Detailed Action
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-62 were originally filed 10 December 2021. The preliminary amendment filed 36 August 2022 has been entered. Claims 53-62 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected groups II and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12 February 2025.
Claims 1-6, 23, 25, and 36-65 are currently pending and under consideration.
Withdrawn Claim Objections
In view of Applicant’s amendments to claim 6 the claim objection is hereby withdrawn.
In view of Applicant’s amendments to claim 50 and 52 to resolve the multiple dependent claims the objection to claims 50-52 are hereby withdrawn.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections
In view of Applicant amending claim 1 to recite particular sets of HCDRs1-3 and LCDRs1-3 the 35 USC § 112(a) rejections (i.e., scope of enablement and written description) of claims 1 and 3-6 are hereby withdrawn.
In view of Applicant amending claim 1 and cancelling claims 6, 8, 10, 11, and 15 the 35 USC § 112(b) rejection (i.e., claims 1, 8, 10, 11, and 15) and 35 USC § 112(d) rejection (i.e., claims 6, 8, 10, 11, and 15) of said claims is hereby withdrawn.
Maintained Claim Rejections
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112(a)
It is noted the following rejections has been modified to reflect the portions of the 35 USC § 112(a) (i.e., enablement, written description) rejections set forth in the previous Non-Final Office action mailed 10 April 2025 which are maintained
Claims 2, 23, 25, 36-49, and 63-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for i. humanized (see claim 2), ii. particular pairs sets of CDRs (see claim 23), and iii. particular pairs of VH and VL regions (see claim 25), does not reasonably provide enablement for i. a fully human antibody or antigen binding domain thereof (see claim 2), ii. heavy and light chain variable regions comprising CDRs wherein the CDRs can comprise a substitution at any position to any amino acid (see claim 23), and iii. any combination of VH and VL sequences selected each from a group of three (see claim 25). The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Applicant's arguments filed 11 August 2025 (referred to herein as Remarks) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the amendments to the claims overcome the 35 USC § 112(a) rejection (i.e., enablement) (see Remarks pg. 10 lines 6-8).
While claim 1 has been amended to recite particular sets of HCDRs1-3 and LCDRs1-3, claim 2 still recites, “wherein the antibody is fully human” in line 1, claim 23 recites “except that at least one of the heavy chain CDRs differs by a single amino acid substitution relative to its reference CDR” (see claims pg. 5 last two lines of 1st para) and “except that at least one of the light chain CDRs differs by a single amino acid substitution relative to its reference CDR” (see claims pg. 5 last two lines of 2nd para), and claim 25 is drawn to combinations of VH and VL pairs. Therefore, the 35 USC § 112(a) rejection (i.e., enablement) of claims 2, 23, 25, 36-49, and 63-65 is hereby maintained for the reasons made of record.
Claims 2, 23, 25, 36-49, and 63-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant's arguments filed 11 August 2025 (referred to herein as Remarks) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the amendments to the claims overcome the 35 USC § 112(a) rejection (i.e., written description) (see Remarks pg. 10 lines 6-8).
While claim 1 has been amended to recite particular sets of HCDRs1-3 and LCDRs1-3, claim 2 still recites, “wherein the antibody is fully human” in line 1, claim 23 recites “except that at least one of the heavy chain CDRs differs by a single amino acid substitution relative to its reference CDR” (see claims pg. 5 last two lines of 1st para) and “except that at least one of the light chain CDRs differs by a single amino acid substitution relative to its reference CDR” (see claims pg. 5 last two lines of 2nd para), and claim 25 is drawn to combinations of VH and VL pairs. Therefore, the 35 USC § 112(a) rejection (i.e., written description) of claims 2, 23, 25, 36-49, and 63-65 is hereby maintained for the reasons made of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
It is noted the following rejection has been modified to reflect the portions of the 35 USC § 112(a) (i.e., enablement) rejection set forth in the previous Non-Final Office action mailed 10 April 2025 which is maintained
Claim 23, 36-49, and 63-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Applicant's arguments filed 11 August 2025 (referred to herein as Remarks) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the amendments to the claims overcome the 35 USC § 112(a) rejection (i.e., written description) (see Remarks pg. 10 lines 15-17).
Claims 23 still recites “IMGT® numbering” (e.g., line 5) and the ambiguity regarding both the reference germline CDRs and the CDR positions (see Non-Final Action mailed 04/10/2025, pg. 11, 1st-2nd para). In addition, claim 36 is remains drawn to a fragment while depending from claim 23 which is drawn to an antigen binding fragment.
Therefore the 35 USC § 112(b) rejection of claims 23, 36-49, and 63-65 is hereby maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 23, 25, 40, 42-44, 48, 50, and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO2020113224 A2 (referred to herein as Marasco, as cited on the IDS received 04/15/2025 pg. 6 Foreign Patent Document #11) published 04 June 2020 with an earlier priority date of 30 November 2018 (instant application has a priority date of 14 June 2019).
The applied reference has common inventors (i.e., Marasco, Shu, and Chang) with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Applicant argues the amendments to claim 1 overcomes the 35 USC § 102(a) rejection (see Remarks pg. 11 lines 5-10).
While claim 1 has been amended to recite particular sets of 6 CDRs Marasco recites PD-1 antibodies with identical sets of CDRs. For example, PD-1 antibody P4-B3 comprising the following HCDRs1-3
(see Marasco pg. 48, table), LCDRs1-3
(see Marasco pg. 49, table), VH, and VL sequences
(see Marasco Figure 83, pg. 88 of 92 in drawings). Thus, Applicant’s claim amendments do not overcome the 35 USC § 102(a)(2) rejection of claims 1-6, 23, 25, 40, 42-44, and 48 and is therefore maintained for the reasons made of record.
Regarding claims 50 and 51, previously not examined due to multiple dependency, Marasco discloses the invention encompasses a vector comprising the nucleic acid construct and a cell comprising the vector (see Marasco pg. 4 para [0019, 0020]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 36-39, 41, 45-47, 49, 52, and 63-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Marasco, Rafiq (as cited on the PTO-892 mailed 04/10/2025), and Dahlen (as cited on the PTO-892 mailed 04/10/2025).
The applied reference has common inventors (see above) with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Applicant argues the amendments to claim 1 overcomes the 35 USC § 102(a) rejection and therefore also overcomes the 35 USC § 103 rejection of claims 36-39, 41, 45-47, and 49 (see Remarks pg. 11 lines 19-21).
For the reasons stated above the 35 USC § 102(a)(2) rejection is maintained and therefore the 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 36-39, 41, 45-47, and 49 is hereby maintained.
Regarding claim 52, previously not examined due to multiple dependency, Marasco discloses the invention encompasses a kit comprising the same and a syringe (see Marasco pg. 72 para [00290]-pg. 74 para [00296]). Pursuant to MPEP § 2112.01 non-functional printed matter does not distinguish claimed product from otherwise identical prior art product, therefore, instant claim 52 drawn to a kit including instructions are obvious over the prior art. Therefore, claim 52 is obvious over Marasco.
Regarding newly added claims 63 and 64, as stated in the Non-Final Action mailed 10 April 2025, a person of ordinary skill in the art would modify/substitute the monoclonal PD -1 scFv-Fc nucleic acid, vector, and host cell expressing the former taught by Marasco or monoclonal PD-1 scFv taught by Rafiq for a nucleic acid, vector, and host cell expressing the former of the PD-1xLAG-3 bispecific antigen binding domains taught by Dahlen given i. the synergistic effects taught by Dahlen, ii. Marasco teaches the second polypeptide can be multi-specific and LAG-3 as a target antigen of the second polypeptide, and iii. Rafiq teaches combination scFvs for increased efficacy of CAR T therapy (see Marasco pg. 44 para [00178], pg. 55 para [00215-00216)).
Regarding claim 65, a person of ordinary skill in the art would modify/substitute the kit comprising the monoclonal PD -1 scFv-Fc and syringe taught by Marasco for the PD-1xLAG-3 bispecific antigen binding domains taught by Dahlen given i. the synergistic effects taught by Dahlen, ii. Marasco teaches the second polypeptide can be multi-specific and LAG-3 as a target antigen of the second polypeptide, and iii. Rafiq teaches combination scFvs for increased efficacy of CAR T therapy (see Marasco pg. 72 para [00290]-pg. 74 para [00296]). Pursuant to MPEP § 2112.01 non-functional printed matter does not distinguish claimed product from otherwise identical prior art product, therefore, instant claim 52 drawn to a kit including instructions are obvious over the prior art. Therefore, claim 52 is obvious over Marasco, Rafiq, and Dahlen.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 23, 25, 40, 42-44, and 48 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-5, 7, 19, 21-23, and 35-42 of copending Application No. 17/618,361 9referred to herein as ‘618). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Applicant requests the nonstatutory double patenting rejection be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is identified (see Remarks pg. 11 last two lines).
Therefore, given the instant application has outstanding rejections the above non-statutory double patenting rejection is hereby maintained.
Regarding instant claims 50-52, the ‘618 application also claims the following:
A vector comprising the nucleic acid (see ‘618 claim 40; see instant claim 50),
A cell comprising the vector (see ‘618 claim 41; see instant claim 51), and
A kit comprising the at least one antibody composition, a syringe, and instructions for use (see ‘618 application claim 42; see instant claim 52).
Therefore, claims 50-52 have been added to the above nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.A.P./Examiner, Art Unit 1644 /AMY E JUEDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644