temperature, and room temperature of a compressor. To provide a harmony machine.”, pg. 4 of translation). Thus depending upon the pipe length and refrigerant type the diameter of the pipe can be optimized to be larger or smaller based on the system design. For example, a refrigerant type with a long pipe length could need a large diameter and the same or different refrigerant type with a small pipe length could need a smaller diameter. Thus depending upon the design of the system, the diameter will be optimized. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12). No unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be 1/2 inch. Applicant is reminded to establish unexpected results over a claimed range (or value), applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range (or above and below the claimed value) to show the criticality of the claimed range (to clarify, to show criticality, Applicant should show what would be expected below 1/2 inches, above 1/2 inches, and what unexpected result is achieved at 1/2 inches). Therefore it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be 1/2 inch, in order to advantageously optimize for the performance of the secondary side vapor compression system. Further, no unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be 1/2 inch.
Per claim 5, Choi, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Choi, as modified, teaches the second refrigerant (“a second refrigerant”, para. 0029), a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side vapor compression cycle (i.e. there is necessarily a refrigerating capacity associated with the secondary-side cycle), and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe (56) but fails to explicitly teach wherein the second refrigerant is carbon dioxide, a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle is 5.6 kW or more and 8.0 kW or less, and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe is 3/16 inch.
Regarding carbon dioxide as the second refrigerant, carbon dioxide is an old and well known refrigerant. For example, Wakamoto teaches using carbon dioxide as a refrigerant in an air conditioning system for providing a low global warming potential and improved coefficient of performance (para. 0009). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide carbon dioxide as a refrigerant, as taught by Wakamoto in the invention of Choi, as modified, in order to advantageously provide a refrigerant having a low global warming potential and an improved coefficient of performance (para. 0009).
Regarding the refrigerating capacity, Schwarz teaches that an air conditioner refrigerating capacity relates the amount of cooling a space is able to be provide by the air conditioner (i.e. greater refrigerating capacity provides greater cooling capability) (para. 0057 of Schwarz) and optimizing for cooling capacity promotes minimum energy consumption (para. 0057). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle was disclosed in the prior art by Choi, as modified, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable value of the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle disclosed by Choi, as modified, be 5.6 kW or more and 8.0 kW or less.
Regarding the pipe diameter, Yoshida teaches that a refrigeration system uses parameters such as pipe diameter, pipe length, and refrigerant type (“at least one of outdoor air temperature, indoor air temperature, total operating indoor unit capacity, total number of operating indoor units, pipe length, pipe diameter, height difference between outdoor unit indoor units, amount of refrigerant charged, and type of charged refrigerant When the dynamic characteristic of the control variable with respect to the manipulated variable fluctuates due to the difference between these conditions, the above robust based on the value of the estimated parameter is used to cope with the fluctuation of the parameter representing the dynamic characteristic of the control variable. An adaptive robust control device for adaptively controlling the stabilization gain by changing the stabilization gain is provided”, pg. 6 of translation) to control performance (“An object of the present invention is to provide an air using adaptive robust control so that a plurality of control amounts can be stably adjusted with little interference when adjusting control amounts such as refrigerant discharge pressure, temperature, and room temperature of a compressor. To provide a harmony machine.”, pg. 4 of translation). Thus depending upon the pipe length and refrigerant type the diameter of the pipe can be optimized to be larger or smaller based on the system design. For example, a refrigerant type with a long pipe length could need a large diameter and the same or different refrigerant type with a small pipe length could need a smaller diameter. Thus depending upon the design of the system, the diameter will be optimized. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12). No unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be 3/16 inch. Applicant is reminded to establish unexpected results over a claimed range (or value), applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range (or above and below the claimed value) to show the criticality of the claimed range (to clarify, to show criticality, Applicant should show what would be expected below 3/16 inches, above 3/16 inches, and what unexpected result is achieved at 3/16 inches). Therefore it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the secondary-side liquid connection pipe be 3/16 inch, in order to advantageously optimize for the performance of the secondary side vapor compression system. Further, no unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be 3/16 inch.
Per claim 6 Choi, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Choi, as modified, teaches the second refrigerant (“a second refrigerant”, para. 0029), a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side vapor compression cycle (i.e. there is necessarily a refrigerating capacity associated with the secondary-side cycle), and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe (56) but fails to explicitly teach wherein the second refrigerant is carbon dioxide, a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle is 11.2 kW or more and 16 kW or less, and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe is 1/4 inch.
Regarding carbon dioxide as the second refrigerant, carbon dioxide is an old and well known refrigerant. For example, Wakamoto teaches using carbon dioxide as a refrigerant in an air conditioning system for providing a low global warming potential and improved coefficient of performance (para. 0009). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide carbon dioxide as a refrigerant, as taught by Wakamoto in the invention of Choi, as modified, in order to advantageously provide a refrigerant having a low global warming potential and an improved coefficient of performance (para. 0009).
Regarding the refrigerating capacity, Schwarz teaches that an air conditioner refrigerating capacity relates the amount of cooling a space is able to be provide by the air conditioner (i.e. greater refrigerating capacity provides greater cooling capability) (para. 0057 of Schwarz) and optimizing for cooling capacity promotes minimum energy consumption (para. 0057). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle was disclosed in the prior art by Choi, as modified, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable value of the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle disclosed by Choi, as modified, be 11.2 kW or more and 16 kW or less.
Regarding the pipe diameter, Yoshida teaches that a refrigeration system uses parameters such as pipe diameter, pipe length, and refrigerant type (“at least one of outdoor air temperature, indoor air temperature, total operating indoor unit capacity, total number of operating indoor units, pipe length, pipe diameter, height difference between outdoor unit indoor units, amount of refrigerant charged, and type of charged refrigerant When the dynamic characteristic of the control variable with respect to the manipulated variable fluctuates due to the difference between these conditions, the above robust based on the value of the estimated parameter is used to cope with the fluctuation of the parameter representing the dynamic characteristic of the control variable. An adaptive robust control device for adaptively controlling the stabilization gain by changing the stabilization gain is provided”, pg. 6 of translation) to control performance (“An object of the present invention is to provide an air using adaptive robust control so that a plurality of control amounts can be stably adjusted with little interference when adjusting control amounts such as refrigerant discharge pressure, temperature, and room temperature of a compressor. To provide a harmony machine.”, pg. 4 of translation). Thus depending upon the pipe length and refrigerant type the diameter of the pipe can be optimized to be larger or smaller based on the system design. For example, a refrigerant type with a long pipe length could need a large diameter and the same or different refrigerant type with a small pipe length could need a smaller diameter. Thus depending upon the design of the system, the diameter will be optimized. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12). No unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe be 1/4 inch. Applicant is reminded to establish unexpected results over a claimed range (or value), applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range (or above and below the claimed value) to show the criticality of the claimed range (to clarify, to show criticality, Applicant should show what would be expected below 1/4 inches, above ¼ inches, and what unexpected result is achieved at 1/4 inches). Therefore it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe be 1/4 inch, in order to advantageously optimize for the performance of the secondary side vapor compression system. Further, no unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe be 1/4 inch.
Per claim 7, Choi, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Choi, as modified, teaches the second refrigerant (“a second refrigerant”, para. 0029), a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side vapor compression cycle (i.e. there is necessarily a refrigerating capacity associated with the secondary-side cycle), and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe (56) but fails to explicitly teach wherein the second refrigerant is carbon dioxide, a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle is 16 kW or more and 28 kW or less, and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe is 5/16 inch.
Regarding carbon dioxide as the second refrigerant, carbon dioxide is an old and well known refrigerant. For example, Wakamoto teaches using carbon dioxide as a refrigerant in an air conditioning system for providing a low global warming potential and improved coefficient of performance (para. 0009). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide carbon dioxide as a refrigerant, as taught by Wakamoto in the invention of Choi, as modified, in order to advantageously provide a refrigerant having a low global warming potential and an improved coefficient of performance (para. 0009).
Regarding the refrigerating capacity, Schwarz teaches that an air conditioner refrigerating capacity relates the amount of cooling a space is able to be provide by the air conditioner (i.e. greater refrigerating capacity provides greater cooling capability) (para. 0057 of Schwarz) and optimizing for cooling capacity promotes minimum energy consumption (para. 0057). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle was disclosed in the prior art by Choi, as modified, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable value of the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle disclosed by Choi, as modified, be 16 kW or more and 28 kW or less.
Regarding the pipe diameter, Yoshida teaches that a refrigeration system uses parameters such as pipe diameter, pipe length, and refrigerant type (“at least one of outdoor air temperature, indoor air temperature, total operating indoor unit capacity, total number of operating indoor units, pipe length, pipe diameter, height difference between outdoor unit indoor units, amount of refrigerant charged, and type of charged refrigerant When the dynamic characteristic of the control variable with respect to the manipulated variable fluctuates due to the difference between these conditions, the above robust based on the value of the estimated parameter is used to cope with the fluctuation of the parameter representing the dynamic characteristic of the control variable. An adaptive robust control device for adaptively controlling the stabilization gain by changing the stabilization gain is provided”, pg. 6 of translation) to control performance (“An object of the present invention is to provide an air using adaptive robust control so that a plurality of control amounts can be stably adjusted with little interference when adjusting control amounts such as refrigerant discharge pressure, temperature, and room temperature of a compressor. To provide a harmony machine.”, pg. 4 of translation). Thus depending upon the pipe length and refrigerant type the diameter of the pipe can be optimized to be larger or smaller based on the system design. For example, a refrigerant type with a long pipe length could need a large diameter and the same or different refrigerant type with a small pipe length could need a smaller diameter. Thus depending upon the design of the system, the diameter will be optimized. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12). No unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe be 5/16 inch. Applicant is reminded to establish unexpected results over a claimed range (or value), applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range (or above and below the claimed value) to show the criticality of the claimed range (to clarify, to show criticality, Applicant should show what would be expected below 5/16 inches, above 5/16 inches, and what unexpected result is achieved at 5/16 inches). Therefore it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe be 5/16 inch, in order to advantageously optimize for the performance of the secondary side vapor compression system. Further, no unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe be 5/16 inch.
Per claim 8, Choi, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Choi, as modified, teaches the second refrigerant (“a second refrigerant”, para. 0029), a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side vapor compression cycle (i.e. there is necessarily a refrigerating capacity associated with the secondary-side cycle), and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe (56) but fails to explicitly teach wherein the second refrigerant is carbon dioxide, a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle is 33.5 kW or more and 45 kW or less, and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe is 3/8 inch.
Regarding carbon dioxide as the second refrigerant, carbon dioxide is an old and well known refrigerant. For example, Wakamoto teaches using carbon dioxide as a refrigerant in an air conditioning system for providing a low global warming potential and improved coefficient of performance (para. 0009). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide carbon dioxide as a refrigerant, as taught by Wakamoto in the invention of Choi, as modified, in order to advantageously provide a refrigerant having a low global warming potential and an improved coefficient of performance (para. 0009).
Regarding the refrigerating capacity, Schwarz teaches that an air conditioner refrigerating capacity relates the amount of cooling a space is able to be provide by the air conditioner (i.e. greater refrigerating capacity provides greater cooling capability) (para. 0057 of Schwarz) and optimizing for cooling capacity promotes minimum energy consumption (para. 0057). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle was disclosed in the prior art by Choi, as modified, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable value of the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle disclosed by Choi, as modified, be 33.5 kW or more and 45 kW or less.
Regarding the pipe diameter, Yoshida teaches that a refrigeration system uses parameters such as pipe diameter, pipe length, and refrigerant type (“at least one of outdoor air temperature, indoor air temperature, total operating indoor unit capacity, total number of operating indoor units, pipe length, pipe diameter, height difference between outdoor unit indoor units, amount of refrigerant charged, and type of charged refrigerant When the dynamic characteristic of the control variable with respect to the manipulated variable fluctuates due to the difference between these conditions, the above robust based on the value of the estimated parameter is used to cope with the fluctuation of the parameter representing the dynamic characteristic of the control variable. An adaptive robust control device for adaptively controlling the stabilization gain by changing the stabilization gain is provided”, pg. 6 of translation) to control performance (“An object of the present invention is to provide an air using adaptive robust control so that a plurality of control amounts can be stably adjusted with little interference when adjusting control amounts such as refrigerant discharge pressure, temperature, and room temperature of a compressor. To provide a harmony machine.”, pg. 4 of translation). Thus depending upon the pipe length and refrigerant type the diameter of the pipe can be optimized to be larger or smaller based on the system design. For example, a refrigerant type with a long pipe length could need a large diameter and the same or different refrigerant type with a small pipe length could need a smaller diameter. Thus depending upon the design of the system, the diameter will be optimized. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12). No unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be 3/8 inch. Applicant is reminded to establish unexpected results over a claimed range (or value), applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range (or above and below the claimed value) to show the criticality of the claimed range (to clarify, to show criticality, Applicant should show what would be expected below 3/8 inches, above 3/8 inches, and what unexpected result is achieved at 3/8 inches). Therefore it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe be 3/8 inch, in order to advantageously optimize for the performance of the secondary side vapor compression system. Further, no unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be 3/8 inch.
Per claim 18, Choi, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Choi, as modified, teaches the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe (52) (to clarify, there is necessarily a diameter of pipe 52), the pipe diameter of the primary-side gas connection pipe (18) (to clarify, there is necessarily a diameter of pipe 18), the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe (56) (to clarify, there is necessarily a diameter of pipe 56), and the pipe diameter of the primary-side liquid connection pipe (22) (to clarify, there is necessarily a diameter of pipe 22) but fails to explicitly teach
the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe is less than or equal to 90% of the pipe diameter of the primary-side gas connection pipe, and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe is less than or equal to 90% of the pipe diameter of the primary-side liquid connection pipe.
Regarding the pipe diameters, Yoshida teaches that a refrigeration system uses parameters such as pipe diameter, pipe length, and refrigerant type (“at least one of outdoor air temperature, indoor air temperature, total operating indoor unit capacity, total number of operating indoor units, pipe length, pipe diameter, height difference between outdoor unit indoor units, amount of refrigerant charged, and type of charged refrigerant When the dynamic characteristic of the control variable with respect to the manipulated variable fluctuates due to the difference between these conditions, the above robust based on the value of the estimated parameter is used to cope with the fluctuation of the parameter representing the dynamic characteristic of the control variable. An adaptive robust control device for adaptively controlling the stabilization gain by changing the stabilization gain is provided”, pg. 6 of translation) to control performance (“An object of the present invention is to provide an air using adaptive robust control so that a plurality of control amounts can be stably adjusted with little interference when adjusting control amounts such as refrigerant discharge pressure, temperature, and room temperature of a compressor. To provide a harmony machine.”, pg. 4 of translation). Thus depending upon the pipe length and refrigerant type the diameter of the pipe can be optimized to be larger or smaller based on the system design. For example, a refrigerant type with a long pipe length could need a large diameter and the same or different refrigerant type with a small pipe length could need a smaller diameter. Thus depending upon the design of the system, the diameter will be optimized. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12). No unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be less than or equal to 90% of the pipe diameter of the primary-side gas connection pipe, and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe be less than or equal to 90% of the pipe diameter of the primary-side liquid connection pipe. Applicant is reminded to establish unexpected results over a claimed range (or value), applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range (or above and below the claimed value) to show the criticality of the claimed range (to clarify, to show criticality, Applicant should show what would be expected when the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe is greater than or equal to 90% of the pipe diameter of the primary-side gas connection pipe and what unexpended result is achieved when the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe is less than or equal to 90% of the pipe diameter of the primary-side gas connection pipe, and when the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe is greater than or equal to 90% of the pipe diameter of the primary-side liquid connection pipe and what unexpected result is achieved when the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe is less than or equal to 90% of the primary-side liquid connection pipe). Therefore it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe is less than or equal to 90% of the pipe diameter of the primary-side gas connection pipe, and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe is less than or equal to 90% of the pipe diameter of the primary-side liquid connection pipe, in order to advantageously optimize for the performance of the secondary side vapor compression system. Further, no unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be less than or equal to 90% of the pipe diameter of the primary-side gas connection pipe, and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe be less than or equal to 90% of the pipe diameter of the primary-side liquid connection pipe.
Claim(s) 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2008/0236185) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2011/0023532) and Yoshida (JPH1183115A) as applied to the claims above and further in view of Taira (US 2003/0056525) and Schwarz et al. (US 2004/0237551).
Per claim 9, Choi, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Choi, as modified, teaches the second refrigerant (“a second refrigerant”, para. 0029), a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side vapor compression cycle (i.e. there is necessarily a refrigerating capacity associated with the secondary-side cycle), and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe (56) but fails to explicitly teach wherein the second refrigerant is R32, a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle is 16 kW or more and 22.4 kW or less, and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe is 5/8 inch.
Regarding R32 as the second refrigerant, R32 is an old and well known refrigerant. For example, Taira teaches using R32 (“R32”, para. 0010) as a refrigerant in an air conditioning system for providing a low global warming potential (para. 0010). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide R32 as a refrigerant, as taught by Taira in the invention of Choi, as modified, in order to advantageously provide a refrigerant having a low global warming potential and an improved coefficient of performance (para. 0009).
Regarding the refrigerating capacity, Schwarz teaches that an air conditioner refrigerating capacity relates the amount of cooling a space is able to be provide by the air conditioner (i.e. greater refrigerating capacity provides greater cooling capability) (para. 0057 of Schwarz) and optimizing for cooling capacity promotes minimum energy consumption (para. 0057). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle was disclosed in the prior art by Choi, as modified, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable value of the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle disclosed by Choi, as modified, be 16 kW or more and 22.4 kW or less.
Regarding the pipe diameter, Yoshida teaches that a refrigeration system uses parameters such as pipe diameter, pipe length, and refrigerant type (“at least one of outdoor air temperature, indoor air temperature, total operating indoor unit capacity, total number of operating indoor units, pipe length, pipe diameter, height difference between outdoor unit indoor units, amount of refrigerant charged, and type of charged refrigerant When the dynamic characteristic of the control variable with respect to the manipulated variable fluctuates due to the difference between these conditions, the above robust based on the value of the estimated parameter is used to cope with the fluctuation of the parameter representing the dynamic characteristic of the control variable. An adaptive robust control device for adaptively controlling the stabilization gain by changing the stabilization gain is provided”, pg. 6 of translation) to control performance (“An object of the present invention is to provide an air using adaptive robust control so that a plurality of control amounts can be stably adjusted with little interference when adjusting control amounts such as refrigerant discharge pressure, temperature, and room temperature of a compressor. To provide a harmony machine.”, pg. 4 of translation). Thus depending upon the pipe length and refrigerant type the diameter of the pipe can be optimized to be larger or smaller based on the system design. For example, a refrigerant type with a long pipe length could need a large diameter and the same or different refrigerant type with a small pipe length could need a smaller diameter. Thus depending upon the design of the system, the diameter will be optimized. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12). No unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be 5/8 inch. Applicant is reminded to establish unexpected results over a claimed range (or value), applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range (or above and below the claimed value) to show the criticality of the claimed range (to clarify, to show criticality, Applicant should show what would be expected below 5/8 inches, above 5/8 inches, and what unexpected result is achieved at 5/8 inches). Therefore it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be 5/8 inch, in order to advantageously optimize for the performance of the secondary side vapor compression system. Further, no unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be 5/8 inch.
Per claim 10, Choi, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Choi, as modified, teaches the second refrigerant (“a second refrigerant”, para. 0029), a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side vapor compression cycle (i.e. there is necessarily a refrigerating capacity associated with the secondary-side cycle), and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe (56) but fails to explicitly teach wherein the second refrigerant is R32, a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle is 2.8 kW or more and 3.6 kW or less, and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe is 3/16 inch.
Regarding R32 as the second refrigerant, R32 is an old and well known refrigerant. For example, Taira teaches using R32 (“R32”, para. 0010) as a refrigerant in an air conditioning system for providing a low global warming potential (para. 0010). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide R32 as a refrigerant, as taught by Taira in the invention of Choi, as modified, in order to advantageously provide a refrigerant having a low global warming potential and an improved coefficient of performance (para. 0009).
Regarding the refrigerating capacity, Schwarz teaches that an air conditioner refrigerating capacity relates the amount of cooling a space is able to be provide by the air conditioner (i.e. greater refrigerating capacity provides greater cooling capability) (para. 0057 of Schwarz) and optimizing for cooling capacity promotes minimum energy consumption (para. 0057). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle was disclosed in the prior art by Choi, as modified, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable value of the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle disclosed by Choi, as modified, be 2.8 kW or more and 3.6 kW or less.
Regarding the pipe diameter, Yoshida teaches that a refrigeration system uses parameters such as pipe diameter, pipe length, and refrigerant type (“at least one of outdoor air temperature, indoor air temperature, total operating indoor unit capacity, total number of operating indoor units, pipe length, pipe diameter, height difference between outdoor unit indoor units, amount of refrigerant charged, and type of charged refrigerant When the dynamic characteristic of the control variable with respect to the manipulated variable fluctuates due to the difference between these conditions, the above robust based on the value of the estimated parameter is used to cope with the fluctuation of the parameter representing the dynamic characteristic of the control variable. An adaptive robust control device for adaptively controlling the stabilization gain by changing the stabilization gain is provided”, pg. 6 of translation) to control performance (“An object of the present invention is to provide an air using adaptive robust control so that a plurality of control amounts can be stably adjusted with little interference when adjusting control amounts such as refrigerant discharge pressure, temperature, and room temperature of a compressor. To provide a harmony machine.”, pg. 4 of translation). Thus depending upon the pipe length and refrigerant type the diameter of the pipe can be optimized to be larger or smaller based on the system design. For example, a refrigerant type with a long pipe length could need a large diameter and the same or different refrigerant type with a small pipe length could need a smaller diameter. Thus depending upon the design of the system, the diameter will be optimized. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12). No unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe be 3/16 inch. Applicant is reminded to establish unexpected results over a claimed range (or value), applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range (or above and below the claimed value) to show the criticality of the claimed range (to clarify, to show criticality, Applicant should show what would be expected below 3/16 inches, above 3/16 inches, and what unexpected result is achieved at 3/16 inches). Therefore it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe be 3/16 inch, in order to advantageously optimize for the performance of the secondary side vapor compression system. Further, no unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe be 3/16 inch.
Per claim 11, Choi, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Choi, as modified, teaches the second refrigerant (“a second refrigerant”, para. 0029), a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side vapor compression cycle (i.e. there is necessarily a refrigerating capacity associated with the secondary-side cycle), and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe (56) but fails to explicitly teach wherein the second refrigerant is R32, a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle is 14 kW or more and 16 kW or less, and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe is 5/16 inch.
Regarding R32 as the second refrigerant, R32 is an old and well known refrigerant. For example, Taira teaches using R32 (“R32”, para. 0010) as a refrigerant in an air conditioning system for providing a low global warming potential (para. 0010). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide R32 as a refrigerant, as taught by Taira in the invention of Choi, as modified, in order to advantageously provide a refrigerant having a low global warming potential and an improved coefficient of performance (para. 0009).
Regarding the refrigerating capacity, Schwarz teaches that an air conditioner refrigerating capacity relates the amount of cooling a space is able to be provide by the air conditioner (i.e. greater refrigerating capacity provides greater cooling capability) (para. 0057 of Schwarz) and optimizing for cooling capacity promotes minimum energy consumption (para. 0057). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle was disclosed in the prior art by Choi, as modified, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable value of the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle disclosed by Choi, as modified, be 14 kW or more and 16 kW or less.
Regarding the pipe diameter, Yoshida teaches that a refrigeration system uses parameters such as pipe diameter, pipe length, and refrigerant type (“at least one of outdoor air temperature, indoor air temperature, total operating indoor unit capacity, total number of operating indoor units, pipe length, pipe diameter, height difference between outdoor unit indoor units, amount of refrigerant charged, and type of charged refrigerant When the dynamic characteristic of the control variable with respect to the manipulated variable fluctuates due to the difference between these conditions, the above robust based on the value of the estimated parameter is used to cope with the fluctuation of the parameter representing the dynamic characteristic of the control variable. An adaptive robust control device for adaptively controlling the stabilization gain by changing the stabilization gain is provided”, pg. 6 of translation) to control performance (“An object of the present invention is to provide an air using adaptive robust control so that a plurality of control amounts can be stably adjusted with little interference when adjusting control amounts such as refrigerant discharge pressure, temperature, and room temperature of a compressor. To provide a harmony machine.”, pg. 4 of translation). Thus depending upon the pipe length and refrigerant type the diameter of the pipe can be optimized to be larger or smaller based on the system design. For example, a refrigerant type with a long pipe length could need a large diameter and the same or different refrigerant type with a small pipe length could need a smaller diameter. Thus depending upon the design of the system, the diameter will be optimized. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12). No unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe be 5/16 inch. Applicant is reminded to establish unexpected results over a claimed range (or value), applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range (or above and below the claimed value) to show the criticality of the claimed range (to clarify, to show criticality, Applicant should show what would be expected below 5/16 inches, above 5/16 inches, and what unexpected result is achieved at 5/16 inches). Therefore it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe be 5/16 inch, in order to advantageously optimize for the performance of the secondary side vapor compression system. Further, no unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe be 5/16 inch.
Per claim 12, Choi, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Choi, as modified, teaches the second refrigerant (“a second refrigerant”, para. 0029), a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side vapor compression cycle (i.e. there is necessarily a refrigerating capacity associated with the secondary-side cycle), and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe (56) but fails to explicitly teach wherein the second refrigerant is R32, a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle is 28 kW or more and 33.5 kW or less, and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe is 3/8 inch.
Regarding R32 as the second refrigerant, R32 is an old and well known refrigerant. For example, Taira teaches using R32 (“R32”, para. 0010) as a refrigerant in an air conditioning system for providing a low global warming potential (para. 0010). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide R32 as a refrigerant, as taught by Taira in the invention of Choi, as modified, in order to advantageously provide a refrigerant having a low global warming potential and an improved coefficient of performance (para. 0009).
Regarding the refrigerating capacity, Schwarz teaches that an air conditioner refrigerating capacity relates the amount of cooling a space is able to be provide by the air conditioner (i.e. greater refrigerating capacity provides greater cooling capability) (para. 0057 of Schwarz) and optimizing for cooling capacity promotes minimum energy consumption (para. 0057). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle was disclosed in the prior art by Choi, as modified, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable value of the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle disclosed by Choi, as modified, be 28 kW or more and 33.5 kW or less.
Regarding the pipe diameter, Yoshida teaches that a refrigeration system uses parameters such as pipe diameter, pipe length, and refrigerant type (“at least one of outdoor air temperature, indoor air temperature, total operating indoor unit capacity, total number of operating indoor units, pipe length, pipe diameter, height difference between outdoor unit indoor units, amount of refrigerant charged, and type of charged refrigerant When the dynamic characteristic of the control variable with respect to the manipulated variable fluctuates due to the difference between these conditions, the above robust based on the value of the estimated parameter is used to cope with the fluctuation of the parameter representing the dynamic characteristic of the control variable. An adaptive robust control device for adaptively controlling the stabilization gain by changing the stabilization gain is provided”, pg. 6 of translation) to control performance (“An object of the present invention is to provide an air using adaptive robust control so that a plurality of control amounts can be stably adjusted with little interference when adjusting control amounts such as refrigerant discharge pressure, temperature, and room temperature of a compressor. To provide a harmony machine.”, pg. 4 of translation). Thus depending upon the pipe length and refrigerant type the diameter of the pipe can be optimized to be larger or smaller based on the system design. For example, a refrigerant type with a long pipe length could need a large diameter and the same or different refrigerant type with a small pipe length could need a smaller diameter. Thus depending upon the design of the system, the diameter will be optimized. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12). No unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe be 3/8 inch. Applicant is reminded to establish unexpected results over a claimed range (or value), applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range (or above and below the claimed value) to show the criticality of the claimed range (to clarify, to show criticality, Applicant should show what would be expected below 3/8 inches, above 3/8 inches, and what unexpected result is achieved at 3/8 inches). Therefore it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe be 3/8 inch, in order to advantageously optimize for the performance of the secondary side vapor compression system. Further, no unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe be 3/8 inch.
Per claim 13, Choi, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Choi, as modified, teaches the second refrigerant (“a second refrigerant”, para. 0029), a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side vapor compression cycle (i.e. there is necessarily a refrigerating capacity associated with the secondary-side cycle), and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe (52) but fails to explicitly teach wherein the second refrigerant is R32, a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle is 9.0 kW or more and 11.2 kW or less, and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe is 5/8 inch.
Regarding R32 as the second refrigerant, R32 is an old and well known refrigerant. For example, Taira teaches using R32 (“R32”, para. 0010) as a refrigerant in an air conditioning system for providing a low global warming potential (para. 0010). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide R32 as a refrigerant, as taught by Taira in the invention of Choi, as modified, in order to advantageously provide a refrigerant having a low global warming potential and an improved coefficient of performance (para. 0009).
Regarding the refrigerating capacity, Schwarz teaches that an air conditioner refrigerating capacity relates the amount of cooling a space is able to be provide by the air conditioner (i.e. greater refrigerating capacity provides greater cooling capability) (para. 0057 of Schwarz) and optimizing for cooling capacity promotes minimum energy consumption (para. 0057). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle was disclosed in the prior art by Choi, as modified, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable value of the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle disclosed by Choi, as modified, be 9.0 kW or more and 11.2 kW or less.
Regarding the pipe diameter, Yoshida teaches that a refrigeration system uses parameters such as pipe diameter, pipe length, and refrigerant type (“at least one of outdoor air temperature, indoor air temperature, total operating indoor unit capacity, total number of operating indoor units, pipe length, pipe diameter, height difference between outdoor unit indoor units, amount of refrigerant charged, and type of charged refrigerant When the dynamic characteristic of the control variable with respect to the manipulated variable fluctuates due to the difference between these conditions, the above robust based on the value of the estimated parameter is used to cope with the fluctuation of the parameter representing the dynamic characteristic of the control variable. An adaptive robust control device for adaptively controlling the stabilization gain by changing the stabilization gain is provided”, pg. 6 of translation) to control performance (“An object of the present invention is to provide an air using adaptive robust control so that a plurality of control amounts can be stably adjusted with little interference when adjusting control amounts such as refrigerant discharge pressure, temperature, and room temperature of a compressor. To provide a harmony machine.”, pg. 4 of translation). Thus depending upon the pipe length and refrigerant type the diameter of the pipe can be optimized to be larger or smaller based on the system design. For example, a refrigerant type with a long pipe length could need a large diameter and the same or different refrigerant type with a small pipe length could need a smaller diameter. Thus depending upon the design of the system, the diameter will be optimized. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12). No unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be 5/8 inch. Applicant is reminded to establish unexpected results over a claimed range (or value), applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range (or above and below the claimed value) to show the criticality of the claimed range (to clarify, to show criticality, Applicant should show what would be expected below 5/8 inches, above 5/8 inches, and what unexpected result is achieved at 5/8 inches). Therefore it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be 5/8 inch, in order to advantageously optimize for the performance of the secondary side vapor compression system. Further, no unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be 5/8 inch.
Claim(s) 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2008/0236185) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2011/0023532) and Yoshida (JPH1183115A) as applied to the claims above and further in view of Jeung et al. (US 2020/0378657) and Schwarz et al. (US 2004/0237551).
Per claim 13, Choi, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Choi, as modified, teaches the second refrigerant (“a second refrigerant”, para. 0029), a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side vapor compression cycle (i.e. there is necessarily a refrigerating capacity associated with the secondary-side cycle), and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe (52) but fails to explicitly teach wherein the second refrigerant is R32, a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle is 9.0 kW or more and 11.2 kW or less, and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe is 5/8 inch.
Regarding R454B as the second refrigerant, R454B is an old and well known refrigerant. For example, Jeung teaches using R454B (“R454B”, para. 0030) as a refrigerant in an air conditioning system for providing a low global warming potential (para. 0030). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide R454B as a refrigerant, as taught by Jeung in the invention of Choi, as modified, in order to advantageously provide a refrigerant having a low global warming potential and an improved coefficient of performance (para. 0030).
Regarding the refrigerating capacity, Schwarz teaches that an air conditioner refrigerating capacity relates the amount of cooling a space is able to be provide by the air conditioner (i.e. greater refrigerating capacity provides greater cooling capability) (para. 0057 of Schwarz) and optimizing for cooling capacity promotes minimum energy consumption (para. 0057). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle was disclosed in the prior art by Choi, as modified, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable value of the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle disclosed by Choi, as modified, be 9.0 kW or more and 11.2 kW or less.
Regarding the pipe diameter, Yoshida teaches that a refrigeration system uses parameters such as pipe diameter, pipe length, and refrigerant type (“at least one of outdoor air temperature, indoor air temperature, total operating indoor unit capacity, total number of operating indoor units, pipe length, pipe diameter, height difference between outdoor unit indoor units, amount of refrigerant charged, and type of charged refrigerant When the dynamic characteristic of the control variable with respect to the manipulated variable fluctuates due to the difference between these conditions, the above robust based on the value of the estimated parameter is used to cope with the fluctuation of the parameter representing the dynamic characteristic of the control variable. An adaptive robust control device for adaptively controlling the stabilization gain by changing the stabilization gain is provided”, pg. 6 of translation) to control performance (“An object of the present invention is to provide an air using adaptive robust control so that a plurality of control amounts can be stably adjusted with little interference when adjusting control amounts such as refrigerant discharge pressure, temperature, and room temperature of a compressor. To provide a harmony machine.”, pg. 4 of translation). Thus depending upon the pipe length and refrigerant type the diameter of the pipe can be optimized to be larger or smaller based on the system design. For example, a refrigerant type with a long pipe length could need a large diameter and the same or different refrigerant type with a small pipe length could need a smaller diameter. Thus depending upon the design of the system, the diameter will be optimized. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12). No unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be 5/8 inch. Applicant is reminded to establish unexpected results over a claimed range (or value), applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range (or above and below the claimed value) to show the criticality of the claimed range (to clarify, to show criticality, Applicant should show what would be expected below 5/8 inches, above 5/8 inches, and what unexpected result is achieved at 5/8 inches). Therefore it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be 5/8 inch, in order to advantageously optimize for the performance of the secondary side vapor compression system. Further, no unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be 5/8 inch.
Per claim 14, Choi, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Choi, as modified, teaches the second refrigerant (“a second refrigerant”, para. 0029), a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side vapor compression cycle (i.e. there is necessarily a refrigerating capacity associated with the secondary-side cycle), and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe (52) but fails to explicitly teach wherein the second refrigerant is R454B, a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle is 16.0 kW or more and 22.4 kW or less, and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe is 3/4 inch.
Regarding R454B as the second refrigerant, R454B is an old and well known refrigerant. For example, Jeung teaches using R454B (“R454B”, para. 0030) as a refrigerant in an air conditioning system for providing a low global warming potential (para. 0030). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide R454B as a refrigerant, as taught by Jeung in the invention of Choi, as modified, in order to advantageously provide a refrigerant having a low global warming potential and an improved coefficient of performance (para. 0030).
Regarding the refrigerating capacity, Schwarz teaches that an air conditioner refrigerating capacity relates the amount of cooling a space is able to be provide by the air conditioner (i.e. greater refrigerating capacity provides greater cooling capability) (para. 0057 of Schwarz) and optimizing for cooling capacity promotes minimum energy consumption (para. 0057). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle was disclosed in the prior art by Choi, as modified, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable value of the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle disclosed by Choi, as modified, be 16.0 kW or more and 22.4 kW or less.
Regarding the pipe diameter, Yoshida teaches that a refrigeration system uses parameters such as pipe diameter, pipe length, and refrigerant type (“at least one of outdoor air temperature, indoor air temperature, total operating indoor unit capacity, total number of operating indoor units, pipe length, pipe diameter, height difference between outdoor unit indoor units, amount of refrigerant charged, and type of charged refrigerant When the dynamic characteristic of the control variable with respect to the manipulated variable fluctuates due to the difference between these conditions, the above robust based on the value of the estimated parameter is used to cope with the fluctuation of the parameter representing the dynamic characteristic of the control variable. An adaptive robust control device for adaptively controlling the stabilization gain by changing the stabilization gain is provided”, pg. 6 of translation) to control performance (“An object of the present invention is to provide an air using adaptive robust control so that a plurality of control amounts can be stably adjusted with little interference when adjusting control amounts such as refrigerant discharge pressure, temperature, and room temperature of a compressor. To provide a harmony machine.”, pg. 4 of translation). Thus depending upon the pipe length and refrigerant type the diameter of the pipe can be optimized to be larger or smaller based on the system design. For example, a refrigerant type with a long pipe length could need a large diameter and the same or different refrigerant type with a small pipe length could need a smaller diameter. Thus depending upon the design of the system, the diameter will be optimized. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12). No unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be 3/4 inch. Applicant is reminded to establish unexpected results over a claimed range (or value), applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range (or above and below the claimed value) to show the criticality of the claimed range (to clarify, to show criticality, Applicant should show what would be expected below 3/4 inches, above 3/4 inches, and what unexpected result is achieved at 3/4 inches). Therefore it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be 3/4 inch, in order to advantageously optimize for the performance of the secondary side vapor compression system. Further, no unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be 3/4inch.
Per claim 15, Choi, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Choi, as modified, teaches the second refrigerant (“a second refrigerant”, para. 0029), a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side vapor compression cycle (i.e. there is necessarily a refrigerating capacity associated with the secondary-side cycle), and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe (56) but fails to explicitly teach wherein the second refrigerant is R454B, a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle is 16 kW or more and 22.4 kW or less, and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe is 3/4 inch.
Regarding R454B as the second refrigerant, R454B is an old and well known refrigerant. For example, Jeung teaches using R454B (“R454B”, para. 0030) as a refrigerant in an air conditioning system for providing a low global warming potential (para. 0030). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide R454B as a refrigerant, as taught by Jeung in the invention of Choi, as modified, in order to advantageously provide a refrigerant having a low global warming potential and an improved coefficient of performance (para. 0030).
Regarding the refrigerating capacity, Schwarz teaches that an air conditioner refrigerating capacity relates the amount of cooling a space is able to be provide by the air conditioner (i.e. greater refrigerating capacity provides greater cooling capability) (para. 0057 of Schwarz) and optimizing for cooling capacity promotes minimum energy consumption (para. 0057). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle was disclosed in the prior art by Choi, as modified, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable value of the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle disclosed by Choi, as modified, be 16.0 kW or more and 22.4 kW or less.
Regarding the pipe diameter, Yoshida teaches that a refrigeration system uses parameters such as pipe diameter, pipe length, and refrigerant type (“at least one of outdoor air temperature, indoor air temperature, total operating indoor unit capacity, total number of operating indoor units, pipe length, pipe diameter, height difference between outdoor unit indoor units, amount of refrigerant charged, and type of charged refrigerant When the dynamic characteristic of the control variable with respect to the manipulated variable fluctuates due to the difference between these conditions, the above robust based on the value of the estimated parameter is used to cope with the fluctuation of the parameter representing the dynamic characteristic of the control variable. An adaptive robust control device for adaptively controlling the stabilization gain by changing the stabilization gain is provided”, pg. 6 of translation) to control performance (“An object of the present invention is to provide an air using adaptive robust control so that a plurality of control amounts can be stably adjusted with little interference when adjusting control amounts such as refrigerant discharge pressure, temperature, and room temperature of a compressor. To provide a harmony machine.”, pg. 4 of translation). Thus depending upon the pipe length and refrigerant type the diameter of the pipe can be optimized to be larger or smaller based on the system design. For example, a refrigerant type with a long pipe length could need a large diameter and the same or different refrigerant type with a small pipe length could need a smaller diameter. Thus depending upon the design of the system, the diameter will be optimized. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12). No unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe be 3/8 inch. Applicant is reminded to establish unexpected results over a claimed range (or value), applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range (or above and below the claimed value) to show the criticality of the claimed range (to clarify, to show criticality, Applicant should show what would be expected below 3/8 inches, above 3/8 inches, and what unexpected result is achieved at 3/8 inches). Therefore it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe be 3/8 inch, in order to advantageously optimize for the performance of the secondary side vapor compression system. Further, no unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe be 3/8 inch.
Per claim 16, Choi, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Choi, as modified, teaches the second refrigerant (“a second refrigerant”, para. 0029), a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side vapor compression cycle (i.e. there is necessarily a refrigerating capacity associated with the secondary-side cycle), and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe (56) but fails to explicitly teach wherein the second refrigerant is R454B, a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle is 45 kW or more and 56 kW or less, and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe is 1/2 inch.
Regarding R454B as the second refrigerant, R454B is an old and well known refrigerant. For example, Jeung teaches using R454B (“R454B”, para. 0030) as a refrigerant in an air conditioning system for providing a low global warming potential (para. 0030). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide R454B as a refrigerant, as taught by Jeung in the invention of Choi, as modified, in order to advantageously provide a refrigerant having a low global warming potential and an improved coefficient of performance (para. 0030).
Regarding the refrigerating capacity, Schwarz teaches that an air conditioner refrigerating capacity relates the amount of cooling a space is able to be provide by the air conditioner (i.e. greater refrigerating capacity provides greater cooling capability) (para. 0057 of Schwarz) and optimizing for cooling capacity promotes minimum energy consumption (para. 0057). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle was disclosed in the prior art by Choi, as modified, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable value of the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle disclosed by Choi, as modified, be 45 kW or more and 56 kW or less.
Regarding the pipe diameter, Yoshida teaches that a refrigeration system uses parameters such as pipe diameter, pipe length, and refrigerant type (“at least one of outdoor air temperature, indoor air temperature, total operating indoor unit capacity, total number of operating indoor units, pipe length, pipe diameter, height difference between outdoor unit indoor units, amount of refrigerant charged, and type of charged refrigerant When the dynamic characteristic of the control variable with respect to the manipulated variable fluctuates due to the difference between these conditions, the above robust based on the value of the estimated parameter is used to cope with the fluctuation of the parameter representing the dynamic characteristic of the control variable. An adaptive robust control device for adaptively controlling the stabilization gain by changing the stabilization gain is provided”, pg. 6 of translation) to control performance (“An object of the present invention is to provide an air using adaptive robust control so that a plurality of control amounts can be stably adjusted with little interference when adjusting control amounts such as refrigerant discharge pressure, temperature, and room temperature of a compressor. To provide a harmony machine.”, pg. 4 of translation). Thus depending upon the pipe length and refrigerant type the diameter of the pipe can be optimized to be larger or smaller based on the system design. For example, a refrigerant type with a long pipe length could need a large diameter and the same or different refrigerant type with a small pipe length could need a smaller diameter. Thus depending upon the design of the system, the diameter will be optimized. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12). No unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be 1/2 inch. Applicant is reminded to establish unexpected results over a claimed range (or value), applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range (or above and below the claimed value) to show the criticality of the claimed range (to clarify, to show criticality, Applicant should show what would be expected below 1/2 inches, above 1/2 inches, and what unexpected result is achieved at 1/2 inches). Therefore it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe be 1/2 inch, in order to advantageously optimize for the performance of the secondary side vapor compression system. Further, no unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be 1/2 inch.
Per claim 17, Choi, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Choi, as modified, teaches the second refrigerant (“a second refrigerant”, para. 0029), a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side vapor compression cycle (i.e. there is necessarily a refrigerating capacity associated with the secondary-side cycle), and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe (56) but fails to explicitly teach wherein the second refrigerant is R454B, a refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle is 85 kW or more and 109 kW or less, and the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe is 5/8 inch.
Regarding R454B as the second refrigerant, R454B is an old and well known refrigerant. For example, Jeung teaches using R454B (“R454B”, para. 0030) as a refrigerant in an air conditioning system for providing a low global warming potential (para. 0030). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide R454B as a refrigerant, as taught by Jeung in the invention of Choi, as modified, in order to advantageously provide a refrigerant having a low global warming potential and an improved coefficient of performance (para. 0030).
Regarding the refrigerating capacity, Schwarz teaches that an air conditioner refrigerating capacity relates the amount of cooling a space is able to be provide by the air conditioner (i.e. greater refrigerating capacity provides greater cooling capability) (para. 0057 of Schwarz) and optimizing for cooling capacity promotes minimum energy consumption (para. 0057). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle was disclosed in the prior art by Choi, as modified, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable value of the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the refrigerating capacity of the secondary-side cycle disclosed by Choi, as modified, be 485 kW or more and 109 kW or less.
Regarding the pipe diameter, Yoshida teaches that a refrigeration system uses parameters such as pipe diameter, pipe length, and refrigerant type (“at least one of outdoor air temperature, indoor air temperature, total operating indoor unit capacity, total number of operating indoor units, pipe length, pipe diameter, height difference between outdoor unit indoor units, amount of refrigerant charged, and type of charged refrigerant When the dynamic characteristic of the control variable with respect to the manipulated variable fluctuates due to the difference between these conditions, the above robust based on the value of the estimated parameter is used to cope with the fluctuation of the parameter representing the dynamic characteristic of the control variable. An adaptive robust control device for adaptively controlling the stabilization gain by changing the stabilization gain is provided”, pg. 6 of translation) to control performance (“An object of the present invention is to provide an air using adaptive robust control so that a plurality of control amounts can be stably adjusted with little interference when adjusting control amounts such as refrigerant discharge pressure, temperature, and room temperature of a compressor. To provide a harmony machine.”, pg. 4 of translation). Thus depending upon the pipe length and refrigerant type the diameter of the pipe can be optimized to be larger or smaller based on the system design. For example, a refrigerant type with a long pipe length could need a large diameter and the same or different refrigerant type with a small pipe length could need a smaller diameter. Thus depending upon the design of the system, the diameter will be optimized. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12). No unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe be 5/8 inch. Applicant is reminded to establish unexpected results over a claimed range (or value), applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range (or above and below the claimed value) to show the criticality of the claimed range (to clarify, to show criticality, Applicant should show what would be expected below 5/8 inches, above 5/8 inches, and what unexpected result is achieved at 5/8 inches). Therefore it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe be 5/8 inch, in order to advantageously optimize for the performance of the secondary side vapor compression system. Further, no unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe be 5/8 inch.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2008/0236185) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2011/0023532) and Yoshida (JPH1183115A) as applied to the claims above and further in view of Yamashita et al. (JP 2006189237).
Per claim 19, Choi, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Choi, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein a compression ratio of the secondary-side vapor compression cycle is smaller than a compression ratio of the primary-side vapor compression cycle.
However, Yamashita teaches a cascading refrigeration system (fig. 3 of Yamashita) wherein a compression ratio of a secondary-side cycle (cycle associated with 21b) compression ratio (“2.966”, pg. 10, line 23 of translation) is smaller than a compression ratio of a primary-side cycle (cycle associated with 21a) (“3.38”, pg. 10, line 21 of translation) for reducing the energy consumption of the system (pg. 10, lines 33-34 of Yamashita translation). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have a compression ratio of a secondary-side cycle be smaller than a compression ratio of primary-side cycle, as taught by Yamashita in the invention of Choi, as modified, in order to advantageously reduce the energy consumption of the system (pg. 10, lines 33-34 of Yamashita translation).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2008/0236185) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2011/0023532) and Yoshida (JPH1183115A) as applied to the claims above and further in view of Verma et al. (US 2014/0260404).
Per claim 21, Choi, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Choi, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the first refrigerant and the second refrigerant are one of carbon dioxide, R32, or R454B.
However, Verma teaches a cooling system wherein a first (“R32”, para. 0013) and second (“R32”, para. 0014) refrigerant is R32 for providing a low global warming potential (para. 0005). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a first and second refrigerant as R32, as taught by Verma in the invention of Choi, as modified, in order to advantageously provide a system having a low global warming potential (para. 0005).
Response to Arguments
In regards to the Applicant’s argument on page 12, last paragraph, that Kobayashi fails to teach a cascade system but rather teaches a parallel refrigeration system; the Examiner respectfully disagrees. A cascade refrigeration system is considered as a refrigeration system that “cascades between two separate closed systems. Cascade is defined by the Merriam-Webster dictionary as “something arranged or occurring in a series or in a succession of stages so that each stage derives from or acts upon the product of the preceding”. The first and second refrigeration system are considered both parallel and cascading cooling systems because the cooling from refrigeration system 300 “cascades” to the cooling of refrigeration system 400 via common cascade structure 600 to increase the cooling of potential of 600. Therefore the applicant’s argument is not persuasive and the rejection remains.
In regards to the Applicant’s argument on page 13, first paragraph, that Yoshida does not teaches optimization of pipe diameters with respect to length and types of refrigerants; the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Yoshida teaches that all of these parameters (i.e. pipe diameter, length, and refrigerant type) are factors when determining how to optimize a refrigeration system and it has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12). Further, no unexpected result has been supplied for having the pipe diameter of the secondary-side gas connection pipe be smaller than the pipe diameter of the primary-side gas connection pipe, or the pipe diameter of the secondary-side liquid connection pipe is smaller than the pipe diameter of the primary-side liquid connection pipe. Applicant is reminded to establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. Therefore the applicant’s argument is not persuasive and the rejection remains.
Applicant's remaining arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID J TEITELBAUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763