DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made to Applicant’s claim amendments of 10 November 2025. Claims 1-19 and 24-27 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Non-Patent Literature “Wafer-Level Artificial Photosynthesis for CO2 Reduction into CH4 and CO Using GaN Nanowires” to AlOtaibi et al. (AlOtaibi) in view of the Non-Patent Literature “Water reduction by a p-GaInP2 photoelectrode stabilized by an amorphous TiO2 coating and molecular cobalt catalyst” to Gu (Gu).
As to claims 1, 7, 8 and 9, AlOtaibi teaches an electrode for a chemical cell (photoreduction cell) comprising a n-type Si structure on which GaN semiconductor nanowires are grown, the GaN nanowires forming an outer surface on which a plurality of platinum nanoparticles are distributed, the platinum nanoparticles forming a catalyst for reduction of carbon dioxide in the chemical cell (Abstract; Page 5343). However, AlOtaibi fails to teach that the electrode further comprises a catalyst layer disposed over the catalyst particles.
However, Gu also discusses water electrolysis and teaches that electrodes can be stabilized by a titanium dioxide coating, including a coating deposited after catalyst attachment (Abstract; Page 457, First Paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the electrode of AlOtaibi with the addition of a titanium dioxide coating disposed over the catalyst, thus an additional catalyst layer disposed along sidewalls of the array of conductive projections.
The combination thus disclosing the same structure as described in the disclosure as filed by the applicants, GaN nanowires with a platinum nanoparticle catalyst and a titanium dioxide coating (see, at least, Figure 2A as filed) and thus inherently teaching a structure that would achieve the claimed result of “such that the catalyst layer and the plurality of catalyst particles synergistically form a metal/oxide co-catalyst interface, the metal/oxide co-catalyst interface providing multifunctional adsorption/reaction sites for CO2 activation and conversion” (MPEP 2112).
As to claim 2, the combination of AlOtaibi and Gu teaches the electrode of claim 1. As discussed above, the structure comprises an n-type semiconductor, thus a semiconductor material configured to generate charge carriers upon absorption of solar radiation such that the chemical cell is configured as a photoelectrochemical system.
As to claims 3, 4, 5, the combination of AlOtaibi and Gu teaches the electrode of claim 2. As discussed above, AlOtaibi teaches that the structure comprises an array of conductive projections comprising GaN, a Group III-V semiconductor material, nanowires defining the outer surface of the structure, thus an array of conductive projection configured to extract the charge carrier generated in the substrate.
As to claim 6, the combination of AlOtaibi and Gu teaches the electrode of claim 1. AlOtaibi further teaches that the structure is planar (Figure 1(a)).
As to claim 10, the combination of AlOtaibi and Gu teaches the electrode of claim 1. AlOtaibi further teaches that the diameter of the platinum nanoparticles are 1-2 nm (Page 5344, Right Column, First Paragraph).
As to claim 11, the combination of AlOtaibi and Gu teaches the electrode of claim 1. Gu further teaches that the coating layer has a thickness of approximately 0.4 nm (Page 457, First Paragraph).
As to claim 12, the combination of AlOtaibi and Gu teaches the electrode of claim 1. The electrode of AlOtaibi is capable of being utilized in any number of cells including a thermochemical cell (MPEP 2114).
As to claim 27, the combination of AlOtaibi and Gu teaches the electrode of claim 4. As discussed above, the combination teaches that each nanowire comprises GaN, a group III-V semiconductor material and that the amorphous oxide material is titanium dioxide.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of AlOtaibi and Gu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2016/0376713 A1 to Ono et al. (Ono).
As to claim 24, the combination of AlOtaibi and Gu teaches the electrode of claim 1. However, AlOtaibi fails to teach that the catalyst is palladium, instead teaching platinum. However, Ono also discusses photoelectric water electrolysis and teaches that in addition to platinum, palladium is an effective catalyst (Paragraph 0053). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to replace the platinum with palladium as a known equivalent as taught by Hoertz (MPEP 2144.06 II).
Claims 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of AlOtaibi and Gu as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of US 2014/0261645 A1 to Hoertz (Hoertz).
As to claims 25 and 26, the combination of AlOtaibi and Gu teaches the electrodes of claims 1 and 4. As discussed above, AlOtaibi teaches that the nanowires comprise GaN, a Group III-V semiconductor. However, Gu teaches that the oxide coating comprises titanium dioxide not zinc oxide.
However, Hoertz also discusses photoelectrodes for water electrolysis comprising titanium dioxide coatings and teaches that an equivalent coating to titanium dioxide is zinc oxide (Paragraph 0168). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to replace the titanium dioxide with zinc oxide as a known equivalent as taught by Hoertz (MPEP 2144.06 II).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that it would not be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add a titanium dioxide layer to the Rh/Cr2O3 core shell nanoparticles of AlOtaibi, citing catalytic functionality, surface chemistry, sluggish chemistry and no need for stability. However, the Examiner has not made that rejection, the Examiner has made a rejection over the titanium nanoparticles embodiment of AlOtaibi (AlOtaibi teaching two distinct options).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794