DETAILED ACTION
. Acknowledgment and entry of the Amendment submitted on 4/24/26 is made.
Claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 16, 22, 25, 28, 30, 35, 38, 48 and 130-132 (Species: S. epidermis and ovalbumin) are currently under examination.
Claims 41, 43, 51, 52, 78, 98 and 104 remain withdrawn from consideration for being drawn to a non-elected invention pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112-Scope of Enablement
Claims 1, 3, 6, 7,16, 18, 22, 25, 28, 30, 35, 38, 48 and 130-132 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for: a live recombinant S. epidermidis engineered to express PMEL antigen and recombinant S. epidermidis engineered to express OVA +/- luciferase and also wherein the condition is a cancer selected from melanoma, basal cell carcinoma and squamous cell carcinoma , does not reasonably provide enablement for claim 1 the full breadth of the claims which allow for any peptide/protein antigen for treating a vast number of completely different diseases and or/conditions. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Newly amended claim 1 recites:
1. (Currently Amended) A live, recombinant Staphylococcus epidermidis commensal bacterium, wherein the bacterium is engineered to express a protein antigen or peptide antigen, wherein the protein antigen or peptide antigen is associated with a host disease or condition, wherein upon administration of the bacterium to a mammalian host resulting in persistent or transient colonization of a native host niche by the bacterium, the host mounts an adaptive immune response to the protein antigen or peptide antigen, wherein the adaptive immune response is a regulatory T-cell (Treg) response or an effector T-cell response, wherein the naive host niche is skin or a nasal mucosa, and wherein the administration is topical or intranasal.
The claims recite a live, recombinant commensal S. epidermidis bacterium recombinantly expressing a non-native mammalian host protein with the intended use being: upon administration will result in Teff activation towards the mammalian host protein which will treat a very large laundry list of host diseases, conditions, autoimmune disorders with the use of a extremely large laundry list of peptides and proteins. The description provides in vivo data for recombinant bacteria expressing a self-antigen, which mounts a tolerogenic immune response via Treg cell induction. The only in vivo data was shown for recombinant bacteria expressing a non-mammalian antigen (OVA) and no T cell activation data was provided, neither for Treg nor for Teff cells. The objection being further corroborated by the fact that only a vague figure legend and no explication on the experimental design has been provided in the application. With respect to the administered bacteria to the mammalian host resulting in (...] colonization of a native host niche by the bacterium, the application does not sufficiently disclose the administration method which would in fact result in colonization as claimed. The application only shows oral inoculation with bacteria, or a topical application of bacteria on the skin - albeit in the latter case for a bacterium expressing a non-mammalian protein. However, no data was provided to show that these application methods in fact do result in the colonization of a host niche. The description only provides in vivo data for oral inoculation of mice with the gut-resident bacteria B. vulgatus and B. finegoldii (expressing a self-antigen) resulting in Treg cell induction. Hence, support and disclosure can only be acknowledged for the alleged Treg induction in the gut upon colonization with gut-resident commensal bacteria expressing a self-antigen derived from the host.
The only description and working examples for the use of S. epidermidis as the host commensal bacteria is in Figures 8-10 and paragraphs 42-44. These passages teach a S. epidermidis engineered to express PMEL antigen and recombinant S. epidermidis engineered to express OVA +/- luciferase either 2 week before or 1 week after subcutaneous or intraperitoneal injection of melanoma cells.
However, the ability of the bacterium to mount a regulatory response via colonization of any native host niche and the breadth of the peptides/proteins and host conditions/diseases/disorders as claimed is not supported and not sufficiently disclosed. The application does not provide any data on whether any other host niche would provide a suitable micro-environment to support Treg induction. Nor does it show whether any of the claimed bacterial species would support that process. It is noted that many of the proteins or peptides are unclear and the specification does not enable one skilled in the art to identify from the very long laundry list of peptides/proteins and host diseases and conditions, including hypothetical proteins (see claim 30, for example) without an actual structure or function recited in the specification.
Genentech Inc. v. Novo Nordisk A/S (CAFC) 42 USPQ2d 1001 clearly states: “Patent protection is granted in return for an enabling disclosure of an invention, not for vague intimations of general ideas that may or may not be workable. See Brenner v. Manson, 383 U.S. 519, 536, 148 USPQ 689, 696 (1966) (stating, in context of the utility requirement, that "a patent is not a hunting license. It is not a reward for the search, but compensation for its successful conclusion.") Tossing out the mere germ of an idea does not constitute enabling disclosure. While every aspect of a generic claim certainly need not have been carried out by an inventor, or exemplified in the specification, reasonable detail must be provided in order to enable members of the public to understand and carry out the invention.”
In conclusion, it would be an undue burden on the skilled person to test all possible variations mammalian proteins and niches in order to arrive at symbiotic bacteria having the desired properties and treatment of the vast number of different diseases and conditions in the dependent claims. The claims have thus not been sufficiently disclosed for the skilled person to carry out the invention over the entire scope without undue burden and inventive skill.
Response to Applicants’ arguments:
Applicants argue:
The claims recite what is demonstrated by the specification and the specification provides working examples demonstrating the fundamental mechanism of the claimed invention. FIG. 8 (paragraph [0042]) shows CD8+ and CD4+ T cell activation in vitro by recombinant S. epidermidis engineered to express OVA peptide. FIG. 9 (paragraph [0043]) shows CD8+ T cell activation in vitro by recombinant S. epidermidis engineered to express PMEL antigen. FIG. 10 (paragraph [0044]) shows in vivo tumor weight reduction in mice topically administered with recombinant S. epidermidis expressing OVA, both prophylactically (2 weeks before tumor injection) and therapeutically (1 week after tumor injection). Importantly, FIGS. 8-9 demonstrate that S. epidermidis can express different heterologous proteins (OVA and PMEL) and stimulate T cells against those different proteins. This demonstrates that the mechanism is not limited to a single antigen-the same fundamental platform (S. epidermidis expressing a heterologous antigen) activates T cells regardless of the specific antigen expressed. FIG. 10 demonstrates in vivo therapeutic efficacy via topical administration-the very route now recited in amended claim 1. The data show that topically administered S. epidermidis expressing OVA was effective in vivo to stimulate an immune response sufficient to reduce tumor weights. While OVA was used in the FIG. 10 experiment, there is no reason based on the data in the application or on the record to expect the method would not work using other antigens, given that FIGS. 8-9 demonstrate the same fundamental mechanism (T cell activation) works with different heterologous proteins expressed by S. epidermidis. The specification need not provide a working example for every possible antigen or disease to satisfy enablement. The specification provides reasonable detail enabling one skilled in the art to make and use the claimed invention. The specification describes: (i) how to engineer S. epidermidis to express heterologous antigens (paragraphs [0109]-[0111]); (ii) expression vectors and methods for cloning antigenic epitope coding sequences (paragraphs [0101]-[0108]); and (iii) methods for detecting T cell responses (paragraphs [0134]-[0141]). A person of ordinary skill in the art, armed with the specification's teachings
These arguments have been fully and carefully considered.
FIG. 8 relates to expression of ovalbumin in Staphylococcus epidermidis and its use in activation of T-cells; FIG. 9 relates to expression of the cancer antigen PMEL in Staphylococcus epidermidis and its use in activation of T-cells; and FIG. 10 shows that tumor weights can be reduced in vivo by triggering an immune response to the tumor using Staphylococcus epidermidis. The data presented in FIGS. 8-9 show CD8+ and CD4+ T cell activation in vitro, by recombinant Staphylococcus epidermidis engineered to express OVA peptide or PMEL antigen (e.g., a protein antigen or peptide antigen).
This is enabled, e.g., PMEL and OVA. However, the instant claims are very broad and they include the names of hundreds of diseases and conditions and peptides/proteins, some which haven’t even been characterized and are unclear, e.g., even hypothetical proteins are also included, and Applicants arguments are not commensurate in scope to the claimed invention.
See the instant claims:
Claim 27….wherein the host disease or condition is an autoimmune disorder selected from the group consisting of multiple sclerosis, diabetes mellitus Type |, rheumatoid arthritis, systemic lupus erythematosus, inflammatory bowel disease, celiac disease, Graves’ disease, Hashimoto’s autoimmune thyroiditis, vitiligo, rheumatic fever, pernicious anemia/atrophic gastritis, alopecia areata, immune thrombocytopenic purpura, temporal arteritis, ulcerative colitis, Crohn’s disease, scleroderma, antiphospholipid syndrome, autoimmune hepatitis type 1, primary biliary cirrhosis, Sjogren’s syndrome, Addison’s disease, dermatitis herpetiformis, Kawasaki disease, sympathetic ophthalmia, HLA-B27 associated acute anterior uveitis, primary sclerosing cholangitis, discoid lupus erythematosus, polyarteritis nodosa, CREST Syndrome, myasthenia gravis, polymyositis/dermatomyositis, Still’s disease, autoimmune hepatitis type 2, Wegener’s granulomatosis, mixed Connective tissue disease, microscopic polyangiitis, autoimmune polyglandular syndrome, Felty’s syndrome, autoimmune hemolytic anemia, chronic inflammatory demyelinating polyneuropathy, Guillain-Barre Syndrome, Behcet disease, autoimmune neutropenia, bullous pemphigoid, essential mixed cryoglobulinemia, linear morphea, autoimmune polyglandular syndrome 1 (APECED), acquired hemophilia A, Batten disease/neuronal ceroid lipofuscinoses, autoimmune pancreatitis, Hashimoto’s encephalopathy, Goodpasture’s disease, pemphigus vulgaris, autoimmune disseminated encephalomyelitis, relapsing polychondritis, Takayasu arteritis, Churg-Strauss syndrome, epidermolysis bullosa acquisita, cicatricial pemphigoid, pemphigus foliaceus, autoimmune hypoparathyroidism, autoimmune hypophysitis, autoimmune inner ear disease, autoimmune lymphoproliferative syndrome, autoimmune oophoritis, autoimmune orchitis, autoimmune polyglandular syndrome, Cogan’s syndrome, encephalitis lethartica, erythema elevatum diutinum, Evans syndrome, immunodysregulation polyendocrinopathy enteropathy X-linked (IPEX), Issac’s syndrome/acquired neuromyotonia, Miller Fisher syndrome, Morvan’s syndrome, PANDAS, POEMS syndrome, Rasmussen’s encephalitis, stiff-person syndrome, Vogt-Koyanagi-Harada syndrome, neuromyelitis optica, graft vs host disease, and autoimmune uveitis.
Claim 28. (Previously Presented) The recombinant commensal bacterium of claim 1, wherein the protein antigen or peptide antigen is selected from the group consisting of myelin oligodendrocyte glycoprotein, insulin, ovalbumin, chromogranin A, hybrid insulin peptides, proteolipid protein, myelin basic protein, villin, epithelial cellular adhesion molecule, collagen alpha-1, aggrecan core protein, 60kDa chaperonin 2, vimentin, aloha-enolase, fibrinogen alpha chain, fibrinogen beta chain, chitinase-3-like protein, (0kDa mitochondrial heat shock protein, matrix metalloproteinase-16, thyroid peroxidase, thyrotropin receptor, thyroglobulin, gluten, TSHR protein, glutamate decarboxylase 2, receptor-type tyrosine-protein phosphatase-like N, glucose-6-phosphatase 2, insulin isoform 2, zinc transporter 8, glutamate decarboxylase 1, GAD65, UniProt:A2RGMO0, integrin alpha-lib, integrin beta-3, EBV DNA polymerase catalytic subunit, 2’3’-cyclic-nucleotide 3’ phosphodiesterase, myelin associated oligodendrocyte basic protein, small nuclear ribonucleoprotein, U1 small nuclear ribonucleoprotein, histone H2B, histone H2A, histone H3.2, beta-2-glycoprotein, histone H4, 60S ribosomal protein L7, TNF- aloha, myeloperoxidase, Cbir1, MS4A12, DNA topoisomerase, CYP2D6, O-phosphoseryl-tRNA selenium transferase, pyruvate dehydrogenase complex, spectrin alpha chain, steroid 21- hydroxylase, acetylcholine receptor, MMP-16, keratin associated proteins. Chondroitin sulfate proteoglycan 4, myeloblastin, U1 small nuclear ribonucleoprotein 70 kDa, blood group Rh(D), blood group Rh(CE), myelin P2 protein, peripheral myelin protein 22, myelin protein PO, S- arrestin, collagen Alpha-1, coagulation factor VIII, collagen alpha-3(IV), desmoglein-3, desmoglein-1, Insulin-2, major DNA-binding protein, tyrosinase, 5,6-dihydroxyindole-2- carboxylic acid oxidase, HLA-A2, aquaporin-4, myelin proteolipid protein, ABC transporter, HLA | B-27 alpha chain, HLA | B-7 alpha chain, and retinol-binding protein 3.
Claim 30. (Previously Presented) The recombinant commensal bacterium of claim 1, wherein the bacterium is engineered to secrete the expressed protein antigen or peptide antigen; or engineered to express a fusion protein comprising the protein antigen or peptide antigen fused to the N-terminus or the C-terminus of a native bacterial protein or portion thereof selected from the group consisting of sialidase, anti-sigma factor, endonuclease, secreted endoglycosidase, thiol peroxidase, hypothetical protein BT_2621, hypothetical protein BT_ 3223, peptidase, Icc family phosphohydrolase, exo-poly-alpha-D-galacturonosidase, and hypothetical protein BT_ 4428.
38. (Previously Presented) The recombinant commensal bacterium of claim 1, wherein the host disease or condition is a proliferative disorder and wherein the proliferative disorder is a cancer selected from melanoma, basal cell carcinoma, squamous cell carcinoma, and testicular cancer.
Genentech Inc. v. Novo Nordisk A/S (CAFC) 42 USPQ2d 1001 clearly states: “Patent protection is granted in return for an enabling disclosure of an invention, not for vague intimations of general ideas that may or may not be workable. See Brenner v. Manson, 383 U.S. 519, 536, 148 USPQ 689, 696 (1966) (stating, in context of the utility requirement, that "a patent is not a hunting license. It is not a reward for the search, but compensation for its successful conclusion.") Tossing out the mere germ of an idea does not constitute enabling disclosure. While every aspect of a generic claim certainly need not have been carried out by an inventor, or exemplified in the specification, reasonable detail must be provided in order to enable members of the public to understand and carry out the invention.”
In Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, Aventisub LLC, 987 F.3d 1080 (Fed. Cir. 2021), which the Supreme Court affirmed, the Federal Circuit relied on evidence showing that the scope of the claims encompassed millions of antibodies and that it was necessary to screen each candidate antibody in order to determine whether it met the functional limitations of the claim. Id. at 1088. Consequently, the Federal Circuit concluded that there was a lack of enablement. In Amgen Inc. et al. v. Sanofi et al., 598 U.S. 594, 2023 USPQ2d 602 (2023), the Supreme Court, held that claims drawn to a genus of monoclonal antibodies, which were functionally claimed by their ability to bind to a specific protein, PCSK9, were invalid due to lack of enablement. The claims at issue were functional, in that they defined the genus by its function (the ability to bind to specific residues of PCSK9) as opposed to reciting a specific structure (the amino acid sequence of the antibodies in the genus). The Supreme Court concluded that the patents at issue failed to adequately enable the full scope of the genus of antibodies that performed the function of binding to specific amino acid residues on PCSK9 and blocking the binding of PCSK9 to a particular cholesterol receptor, LDLR. The Court clarified that the specification does not always need to “describe with particularity how to make and use every single embodiment within a claimed class.” Id. at 610-11. However, “[i]f a patent claims an entire class of processes, machines, manufactures, or compositions of matter, the patent’s specification must enable a person skilled in the art to make and use the entire class….The more one claims, the more one must enable.” Id. The specification may require a reasonable amount of experimentation to make and use the invention and what is reasonable will depend on the nature of the invention and the underlying art. For example, “it may suffice to give an example (or a few examples) if the specification also discloses some general quality . . . running through the class that gives it a peculiar fitness for the particular purpose” and “disclosing that general quality may reliably enable a person skilled in the art to make and use all of what is claimed, not merely a subset.” Id. at 611 (internal quotations omitted). However, the Supreme Court found that Amgen failed to enable all that it claimed, even if allowing for a reasonable degree of experimentation. Id. at 613; see also Baxalta Inc. v Genentech, Inc., 81 F.4th 1362, 1367, 2023 USPQ2d 1103 (Fed. Cir. 2023) (“[t]he facts of this case are more analogous to—and are, in fact, indistinguishable from—those in Amgen. We do not interpret Amgen to have disturbed our prior enablement case law, including Wands and its factors.”). Moreover, “[w]e see no meaningful difference between Wands' ‘undue experimentation’ and Amgen's ‘[un]reasonable experimentation’ standards. Id. at footnote 4. See also Guidelines for Assessing Enablement in Utility Applications and Patents in View of the Supreme Court Decision in Amgen Inc. et al. v. Sanofi et al., 89 FR 1563 (January 10, 2024), which explains that regardless of the technology the Wands factors should be used when assessing enablement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 7,16, 18, 22, 25, 28, 30, 35, 38, 48 and 130-132 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (FEMS Microbiology Letters. 2006, 265(2): 225-236), Dubensky et al (US 2005/0249748), Lasse et al (Applied and Environ. Microbiol. 76(21): 7359-7362. Nov. 2010; provided by applicants) and Jaffee et al (US2017072040) in view of Munivar et al (WO 2015/184134; provided by Applicants) and Whitfill, T. (WO 2019/050898; provided by Applicants).
Lee et al disclose a live, recombinant commensal bacterium, wherein the bacterium is engineered to express a non-native protein (Abstract, "we engineered Streptococcus gordonii to express a 26 kDa fragment of cyst wall protein 2 (CWP2), containing a relevant B cell epitope, on the cell surface. This is the first report of S. gordonii expressing a protein of parasite origin"), - wherein the protein is associated with a host disease or condition (Abstract, "Giardia lamblia (Giardia duodenalis or Giardia intestinalis) is a protozoan parasite of vertebrates with broad host specificity. Specific antibodies directed against cyst antigens can interfere with the cyst wall-building process”), - wherein upon administration of the bacterium to the host resulting in colonization of a native host niche by the bacterium (Abstract, "As S. gordonii was intended for intestinal delivery of CWP2, it was determined that this oral commensal bacterium is able to persist in the murine intestine for 30 days"), - wherein the host mounts an adaptive immune response to the non-native protein or peptide (Abstract, "Immunization with recombinant streptococci expressing the 26 kDa fragment resulted in higher antibody levels. Specific anti-CWP2 IgA antibodies were detected in fecal samples and anti-CWP2 IgG antibodies were detected in serum demonstrating the efficacy of S. gordonii for intragastric antigen delivery. In a pilot challenge experiment, immunized mice demonstrated a significant 70% reduction in cyst output"). Lee does not specifically disclose that the adaptive immune response is a regulatory T-cell (Treg) response or an effector T-cell (Teffector) response. However, said limitation is met by/inherently present in Lee as follows: Lee discloses that "[s]pecific anti-CWP2 IgA antibodies were detected in fecal samples and anti-CWP2 IgG antibodies were detected in serum demonstrating the efficacy of S. gordonii for intragastric antigen delivery” (Abstract) and that immunized mice produces neutralizing antibodies (Abstract, "immunized mice demonstrated a significant 70% reduction in cyst output"). A paper entitled “Host defences against Giardia lamblia" by Lopez-Romero, et al. (hereinafter "Lopez-Romero") discloses that "IgA and CD4+ T cells are fundamental to the process of Giardia clearance. It has been suggested that CD4+ T cells play a double role during the anti-Giardia immune response. First, they activate and stimulate the differentiation of B cells to generate Giardia-specific antibodies. Second, they act through a B-cell-independent mechanism that is probably mediated by Th17 cells" (Abstract), and "that when mice were immunized with CWP2, the production of anti-Giardia lgA and 1gG2a was induced” (pg 402, col 1). Since Lee discloses that “[s]pecific anti-CWP2 IgA antibodies were detected in fecal samples and anti-CWP2 IgG antibodies were detected in serum demonstrating the efficacy of S. gordonii for intragastric antigen delivery" (Abstract) and Lopez-Romero discloses "that when mice were immunized with CWP2, the production of anti-Giardia IgA and IgG2a was induced” (pg 402, col 1), it follows then that the adaptive immune response disclosed by Lee is a regulatory T-cell (Treg) response or an effector T-cell (Teffector) response. Lee discloses that the native host niche is transiently colonized for about 28 days (Abstract, "S. gordonii... is able to persist in the murine intestine for 30 days").
Dubensky et al disclose a live, recombinant commensal bacterium (a bacterium selected from the group consisting of... Bacillus...£. coli, Para. [0100)) engineered to express a fusion protein (comprising a polynucleotide encoding a signal peptide and a second polynucleotide encoding a polypeptide, Para. [0100]), the fusion protein comprising: (a) a non-native protein or peptide (a second polynucleotide encoding a polypeptide...an antigen, Para. [0100]), and (b) a tat signal sequence peptide, a sec signal sequence peptide, a sortase-derived signal sequence peptide, and/or an antigen-presenting cell (APC) targeting moiety, (the signal peptide is a tat signal peptide, Para. [0100]) wherein administration of the bacterium to the host results in colonization of a native host niche by the bacterium (wherein the bacteria are administered orally, Para. (0341]), and generation of an adaptive immune response by the host against the non-native protein or peptide (using the bacteria or compositions comprising the bacteria to induce an immune response and/or to prevent or treat a condition (e.g., a disease) in a host, Para. [0100)). Further, regarding the limitation relating to “wherein administration of the bacterium to the host results in colonization of a native host niche by the bacterium, and generation of an adaptive immune response by the host against the non-native protein or peptide (and the dependent claim limitations of treating host diseases, autoimmune disorders and cancers)," a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art is capable of performing the intended use, it meets the limitation for “wherein administration of the bacterium to the host results in colonization of a native host niche by the bacterium, and generation of an adaptive immune response by the host against the non-native protein or peptide”. Dubensky discloses the live, recombinant the non-native protein or peptide is associated with a host disease or condition selected from the group consisting of: (i) a cancer; (ii) an autoimmune disorder; and (iii) an infection that occurs at or is otherwise associated with a mucosal boundary of the host (the polypeptide encoded by the second polynucleotide comprises an antigen, wherein the antigen is tumor-associated antigen or is derived from a tumor-associated antigen, infectious disease antigen or is derived from an infectious disease antigen, Para. (0100). Dubensky discloses wherein the signal sequence peptide: (i) directs tethering of the expressed fusion protein to a cell wall of the bacterium; or (ii) directs secretion of the fusion protein from the bacterium following expression (the signal peptide sequence in an expression cassette enhances the expression and/or secretion of a heterologous polypeptide (such as an antigen) from recombinant bacteria, Para. (0095)). Dubensky discloses a method of treating a disease or condition in a subject (Methods of using the bacteria or compositions comprising the bacteria to induce an immune response and/or to prevent or treat a condition... in a host are also provided. In some embodiment, the condition is cancer. In other embodiments, the condition is an infectious disease, Para. [0100]) comprising: administering a live, recombinant commensal bacterium engineered to express a heterologous antigen to a subject (a bacterium selected from the group consisting of...Bacillus...E. coli, Para. (0100); comprising a polynucleotide encoding a signal peptide and a second polynucleotide encoding a polypeptide...an antigen, Para. [0100]; wherein the bacteria are administered orally, Para. [0341]), wherein the expressed heterologous antigen induces an antigen-specific immune response to treat the disease or condition in the subject (for inducing an immune response in a host to an antigen, wherein the polypeptide encoded by the second polynucleotide comprises the antigen is... provided, Para. [0100)). It is noted that the instant claims are drawn to a product: a recombinant transformed bacteria so intended use, e.g, the host mounts an adaptive immune response to the non-native peptide or protein…, is an intended use only.
Lasse et al shows the commensal bacterium L. plantarum WCFS1 from human saliva isolate expressing mammalian tumor immunogen termed onco-fetal antigen (OFA). Therein, OFA was either secreted from the bacteria or anchored to the bacterial wall. The oral administration of OFA-expressing L. plantarum induced a specific immune response against OFA in mice as detected by the presence of OFA-specific IgG (abstract, Fig 3). It is noted that the instant claims are drawn to a product: a recombinant transformed bacteria so intended use, e.g, the host mounts an adaptive immune response to the non-native peptide or protein…, is an intended use only.
Jaffee et al is related to an antigen-specific vaccine approach to induce an immune response, and in particular a CD4+ T cell response against tumor antigen (par. 5, 7}. The document discloses that commensal microorganisms such as S. gordonii, Lactobacillus spp. and Staphylococcus spp. can be used as carriers for said vaccine strategy, inducing of an immune response towards a human/murine antigen (par. 70-79}. A method to induce a CD8+ or CD4+ F cell response to a pancreatic tumor by administering E. coli bacteria expressing mesothelin as the carrier (wherein the carrier is selected from a group of three alternatives) is disclosed (par. 64, 68, claims 5-12). Pharmaceutical compositions are disclosed (par. 96). The features “resulting in persistent or transient colonization” has to be assumed as an inherent feature exhibited by any commensal bacteria. The features “internalization of the bacterium by an antigen-presenting cell, and presentation of the antigen by the antigen-presenting cell" and "generation of a T-cell response, wherein the T-cell response is of an antigen derived from the non-native mammalian host protein or peptide, and wherein the T-cell response treats the disease or condition in the subject") can be regarded as inherent functional features of a pharmaceutical composition which induces an effector/regulatory T cell response
The teachings of Lee, Dubensky, Lasse, and Jaffee all demonstrate the use of live, commensal bacteria as good options to express a protein antigen or peptide antigen associated with a host disease or condition to result in persistent or transient colonization of a native host niche by the bacterium so that the host mounts a T cell response to the peptide antigen. Although Jaffee does disclose that commensal microorganisms such as S. gordonii, Lactobacillus spp. and Staphylococcus spp. can be used as carriers for said vaccine strategy, the reference does not specifically recite the Staphylococcus species to be S. epidermidis. Lee, Dubensky, Lasse and Jaffee all teach live, commensal bacteria as efficient host cells for the same purposes of raising an effective immune response, more particularly a Tcell response, in a host.
Munivar et al teaches a live recombinant commensal bacterium engineered to produce a recombinant polypeptide for therapeutic treatment of an abnormal skin condition. Pharmaceutical compositions comprising the bacterium expressing the recombinant therapeutic polypeptide are also taught. See abstract. Figures 1-8 describe the transformation of S. epidermidis cells. The recited features “resulting in persistent or transient colonization” has to be assumed as an inherent feature exhibited by any commensal bacteria. The features “internalization of the bacterium by an antigen-presenting cell, and presentation of the antigen by the antigen-presenting cell" and "generation of a T-cell response, wherein the T-cell response is of an antigen derived from the non-native mammalian host protein or peptide, and wherein the T-cell response treats the disease or condition in the subject") can be regarded as inherent functional features of a pharmaceutical composition since the bacterium of Munivar is structurally identical to that of claim 1. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention (recombinant bacteria) must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art is capable of performing the intended use, it meets the limitation for “wherein administration of the bacterium to the host results in colonization of a native host niche by the bacterium, and generation of an adaptive immune response by the host against the non-native protein or peptide. The instant claims are drawn to a product not a method. Dependent claims 3, 6, 7,16, 18, 22, 25, 28, 30, 35, 38, 48 and 130-132 recite functions or “intended” administration. However, the claims are drawn to a product. New claim 31 recites the bacterium is formulated in a pharmaceutical composition comprising a pharmaceutically excipient acceptable carrier. A pharmaceutically acceptable excipient reads on water and would be inherent in the bacteria taught in the prior art references. New claim 132 recites ‘formulated for topical or intranasal administration which includes liquid formulations.
Whitfill recites recombinant microorganisms for the treatment of an inflammatory skin condition. Lines 14-26, on page 2 of the reference recite that engineered probiotics are a novel approach based on leveraging the skin microbiome for therapeutic purposes. Notably, an engineered probiotic has important advantages over other methods of drug delivery, as it will establish residence on the patient’s skin and continuously and stably deliver therapeutic proteins in situ. Furthermore, certain strains of Staphylococcus epidermidis (SE) have demonstrated important beneficial immuno- modulatory and anti-pathogen effects in the skin, which are relevant to atopic dermatitis disease phenotype and severity. Moreover, the delivery of filaggrin, which is a structural protein derived from profilaggrin, further enhances the therapeutic approach due to filaggrin’s role in the skin barrier and ability to reduce transepidermal water loss and improve skin hydration. The present invention has the surprising advantage of providing methods and compositions for treating skin diseases, e.g., atopic dermatitis, using a genetically engineered, recombinant strain of Staphylococcus epidermidis as a skin drug delivery system that secretes human filaggrin to address the pathophysiology of atopic dermatitis (e.g., AZT-01). Whitfill teaches a method for producing a live biotherapeutic composition, the method comprising (a) transfecting a cell with (i) a first coding sequence comprising a nucleic acid sequence capable of expressing a therapeutic polypeptide, and (ii) a second coding sequence comprising a nucleic acid sequence capable of expressing a cell penetrating peptide; and (b) allowing the transfected cell to produce a therapeutic polypeptide fusion protein; and (c) obtaining the live biotherapeutic composition. In a related embodiment, the method further comprises (iii) transfecting the cell with a third coding sequence comprising a nucleic acid sequence capable of expressing an export signal. In another embodiment, the first coding sequence, second coding sequence and third coding sequences are arranged in a single plasmid. In yet another embodiment, the arrangement of the first coding sequence, second coding sequence and third coding sequences are operably linked to a promoter. In other embodiments, the cell is selected from the group consisting of wherein the microorganism is selected from the group consisting of Bifidobacterium, Brevibacterium, Propionibacterium, Lactococcus, Streptococcus, Staphylococcus, Lactobacillus, Enterococcus, Pediococcus, Leuconostoc, or Oenococcus, or combinations thereof. In yet another embodiment, the cell is Staphylococcus epidermidis. See page 4, lines 18-33. Page 12 recites that in certain embodiments of the invention, the bacterium is Staphylococcus epidermidis. In preferred embodiments of the invention, the strain of S. epidermidis to be used is incapable of producing biofilms. One such example of a strain of S. epidermidis incapable of producing biofilms is S. epidermidis strain ATCC 12228. However, in yet other embodiments of the invention, other related or similar species found on the skin can be used.
The teachings of Lee, Dubensky, Lasse, and Jaffee all demonstrate the use of live, commensal bacteria as good options to express a protein antigen or peptide antigen associated with a host disease or condition to result in persistent or transient colonization of host by the bacterium so that the host mounts a T cell response to the peptide antigen. The references show that many different types of live, commensal bacteria are useful and successful for this purpose, with Jaffee specifically referencing Staphylococcus spp. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the live, commensal S. epidermidis host cell of Munivar or Whitfill to express any of the polypeptides disclosed in the secondary references and be used to treat a variety of different pathogenic conditions, cancers and other diseases as a mere design choice. All of the references teach the use of ‘commensal’ bacterium, some of which teach Staphylococcus spp., to accomplish this and it is taught that a variety of different bacteria may be used as the host cell. Whitfill and Munivar have established S. epidermidis as good commensal host cell to express a protein. This coupled with the teachings of the secondary references that that commensal microorganisms such as S. gordonii, Lactobacillus spp. and Staphylococcus spp. can be used as carriers for a vaccine strategy, inducing of an immune response towards a human/murine antigen. Dubensky discloses the live, recombinant the non-native protein or peptide is associated with a host disease or condition selected from the group consisting of: (i) a cancer; (ii) an autoimmune disorder; and (iii) an infection that occurs at or is otherwise associated with a mucosal boundary of the host (the polypeptide encoded by the second polynucleotide comprises an antigen, wherein the antigen is tumor-associated antigen or is derived from a tumor-associated antigen, infectious disease antigen or is derived from an infectious disease antigen, Para. (0100).
Response to Applicants’ arguments:
Applicants argue that :
Applicants first reiterate the arguments filed on November 5, 2025, that none of the cited references teach or disclose a live, recombinant S. epidermidis commensal bacteria engineered to express a protein antigen or peptide antigen. Notwithstanding Applicants' disagreement with the Office's assertions, and solely to expedite allowance of the application, Applicants have amended claim 1. Claim 1, as amended, recites a live, recombinant S. epidermidis commensal bacterium engineered to express a protein antigen or peptide antigen associated with a host disease or condition, wherein upon administration of the bacterium to a mammalian host resulting in persistent or transient colonization of a native host niche by the bacterium, the host mounts an adaptive immune response to the protein antigen or peptide antigen, wherein the adaptive immune response is a regulatory T- cell response or an effector T-cell response, "wherein the native host niche is skin or a nasal mucosa, and wherein the administration is topical or intranasal." None of the cited references, alone or in combination, teach or suggest a live, recombinant skin commensal bacterium engineered to express a protein or peptide antigen and administered topically or intranasally to elicit an antigen-specific T-cell response. The primary references, Lee, Dubensky, Lasse, and Jaffee, are uniformly directed to oral, enteral, or parental delivery using gut commensal or non-commensal bacteria, not topical administration of skin commensals.
These arguments have been fully and carefully considered but are not deemed persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The enormous breadth of the claimed products is included in the teachings of the cited references. The teachings of Lee, Dubensky, Lasse, and Jaffee all demonstrate the use of live, commensal bacteria as good options to express a protein antigen or peptide antigen associated with a host disease or condition to result in persistent or transient colonization of host by the bacterium so that the host mounts a T cell response to the peptide antigen. The references show that many different types of live, commensal bacteria are useful and successful for this purpose, with Jaffee specifically referencing Staphylococcus spp. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the live, commensal S. epidermidis host cell of Munivar or Whitfill to express any of the polypeptides disclosed in the secondary references and be used to treat a variety of different pathogenic conditions, cancers and other diseases as a mere design choice. All of the references teach the use of ‘commensal’ bacterium, some of which teach Staphylococcus spp., to accomplish this and it is taught that a variety of different bacteria may be used as the host cell. Whitfill and Munivar have established S. epidermidis as good commensal host cell to express a protein. This coupled with the teachings of the secondary references that commensal microorganisms such as S. gordonii, Lactobacillus spp. and Staphylococcus spp. can be used as carriers for a vaccine strategy, inducing of an immune response towards a human/murine antigen. Dubensky discloses the live, recombinant the non-native protein or peptide is associated with a host disease or condition selected from the group consisting of: (i) a cancer; (ii) an autoimmune disorder; and (iii) an infection that occurs at or is otherwise associated with a mucosal boundary of the host (the polypeptide encoded by the second polynucleotide comprises an antigen, wherein the antigen is tumor-associated antigen or is derived from a tumor-associated antigen, infectious disease antigen or is derived from an infectious disease antigen, Para. (0100).
Prior art not presently relied upon:
Monk et al (“Transforming the Untransformable: Application of Direct Transformation To Manipulate Genetically Staphylococcus aureus and Staphylococcus epidermidis” mBio Volume 3 Issue 2 e00277-11, March/April 2012, pages 1-11).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Group Art Unit 1645. Papers related to this application may be submitted to Group 1600 by facsimile transmission. Papers should be faxed to Group 1600 via the PTO Fax Center located in Remsen. The faxing of such papers must conform with the notice published in the Official Gazette, 1096 OG 30 (November 15,1989). The Group 1645 Fax number is 571-273-8300 which is able to receive transmissions 24 hours/day, 7 days/week.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application should be directed to the Group receptionist whose telephone number is (571) 272-0500.
/JENNIFER E GRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1645 6/4/26