DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
This action is responsive to the Request for Continued Examination and IDS dated 04/01/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertoli (WO 2018/163223) in view of Chitre et al (2020/0268504).
Bertoli teaches medical support device (A-A spherical dome), for use in a woman's breast as an implant without encapsulated material, the medical support device comprising:
a wall portion having a perimeter edge located in a plane (see at least included figure 1 above and inherent to a hemisphere (see abstract)), the edge inscribing an opening into the medical support device;
wherein the wall portion has a first side and a second side, and the wall portion bulges out of the plane so that the first side is convex and the second side is concave (both self-evident) with a curve of the second side corresponding to a curve of the first side so as to form a cavity (see at least included figure 1 above and figure 5), the cavity forming a hollow volume (Air-volume H) between the second side and the opening and the cavity open to the opening,
wherein the medical support device is configured for placement inside the breast with the opening open to tissue of the breast and with deep gland tissue and/or fat inside the cavity (at least fully capable of), and wherein the medical support device is further configured for attachment to tissue of the breast with sutures (fully capable of).
However, Bertoli fails to teach said solid wall comprising a silicone elastomer material.
Chitre et al also teaches a medical support device for a women’s breast comprising an outer shell 22 formed by dipping two or more layers of silicone-based elastomer over a conventional breast implant mandrel.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have substitute silicone elastomer (including the method of dipping on a mandrel if necessary) as taught by Chitre et al for the wall portion of Bertoli for a simple substitution of one known material for another to obtain predictable results. Further Chitre et al teaches the advantage of reinforcing silicone; see par. 0081.
Claim 2, regarding the matrix, see par. 0081 of Chitre et al teaching reinforcing.
Claim 5 is directed to a method of making the device of claim 1. All method steps are addressed in at least par. 0081 of Chitre et al.
Claim 6, a matrix is reinforcing layer 40 which is added to the elastomer after dipping some layers.
Claim 9, the included figure shows a circular edge and is inherent to a hemisphere.
Claim 14, the combination device inherently has a wall portion which is solid in cross-section.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertoli (WO 2018/163223) in view of Chitre et al (2020/0268504) and further in view of Limem et al (US D927,690 S).
Bertoli in view of Chitre et al teach the medical support device as described above, however, fail to teach a rim extends from the edge in the plane at least partially around the opening.
Limem et al also teaches a medical support device having a rim which extends from the edge in the plane at least partially around the opening.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated a rim as taught by Limem et al on the medical support device of Bertoli in view of Chitre et al to attach said device to the breast.
Claim 4, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have monolithically made the medical support device and rim for strength and ease of manufacturing.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertoli (WO 2018/163223) in view of Chitre et al (2020/0268504). Evidenced by Barere et al (2018/0055624).
Claim 7-8 claim a method of using the medical support device of claim 1. It is inherent the at least deep gland tissue and/or fat is separated and the device is positioned such that deep gland tissue and/or fat is inside the cavity. The examiner provides Barere et al as evidence that it is known in the art to attach a medical support device with suture 60 and to breast muscle (see par. 0056). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have used sutures to attach the medical device of claim 1 to increase adherence and to breast muscle.
/BRUCE E SNOW/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774