DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 & 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masaaki (JP2015138753A, see Machine Translation for citations) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on December 15th, 2021) in view of Idikurt (DE102017210744, see US National Stage Entry, US20200136109, for citations) further in view of Yamanaka (US20170200934).
Regarding Claim 1, Masaaki discloses a power supply device (battery module, [009]) comprising:
A battery block including a plurality of battery cells and separators (secondary batteries-100, [0016], spacer-230 acts as separator, [0019]), the plurality of battery cells being stacked in a thickness direction with separators each interposed between a corresponding adjacent pair of the plurality of battery cells (Fig. 9);
A pair of end plates disposed on opposing end faces of the battery block (cell holders-210 act as end plates, Fig. 1, [0018]), and
A binding bar couples to the pair of end plates to fix the battery block in a compressed state via the end plates (pair of side plates are fastened to end cell holders, [0017] act as binding bar),
Wherein each of the battery cells includes a battery case (battery container-1 is composed of battery can-10, [0028]), and a sealing plate (lid-20 acts as sealing plate, [0028]), the battery case has a closed bottom (battery can-10 has a bottom, Fig. 6 or 7, [0028]),
The sealing plate is airtightly fixed to an opening edge of the battery case (hermetic seal, [0028]), and
Wherein each of the separators includes a stack plane stacked on a plane of the battery case of each of the corresponding pair of the plurality of battery cells, the stack plane being in contact with the plane of the battery cell, the plane of the battery case facing the stack plane (the examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, plane of the battery case” can mean any 2 dimensional plane of the battery case, and stack plane is a descriptive term for the separator structure not an additional structure, therefore because the spacers are stacked on the side of the battery case, Fig. 8, is it the examiner’s position that Masaaki discloses this limitation)
The stack plane includes elasticity to deform to absorb expansion of the battery cells caused by an increase in internal pressure (spacers are made from elastic material, [0048]),
A Young’s modulus of an outer peripheral edge part and an upper edge part of the stack plane is different from a Young’s modulus of an internal region located inside the outer peripheral edge part of the stack plane, and the Young’s modulus an the upper edge part is higher than the Young’s modulus of the internal region, (elastic modules in central region is lower than in end regions, [0010]).
Masaaki does not directly disclose wherein the upper edge part of the separator is a most outer peripheral edge along the sealing plate of the battery cell and directly contacts the plane of the battery case.
Idikurt discloses a battery cell stack that includes spacers in between adjacent battery cells (spacer element-16, cell pack-4, battery housing sides-10a/10b, [0034], Fig. 1 and Fig. 2). Idikurt further discloses wherein the spacer element-16 is a flat structure that directly contacts the plane of the battery case, including an outer peripheral edge of the battery housing (Fig. 1). Idikurt teaches that this structure provides a design that can compensate for age related expansions or changes in volume of the battery cells ([0026]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Masaaki with the teachings of Idikurt to have wherein the upper edge part of the separator is a most outer peripheral edge along the sealing plate of the battery cell and directly contacts the plane of the battery case. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved ability to compensate for age related expansions or changes in volume of the battery cells.
Masaaki does not directly disclose wherein in response to an expansion of the battery cell, the internal region of the stack plane is capable of absorbing the expansion of the battery cells by being deformed thinly while the upper edge part suppresses deformation of an opening edge of the battery case.
Yamanaka discloses a stacked cell battery pack ([0058]). Yamanaka discloses spacers that act as separators that form a stack plane ([0015]). Yamanaka further discloses wherein the spacers are used to distribute loads applied to the battery due to the expansion of the battery cells ([0055]). Yamanaka further discloses wherein the spacers are elastically deformed ([0056]). Yamanaka further discloses wherein the spacers once slightly deformed become more difficult to be further deformed, while still restricting expansion of the battery cells ([0067]). Yamanaka teaches that this structure provides improved battery performance ([0017]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Masaaki with the teachings of Yamanaka to have wherein in response to an expansion of the battery cell, the internal region of the stack plane is capable of absorbing the expansion of the battery cells by being deformed thinly while the upper edge part suppresses deformation of an opening edge of the battery case.
Regarding Claim 12, Masaaki in view of Idikurt further in view of Yamanaka discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Masaaki teaches that this battery module can be used for an electric vehicle including EVs which use electric motors ([002]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Masaaki to have an electric vehicle including the power supply device of claim 1, where the electric vehicle comprises: the power supply device, a motor for travelling that received electric power from the power supply device; a vehicle body that incorporates the power supply device and the motor; and a wheel that is driven by the motor to cause the vehicle body to travel.
Regarding Claim 13, Massaki discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Masaaki further teaches that secondary batteries are often used where they are repeatedly charged and discharged at a large current ([004]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Masaaki to have wherein a power supply controller configured to control charging and discharging of the power supply device, wherein the power supply controller enables charging of the secondary battery cells with electric power supplied from an outside and causes the secondary battery cells to charge.
Claim(s) 2-7 & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masaaki (JP2015138753A, see Machine Translation for citations) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on December 15th, 2021) in view of Idikurt (DE102017210744, see US National Stage Entry, US20200136109, for citations) further in view of Oikawa (US20190161909) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on December 15th, 2021).
Regarding Claim 2, Modified Masaaki discloses the limitations as set forth above. Masaaki discloses wherein the spacers acting as separators can be made from elastic resin such as silicon resin ([0049]), but does not directly disclose wherein the separators include a hybrid material of an inorganic powder and a fibrous reinforcing material.
Oikawa discloses a thermal insulation sheet that is made from a hybrid material of an inorganic powder and a fibrous material (insulation sheet formed of aerogel acting as inorganic powder [0013], and nonwoven fabric which can be a fiber [0013], [0056]). Oikawa teaches that this insultation sheet provides enhanced compressive strength and thermal insulation ([0147]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the separator of Masaaki with the teachings of Oikawa to have wherein the separators include a hybrid material of an inorganic powder and a fibrous reinforcing material. This modification would yield the expected result of improved compressive strength and thermal insulation.
Regarding Claim 3, Masaaki in view of Idikurt further in view of Oikawa discloses the limitations as set forth above..
Oikawa further discloses wherein the aerogel can be a silica aerogel ([0030-0032]).
Regarding Claim 4, Modified Massaki in view of Oikawa discloses the limitations as set forth above. Massaki in view of Oikawa discloses the separator has the hybrid material (see claim 2 rejection above). Oikawa further discloses wherein the insulating sheet is one sheet (Fig. 11 & 12).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the separator of Masaaki with the teachings of Oikawa to have wherein each of the separators include a hybrid material and is one sheet. This modification would yield the expected result of improved compressive strength and thermal insulation.
Regarding Claim 5, Modified Masaaki in view of Idikurt further in view of Oikawa discloses the limitations as set forth above.. Masaaki further discloses wherein the elastic modules in the central region of the spacer is lower than in end regions of the space ([0010]).
Oikawa teaches that adjusting the silica aerogel content with the nonwoven fabric can adjust the bulk density of the thermal sheet, where higher packing density of silica aerogel leads to higer packing density ([0032-0033], [0047]).
The examiner notes that because Masaaki discloses adjusting the elastic modulus of the spacer to have a higher elastic modulus on the outer edge part of the spacer verus the internal region of the spacer, and because Oikawa teaches adjusting the packing density of the silica aerogel, that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Masaaki with the teachings of Oikawa to have wherein the hybrid material includes a packing density of a silica aerogel of the upper edge part higher than a packing density of a silica aerogel of the internal region.
Regarding Claim 6, Modified Masaaki discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Masaaki discloses wherein the separators include a high rigidity sheet and a low rigidity sheet including a Young’s modulus smaller than a Young’s modulus of the high rigidity sheet (Masaaki discloses wherine the elastic modulus of the abutment portion 232a which acts as the low rigidity sheet is lower than the elastic modulus of the abutment portion 232b which acts as the high rigidity sheet, [0050]),
Wherein the high rigidity sheet is disposed on the upper edge part (abutment portion 232b is provided on end regions, [0050]), and wherein the low rigidity sheet is disposed in the internal region (abutment portion 232a is provided in central region, [0050]).
Masaaki discloses wherein the spacers acting as separators can be made from elastic resin such as silicon resin ([0049]), but does not directly disclose wherein the high rigidity sheet and the low rigidity sheet include a hybrid material of a silica aerogel and a fibrous reinforcing material.
Oikawa discloses a thermal insulation sheet that is made from a hybrid material of an inorganic powder and a fibrous material (insulation sheet formed of aerogel acting as inorganic powder [0013], and nonwoven fabric which can be a fiber [0013], [0056]). Oikawa teaches that this insultation sheet provides enhanced compressive strength and thermal insulation ([0147]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the separator of Masaaki with the teachings of Oikawa to have wherein the high rigidity sheet and the low rigidity sheet include a hybrid material of a silica aerogel and a fibrous reinforcing material. This modification would yield the expected result of improved compressive strength and thermal insulation.
Regarding Claim 7, Modified Masaaki discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Masaaki discloses wherein the elastic modules in the central region of the spacer is lower than in end regions of the space ([0010]), but does not directly disclose wherein the high rigidity sheet include a packing density of the silica aerogel higher than a packing density of the silica aerogel of the low rigidity sheet.
Oikawa teaches that adjusting the silica aerogel content with the nonwoven fabric can adjust the bulk density of the thermal sheet, where higher packing density of silica aerogel leads to higher packing density ([0032-0033], [0047]).
The examiner notes that because Masaaki discloses adjusting the elastic modulus of the spacer to have a higher elastic modulus on the outer edge part of the spacer versus the internal region of the spacer, and because Oikawa teaches adjusting the packing density of the silica aerogel, that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Masaaki with the teachings of Oikawa to have wherein the high rigidity sheet include a packing density of the silica aerogel higher than a packing density of the silica aerogel of the low rigidity sheet.
Regarding Claim 11, Modified Masaaki discloses the limitations as set forth above..
Masaaki does not disclose the thickness of each separator.
Oikawa disclosews wherein the preferred range of the thermal sheet is preferably 0.03 mm to 3.0 mm ([0045]), which substantially overlaps the instant claim range of 0.5 mm to 3 mm. Zhang teaches that this range allows for a good thermal insulating effect without complicated the installation of the thermal insulating sheet in a device ([0045]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Masaaki with the teaching of Oikawa to have wherein each separator includes a thickness between 0.5 mm and 3 mm. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved insulating effect.
Regarding Claim 14, Modified Masaaki discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Masaaki does not directly disclose wherein the upper edge part of the separator is made of material different from material of the internal region of the separator.
Masaaki discloses wherein the separators include a high rigidity sheet and a low rigidity sheet (Masaaki discloses wherein the elastic modulus of the abutment portion 232a which acts as the low rigidity sheet is lower than the elastic modulus of the abutment portion 232b which acts as the high rigidity sheet, [0050]),
Wherein the high rigidity sheet is disposed on the upper edge part (abutment portion 232b is provided on end regions, [0050]), and wherein the low rigidity sheet is disposed in the internal region (abutment portion 232a is provided in central region, [0050]).
Masaaki further discloses wherein the spacers acting as separators can be made from elastic resin such as silicon resin ([0049]), but does not directly disclose wherein the upper edge part of the separator is made of material different from material of the internal region of the separator.
Oikawa discloses a thermal insulation sheet that is made from a hybrid material of an inorganic powder and a fibrous material (insulation sheet formed of aerogel acting as inorganic powder [0013], and nonwoven fabric which can be a fiber [0013], [0056]). Oikawa teaches that this insultation sheet provides enhanced compressive strength and thermal insulation ([0147]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the separator of Masaaki with the teachings of Oikawa to have wherein the upper edge part of the separator is made of material different from material of the internal region of the separator. This modification would yield the expected result of improved compressive strength and thermal insulation.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masaaki (JP2015138753A, see Machine Translation for citations) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on December 15th, 2021) in view of Idikurt (DE102017210744, see US National Stage Entry, US20200136109, for citations) further in view of Oikawa (US20190161909) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on December 15th, 2021) further in view of Zhang (CN205657108U).
Regarding Claim 8-10, Modified Masaaki discloses the limitations as set forth above. Modified Masaaki discloses wherein the low rigidity sheet includes a laminated sheet of the hybrid material (see claim 6 above), but is silent to the use of an elastic sheet formed of synthetic rubber.
Zhang discloses a separator sheet that is placed in-between adjacent battery cells that are stacked ([008]) and is formed of a thermally insulating material and a high heat capacity/phase change material ([008]). Zhang further discloses wherein the separator can contain a silicon rubber material ([0013]). Zhang teaches that this structure provides improved safety of the battery ([006]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Modified Masaaki with the teachings of Zhang to have wherein an elastic sheet formed of synthetic rubber is laminated onto the low rigidity sheet.
8. Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masaaki (JP2015138753A, see Machine Translation for citations) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on December 15th, 2021) in view of Idikurt (DE102017210744, see US National Stage Entry, US20200136109, for citations) further in view of Yoshioka (US20130095359).
Regarding Claim 15, Modified Masaaki discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Masaaki does not directly disclose wherein the separator comprises a through hole.
Yoshioka discloses a spacer element placed between battery cells ([006]). Yoshioka further discloses wherein the spacer includes an insulating wall ([007]). Yoshioka further discloses wherein the insulating wall comprises engaging holes ([0051]). Yoshioka teaches that this structure provides improved mounting of the spacer ([008]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Masaaki in view of Yoshioka to have wherein the separator comprises a through hole. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved mounting of the spacer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, see Claims, filed March 23rd, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-15 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Masaaki in view of Idikurt further in view of Yamanaka under 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728