DETAILED ACTION
This detailed action is in response to the amendments and arguments filed on 05/04/2025, and any subsequent filings.
Notations “C_”, “L_” and “Pr_” are used to mean “column_”, “line_” and “paragraph_”.
Claim 29 is canceled. Claims 21, 23-27 and 34-37 are withdrawn. Claims 21, 23-28 and 30-37 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 05/04/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim 28
In response to applicant's argument that Petrus does not teach a biogas collector that is elevated to an elevated location with respect to a basin to reduce pressure within the collector chamber (pg. 7), a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
The Applicant argues that reference Petrus does not teach a vacuum source (pgs. 7-8). This is unpersuasive because Petrus was not relied upon to teach a vacuum source.
The Applicant argues that reference Petrus does not teach using negative pressure to promote release of biogas from wastewater within the collector chamber nor that the combination of the vacuum source and the elevated location are operable to maintain a negative pressure at the wastewater-biogas interface within the collector chamber to promote release of biogas from the wastewater (pgs. 7-8). This is unpersuasive because this is directed towards the amended claim.
The Applicant argues that references Lubbe, Bonde and/or Josse do not teach or suggest modifying Petrus to arrive at the limitations of independent claim 28 (pg. 8). This is unpersuasive because this is directed towards the amended claim.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28, 30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication 2015/0344326 ('Petrus') in view of U.S. Patent US4696718A (‘Lasater’) and in further view of U.S. Publication US20060006055A1 (‘Bonde’).
The Applicant’s claims are directed towards a method.
Regarding Claims 28, 30 and 32, Petrus teaches a method for capturing biogas from wastewater in a wastewater processing system ([0010]), comprising the steps of:
1) providing an apparatus for capturing biogas from wastewater (Fig, [0025]), the apparatus comprising:
a) a biogas collector (Fig, [0025-0026], stripper column 1) having a collector chamber adapted to collect biogas released from wastewater passing through the collector chamber ([0026]);
c) a biogas disposer (Fig, [0040], gas desulfurisation unit 3) in fluid communication with the headspace of the collector chamber to dispose of biogas withdrawn from the collector chamber ([0039-0040]); and
d) a basin (Fig, [0017], mixing zone 40) in fluid communication with the collector chamber for receiving wastewater from the collector chamber ([0027-0028]);
2) introducing wastewater into the collector chamber through a first pathway (Fig, [0035], line from exit 28 to inlet 14 of stripper unit 1);
3) removing biogas from the wastewater as it passes through the collection chamber ([0063]);
4) removing wastewater from the collector chamber through a second pathway and conveying the wastewater to the basin (Fig, [0027], liquid line 18); and
5) removing biogas from the collector chamber through a third pathway (Fig, [0039-0040], line between outlet 13 and inlet 31) and conveying the biogas to the biogas disposer (Fig, [0039-0040]);
6) wherein the biogas collector is elevated to an elevated location with respect to the basin (Fig, [0017] and [0019], mixing tank 40 is below stripper column 1) such that a wastewater-biogas interface within the collector chamber is between 15 and 30 feet (See annotated Fig. below) above the surface of the wastewater in the basin.
The distance between liquid surface level 101 and liquid outlet 17 may be between 5% and 20% of the height ([0026], indicated by annotation of orange arrow with square shaped end on the annotated Fig. above). The distance between outlets 17 and 18 can be 5-20% of the height ([0027], indicated by annotation of yellow arrow on the annotated Fig. above), where the height is between 5 and 50 m ([0011]). Thus, the distance between the liquid surface level 101 and outlet 18 is between 10% and 40% of the height (sample calculation: 5% + 5% = 10% and 20 % + 20% = 40%), or between 0.5 m and 20 m when calculated (sample calculations: (5 m)(10%) = 0.5 m, (50 m)(40%) = 20 m), or 1.64 ft and 65.6 ft when converted (sample calculation: (0.5 m)(3.28 ft/m) = 1.64 ft).
Petrus does not teach:
b) a biogas controller adapted to control withdrawal of biogas from the biogas collector, the biogas controller including a vacuum source in fluid communication with a headspace of the collector chamber;
whereby the elevated location is operable to reduce pressure within the collector chamber;
7) wherein the combination of the vacuum source and the elevated location are operable to maintain pressure at the wastewater-biogas interface within the collector chamber between negative 0.15 bar gauge pressure and negative 1.014 bar gauge pressure to promote release of biogas from the wastewater within the collector chamber.
Lasater also relates to a method for capturing biogas (C2, 64-68) from wastewater in a wastewater processing system (C1, L5-7), an apparatus comprising:
b) a biogas controller (Fig. 1, C4, L5-10, vacuum pump 66) adapted to control withdrawal of biogas from the biogas collector (Fig. 1, C4, L5-10, degasification container 22 (Fig. 1, C3, L1-5) has interior chamber 24), the biogas controller including a vacuum source in fluid communication with a headspace of the collector chamber (Fig. 1, C7, L7-16);
whereby the elevated location is operable to reduce pressure within the collector chamber (C2, L3-12);
7) wherein the combination of the vacuum source and the elevated location (C13, L66-C14, L2 and C14, L20-24, falling water level maintains partial vacuum and vacuum pump may be used intermittently, if desired, to further increase the rate at which the exhaust gases leave) are operable to maintain pressure at the wastewater-biogas interface within the collector chamber to promote release of biogas from the wastewater within the collector chamber (C2, L3-12).
Bonde also relates to a method for capturing biogas from wastewater in a wastewater processing system (abstract), wherein the pressure at the wastewater-biogas interface within the collector chamber (degassing unit, [0256]) is between negative 0.15 bar gauge pressure and negative 1.014 bar gauge pressure (vacuum between 0.6-0.8 bar, [0256], is interpreted as negative 0.6 – negative 0.8 bar)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the biogas controller of Lasater and the method of Petrus so the lowered atmospheric pressure causes dissolved gasses within the impure water to almost immediately leave the water (Lasater, C4, L5-10). It would have been obvious to combine the pressure of Bonde and the method of Petrus so that the vacuum is sufficient to remove gases from liquid (Bonde, [0256]).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 30: a dissolved concentration of a component of the biogas in the wastewater passing through the collector chamber is reduced to less than about 80% (desulfurized liquid, Petrus, ([0047]) has a lowered sulfide content, the lowering is preferably at least a factor of 10 (Petrus, [0020]), or by at least 90% when converted) of the component saturation concentration at ambient pressure and at a wastewater temperature (Petrus, [0053]) of the wastewater, the component selected from a group consisting of carbon dioxide, methane, hydrogen sulfide (Petrus, [0020]), mercaptan, nitrate, nitrite, nitrous oxide, and ammonia.
Claim 32: the apparatus further comprises a biogas separator (separator, Petrus, [0027]) included as a portion of the biogas controller (separator controls the downward flow, Petrus, [0027]), the biogas separator defines a separator chamber (separator separates degassing zone from mixing zone, Petrus, [0027]) in fluid communication with the collector chamber (separator in stripping unit 1, Petrus, [0027]) to receive a mixture of water combined with biogas withdrawn from the collector chamber, wherein the mixture is separated into biogas and water within the separator chamber (degassing zone where gas is separated off from the anaerobic effluent and the influent, Petrus, [0022]).
Claims 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication 2015/0344326 ('Petrus'), U.S. Patent US4696718A (‘Lasater’) and U.S. Publication US20060006055A1 (‘Bonde’) as applied to claim 28 above, and further in view of U.S. Publication 20160/230193A1 (‘Josse’).
The Applicant’s claim is directed towards a method.
Regarding Claim 31, the combination of Petrus, Lasater and Bonde teaches the method of Claim 28, except that the vacuum source comprises an eductor.
Josse also relates to a method for capturing biogas ([0042]) from wastewater (digestate stream, [0034]) in a wastewater processing system ([0011]), where the vacuum source comprises an eductor ([0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the vacuum source of the combination of Petrus, Lasater and Bonde can be an eductor, as demonstrated by Josse, to create a vacuum and draw gas from the headspace of the biogas collector (Josse, [0040]).
Claims 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication 2015/0344326 ('Petrus'), U.S. Patent US4696718A (‘Lasater’) and U.S. Publication US20060006055A1 (‘Bonde’) as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of International Publication WO 2012/078044A1 ('Lubbe').
The Applicant’s claim is directed towards a method.
Regarding Claim 33, the combination of Petrus, Lasater and Bonde teaches the method of Claim 32, except that the vacuum source is in fluid communication with the separator chamber to withdraw biogas from the separator chamber.
Lubbe also relates to a method for capturing biogas from wastewater in a wastewater processing system (abstract), wherein the vacuum source (Fig. 1, pg. 12, L5-7, outlet of collection sump 3 can have a vacuum extraction device) is in fluid communication with the separator chamber (Fig. 1, pg. 15, L24-25, collection sump 3 can be cascades or weir meshes. Note that the separator of Petrus can be a perforated plate ([0027])) to withdraw biogas from the separator chamber (pg. 12, L7-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the vacuum source and the separator chamber to be in fluid communication, as demonstrated by Lubbe, in the method of the combination of Petrus, Lasater and Bonde to transport the recovered gas phase (Lubbe, pg. 12, L5-10) because the transfer of gases from the liquid effluent to the gas phase may be improved by operating under sub-atmospheric pressure conditions (Lubbe, pg. 16, L1-5).
Conclusion
/BOI-LIEN THI NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1779
/Bobby Ramdhanie/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1779