DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/12/2024.
Response to Arguments
All of Applicant’s arguments filed 4/23/2026 have been fully considered.
In summary, Applicant argues that Kitagawa is directed to biosurfactants having a single sugar unit, whereas each species recited in amended claim 1 has two sugar units.
This is not persuasive. Kitagawa teaches that the biosurfactant can be a sophorolipid [0035] which is a suitable biosurfactant of instant claim 1a. While the working examples of Kitagawa are limited to MEL-A, MEL-B and MEL-C, the teachings of Kitagawa are not limited to working examples or preferred embodiments. Kitagawa specifically teaches that sophorolipid is a suitable biosurfactant for use, therefore, its use is prima facie obvious.
In summary, Applicant argues that Kitagawa teaches that its biosurfactant is an additive combined with a separate cleansing composition, not itself is the cleansing surfactant.
This is not persuasive as a compound and its properties are inseparable. Kitagawa teaches a sophorolipid as claimed in the claimed amounts, thus the sophorolipid would inherently function as a cleansing surfactant. Furthermore, as identified by Applicant, Kitagawa states “the biosurfactant has a detergent property…” which demonstrates a cleansing action (i.e. detergent).
Applicant reiterates that in view of the structural and functional differences, it would not have been obvious to replace Kitagawa single sugar unit biosurfactant with the claimed two sugar unit species.
This is not persuasive for the same reason discussed above. Kitagawa specifically teaches a sophorolipid as a suitable biosurfactant for use.
In summary, Applicant argues that the claimed biosurfactant and carboxybetaine polymer provide an unexpected effect.
Applicant arguments regarding the unexpected effect of the claimed composition (pg. 16) are not persuasive as the data presented is not commensurate in scope with the instant claims as very specific compositions and ingredients were tested and Applicant has not established a trend in the exemplified data.
Applicant remarks that the data is commensurate in scope, however, the data presented tests a single species of sophorolipid, rhamnolipid and carboxybetaine polymer, but the claims are directed to a much broader genus. The data presented always utilizes a pH of 7 along with 2% of the biosurfactant and 0.03% of the polymer, no other amounts are tested.
Maintained Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitagawa (US 2010/0004472) and Takeda (US 2006/0275235).
Kitagawa discloses a cosmetic for skin roughness improvement/skin care containing a biosurfactant (Abs).
Regarding claims 1(a), 2 and 6: Kitagawa teaches that a suitable biosurfactant for use includes sophorolipid [0035]. Kitagawa teaches the biosurfactant to be used in amounts ranging from 0.001-20%, preferably 3-10% [0054].
Regarding claims 7 and 9: Kitagawa teaches that the biosurfactant can be dissolved in a nonionic surfactant [0056]. Working Examples 12 and 13 comprise a biosurfactant along with 5.7 or 4% nonionic surfactant. The compositions are free of anionic, cationic and ionic surfactants. While the Examples do not teach the use of sophorolipid, thus is taught to be a suitable biosurfactant for use, thus the substitution of the exemplified MEL-B for sophorolipid is prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 10: Working Examples 12 and 13 of Kitagawa comprise water in amounts of 79.1 and 78.5% respectively.
Regarding claim 11 and 14: Kitagawa teaches compositions which can be formulated as cleansing compositions such as makeup removers, shampoos and body soaps [0063].
However, Kitagawa does not teach the composition to comprise a carboxybetaine polymer as recited by instant claim 1(a).
Takeda teaches cosmetic compositions, such as hair treatments such as shampoos comprising cation-modified galactomannan polysaccharides which provide conditioning (Abs and [0021]). Takeda teaches that various kinds of cationic water-soluble polymers and amphoteric water-soluble polymers can be added to enhance the conditioning effect of the composition. These polymers are preferably added in amounts of 5% or less [0030], reading on instant claim 8. A suitable amphoteric water-soluble polymers is N-methacryloyloxyethyl N,N-dimethylammonium-α-methylcarboxybetaine and alkyl methacrylate (Yukaformer SM) [0033 and 0055]. Yukaformer SM is used a shampoo in amounts of 0.2 and 0.4% (Tables 2 and 6). It was found that when using Yukaformer SM the conditioning effects were enhanced without disturbing the performance of the cation-modified galactomannan polysaccharides [0090].
Regarding claim 3-5: Yukaformer SM (N-methacryloyloxyethyl N,N-dimethylammonium-α-methylcarboxybetaine and alkyl methacrylate) reads on a copolymer of carboxybetaine monomers and alkyl (meth)acrylate and reads on the structure of formula (2) wherein R3=methacylate groups; y=2; z=1, R4=H; R5=H, R6=methyl and R7=methyl.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kitagawa with those of Takeda. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to add up to 5% of Yukaformer SM to the composition of Kitagawa to provide a conditioning effect. One of skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success as both Kitagawa and Takeda teaches composition for application to skin and hair which can be formulated as shampoos and Takeda teaches that it is customary to add additional ingredients into the hair treatment formulations if they provide an added benefit [0044].
Regarding claim 15: The rejection above makes obvious the inclusion of only Yukaformer SM as a conditioning agent, and not the inclusion of the cation-modified galactomannan polysaccharide and Kitagawa does not teach polysaccharides, this the composition are said to be free of polysaccharides.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER A BERRIOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613