DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed June 25, 2026 have been entered. Claim 1 has been amended in order to overcome a previous 112(b) rejection. Claims 1, 4, and 6-15 remain pending and have been examined on their merits in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed June 25, 2026 have been fully considered. Applicant argues that a) Park, Ko, and Seol fail to teach or suggest the amount of the single-walled carbon nanotube (SWCNT) aggregates relative to 100 parts by weight of the silicon-based active material in the negative electrode active material layer because the closest ratio of SWCNT to the silicon alloy taught by Park is 0.375, which is outside of the claimed range and b) the specification and affidavit discloses the criticality of the claimed ratio and provide superior/advantageous effects as compared to the amount outside of the claimed range.
Regarding argument A, Park teaches the electrode comprises a negative electrode active material Park teaches the SWCNT dispersion is included at 0.05 wt% to 0.3 wt% (“wherein the single-walled carbon nanotube aggregates are comprises at 0.008 wt% to 0.055 wt% in the negative electrode active material layer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0010]). Park teaches the negative electrode active material comprises the silicon alloy in 5.8 wt% to 8 wt% (see e.g., paragraph [0010]) and the electrode comprises a negative electrode active material Park teaches the SWCNT dispersion is included at 0.05 wt% to 0.3 wt%, the approximate ratio of the SWCNT to the silicon alloy is 800:3 (see e.g., paragraph [0033]) or 0.375 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the silicon alloy in the negative electrode active material.
While Park teaches a ratio of SWCNT to the silicon alloy of 0.375 that is close to the claimed range of 0.05 to 0.37, Park also teaches a Comparative Example 1-2, wherein the ratio of SWCNT to the silicon alloy is 0.125, that has comparable electrode capacity and efficiency compared to the characteristics of Example 1-1 with a ratio of SWCNT to the silicon alloy is 800:3 (see e.g., Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the SWCNT to silicon alloy ratio of Park to be one within the claimed range as the negative electrode active material produced has comparable electrode capacity and efficiency to the SWCNT to silicon alloy ratio taught by Park.
Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but is not found to be persuasive.
Regarding argument B, Applicant’s affidavit and arguments are fully considered. However, the criticality of the claimed range of the ratio of the single walled carbon nanotube aggregates to the silicon is not fully demonstrated because in Example 6, the ratio of single walled carbon nanotube aggregates to the silicon is within the claimed range (a value of 0.14 in Table 1), but the 100th cycle capacity retention rate is lower than that of the other examples, i.e., 75.6% as compared to 85.2%, 82.1%, etc. (see e.g., Table 3). Therefore, Applicant’s affidavit and arguments are fully considered but are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s amendments overcome the previous 112(b) rejection, and the rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (KR 20150121694 A) in view of Ko et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2019/0123352 A1), in view of Seol et al. (KR 20170069153 A, citations from corresponding Published U.S. Patent Application US 2018/0219212 A1), hereinafter referred to as Park, Ko, and Seol.
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a lithium second battery having high electrode capacity and excellent efficiency (see e.g., paragraph [0001]). Park teaches a negative electrode plate (“a negative electrode”) for a lithium secondary battery comprising a current collector (“a negative electrode current collector”) (see e.g., paragraph [0062]) and a negative electrode material comprising silicon alloy, graphite, single-walled carbon nanotubes (SWCNT) (see e.g., paragraph [0025]), a binder, and a thickener (“a negative electrode active material layer formed on the negative electrode current collector and comprising a negative electrode active material containing a silicon-based active material and a carbon-based active material, a binder, and single-walled carbon nanotube aggregates”) (see e.g., paragraph [0010]). Park teaches the electrode comprises a negative electrode active material Park teaches the SWCNT dispersion is included at 0.05 wt% to 0.3 wt% (“wherein the single-walled carbon nanotube aggregates are comprises at 0.008 wt% to 0.055 wt% in the negative electrode active material layer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0010]). Park teaches the negative electrode active material comprises the silicon alloy in 5.8 wt% to 8 wt% (see e.g., paragraph [0010]) and the electrode comprises a negative electrode active material Park teaches the SWCNT dispersion is included at 0.05 wt% to 0.3 wt%, the approximate ratio of the SWCNT to the silicon alloy is 800:3 (see e.g., paragraph [0033]) or 0.375 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the silicon alloy in the negative electrode active material.
While Park teaches a ratio of SWCNT to the silicon alloy of 0.375 that is close to the claimed range of 0.05 to 0.37, Park also teaches a Comparative Example 1-2, wherein the ratio of SWCNT to the silicon alloy is 0.125, that has comparable electrode capacity and efficiency compared to the characteristics of Example 1-1 with a ratio of SWCNT to the silicon alloy is 800:3 (see e.g., Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the SWCNT to silicon alloy ratio of Park to be one within the claimed range as the negative electrode active material produced has comparable electrode capacity and efficiency to the SWCNT to silicon alloy ratio taught by Park.
Park does not explicitly teach wherein the silicon-based active material comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a silicon-based oxide and a silicon-carbon composite and wherein the single-walled carbon nanotube aggregate is a secondary structure formed by aggregating two or more single-walled carbon nanotube monomers.
However, Ko teaches an electrode for a rechargeable lithium battery includes a current collector and an active material layer on the current collector (see e.g., Abstract). Ko teaches the active material includes an active material, carbon nanotubes, and nanocarbon (see e.g., paragraph [0016]). Ko teaches the active material comprises a silicon-carbon composite (“wherein the silicon-based active material comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a silicon-based oxide and a silicon-carbon composite”) (see e.g., paragraph [0055]) to improve specific resistivity characteristics of an electrode and high-rate charge/discharge characteristics as well as improved low temperature characteristics (see e.g., paragraph [0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the silicon in the negative electrode active material of Park to be a silicon-carbon composite, as taught by Ko, in order to improve specific resistivity characteristics of an electrode and high-rate charge/discharge characteristics as well as improved low temperature characteristics (see e.g., paragraph [0005]).
Park, as modified by Ko, does not explicitly teach wherein the single-walled carbon nanotube aggregate is a secondary structure formed by aggregating two or more single-walled carbon nanotube monomers.
Seol teaches an electrode for a secondary battery comprising conductive material that includes bundle-type carbon nanotubes (see e.g., Abstract). Seol teaches “bundle-type” refers to the arrangement of a plurality of carbon nanotube strands, i.e., carbon nanotube units, in parallel to each other such that longitudinal axes of the units are arranged in substantially the same orientation, or a secondary form such as a spirally wound bundle form or rope form (see e.g., paragraph [0024]). Seol teaches the carbon nanotubes refer to a secondary structure formed by aggregating carbon nanotube units to entirely or partially form a bundle form and may be classified into single-walled carbon nanotubes (SWCNTs) (“wherein the single-walled carbon nanotube aggregate is a secondary structure formed by aggregating two or more single-walled carbon nanotube monomers”) (see e.g., paragraph [0053]). Seol teaches the dispersibility of the bundle-type carbon nanotubes in the electrode active material layer is increased without deterioration of discharge pulse resistance characteristics and cycle characteristics of a battery, thereby producing a battery with significantly enhanced characteristics (see e.g., paragraph [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the carbon nanotubes of Park, as modified by Ko, to be bundle-type carbon nanotubes, i.e., a plurality of carbon nanotube units, to form a secondary structure, as taught by Seol, in order to increase the dispersibility of the bundle-type carbon nanotubes in the electrode active material layer without deterioration of discharge pulse resistance characteristics and cycle characteristics of a battery, thereby producing a battery with significantly enhanced characteristics (see e.g., paragraph [0026]).
Regarding claim 4, Park, as modified by Ko and Seol, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Park teaches the negative electrode material comprises graphite (“wherein the carbon-based active material is at least one selected from the group consisting of graphite”) (see e.g., paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 6, Park, as modified by Ko and Seol, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Park teaches the negative electrode active material comprising the silicon alloy is included at 5.8 to 8 wt% and the graphite is included at 88.70 to 91.17 wt% (see e.g., paragraph [0009]); therefore, the ratio of the silicon alloy to the graphite is (5.8-8):(88.70-97.17), meeting the claim limitation of “wherein the negative electrode active material comprises the silicon-based active material and the carbon-based active material in a weight ratio of 1:99 to 30:70.”
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because a ratio of (5.8-8):(88.70-97.17) overlaps with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 7, Park, as modified by Ko and Seol, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Park, as modified by Ko and Seol, does not explicitly teach wherein the negative electrode active material are comprised at 70 to 99 wt% in the negative electrode active material layer.
However, Ko teaches the content of the negative active material may be about 95 wt % to about 98 wt % based on the total weight of the negative active material layer (“wherein the negative electrode active material are comprised at 70 to 99 wt% in the negative electrode active material layer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0060]) in order to improve cycle-life characteristics (see e.g., paragraph [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the negative electrode active material of Park, as modified by Ko and Seol, to have a content of the negative active material may be about 95 wt % to about 98 wt % based on the total weight of the negative active material layer, as taught by Ko, in order to improve cycle-life characteristics (see e.g., paragraph [0009]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the weight percentage of about 95 wt % to about 98 wt % overlaps with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 8, Park, as modified by Ko and Seol, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Park, as modified by Ko and Seol, does not explicitly teach wherein the single-walled carbon nanotube aggregates have an average length of 3 µm to 20 µm.
However, Seol teaches the length of nanotube units have a length of 0.5 μm to 200 μm (“wherein the single-walled carbon nanotube aggregates have an average length of 3 µm to 20 µm”) (see e.g., paragraph [0056]). Ko teaches that as the length of the carbon nanotube units increases, electrical conductivity, strength, and lifespan characteristics of the electrode at room temperature and a high temperature may be enhanced; however, Ko teaches when the length of the carbon nanotube units is too large, dispersibility may be reduced, and when the length of the carbon nanotube units is small, it is difficult to efficiently form a conductive path, and thus electrical conductivity of the positive electrode may be reduced (see e.g., paragraph [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the carbon nanotubes of Park, as modified by Ko and Seol, to have a length of 0.5 µm to 200 µm, as taught by Seol, in order to increase electrical conductivity, strength, and lifespan characteristics of the electrode at room temperature and a high temperature while maintain dispersibility (see e.g., paragraph [0056]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the length of 0.5 µm to 200 µm overlaps with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 9, Park, as modified by Ko and Seol, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Ko teaches the carbon nanotubes may have an average diameter of about 1 nm to about 20 nm (“wherein the single-walled carbon nanotube aggregates have an average diameter of 3 nm to 20 nm) (see e.g., paragraph [0019]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because average diameter of about 1 nm to about 20 nm overlaps with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 15, Park, as modified by Ko and Seol, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Park, as modified by Ko and Seol, teaches the negative electrode according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above). Ko teaches a positive electrode (“a positive electrode disposed to face the negative electrode”), a separator disposed between the positive electrode and negative electrode (“a separator interposed between the negative electrode and the positive electrode”), and an electrolyte solution impregnating the positive electrode, the negative electrode, and the separator (“an electrolyte”) (see e.g., paragraph [0068]).
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (KR 20150121694 A) in view of Ko et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2019/0123352 A1) and Seol et al. (KR 20170069153 A, citations from corresponding Published U.S. Patent Application US 2018/0219212 A1), and further in view of Koo et al. (KR 20140149080 A), hereinafter referred to as Koo.
Regarding claim 10, Park, as modified by Ko and Seol, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Park teaches the thickener is carboxymethyl cellulose (“wherein the thickener comprises first carboxymethylcellulose”) (see e.g., paragraph [0035]).
Park, as modified by Ko and Seol, does not explicitly teach wherein the thickener comprises the first carboxymethylcellulose having a weight-average molecular weight of 800,000 to 1,600,000 and a second carboxymethylcellulose having a weight-average molecular weight of 350,000 to 750,000.
However, Koo teaches an electrode active material slurry including a) an electrode active material, b) a conductive material, c) a binder, and d) a thickener (see e.g., Abstract). Koo teaches the thickener comprises a first cellulose-based compound having a molecular weight of 500,000 or more and less than 2,000,000 and a second cellulose-based compound having a molecular weight of 100,000 or more and less than 500,000 (“wherein the thickener comprises a first carboxymethylcellulose having a weight-average molecular weight of 800,000 to 1,600,000 and a second carboxymethylcellulose having a weight-average molecular weight of 350,000 to 750,000”) (see e.g., paragraph [0010]). Koo teaches the thickener with two or more kinds of cellulosic compounds having different weight average molecular weights improve capacity and rate characteristics (see e.g., paragraph [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the binder comprising carboxylmethyl cellulose of Park, as modified by Ko and Seol, to be a first cellulose-based compound having a molecular weight of 500,000 or more and less than 2,000,000 and a second cellulose-based compound having a molecular weight of 100,000 or more and less than 500,000, as taught by Koo, in order to improve capacity and rate characteristics (see e.g., paragraph [0001]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because a molecular weight of 500,000 or more and less than 2,000,000 and a molecular weight of 100,000 or more and less than 500,000 overlap with the recited ranges, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 11, Park, as modified by Ko, Seol, and Koo, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 10, as previously described.
Park, as modified by Ko, Seol, and Koo, teaches the mixing ratio of the first cellulose-based compound: the second cellulose compound is preferably 2.0 to 85%: 98 to 25% (“wherein the first carboxymethylcellulose and the second carboxymethylcellulose are comprises in a weight ratio of 12:1 to 100:1 in the negative electrode active material layer”) (see e.g., Koo paragraph [0011]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because ratio of 2:98 and 85:25 overlaps with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 12, Park, as modified by Ko, Seol, and Koo, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 10, as previously described.
Park teaches the thickener is included in an amount of 0.01 to 2 wt% (“wherein the thickener is comprised at 0.5 to 5 wt% in the negative electrode active material layer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0015]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because an amount of 0.01 to 2 wt% overlaps with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 13, Park, as modified by Ko and Seol, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Park teaches a negative electrode plate for a lithium secondary battery comprising a current collector (see e.g., paragraph [0062]) and a negative electrode material comprising silicon alloy, graphite, single-walled carbon nanotubes (SWCNT) (see e.g., paragraph [0025]), a binder, and a thickener (see e.g., paragraph [0010]). Park teaches the silicon alloy, thickener, binder, graphite, and single-walled carbon nanotubes are mixed (“adding and mixing a negative electrode active material comprising a silicon-based active material and a carbon-based active material, a binder, single-walled carbon nanotube aggregates, and first carboxymethylcellulose and preparing a negative electrode slurry”). Park teaches the active material is coated onto a current collector and manufactured by a conventional process (“coating a negative electrode current collector with the negative electrode slurry and drying the negative electrode slurry”) (see e.g., paragraph [0062]). Because Park teaches the negative electrode active material comprises the silicon alloy in 5.8 wt% to 8 wt% (see e.g., paragraph [0010]) and the electrode comprises a negative electrode active material Park teaches the SWCNT dispersion is included at 0.05 wt% to 0.3 wt%, the approximate ratio of SWCNT to the silicon alloy is 0.05:1 when SWCNT is included at 0.3 wt% and the silicon alloy is included at 5.8 wt% in the negative electrode active material, meeting the claim limitation “wherein the single-walled carbon nanotube aggregates are comprises at 0.05 parts by weight to 0.37 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the silicon-based active material in the negative electrode active material layer.”
As previously described in claim 1, Ko teaches the active material comprises a silicon-carbon composite (“wherein the silicon-based active material comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a silicon-based oxide and a silicon-carbon composite”) (see e.g., paragraph [0055]) to improve specific resistivity characteristics of an electrode and high-rate charge/discharge characteristics as well as improved low temperature characteristics (see e.g., paragraph [0005]).
Park, as modified by Ko and Seol, does not explicitly teach a first carboxymethylcellulose having a weight-average molecular weight of 800,000 to 1,600,000.
However, Koo teaches an electrode active material slurry including a) an electrode active material, b) a conductive material, c) a binder, and d) a thickener (see e.g., Abstract). Koo teaches the thickener comprises a first cellulose-based compound having a molecular weight of 500,000 or more and less than 2,000,000 and a second cellulose-based compound having a molecular weight of 100,000 or more and less than 500,000 (“wherein the thickener comprises a first carboxymethylcellulose having a weight-average molecular weight of 800,000 to 1,600,000”) (see e.g., paragraph [0010]). Koo teaches the thickener with two or more kinds of cellulosic compounds having different weight average molecular weights improve capacity and rate characteristics (see e.g., paragraph [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the thickener comprising carboxylmethyl cellulose of Park, as modified by Ko and Seol, to be a first cellulose-based compound having a molecular weight of 500,000 or more and less than 2,000,000, as taught by Koo, in order to improve capacity and rate characteristics (see e.g., paragraph [0001]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because a molecular weight of 500,000 or more and less than 2,000,000 overlaps with the recited ranges, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 14, Park, as modified by Ko and Seol, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 13, as previously described.
As previously described in claim 13, Koo teaches the thickener comprises a first cellulose-based compound having a molecular weight of 500,000 or more and less than 2,000,000 and a second cellulose-based compound having a molecular weight of 100,000 or more and less than 500,000 (“the single-walled carbon nanotube aggregates are prepared by”) (see e.g., paragraph [0010]). Koo teaches the thickener with two or more kinds of cellulosic compounds having different weight average molecular weights improve capacity and rate characteristics (see e.g., paragraph [0001]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE N HIGGINS/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728