DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This action is in response to the amendment dated 3/16/2026 that was entered with the submission of the request for continued examination dated 3/16/2026. Claims 1-12 have been canceled. Claim 13 is currently amended. No claims are newly added. Presently, claims 13-28 are pending. Claims 17-26 are withdrawn in light of the election of Species I on 10/8/2024.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the Claim Rejections – 35 USC 103 section on pages 5-7 of the response dated 3/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 13-16 and 27 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over France (US 20090260695) in view of Bespalov (US 20140102721) have been fully considered and are persuasive. It is considered that the amendments to claim 13 overcomes the rejection of record as provided in the Office action dated 9/17/2025. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the newly applied reference to Smith et al. (US 3791447) and a new interpretation of Bespalov (US 20140102721).
It is considered that Smith et al. (US 3791447) addresses applicant’s concerns and claim language relating to a support structure (20) supporting a tube (18) from underneath such that the tube (18) is arranged on the support structure and the support structure is arranged to support the tube (18) inclined from horizontal.
Further, it is considered that a new interpretation of Bespalov et al. (US 20140102721) addresses applicant’s concerns and claim language relating to the annular BOP valve at the first end of the robot-launching tube.
The Bespalov et al. reference teaches a cable injector including a tube (see “tube” in the annotated figure 5B below) wherein the tube includes a ram-type BOP valve (38) at one end and an annular BOP valve (265) at a first end of the tube such that the annular BOP valve is configured to restrict ascending flow (see paragraph [0063]).
Therefore, it is considered that the narrowing of the area in the Bespalov et al. reference that is considered the “tube” (see the annotated figure 5B above) addresses the claim language relating to the annular BOP valve (265) at the first end of the robot-launching tube.
Since new grounds of rejection were necessitated by applicant’s amendment that was entered with the submission of the request for continued examination, the instant Office action is made non-final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-16 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over France et al. (US 20090260695) in view of Bespalov et al. (US 20140102721) and in view of Smith et al. (US 3791447).
Regarding claim 13, the France et al. reference discloses a system for launching equipment, comprising:
a launching tube (see “tube” in the annotated figure 3 below);
a support structure (9, 10) supporting the tube from underneath (see figure 3), the support structure arranged to support the tube inclined from horizontal;
a dynamic seal (19 at a first end of the tube and sealed over an umbilical cable (20);
a ram-type blowout preventer valve (13; the shear seal 13 is similar to a blow out preventer (see paragraph [0024]) at a second end of the tube configured to restrict the ascending flow and having an opening that is sufficient to allow passage of an object (see paragraph [0043]), wherein the ram-type BOP valve is sealed over the umbilical cable (it is considered that the ram-type BOP valve 13 prevents a fluid from inside the tube to outside the tube when the cable 20 is provided through the tube and ram-type BOP valve).
Firstly, the France et al. reference does not disclose an annular BOP valve at the first end of the robot-launching tube and configured to restrict ascending flow.
However, the Bespalov et al. reference teaches a cable injector including a tube (see “tube” in the annotated figure 5B below) wherein the tube includes a ram-type BOP valve (38) at one end and an annular BOP valve (265) at a first end of the tube such that the annular BOP valve is configured to restrict ascending flow (see paragraph [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the system of the France et al. reference with an annular BOP valve at the first end of the robot-launching tube as taught by the Bespalov et al. reference in order to provide an additional sealing arrangement to restrict a fluid flow through the tube so that leakages are reduced.
Secondly, the France et al. reference of the combination of the France et al. reference and the Bespalov et al. reference does not disclose wherein the support structure is arranged such that the robot-launching tube is arranged on the support structure.
However, the Smith et al. reference teaches an arrangement for guiding a pipe (33) into a tube (18) wherein the tube (18) is supported by a support structure (20) such that the tube (18) is arranged on the support structure (see figure 1) and the support structure (20) is arranged to support the tube (18) inclined from horizontal (see figure 1) wherein the support structure (20) provides support for the tube (18) on the ground (col. 2, lines 30-32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to design the support structure of the France et al. reference of the combination of the France et al. reference and the Bespalov et al. reference as having a robust support structure such that the robot-launching tube is arranged on the support structure as taught by the Smith et al. reference in order to provide additional support of the robot-launching tube on the ground.
In regards to claim 14, the France et al. reference of the combination of the France et al. reference, the Bespalov et al. reference and the Smith et al. reference discloses wherein the dynamic seal (France et al.: 19) is detachable (it is considered that one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to remove/detach the components at least when disassembling the system).
In regards to claim 15, the France et al. reference of the combination of the France et al. reference, the Bespalov et al. reference and the Smith et al. reference discloses wherein the dynamic seal (France et al.: 19) is detachable by disassembly (it is considered that one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to remove/detach the components at least when disassembling the system).
In regards to claim 16, the France et al. reference of the combination of the France et al. reference, the Bespalov et al. reference and the Smith et al. reference discloses wherein the dynamic seal (France et al.: 19) is detachable by opening to introduce the robot or connection of the umbilical cable (France et al.: 20) (France et al.: it is considered that the cable 20 is able to be introduced through the dynamic seal 19 into the tube; further, it is considered that one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to remove/detach the components at least when disassembling the system).
In regards to claim 27, the France et al. reference of the combination of the France et al. reference, the Bespalov et al. reference and the Smith et al. reference discloses wherein the object to connected to the umbilical cable (France et al.: 20) is configured to be into a pipeline (France et al.: 4); and
the umbilical cable (France et al.: 20) extends from the object through the dynamic seal (France et al.: 19).
It is considered that the recitation of “configured to be inserted into a production well” is a recitation of the intended use of the robot / object.
A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of preforming the intended use, then it meets the claim.
In this case, it is considered that the object attached to the umbilical cable (France et al.: 20) is capable of being inserted into a production well.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over France et al. (US 20090260695) in view of Bespalov et al. (US 20140102721) in view of Smith et al. (US 3791447) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Kozisek (US 5769955).
In regards to claim 28, the France et al. reference of the combination of the France et al. reference, the Bespalov et al. reference and the Smith et al. reference does not disclose a storage and control module that stores the robot-launching tube and the support structure.
However, the Kozisek reference teaches a portable system for launching/catching pipeline pigs having a storage and control module (10) that stores a launching tube (11) and a support structure (24) in order to permit the use of a launcher to be moved between a plurality of sites (col. 1, line 66 to col. 2, line 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the system of the France et al. reference of the combination of the France et al. reference, the Bespalov et al. reference and the Smith et al. reference with a storage and control module that stores the robot-launching tube and the support structure as taught by the Kozisek reference in order to permit the use of the system to be moved between a plurality of sites.
Conclusion
/ANDREW J ROST/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/CRAIG M SCHNEIDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753