DETAILED ACTION
This action is pursuant to the claims filed on September 16, 2026. Claims 1-9 and 11-14 are pending. Claims 1-7 are withdrawn. A final action on the merits of claims 8-9 and 11-14 is as follows.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallios et al. (hereinafter ‘Wallios’ U.S. PGPub. No. 2017/0367650), and further in view of Dauguet and Dutheil (hereinafter ‘Dauguet’, FR 3 058 628).
In regards to independent claim 8 and claims 11-12, 14, Wallios discloses a wearable device (device 1 in Fig. 1) for sending and receiving biosignals to and from a user comprising:
at least two anchors (elastic piece 5 being intended to be attached to said brace 6 in order to ensure the tensioning of the corresponding flexible guide 3), with each anchor having a mechanism to allow it to be of adjustable length ([0087] “a manual pulling force on the free end of the elastic piece 5 causes the elastic piece to slide through said through-opening 7, and thus enables adjustment by increasing the tension, and when the manual force is no longer applied”);
at least two semi-flexible bands each with a first end and a second end (semi-rigid brace 6 intended to extend at least locally under the ear, [0036]), wherein at least one of the first end and the second end of each of the semi-flexible bands is connected to at least one anchor (the elastic piece 5 slides through opening 7 which are disposed along the upper edge of the brace 6), wherein the at least two semi-flexible bands follow the contours of the subject’s body such that an opening is formed between the at least two semi-flexible bands (the braces 6 extend under the ears and provide a space or an opening therebetween);
at least one flexible membrane spanning a portion of the user’s scalp (guide 3 are configured to span across the scalp of the wearer as shown in Fig. 1), wherein the at least one flexible membrane is connected to at least two semi-flexible bands (the flexible guide 3 is attached to the brace 6 via the elastic pieces 5, [0082]);
at least one biosensor (sensor support 41,42, sensor support comprises sensors as shown in Figs. 1-9) disposed on the at least one flexible membrane or one or more of the at least two anchors (sensor support 41,42 are attached and rigidly connected to said flexible guide 3, the sensor support comprises sensors; the sensors can be for measuring signals by electroencephalograpy and/or optical detectors and transmitters for measuring signals by near-infrared spectroscopy; [0029], [0061], [0080], [0095]-[0096], [0111], thus meeting claims 9, 11-12); and
wherein correct placement of the anchors and correct adjustment of the anchors and semi-flexible bands allows the wearable device to adapt to different body size and thereby places the at least one biosensor on a targeted area of the user’s body ([0083]-[0089]: the flexible guides 3 and the elastic piece 5 ensures pre-adjustment of the sensor positions and continuous adjustment. In other words, given that the flexible guide 3 and the elastic piece 5 are adjustable in real-time, it is capable of being adapted to different head size as the limitation does not specifically define the dimensional range which the wearable device is intended for).
However, Wallios does not disclose at least one biostimulator, the biostimulator being PBM stimulation.
Dauguet teaches a device for measuring and/or stimulating brain activity, preferably EEG, comprising means for transmitting and/or detecting physiological signals produced by the brain of an individual (abstract). Specifically, Dauguet teaches providing a light source of the “near infrared laser” type or a light-emitting diode which can be used for brain photon stimulation or photoneuromodulation (pg. 4: “The invention also makes it possible to stimulate cerebral activity…. Measures the brain activity of the individual… create[ing] a feedback loop and secures possible brain stimulation”, thus meeting claim 14). Dauguet further discloses providing at least one transmitter (pg. 15, see highlighted section “the device 10 may comprise transducers of the laser or light-emitting diode type”) for cerebral stimulation (pg. 7, see highlighted section reciting, “at least one of said emission and/or detection means is of the LED (Electro-Luminescent Diodes) type producing a light stimulation in the near infrared spectrum (wavelength between 750 and 1400 nm)”; pg. 15, see highlighted section reciting, “the device 10 may comprise transducers of the laser or light-emitting diode type in order to carry out photobiomodulation of the brain activity of the user”). Given that Dauguet specifically discloses incorporating sensor/electrodes and transmitter/stimulators (12 in Fig. 1), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the at least two anchors which already hold electrodes of Wallio and provide additional light source or a light-emitting diode for stimulating a cerebral activity. A device combing neural monitoring to determine various states in an individual including state of consciousness, wakefulness, sleep stage, degree of cognitive engagement, level of stress, etc. and a brain stimulator for neuromodulation to transmit photons and cause photochemical reactions in the neurons of the individual and alter the brain activity involves routine skilled in the art (pg. 2- 3: a device for measuring and/or stimulating a cerebral activity, preferably EEG, comprising means for transmitting and/or detecting physiological signals to determine different states in an individual: state of consciousness, wakefulness, sleep stage, degree of cognitive engagement, level of stress, etc.).
In regards to claim 9, Wallios/Dauguet combination further discloses wherein the device is configured to place the at least one biosensor and at least one biostimulator on a targeted area on the user’s head (the device 1 as shown in Fig. 1 is positioned on the head of the individual, therefore, the electrodes and the modified light source is disposed on the individual’s head, [0083]).
In regards to claim 13, The examiner notes that the limitation, “configured to be used as” is a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention. Wallios/Dauguet combination’s device is capable of being used for brain-computer interface when it is connected to a processor configured to process the monitored EEG signals to control various controls of other elements.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed on September 16, 2026, is fully acknowledged.
Applicant’s arguments against claims 8-9, and 11-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered. Applicant argues that the Examiner relied upon unofficial translation of the French-language publication, Dauguet reference. The Examiner attaches the official translated French-language publication of Dauguet. The Examiner maintains the position that Dauguet teaches providing a light source of the “near infrared laser” type or “a light-emitting diode” which can be used for brain photon stimulation or photoneuromodulation (pg. 4: “The invention also makes it possible to stimulate cerebral activity…. Measures the brain activity of the individual… create[ing] a feedback loop and secures possible brain stimulation”; pg. 15, see highlighted section “the device 10 may comprise transducers of the laser or light-emitting diode type”; pg. 15, see highlighted section reciting, “the device 10 may comprise transducers of the laser or light-emitting diode type in order to carry out photobiomodulation of the brain activity of the user”). Therefore, Applicant’s argument that Daguet does not disclose photomodulation is unpersuasive.
Applicant further argues that there is no reason to combine Wallios and Daguet. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, both Wallios and Daguet are in the same field of endeavor as both Wallios and Daguet teaches s headset with sensing modalities of the cerebral activities of an individual. Daguet further teaches that in addition to measuring electrical activities of the brain, one can incorporate techniques for stimulating brain activity (pg. 3, [0009]: “Independently of the techniques for measuring brain activity, there are techniques (in full expansion) for stimulating brain activity”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wallios and incorporate stimulation modalities as taught by Daguet as combining two conventional modalities, sensing and stimulating modalities, into a single headset involves routine skill in the art and a predictable result of a single device for both sensing and stimulation would ensue.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EUN HWA KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794 10/8/2026