DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 11/07/2025 has been entered and accepted. The amendment with regard to the 112b rejection has been accepted and the rejection has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/07/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Applicant submits that any such movement of "nozzles 34 ... closer and further from one another" in De Chirico does not correspond to and does not teach "at least one nozzle ... mobile between a protruding position and a recessed position" as required by amended independent claim 1. That is, it is clear by comparing Figures 7A and 7B in De Chirico that the angle (3 of the nozzles is changed with the result that the "bottom end parts of the nozzles 34" are closer to each other in Figure 7A and farther from each other in Figure 7B, with no change in the "protrusion" or "recession" of any of the nozzles 34 relative to tool-carrier frame 30, duct 12e, or element 12. By contrast, amended independent claim 1 requires that "at least one nozzle of said set of nozzles of the laser head is mobile between a protruding position and a recessed position". For example, this is illustrated in Figure 5A of the instant application, which shows nozzle 44 in a protruding position through solid lines (with nozzle 44 extended beyond output hole 70), and which shows nozzle 44 in a recessed position through dashed lines (with nozzle 44 far back of output hole 70 and recessed into guide 464 and central body (recess cavity) 50a) (see also p. 32, lines 11-15)” (Page 9 of applicant’s remarks filed 11/07/2025). While the applicant refers to their own figures, and further refers to the protrusion and recession in reference to the element, tool-carrier frame, and duct, there is no corresponding limitations present in the claims. The claims provide not structural difference for the two positions other than descriptive terms of protruding and recessed. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the claims are not limited merely to the protruding and recessing manner which the applicant describes in their specifications and figures. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it reasonable to interpret the protruding and recessed positions to be the positions shown in Figures 7A and 7B of DE CHIRICO wherein the extension to which the nozzles protrude vertically changes based on the angle change caused by movement of the second frame. If the applicant wishes for the claims to be interpreted in the manner as argued, the Office recommends further narrowing the claim language such as to specify structure which defines or relates the two positions, such as indicating vertical movement or movement along the axis of the nozzle.
Applicant further argues that “Applicant submits that there are no such "recess position gaps" in second frame 31 of De Chirico; the terms "recess position gap", "recess", and "gap" are not in De Chirico. Instead, De Chirico indicates that second frame 31 has notches 38 with pins 36, and that a pin 36 engages a slot 37 of a nozzle 34. De Chirico does not teach or suggest that second frame 31 can "house" a nozzle 34” (Page 9 of applicant’s remarks filed 11/07/2025). As the applicant states, DE CHIRICO teaches that second frame has notches within pins that engage the slot of the nozzles. Dictionary.com teaches that the normal definition of the verb usage of the term house is “to provide storage space for; be a receptacle for or repository of”. In this case, the notches and pins of De Chirico clearly provide a receptacle and storage place for the nozzles and thus can reasonably be considered to house the nozzles during operation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 9-10, 12, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MURATANI (US 20190111517 A1) in view of DE CHIRICO (WO 2018069808 A1).
Regarding claim 1, MURATANI (US 20190111517 A1) teaches a laser-processing apparatus, comprising:
- at least two laser sources (Figure 13, optical fibers 13 and 13a), which are different from one another and are configured for supplying respective laser beams having wavelengths different from one another (Figure 15 Paragraphs 136-137, laser beams with different wavelengths are applied from the different optical fibers),
- a laser head, which can be operated as an end tool of a laser machine tool that can be configured for carrying out at least one type of laser processing operation that can be selected from a set of types of laser processing operations (Paragraphs 123-123, housing 6 is used to house the lens and optical fibers which are used for carrying out the laser processing operation; Paragraph 157, condensation control method selected by the control member);
- a set of orientable optical components (condenser lens 3 and collimator 2) so as to provide a set of selectable optical paths for directing a laser beam supplied by a laser source of said at least two laser sources (Paragraph 159, control member drives the collimator lens such as to control the condensing angle of the laser beam); and
- a control unit coupled to said at least two laser sources, to said set of orientable optical components, and to said laser head and configured for controlling said at least two laser sources (Paragraph 159, control member drives the optical fibers 1), said set of orientable optical components (Paragraph 159, control member drives the collimator lens such as to control the condensing angle of the laser beam), and said laser head (Paragraphs 105 and 196, multi-axis robot is controlled and programmed) according to the type of laser processing operation selected from said set of types of laser processing operations so as to carry out the type of laser processing operation selected (Paragraph 167, various types of controls are executed; Paragraph 196, programmed operation can be realized through use of a robot), so as to supply and direct a laser beam associated to the respective type of processing operation onto a region of a work surface (Figure 1 Paragraph 111, laser beam L is applied to the base material BM; Paragraph 172, welding spot on the base material is irritated), said laser-processing apparatus being characterized in that:
said laser head comprises a set of nozzles configured for directing at least one processing material onto said region of a work surface (Figure 1 Paragraphs 110-111, molten material is supplied from a nozzle 4 onto the base material BM), said set of nozzles comprising at least one nozzle configured for directing jets of powder of at least one material (Paragraph 26, powder material such as metal or wire is used as molten material), as well as comprising at least one of the following:
a) a first nozzle configured for directing a metal wire onto said region of a work surface;
b) a second nozzle configured for directing an assist gas onto said region of a work surface (Figure 7A Paragraph 183, supply nozzle 8 comprises a converging gas supply means for supplying shielding gas 11 onto the base material BM), and
wherein said at least one control unit is coupled to said set of nozzles and is configured for controlling at least one nozzle of said set of nozzles according to the associated and selected type of laser processing operation of said set of types of laser processing operations (Paragraph 119, supply nozzle 4 includes a supply nozzle control means and a converging gas supply means to control injection amount of the molten material and gas respectively) so as to control said at least one nozzle so that it will direct respective processing materials onto said region of a work surface simultaneously with the direction of said laser beam associated to the type of laser processing operation selected onto said region of said work surface (Figures 1 and 7a, gas and molten material are delivered in the same direction as the laser beam; Paragraph 170, control member makes adjustments to the molten material input position during the laser processing; Paragraph 19, laser machining apparatus which can carry out various types of laser machining).
While MURATANI does not explicitly teach that the various controls of the apparatus are all performed by a single control unit, the use of a singular control unit which contains the functionality of a plurality of controllers to control the various components of the apparatus is well known in the art as evidenced by AKAHA (JP 3752112 B2).
MURATANI fails to teach:
- at least one nozzle of said set of nozzles of the laser head is mobile between a protruding position and a recessed position; and
- said laser head comprises:
i) a recess cavity for said nozzles configured for housing said nozzles in said recessed position; and
ii) a set of actuators coupled to said set of nozzles; and
- said control unit is coupled to said set of actuators and is configured for controlling said set of actuators to translate said nozzles between said protruding position and said recessed position according to the type of laser processing operation selected from the set of selectable types of laser processing operations.
DE CHIRICO (WO 2018069808 A1) teaches a laser operating machine for fusion of powder, comprising:
- at least one nozzle of said set of nozzles of the laser head is mobile between a protruding position and a recessed position (Figures 7A-7b Page 14 Line 26-Page 15 Line 26, bottom end parts of the nozzles 34 are moved closer and further from one another based on the movement of the second frame’s movement between a lowered and raised position); and
- said laser head comprises:
i) a recess cavity for said nozzles configured for housing said nozzles in said recessed position (Figure 5, recess position gaps in the perimeter of second frame 31 which are used to house the nozzles 34 in its raised position); and
ii) a set of actuators coupled to said set of nozzles (Page 14 Lines 10-25, motor-driven actuator moves the second frame with respect to the frame; Paragraph 46, each nozzle can have their own actuators for adjusting the angle of inclination); and
- said control unit is coupled to said set of actuator and is configured for controlling said set of actuators to translate said nozzles between said protruding position and said recessed position according to the type of laser processing operation selected from the set of selectable types of laser processing operations (Page 16 Lines 19-30, closed loop control of the height of the powder-deposition point is controlled with respect to a command by a program between the lowered and raised position).
The Office further notes that direct back and forth actuation of nozzles is known in the art as evidenced by Pratt (US 5245155 A).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MURATANI with DE CHIRICO and used a set of nozzles for directing jets of powder and are controlled such as to direct processing material onto a region of the work surface to control the deposition of the powder spot. This would have been done such that the laser operating machine is able to operate in a mobile way thanks to the fact that the powder-emission nozzles are mobile with respect to the optical laser assembly (DE CHIRICO Page 26 Lines 6-15).
Regarding claim 2, MURATANI as modified teaches the laser-processing apparatus (10) according to claim 1, wherein:
- said set of selectable optical paths comprises at least two optical paths for supplying a first laser beam from a first laser source to said laser head (Paragraph 159, the condensing angle of the laser beam L1 is adjusted by controlling the relative distance of the optical fiber to the axis of the condenser lens by synchronously driving the optical fiber 1 and the control member 8 of the collimator lens 2); and/or
- at least two processing operations, in said set of types of laser processing operations are associated to at least one respective nozzle of the set of nozzles (Paragraphs 59-60, converged region of the molten metal can be adjusted corresponding to the position, angle, and adjustment of the laser beam; Figures 12-13, multiple embodiments of laser processing operations).
Regarding claim 7, MURATANI as modified teaches the laser-processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein:
- in said second orientation said nozzle is parallel with respect to said optical axis (Paragraph 159, fiber 1 and collimator 2 are arranged in parallel with the powder supply nozzle and moved in parallel).
DE CHIRICO further teaches:
wherein said set of nozzles comprises at least one nozzle that can be articulated about an articulated joint of its own (Page 14 Line 26-Page 15 Line 34, just the frame is present which causes rotation via actuators tangential to the perimeter of the frame 30 so that the nozzles 34 rotate only about the axis of the pins 35) and an electrical cable coupled to said articulated joint of its own and to said control unit (Page 20 Lines 5 – Page 21 Line 7, numeric-control unit for managing control of the actuators; Paragraph 53, closed loop control is used to vary the height of the powder-deposition point and the shape of the powder spot by inclining the nozzles; Column 8 Lines 25-31, catenary comprises electrical control cables; closed loop control through a unit would require some sort of signal transfer between the actuators and the control unit which would be some sort of wire)1, wherein said control unit is configured for issuing a command to said at least one articulated nozzle for it to assume a first orientation when said nozzle is in said protruding position or a second orientation when said nozzle is in said recessed position (Page 14 Line 26-Page 15 Line 34, just the frame is present which causes rotation via actuators tangential to the perimeter of the frame 30 so that the nozzles 34 rotate only about the axis of the pins 35), wherein:
- in said first orientation said nozzle forms an angle with an optical axis with which said laser beam is directed towards said region of said work surface (Figure 5 Page 14 Line 26-Page 15 Line 26, the nozzles are adjusted between multiple angles during different orientations wherein in at least one orientation the nozzles are directed toward the region of the work surface) and
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MURATANI with DE CHIRICO and have the nozzles be articulated about a joint. This would have been done to anticipate a change of direction of fusion or avoid obstacles present in the working space (DE CHIRICO Paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 9, MURATANI as modified teaches the laser-processing apparatus (10) according to claim 1.
DE CHIRICO further teaches:
said set of nozzles comprises at least two nozzles configured for directing jets of powder of at least one material (Page 10 Lines 4-7, plurality of nozzles 34 for emitting powder), which are set facing one another (Figures 7A-7B, powder nozzles 34 are facing one another) and are controlled in a co-ordinated way by said control unit so as to direct at least one processing material onto said region of a work surface (Page 14 Line 26-Page 15 Line 26, jets of powder PJ meet in a powder-deposition point PD; Paragraph 30, working surface upon which powders are deposited and fusion is carried out) in such a way that it will have a uniform distribution (Page 14 Line 26-Page 15 Line 26, jets of powder PJ meet in a powder-deposition point PD such as to control the diameter of the powder spot; Paragraph 54, closed-loop control is used with respect the commands imparted by the program suck as to vary the shape of the powder spot and the vary the height of the deposition point).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MURATANI with DE CHIRICO and used a set of nozzles for directing jets of powder and are controlled such as to direct processing material onto a region of the work surface to control the deposition of the powder spot. This would have been done such that the laser operating machine is able to operate in a mobile way thanks to the fact that the powder-emission nozzles are mobile with respect to the optical laser assembly (DE CHIRICO Paragraph 82).
Regarding claim 10, MURATANI teaches the laser-processing apparatus (10) according to claim 9, wherein:
laser machining head irradiates the molten material which includes both metal powder and wire (Paragraph 194)
DE CHIRICO further teaches:
a first nozzle, said second nozzle, and said at least two nozzles (Page 10 Lines 4-7, plurality of nozzles 34 for emitting powder), which are configured for directing jets of powder of at least one material (Page 10 Lines 4-7, plurality of nozzles 34 for emitting powder), and are set facing one another (Figures 7A-7B, powder nozzles 34 are facing one another) in said set of nozzles are assembled in a supporting structure in the laser head so as to form the vertices of an equilateral rhombus having its centre corresponding to an output hole of the laser beam so as to reduce the encumbrance in space of the nozzles of the set of nozzles, without obstructing the path of the laser beam leaving said laser head (Figures 6-7, nozzles are formed in a equilateral rhombus having its center corresponding to the output hole of a laser beam which does not obstruct the path of the laser beam).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 9.
Regarding claim 12, MURATANI teaches the laser-processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein:
said set of types of laser processing operations comprises at least two types of laser processing operations (Paragraphs 123-123, housing 6 is used to house the lens and optical fibers which are used for carrying out the laser processing operation; Paragraph 157, condensation control method selected by the control member),
and at least one of the following:
- direct-deposition additive manufacturing, which uses a second type of processing material in the form of powder different from the first;
- ablation;
-wire welding (Paragraph 12, build-up welding; Paragraph 26, wire is used as the molten material);
-cladding;
- heat treatment; and
-laser cutting
DE CHIRICO further teaches:
comprising direct-deposition additive manufacturing with a first type of processing material in the form of powder (Page 1 Lines 7-23, additive manufacture of objects via a process of laser thermal treatment of metal powders)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MURATANI with DE CHIRICO and have the laser processing also be capable of direct-deposition additive manufacturing. This would have been done to facilitate the additive manufacture of objects via a laser thermal treatment of metal powders (DE CHIRICO Paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 15, MURATANI as modified teaches a laser-processing method, comprising:
the laser-processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above); and
- controlling said set of nozzles so that they will direct at least one processing material onto said region of a work surface (Paragraph 59, supply nozzle injection control means for controlling the injection of the molten material), selecting, via said control unit, at least one nozzle of said set of nozzles according to the associated and selected type of laser processing operation of said set of types of laser processing operations, for directing a respective processing material onto said region of a work surface simultaneously with direction of said laser beam associated to the type of laser processing operation selected onto said region of said work surface (Paragraph 119, supply nozzle injection control means for controlling the injection of the molten material; Figure 3 Paragraph 139, making the supply nozzle 4 movable such as to control the injection of the molten material without changing the condensing angle of the laser beam such that the build-up welding is carried out while the molten material is melted stably in the direction of the laser beam; Paragraph 153, control member 8C controls the movement of the supply nozzle).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MURATANI (US 20190111517 A1) in view of DE CHIRICO (WO 2018069808 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Bruck (US 20160346875 A1).
Regarding claim 3, MURATANI as modified teaches the laser-processing apparatus (10) according to claim 2, wherein:
at least one portion of at least one of said at least two optical paths for supplying said first laser beam from said first laser source to said laser head comprises an optical fiber (Paragraph 27, plurality of optical fibers are used to project a plurality of laser beams)
MURATANI fails to teach:
at least one portion of at least one of said at least two optical paths for supplying said first laser beam from said first laser source to said laser head comprises a stretch of multi-clad optical fibre, which comprises a light-guide core surrounded by at least one further layer of light-guide cladding around said light-guide core, and wherein said at least one of said at least two optical paths for supplying said first laser beam from said first laser source to said laser head comprises an optical switch configured for directing said first laser beam, alternatively, into the core or into the at least one further layer of light-guide cladding of said multi-clad optical fibre.
Bruck (US 20160346875 A1) teaches a laser waveguide for laser welding, comprising:
at least one portion of at least one of said at least two optical paths for supplying said first laser beam from said first laser source to said laser head comprises a stretch of multi-clad optical fibre (Figures 5 and 9 Paragraph 17, tubular waveguides deliver the laser beam from the laser source to the waveguide laser head including the convex lens 34; Paragraph 26 optical fiber is a double-clad fiber), which comprises a light-guide core surrounded by at least one further layer of light-guide cladding around said light-guide core (Figure 11 Paragraph 26, double-clad fiber laser embodiment with a core and two layers of cladding surrounding the core), and wherein said at least one of said at least two optical paths for supplying said first laser beam from said first laser source to said laser head comprises an optical switch configured for directing said first laser beam (Paragraph 18, prism or mirror for redirect the approaching laser beam toward the acceptance angle; Figure 5 Paragraph 20, lens array 62 are used to direct and focus the beam to the core of each fiber), alternatively, into the core (Figure 5 Paragraph 20, lens array 62 are used to direct and focus the beam to the core of each fiber) or into the at least one further layer of light-guide cladding of said multi-clad optical fibre.
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MURATANI with Bruck and used a multi-clad optical fiber for delivering the lasers to the laser head as well as using an optical switch for directing the laser beam into the core. This would have been done to internally reflect the pumping beam toward the core and to focus the beam into the core of each fiber (Bruck Paragraphs 26 and 20).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MURATANI (US 20190111517 A1) in view of DE CHIRICO (WO 2018069808 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of ZHANG (US 20180187640 A1).
Regarding claim 4, MURATANI as modified teaches the laser-processing apparatus (10) according to claim 1.
MURATANI fails to teach:
at least one beam-shaping diffractive lens configured for varying a mode of the laser beam, i.e., configured for varying selectively a power distribution of the laser beam directed onto the region of the work surface.
ZHANG (US 20180187640 A1) teaches a method for laser welding, wherein:
at least one beam-shaping diffractive lens configured for varying a mode of the laser beam, i.e., configured for varying selectively a power distribution of the laser beam directed onto the region of the work surface (Paragraphs 70-71, diffraction type conversion lens is used for convert the laser beam into a linear beam and to change the beam shape).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MURATANI with ZHANG and have at least one beam-shaping diffractive lens. This would have been done to vary the shape of the irradiation area on the surface of the workpiece (ZHANG Paragraph 46).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MURATANI (US 20190111517 A1) in view of DE CHIRICO (WO 2018069808 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Vietz (US 20070119829 A1) and LUPP (WO 2017001098 A1).
Regarding claim 5, MURATANI as modified teaches the laser-processing apparatus according to claim 1.
wherein said at least two laser sources different from one another (Figure 15 Paragraphs 136-137, laser beams with different wavelengths are applied from the different optical fibers with one wavelength being a long wavelength and one wavelength being a short wavelength)
MURATANI fails to teach:
- a first laser source configured for supplying a first laser beam having a first wavelength of 1070 nm; and
- a second laser source configured for supplying a second laser beam having a second wavelength of 532nm.
Vietz (US 20070119829 A1) teaches an orbital welding device, wherein:
a first laser source configured for supplying a first laser beam having a first wavelength of 1070 nm (Paragraph 35, high-power fibre laser beam source with a wavelength of 1.07um); and
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MURATANI with Vietz and have a first laser source configured to supply a long wavelength laser beam at a wavelength of 1070nm. This would have been done as this wavelength is known in the art to be a high efficiency wavelength (Vietz Paragraph 35).
MURATANI modified with Vietz fails to teach:
- a second laser source configured for supplying a second laser beam having a second wavelength of 532nm.
LUPP (WO 2017001098 A1) teaches an apparatus for powder-based build-up welding, wherein:
- a second laser source configured for supplying a second laser beam having a second wavelength of 532nm (Paragraph 41, wavelength of 532nm for laser).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MURATANI with LUPP and have a second laser source configured to supply a laser beam at 532 nm. This is a wavelength which is an effective laser beam absorption range for specific types of metals and would have been obvious to use as the short wavelength laser (LUPP Paragraph 41).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MURATANI (US 20190111517 A1) in view of DE CHIRICO (WO 2018069808 A1) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Menin (US 20020130111 A1).
Regarding claim 8, MURATANI as modified teaches the laser-processing apparatus (10) according to claim 7.
MURATANI fails to teach:
said at least one articulated nozzle comprises a shape-memory material at said articulated joint, said shape-memory material being configured for assuming alternatively a first shape or a second shape, as a function of a current applied to said articulated joint via said electrical cable.
Menin (US 20020130111 A1) teaches a method and system for laser welding, wherein:
said at least one articulated nozzle comprises a shape-memory material at said articulated joint (Paragraphs 25-27, actuating means may comprise a shape memory alloy), said shape-memory material being configured for assuming alternatively a first shape or a second shape, as a function of a current applied to said articulated joint via said electrical cable (supplying current such as to cause the joint to bend is a typical function of a shape memory alloy)2.
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MURATANI with DE CHIRICO and have the nozzles be articulated about a joint. This would have been done to anticipate a change of direction of fusion or avoid obstacles present in the working space (DE CHIRICO Paragraph 79).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MURATANI (US 20190111517 A1) in view of DE CHIRICO (WO 2018069808 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of SHIBAZAKI (US 20200108464 A1).
Regarding claim 11, MURATANI as modified teaches the laser-processing apparatus (10) according to claim 1, comprising:
a device for supplying a supporting gas (gas supply means 10)
said control unit being configured for controlling said supply device according to the associated and selected type of laser processing operation of said set of types of laser processing operations (Paragraph 186, converging gas injection control means for controlling the converging gas)
MURATANI fails to teach:
a device for supplying a supporting gas, said supply device being coupled to a terminal part of said laser head in such a way that said supporting gas comes out of an output hole of the laser beam, the output hole being located in said terminal part of the laser head, and wherein said at least one control unit is coupled to said supply device configured so as to supply said assist gas, said control unit being configured for controlling said supply device according to the associated and selected type of laser processing operation of said set of types of laser processing operations.
SHIBAZAKI (US 20200108464 A1) teaches a shaping system and shaping method, wherein:
a device for supplying a supporting gas (gas supply pipe 42), said supply device being coupled to a terminal part of said laser head (Figure 2 Paragraph 72, gas supply pipe is connected to a portion of the cover member 30 which is a terminal part of barrel 85) in such a way that said supporting gas comes out of an output hole of the laser beam, the output hole being located in said terminal part of the laser head (Paragraph 74, gas from the gas supply apparatus exists from outlet 30b of cover member 30), and wherein said at least one control unit is coupled to said supply device configured so as to supply said assist gas according to the associated and selected type of laser processing operation of said set of types of laser processing operations (Paragraph 98, gas supply apparatus 40 operates under the control of controller 600).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MURATANI with SHIBAZAKI and have the device supply a supporting gas such that a gas comes out of the output hole. This would have been done to direct and narrow the shape of the powder onto the point of the processing (SHIBAZAKI Paragraph 74).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MURATANI (US 20190111517 A1) in view of DE CHIRICO (WO 2018069808 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of REITEMEYER (US 20100276403 A1).
Regarding claim 13, MURATANI as modified teaches the laser-processing apparatus (10) according to claim 1.
MURATANI fails to teach:
a dichroic optical element and an optical sensor, which are set along a common stretch of said selectable optical paths, wherein: i) said dichroic optical element is configured for deviating a portion of said laser beam that propagates in said common stretch towards said optical sensor; and ii) said optical sensor is configured for detecting said portion of laser beam deviated by said dichroic optical element and for supplying the control unit with a signal representing measurements of parameters of said portion of laser beam; and iii) said a control unit is coupled to said optical sensor and is configured for controlling said laser sources and/or said orientable optical components as a function of said measurement signal supplied by said optical sensor.
REITEMEYER (US 20100276403 A1) teaches a laser machining head, comprising:
a dichroic optical element (beam splitter 3; Paragraph 4, dichromic mirror) and an optical sensor (Paragraph 38-42, sensor 13 detects the measuring portion of the laser beam which is a portion split off from the primary laser beam; Paragraph 41, sensor 13 is a ccd area sensor), which are set along a common stretch of said selectable optical paths (Figure 1, components are in a common stretch of optical path of the laser beam), wherein:
i) said dichroic optical element is configured for deviating a portion of said laser beam that propagates in said common stretch towards said optical sensor (Paragraph 38, beam splitter 3 devices the laser beam into a machining beam 9 and a measurement beam 10); and
ii) said optical sensor is configured for detecting said portion of laser beam deviated by said dichroic optical element (Paragraphs 39-42, sensor 13 detects the measuring beam 10) and for supplying the control unit with a signal representing measurements of parameters of said portion of laser beam (Paragraphs 40-42, sensor 13 is connected to an evaluation unit 14 that passes the process measurement signals on to a control and regulation device 15); and
iii) said a control unit is coupled to said optical sensor and is configured for controlling said laser sources and/or said orientable optical components as a function of said measurement signal (V) supplied by said optical sensor (Paragraph 40, sensor 13 is connected to an evaluation unit 14 that passes through the process measurement signals onto a control and regulation device 15 which is connected to a displacement device 16 which displaces the collimating lens 2).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MURATANI with REITEMEYER and have a control unit connect a sensor used to detect a deflected portion of the laser beam via a dichromic optical element. This would have been done to identify and correct an undesired shift in focus position (REITEMEYER Paragraph 42).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MURATANI (US 20190111517 A1) in view of DE CHIRICO (WO 2018069808 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of IWASE (US 20190030793 A1).
Regarding claim 14, MURATANI as modified teaches the laser-processing apparatus (10) according to claim 1.
MURATANI fails to teach:
at least one nozzle configured for directing jets of powder of at least one material comprises:
- an iris diaphragm, comprising a set of blades pivoted in a rotating ring; and
- an electric actuator coupled to said rotating ring and configured for turning said ring nut of the iris diaphragm;
- said control unit being coupled to said electric actuator, which is in turn coupled to said rotating ring, and being configured for controlling said electric actuator so as to vary an area of an aperture section of said at least one nozzle in a direction transverse to a direction of emission of said jets of powder so as to vary a flow rate of said jets of powder.
IWASE (US 20190030793 A1) teaches a printing device, wherein:
at least one nozzle configured for directing jets of powder of at least one material (powder supply member 70) comprises:
- an iris diaphragm (rotary valves 73), comprising a set of blades pivoted in a rotating ring (Paragraph 70, blades of the rotary valves inscribe the cylindrical portion of the storage tank 71 of the powder supply member 70); and
- an electric actuator coupled to said rotating ring and configured for turning said ring nut of the iris diaphragm (Paragraph 70, plurality of rotary valves is connected with supply motor such that the supply motor);
- said control unit being coupled to said electric actuator (Paragraph 70, supply motors are electrically connected with the controller), which is in turn coupled to said rotating ring (Paragraph 70, supply motors are connected with the rotary valves), and being configured for controlling said electric actuator so as to vary an area of an aperture section of said at least one nozzle in a direction transverse to a direction of emission of said jets of powder so as to vary a flow rate of said jets of powder (Paragraphs 72-73, rotary valves are used to control the delivery of the powder material).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MURATANI with IWASE and have the nozzles contain rotary valves. This would have been done supply the correct amount of powder calculated by the supply amount processor (IWASE Paragraph 73).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MURATANI (US 20190111517 A1) in view of DE CHIRICO (WO 2018069808 A1) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of ALBERT (US 20170259373 A1).
Regarding claim 16, MURATANI as modified teaches the laser-processing apparatus (10) according to claim 15, comprising:
- a parameter for activation of emission of at least one nozzle of said set of nozzles (40, 42, 44, 46) (Paragraph 119, supply nozzle 4 includes a supply nozzle control means and a converging gas supply means to control injection amount of the molten material and gas respectively).
MURATANI fails to teach:
- providing said control unit with a look-up table with which to associate a set of parameters to each type of laser processing operation that can be selected from said set of types of laser processing operations, the set of parameters comprising:
- a state of power supply of at least one laser source of said at least two laser sources (12, 14), which are different from one another and are configured for supplying respective laser beams having wavelengths different from one another; and
- an orientation of at least one orientable optical component of said set of orientable optical components (16); and
ALBERT (US 20170259373 A1) teaches a method and apparatus for laser welding, comprising:
- providing said control unit with a look-up table with which to associate a set of parameters to each type of laser processing operation that can be selected from said set of types of laser processing operations (Paragraph 40, determination of the set-point process parameter according to the method can be carried out by means of the evaluation unit on the basis of a database in the form of a so-called “look-up table” in which, for a plurality of input parameter combinations, corresponding process parameter, which for example have been empirically determined, are stored; Paragraph 32, evaluation unit gathers measurements by means of the sensor system which determines the type of processing operation to be performed), the set of parameters comprising:
- a state of power supply of at least one laser source of said at least two laser sources (12, 14), which are different from one another and are configured for supplying respective laser beams having wavelengths different from one another (Paragraph 33, power control of the laser is performed); and
- an orientation of at least one orientable optical component of said set of orientable optical components (16) (Paragraph 24, process parameters include angle of incidence of the laser beam)3;
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MURATANI with ALBERT and have the control unit control the processes of the welding apparatus by means of a lookup table. This would have been done to such that the selection of the process parameter to be applied can be carried out automatically by the evaluation and control unit (ALBERT Paragraph 40).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MURATANI (US 20190111517 A1) in view of DE CHIRICO (WO 2018069808 A1) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of DE CHIRICO (WO 2018069808 A1) and ALBERT (US 20170259373 A1).
Regarding claim 17, MURATANI as modified teaches the laser-processing apparatus (10) according to claim 15.
MURATANI fails to teach:
- providing said control unit with a look-up table with which to associate, to each type of laser processing operation that can be selected from said set of types of laser processing operations, at least one further parameter from between:
- a position between retracted and protruding of one or more nozzles of said set of nozzles; and
- an orientation of one or more nozzles of said set of nozzles.
DE CHIRICO (WO 2018069808 A1) teaches a laser operating machine for fusion of powder, comprising:
controlling
- a position between retracted and protruding of one or more nozzles of said set of nozzles (Figures 7A-7b Page 14 Line 26-Page 15 Line 26, bottom end parts of the nozzles 34 are moved closer and further from one another based on the movement of the second frame’s movement between a lowered and raised position); and
- an orientation of one or more nozzles of said set of nozzles (Page 14 Line 26-Page 15 Line 26, the frame moving from a lowered to a raised position changes the angle of inclination).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MURATANI with DE CHIRICO and used a set of nozzles for directing jets of powder and are controlled such as to direct processing material onto a region of the work surface to control the deposition of the powder spot. This would have been done such that the laser operating machine is able to operate in a mobile way thanks to the fact that the powder-emission nozzles are mobile with respect to the optical laser assembly (DE CHIRICO Paragraph 82).
MURATANI fails to teach:
- providing said control unit with a look-up table with which to associate, to each type of laser processing operation that can be selected from said set of types of laser processing operations
ALBERT (US 20170259373 A1) teaches a method and apparatus for laser welding, comprising:
- providing said control unit with a look-up table with which to associate, to each type of laser processing operation that can be selected from said set of types of laser processing operations (Paragraph 40, determination of the set-point process parameter according to the method can be carried out by means of the evaluation unit on the basis of a database in the form of a so-called “look-up table” in which, for a plurality of input parameter combinations, corresponding process parameter, which for example have been empirically determined, are stored; Paragraph 32, evaluation unit gathers measurements by means of the sensor system which determines the type of processing operation to be performed)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MURATANI with ALBERT and have the control unit control the processes of the welding apparatus by means of a lookup table. This would have been done to such that the selection of the process parameter to be applied can be carried out automatically by the evaluation and control unit (ALBERT Paragraph 40).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761
1 The Office notes that use of an electrical cable to connect a signal from a signal processer to an actuator is well known in the art as evidenced by Paragraph 30 of Mayer (US 20020108939 A1).
2 The Office notes that supplying current such as to cause the joint to bend as a typical function of a shape memory alloy is well known as evidenced by Column 3 Lines 15-20 of Jacobsen (US 5481184 A).
3 The Office further notes that control of powder delivery by means of a lookup table is known in the art as evidenced by CLARK (US 20110253680 A1).