DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, 10-12, 21, 26, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi (JP2015-041694, Machine Translation) in view of Hsia (US 2016/0163901 A1) and in view of Terao (US 2016/0380120 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kikuchi discloses a photovoltaic module comprising (see Figs. 1-10, [0019]):
a metal foil (10, see fig. 1 and 2, 11A and 11B) defining a multiplicity of electrical contacts (11a1-11a4, 11b1-11b4), each electrical contact electrically isolated from the other electrical contacts;
a plurality of back-contact photovoltaic cells (20) superimposed over the metal foil and electrically connected via the multiplicity of electrical contacts, each photovoltaic cell comprising:
a first side configured to absorb light (top surface); and
a second side (bottom surface) comprising a first electrically conductive protrusion (20a, note that the back surface contains both positive and negative electrodes [0002] and therefore one of 20a will be positive while the other will be negative [0027]) and a second electrically conductive protrusion (20a [0027]), wherein the first electrically conductive protrusion (20a, left) of a first one of the photovoltaic cells is in direct electrical communication with a first one of the multiplicity of electrical contacts (13a, left), and the second electrically conductive protrusion (20a, right) of the first one of the photovoltaic cells is in direct electrical communication with a second one of the electrical contacts (13a, right); and an intermediate layer (32) between the metal foil and the plurality of back-contact photovoltaic cells,
wherein each of the multiplicity of electrical contacts (13a) has a structure such that there is a protrusion portion and the protrusion portion stands in relief with respect to a remainder of the metal foil and extends through an opening in the intermediate layer toward the plurality of photovoltaic cells.
With regards to the limitation “the multiplicity of electrical contacts is embossed” the cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus or product. The determination of patentability is based upon the apparatus structure itself. The patentability of a product or apparatus does not depend on its method of production or formation. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP § 2113).
Kikuchi discloses that the conductive protrusions are ultrasonically bonded to the electrical contacts ([0063]) however does disclose that other methods are possible which include heat and pressure.
Hsia discloses that conductive portions can be either ultrasonically bonded or laser welded to the electrical contacts ([0053]).
Terao discloses that prior to laser bonding electrical contacts that pressure is applied so that the electrical contact maintains alignment ([0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the method of interconnecting the conductive protrusions and the electrical contacts of Kikuchi by using both pressure alignment and laser welding instead of an ultrasonically bonded method because as disclosed by Hsia and Terao it is an effective method of bonding conductive portions and electrical contacts on the back side of a solar cell and as disclosed by Kikuchi alternative methods bonding which include heat and pressure can be used.
Regarding claim 2, modified Kikuchi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Kikuchi discloses that there are multiplicity of electrical contacts (see Fig. 2 [0027]) comprises pairs of adjacent electrical contacts, each pair of adjacent electrical contacts separated by an opening through the metal foil (see openings which separate each positive and negative contact, as well as openings between fingers of the positive/negative contact).
Regarding claim 6, modified Kikuchi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Kikuchi discloses wherein the relief with respect to the remainder of the metal foil of each embossed portion is between 10 μm and 800 μm (250 microns, [0063]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Kikuchi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Kikuchi discloses wherein the first electrically conductive protrusion (20a, left) of a first one of the photovoltaic cells is in direct electrical communication with the relief portion of the first one of the multiplicity of electrical contacts (13a, left),, and the second electrically conductive protrusion (20a, right) of the first one of the photovoltaic cells is in direct electrical communication with the relief portion of the second one of the electrical contacts (13a, right).
Regarding claim 10, modified Kikuchi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Kikuchi discloses wherein a thickness of the intermediate layer and the relief with respect to the remainder of the metal foil of each embossed portion are substantially the same (See Fig. 1,layer 32 is substantially the same depth as the relief portion).
Regarding claim 11, modified Kikuchi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Kikuchi discloses further comprising a first outer layer (40/31, see Fig. 1 [0031]) and a second outer layer (52/51/54, [0046]) wherein the metal foil and the plurality of photovoltaic cells are positioned between the first outer layer and the second outer layer.
Regarding claim 12, modified Kikuchi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Kikuchi discloses a first encapsulant layer (31) between the first outer layer (40) and the plurality of photovoltaic cells (20) and a second encapsulant layer (52/51) between the metal foil (10) and the second outer layer (54) (see Fig. 1 [0031]).
Regarding claim 21, modified Kikuchi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Kikuchi discloses that the intermediate layer is an encapsulant layer comprising ethylene-vinyl acetate or polyolefin ([0063]).
Regarding claim 26, modified Kikuchi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Kikuchi discloses that a thickness of the metal foil is in a range of 40 μm to 70 μm ([0063] 50 microns).
Regarding claim 27, modified Kikuchi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, modified Kikuchi does not disclose wherein the metal foil connects a positive polarity region of the first photovoltaic cell of the plurality of back-contact photovoltaic cells to a negative polarity region of a second photovoltaic cell of the plurality of back-contact photovoltaic cells.
Terao discloses that adjacent solar cells can be connected to opposite polarity contacts of back contacted solar cells (see Fig. 3E connection between 304 and 306, [0051]-[0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the patterning of the metallic foil of modified Kikuchi so that adjacent solar cells can be interconnected such the metal foil connects a positive polarity region of the first photovoltaic cell of the plurality of back-contact photovoltaic cells to a negative polarity region of a second photovoltaic cell as disclosed by Terao because interconnected solar cells in such a manner will allow for a larger amount of electricity to be harnessed by a solar panel.
Claim(s) 22-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi (JP2015-041694, Machine Translation) in view of Hsia (US 2016/0163901 A1) and in view of Terao (US 2016/0380120 A1) as applied to claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 10-12, 21, 26, and 27 above and further in view of Borland (US 2013/0160812 A1).
Regarding claim 22 and 23, Kikuchi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, Kikuchi does not disclose wherein the intermediate layer comprises a solid polymer sheet between two encapsulant layers and wherein the solid polymer sheet comprises polyethylene terephthalate, polyvinylidene fluoride, or polytetrafluoroethylene.
Borland discloses an interconnect layer which is embedded in polymer sheets ( see layer 50 [0054], [0043]-[0046]) wherein the layer comprises a solid polymer sheet between two encapsulant layers and wherein the solid polymer sheet comprises polyethylene terephthalate (In one embodiment, the ILD is comprised of a PET polymer film that is coated with or laminated to an adhesive or an encapsulant layer such as an EVA film [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the intermediate layer of Kikuchi to have the multilayer structure of Borland which includes a PET layer coated with EVA because Borland discloses it is an effective structure for multi-layered polymeric sheets with an embedded interconnect structure for a back contact solar cell.
Regarding claim 24 and 25, modified Kikuchi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, Kikuchi does not disclose:
wherein a thickness of the solid polymer sheet is in a range of 10 μm to 100 μm
wherein a thickness of each of the two encapsulant layers is in a range of 10 μm to 100 μm
Borland discloses the thickness of the ILD will depend in part on the insulating properties of the material comprising the ILD, but preferred polymeric ILDs have a thickness in the range of 5 to 500 microns ([0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time filing to modify the thicknesses of the solid polymer sheet and the coating layers of modified Kikuchi to be within the range claimed as disclosed by Borland because it will allow for the optimizing cost and the amount of insulation offered.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 28 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the Office Action has provided no reasoning as to how pressure could have been applied to the underside of the protrusions of Kikuchi during a laser welding process or why one of ordinary skill would have sought to apply pressure as disclosed in Terao to the configuration of Kikuchi, which differs substantially from that of Terao.
Kikuchi discloses that other methods aside from ultrasonic bonding can be used which include methods of heat and pressure ([0060]). Hsia discloses that conductive portions can be bonded to electrical contacts using ultrasonic bonding or laser welding ([0053]). Terao discloses that rollers can have a variety of geometries including a grooved roller and other alignment mechanisms can be used ([0057]). The pressing of the wiring is taught by Terao to provide alignment ([0052]). One of ordinary skill could apply a roller/other mechanism to provide alignment and pressure given the teaching of Terao during a laser welding process. Therefore, there is a teaching and suggestion provided in the prior art to modify the process of bonding of Kikuchi to use a laser bonding process instead of an ultrasonic bonding process as disclosed by Hsia and Terao.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726