Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/25/2026 has been received. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendments
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed April 8th, 2026 (“A...”), in which: claims 1 and 7 are amended; no new claims are added; no claims are canceled; and the rejection of the claims are traversed. Claims 1 – 17 are currently pending an Office Action on the merits as follows, wherein claims 3 and 8 – 17 are withdrawn from consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 17 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo et al. (US 20120267690 A1), and further in view of Shinohara (US 20170243955 A1) and Gocho et al. (US 20210400224 A1).
Regarding independent Claim 1, Endo teaches an imaging device comprising:
a first substrate (Fig. 2; first chip 201 interpreted to be a first substrate) including a photoelectric conversion section (Fig. 2; n-type charge storage regions 212 constituting the photoelectric conversion elements. See [0050]) and a first transistor (Fig. 11; transfer transistor 304. See [0034] and [0045]) in a first semiconductor substrate (Fig. 2; first substrate 204), the photoelectric conversion section and the first transistor being included in a sensor pixel (Endo teaches in [0045] that each pixel includes the photoelectric conversion element 303, the transfer transistor 304, and the amplifying transistor 306);
a second substrate (Fig. 2; the unlabeled portion of the multilayer structure 211 between the substrate 208 and interconnect layer 228 is interpreted to be a second substrate) that is stacked on the first substrate (Fig. 2) and includes a second transistor (Fig. 11; amplifying transistor 306. See [0048]),
…
a through wiring line (Fig. 2; through electrode 235) provided in an opening (Fig. 2; an opening is provided at the connection portion 311), the through wiring line electrically coupling the first substrate and the second substrate (Fig. 2).
However, Endo remains silent regarding:
… wherein an adjuster is formed on at least one of a side surface of the second substrate, the adjuster adjusting a threshold voltage of the second transistor;
a bonding film provided between the first substrate and the second substrate such that an end portion of the adjuster is provided in the bonding film,
wherein the bonding film includes a silicon nitride film or a silicon oxide film; and ...
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shinohara teaches in [0112] a laminated structure including an insulating film HK and a metal film ME1 (Figs. 12 and 28); wherein the metal film ME1 is taught to adjust the threshold voltage of a transistor, and the insulating film HK aids in the prevention of current leakage. Examiner notes that in at least [0098] of the instant specification, the instant adjuster is taught to reduce the occurrence of current leakage. Therefore, examiner is interpreting both the insulating film HK and the metal film ME1 of the laminated structure to be an adjuster. Thus, Shinohara teaches an adjuster (Fig. 12; laminated structure including the insulating film HK and the metal film ME1) is formed on at least one of a side surface of the second substrate (Fig. 12; interlayer insulating film IL1 may be considered as a second substrate), the adjuster adjusting a threshold voltage of the second transistor ([0114]). Examiner asserts that Shinohara’s laminated structure may be used to modify Endo’s second transistor, specifically around the gate electrode 226, to yield the imaging device wherein an adjuster is formed on at least one of a side surface of the second substrate, the adjuster adjusting a threshold voltage of the second transistor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the imaging device of Endo to include Shinohara’s insulating film HK and metal film ME1 to form an adjuster, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Endo’s second transistor as modified by Shinohara’s adjuster can yield a predictable result of enabling one to control the threshold voltage of the second, e.g., amplification, transistor since sensitivity to noise/current leakage is reduced. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Additionally, in the same field of endeavor, Gocho teaches an imaging device (Fig. 72); wherein wiring layer 100T and semiconductor layer 200S are joined via joining film 124. Examiner asserts that joining substrates via some kind of joining member is a standard technique used in the field, wherein Gocho’s joining film 124 is shown to contact conductive features such as through electrodes, e.g., TGV, and other conductive/semiconductive features (Fig. 72); such that it would be obvious to include a joining film (i.e., Gocho’s joining film 124) between substrate-like layers (e.g., first substrate 100 and second substrate 200 shown in Gocho’s Fig. 72), such as between Endo’s first substrate and second substrate. Thus, it would be obvious to modify the imaging device of Endo, further in view of Shinohara, to include a bonding film provided between the first substrate and the second substrate. Further, as Shinohara’s adjuster is combined with Endo such that the adjuster is formed at the surface of a substrate to which other layers/substrates may be joined for electrical connection of components (Fig. 2 of Endo and Fig. 12 of Shinohara). Thus, adding Gocho’s joining film 124 between Endo’s modified substrates yields the imaging device structure such that an end portion of the adjuster is provided in the bonding film. Lastly, Gocho teaches that their joining film 124 includes a silicon nitride film or a silicon oxide film ([0510]); this results in portions of the substrate having electrical isolation. Thus, it would be obvious to modify the imaging device of Endo, further in view of Shinohara, to include Gocho’s joining film 124, yielding the imaging device including a bonding film provided between the first substrate and the second substrate such that an end portion of the adjuster is provided in the bonding film, wherein the bonding film includes a silicon nitride film or a silicon oxide film.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the imaging device of Endo, further in view of Shinohara, to include Gacho’s joining film between substrates of the device, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, imaging device of Endo, further in view of Shinohara, as modified by Gacho’s joining film can yield a predictable result of joining device substrates while also providing electrical isolation since there are conductive structures traversing between device substrates and located substrate borders and Gacho’s joining film is formed of insulating materials. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Regarding dependent Claim 2, Endo, further in view of Shinohara and Gocho, teach the imaging device according to claim 1, wherein:
the adjuster is formed on a whole of the side surface of the second substrate.
Shinohara teaches the insulating film HK and the metal film ME1 formed on a whole of the side surface of the interlayer insulating film IL1, which is analogous to the second substrate. The modification of Endo, further in view of Shinohara, yields the adjuster formed on a whole of a side surface of portion of the opening holding gate electrode 226 (See Fig. 2 of Endo showing the unlabeled portion of the multilayer structure 211 between the substrate 208 and interconnect layer 228, i.e., the second substrate).
Regarding dependent Claim 6, Endo, further in view of Shinohara and Gocho, teach the imaging device according to claim 1, wherein
the adjuster is formed by using a metal oxide film (Shinohara: [0113]).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo et al. (US 20120267690 A1), and further in view of Shinohara (US 20170243955 A1), Gocho et al. (US 20210400224 A1), and Ando et al. (US 20150108475 A1).
Regarding dependent Claim 4, Endo, further in view of Shinohara and Gocho, teach the imaging device according to claim 1; however, Shinohara remains silent wherein
the adjuster includes an impurity region doped with a p-type impurity.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ando teaches an oxide semiconductor film 206/oxide semiconductor film (Figs. 11B and 35) that adjust/controls the threshold voltage for a transistor (E.g., [0244] – [0245]), that includes a p-type impurity ([0092]) which may include boron ([0144] and [0148]). Examiner asserts that it would have been obvious to modify the materials of Shinohara’s adjuster, further in view of Ando, to yield the imaging device wherein the adjuster includes an impurity region doped with a p-type impurity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the adjuster of Endo, further in view of Shinohara, to include an impurity region doped with a p-type impurity, as disclosed by Ando, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Ando’s oxide semiconductor film is comparable to Shinohara’s insulating film HK and metal film ME1 because both teach their respective transistor features to adjust the threshold voltage of a transistor. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the adjuster of Endo, further in view of Shinohara, to include an impurity region doped with a p-type impurity, as disclosed by Ando with the predictable result of forming an adjuster.
Regarding dependent Claim 5, Endo, further in view of Shinohara, Gocho, and Ando, teach the imaging device according to claim 4, wherein
the impurity region is doped with boron (B) (Ando: [0092], [0144], [0148]).
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo et al. (US 20120267690 A1), and further in view of Shinohara (US 20170243955 A1), Gocho et al. (US 20210400224 A1), and Yoneda et al. (US 20220201234 A1).
Regarding dependent Claim 7, Endo, further in view of Shinohara and Gocho, teach the imaging device according to claim 6; however, Shinohara remains silent wherein
the metal oxide film includes an yttrium oxide film.
Examiner notes that Shinohara teaches similar materials in [0113] for a metal oxide film component of their adjuster.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoneda teaches a metal oxide film (e.g., Fig. 21A; insulating layer 543) used as an insulating layer, prevents diffusion of impurities between transistor substrates ([0276] – [0279]). Further, Yoneda insulating layer 543 is formed on conductive features, e.g., back gate 535, which may be used to dynamically adjust a transistors threshold voltage. Additionally, Yoneda’s materials taught for insulating layer 543 overlaps with Shinohara’s metal oxides, including “aluminum oxide, aluminum oxynitride, gallium oxide, gallium oxynitride, yttrium oxide, yttrium oxynitride, hafnium oxide, hafnium oxynitride, yttria-stabilized zirconia (YSZ), or the like can be used”, such that the materials listed by Yoneda would have been obvious to use in Shinohara’s metal oxide film.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the metal oxide film of Endo, further in view of Shinohara and Gocho, to include Yoneda’s materials for their metal oxide film, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Yoneda’s materials for their metal oxide film used in transistor isolation is comparable to Shinohara’s materials used in their metal oxide, because both disclosures describe structures that are used for isolating transistors. Further, there is overlap between the materials disclosed by Yoneda and Shinohara, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the similar properties between the materials for isolating transistors. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the metal oxide film of Endo, further in view of Shinohara and Gocho, to include Yoneda’s materials for their metal oxide film with the predictable result of preventing diffusion of impurities between transistors and/or substrates.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20170025456 A1 previously relied upon.
US 20220052100 A1 previously relied upon.
US 20120002090 A1 previously relied upon.
US 10355019 B1 previously relied upon.
US 20210351223 A1 teaches a similar imaging device.
US 20180138224 A1 teaches an imaging device using similar materials.
US 20190057997 A1 teaches an imaging device with similar features.
US 20200357723 A1 teaches an imaging device with similar features.
US 6087275 A teaches features of an imaging device to adjust threshold voltages for a transistor.
US 20150263007 A1 teaches some relevant features to the instant imaging device.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARIO A. AUTORE JR.
Examiner
Art Unit 2897
/MARIO ANDRES AUTORE JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897