DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 05/21/2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-16 is/are pending in this application and examined herein. Claim(s) 1 and 16 is/are amended. Claim(s) 13 is/are cancelled.
The rejection(s) under 35 USC 112(a) to claim(s) 2 and 16 is/are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s remarks regarding claim 2.
The rejection(s) under 35 USC 112(b) to claim(s) 16 is/are withdrawn in view of the amendments to claim(s) 16.
The rejection(s) under 35 USC 112(a) to claim(s) 3 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 3 recites “wherein the inlet segment and the outlet segment each have a semi-circular cross-sectional shape around the rotating shaft” in lines 2-3. While the instant drawings depict in Fig. 2 annular sectors that do not extend to be ½ of the area of a circle (i.e., a semicircle), with respect to angle or distance from the center of the circle, therefore the instant specification does not disclose a semi-circular cross-sectional shape around the rotating shaft, and therefore does not describe the claimed invention in a manner understandable to a person of ordinary skill in the art in a way that shows that the inventor invented the claimed invention at the time of filing. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, 9, 11-12, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bosswell et al. (US 5067554 A, cited in Office Action dated 09/30/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Bosswell teaches a centrifugal melt extraction apparatus (Claim 6, Fig. 1-4); as the apparatus produces mineral powder, it may be considered an “atomization device” in accord with the instant claims. Bosswell teaches the device comprises a motor rotatably driving a spinning disc 15 by means of a rotating shaft 18 (Col. 3 line 28, Fig. 2-3) and a mandrel 20 (i.e., a static base) around the rotating shaft 18 (Col. 3 lines 28-30, Fig. 3). Bosswell teaches a bearing surface 19 (i.e., “at least one bearing”) placed between the rotating shaft and the static base (Col. 3 lines 28-30, Fig. 3).
Bosswell teaches a mandrel 20 (analogous to a static base) with a chamber 24 into which cooling water is circulated (i.e., a cooling circuit) for cooling the spinning disc 15 (Col. 3 lines 30-39, Fig. 2-3). Bosswell teaches the cooling circuit comprises an inlet channel 25 within the static base 20 (Col. 3 lines 34-36, Fig. 2-3) which cools the disc 15 (i.e., is configured to deliver liquid coolant to the spinning disc (Col. 3 lines 45-48). Bosswell teaches the inlet channel comprising an inlet segment which is parallel to the rotating shaft 18 (Fig. 3), and an outlet channel 26 within the static base 20 and configured to remove the liquid coolant (Fig. 3, Col. 3 lines 34-37), the outlet channel comprising an outlet segment which is parallel to the rotating shaft 18 (Fig. 3). Bosswell teaches wherein a first end of the inlet segment 25 and a first end of the outlet segment 26 are on a face of the static base 20, which is adjacent to inner portion of the cylinder 21 of the disc 15 (Col. 3 lines 30-34, Fig. 3), where the inner portion of the cylinder of the disc rotates (Col. 3 lines 31-32) (i.e., wherein the face is adjacent to the spinning disc).
Claim(s) 4, 6-7, 9, 11-12, and 15-16 remain(s) rejected as set forth in the Office Action dated 11/21/2025. Claim(s) 4, 7, 9, 11-12, and 15-16 has/have not been amended since that time. Therefore, the previously presented grounds of rejection set forth how the prior art teaches or suggests all of the limitations of the claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosswell.
Claim(s) 2-3 and 8 remain(s) rejected as set forth in the Office Action dated 11/21/2025. Claim(s) 2-3 and 8 has/have not been amended since that time. Therefore, the previously presented grounds of rejection set forth how the prior art teaches or suggests all of the limitations of the claim(s).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosswell as applied to claim 4 under 35 USC 102 above, further in view of Singer (US 4515864 A, cited in Office Action dated 09/30/2024).
Claim(s) 5 remain(s) rejected as set forth in the Office Action dated 11/21/2025. Claim(s) 5 has/have not been amended since that time. Therefore, the previously presented grounds of rejection set forth how the prior art teaches or suggests all of the limitations of the claim(s).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosswell as applied to claim 1 under 35 USC 102 above, further in view of Metcalfe et al. (US 4178335 A, cited in Office Action dated 09/30/2024).
Claim(s) 10 remain(s) rejected as set forth in the Office Action dated 11/21/2025. Claim(s) 10 has/have not been amended since that time. Therefore, the previously presented grounds of rejection set forth how the prior art teaches or suggests all of the limitations of the claim(s).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosswell as applied to claim 1 under 35 USC 102 above, further in view of BAC (“Closing the Loop What’s best for your system?”, supplied with Office Action dated 09/30/2024).
Claim(s) 14 remain(s) rejected as set forth in the Office Action dated 11/21/2025. Claim(s) 14 has/have not been amended since that time. Therefore, the previously presented grounds of rejection set forth how the prior art teaches or suggests all of the limitations of the claim(s).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered with the following effect:
Regarding Applicant’s argument that the rejection of claim 3 under 35 USC 112(a) should be withdrawn, as the instant drawings allegedly depict a “semi-circular” cross-section, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
While as Applicant notes, the instant specification does disclose a cross section with some curvature which extends from a distance along a smaller inner radius of a circle from the center of the face of the base to a larger outer radius of a circle from the same center, the disclosed shape is inconsistent with that of a true semi-circle, nor do the portions approximate a semi-circle as the cross section neither extends to 180° or the entire distance from the center to the outside radius. Applicant’s disclosure instead at best appears to support a pair of annular sectors, therefore the rejection of claim 3 as failing to comply with the written description requirement is maintained.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Bosswell does not teach a face immediately adjacent to the lower surface of the disk (see pg. 8-9 of remarks), the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Bosswell teaches wherein a first end of the inlet segment 25 and a first end of the outlet segment 26 are on a face of the static base 20, which is adjacent to inner portion of the cylinder 21 of the disc 15 (Col. 3 lines 30-34, Fig. 3), where the inner portion of the cylinder of the disc rotates (Col. 3 lines 31-32) (i.e., wherein the face is adjacent to the spinning disc). Therefore, while the openings of the ducts are on the side of a mandrel, they are adjacent to the spinning disc, which makes up the left, upper, and lower surfaces of the compartment 24 into which the cooling liquid is circulated through.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that orthogonal portions, specific cross-sectional shapes, and a single-part construction are not mere obvious design choices, as they are designed to minimize misalignments and vibrations at high rotational speeds (see pg. 9-10 of remarks), the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
While as Applicant notes, the invention according to the instant specification minimizes unwanted misalignments and vibrations in the assembly, the instant specification attributes this solely to the use of a single-part construction (instant specification: pg. 4 lines 18—20), and therefore does not relate to orthogonal portions or specific cross-sectional shapes. While the instant specification does disclose such benefits as arising from the use of a single-part construction, the use of a single-part construction is prima facie obvious irrespective of expected advantages, as such is merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. Further, such advantages (that reducing the number of parts would eliminate vibrations or misalignments as they are no longer distinct parts which can have vibrations or misalignments between them) would be recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, and thus cannot form the basis of e.g., an unexpected result of using a single-part construction.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/NIKOLAS TAKUYA PULLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1733