DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 05/19/2025 has been entered. Claims 13-24 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the objections and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 12/18/2024.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/16/2025 (“Remarks”) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the claim objections and 112(b) rejections, the amendments to the claims have rendered these moot, and have been withdrawn.
Regarding the argument on page 6 of “Remarks” that the drawing objections should be withdrawn since the rotary actuation mechanism having a driving component and the mutually interfering slots or ribs are shown in fig. 3A, the explanation of the driving component assists with understanding which components comprise the rotary actuation mechanism. However, it is not clearly shown in the drawings or described in the specification what the cage component is in the structure. It is suggested to amend the drawings and specification to include reference numbers indicating the driving component, cage structure, slot, etc. Regarding the argument that the slot is shown, the examiner appreciates the highlighted area of the annotated figure included on page 6. It is suggested to indicate the slot with a reference number. However, it is not clear what the rib is, and it appears that either a slot or a rib is described and claimed. It is not apparent how the slot or rib would be considered mutually interfering from the provided drawings and specification.
Regarding the argument that the 112(f) interpretation is rendered moot by the cancellation of claim 22, it appears that claim 22 is still pending in the current claim set. Thus, the 112(f) interpretation of “a driving component” has been maintained.
Regarding the argument on page 8 that neither Johnson nor Ouyang disclose a chassis, these arguments have been considered, but are not persuasive. Applicant states that the chassis identified in the Johnson reference does not support the third and fourth set of teeth, and identifies Johnson’s third set of teeth as “f”, and Johnson’s fourth set of teeth as “f3”. However, the office action identifies “f6” as the third set and the lower set of teeth “f7” as the third and fourth sets of teeth, respectively. These two sets of teeth are supported by framework, or chassis, “f2” as seen in Johnson fig. 1.
The argument that Ouyang does not disclose a chassis supporting the third and fourth sets of teeth has been carefully considered but is not persuasive. The chassis as claimed by the applicant has a described on page 10 as a body of the inhaler. It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the chassis of the inhaler having the third and fourth sets of teeth arranged on an inner wall of the chassis, as described on page 11 of the original specification) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The chassis identified in Ouyang meets the criteria of being a portion of a body of an inhaler, and supports the third and fourth sets of teeth.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the “rotary actuation mechanism having a driving component” of claim 22 and the “mutually interfering ribs or slots” of claim 23 as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Specification
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
The abstract of the disclosure does not commence on a separate sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b). A new abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. It appears that the abstract has been submitted as the first page of the WIPO publication associated with this application rather than in the correct format.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant defines “ratchet ring” on page 9 lines 15-19 as “an annular ring having an axial depth, and having two peripheral surfaces (namely, a first peripheral surface and a second peripheral surface) spaced apart by the axial depth of the ratchet ring”.
The “axial depth of the ratchet ring” is interpreted according to the specification immediately following the above definition as “The axial depth may be defined as the distance between the first peripheral surface and the second peripheral surface of the ratchet ring”. This axial distance appears to exclude the axial depth of the teeth on the ratchet ring.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “a driving component” in claim 22.
Original specification page 4 “Optionally, the ratchet ring and a driving component of the rotary actuation mechanism have mutually interfering ribs or slots such that the ratchet ring and the driving component, e.g. a cage component, are rotationally coupled.” Page 8 states that the “driving component and a first part of the inhaler housing which is rotatable relative to another part of the housing are mutually coupled to provide actuation for release of dosage”. Pages 20 and 23 explain the operation of the driving component. The “driving component” is interpreted to be a mechanism as described by the specification which actuates the release of a dosage, such that it translated axially as the ratchet ring is rotated (page 20), and equivalents thereof.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson (US 0685282), hereafter Johnson.
Regarding Claim 13, Johnson discloses a ratchet mechanism comprising: a ratchet ring (fig. 1, ratchet-toothed ring b, page 1 lines 55-56) rotatable about an axis relative to a chassis (fig. 1, chassis is axially projecting stud f², page 1 line 68), with a general direction of rotation determined by teeth of the ratchet mechanism (fig. 1, ratchet teeth are angled to permit one-way rotation, page 1 lines 59-61), wherein the ratchet ring comprises a first set of teeth arranged regularly around the ratchet ring (top set of teeth on ratchet ring b) and protruding in a first axial direction from the ratchet ring (first set of teeth extend upwardly in an axial direction) and a second set of teeth arranged regularly around the ratchet ring (fig. 1, second set are bottom teeth on ratchet ring b) and protruding in a second opposite axial direction from the ratchet ring (second set of teeth extend downward in the axial direction); and the chassis comprising a third set of teeth (fig. 1, f6, page 1 line 77) arranged regularly and protruding in the second axial direction (fig. 1 teeth f6 extend downward) and generally opposed to the first set of teeth (fig. 1, teeth f7 oppose the direction of first set of teeth on b in order to engage together, page 1 lines 78-80), and a fourth set of teeth arranged regularly and protruding in the first axial direction (fig. 1, fourth set of teeth are f which protrude upward axially) and generally opposed to the second set of teeth (f7 oppose the bottom teeth on b, page 1 lines 78-80), wherein: each tooth protruding in the first axial direction or the second axial direction comprises a leading edge and a trailing edge (see annotated fig. 1) with respect to the general direction of rotation of the ratchet ring (page 1 lines 85-93), the trailing edge on each tooth of the first set of the teeth and the second set of teeth is oriented in the axial direction of protrusion (see annotated fig. 1, the trailing edge is vertical in the axial direction) and the leading edge on each tooth of the first set of teeth and the second set of teeth is angled towards the trailing direction with respect to the axial direction of protrusion (see fig. 1), and the leading edge on each tooth of the third set of teeth and the fourth set of teeth is oriented in the axial direction of protrusion (see fig. 1, the leading edge on the third and fourth set of teeth are vertical in the axial direction) and the trailing edge on each tooth of the third set of teeth and the fourth set of teeth is angled towards the leading direction with respect to the axial direction of protrusion (the trailing edges of the third and fourth set of teeth are angled; page 1 lines 85-101).
Regarding Claim 17, Johnson discloses a ratchet mechanism as in claim 13, wherein the vertical spacing between distal ends of the third set of teeth and the fourth set of teeth is greater than an axial depth of the ratchet ring (fig. 1, there is a greater distance between the third set of teeth and the fourth set of teeth than the axial length of the ratchet ring b so as to avoid engaging both sets of teeth at the same time).
Regarding Claim 18, Johnson discloses a ratchet mechanism as in claim 13, wherein the first set of teeth and the second set of teeth protrude from opposite surfaces of the ratchet ring (see annotated fig. 1, the first and second set of teeth protrude in opposite directions of the ratchet ring).
Regarding Claim 19, Johnson discloses a ratchet mechanism as in claim 13, wherein the number of teeth in the first set of teeth and the number of teeth in the third set of teeth are related by an integer multiple (there are the same number of teeth in the first set and third set of teeth, thus related by an integer multiple, i.e., 1).
Regarding Claim 20, Johnson discloses a ratchet mechanism as in claim 13, wherein the number of teeth in the second set of teeth and the number of teeth in the fourth set of teeth are related by an integer multiple (there are the same number of teeth in the second and fourth sets of teeth, thus related by an integer multiple, i.e. 1).
Regarding Claim 21, Johnson discloses a ratchet mechanism as in claim 13, wherein the number of teeth in the first set of teeth is equal to the number of teeth in the second set of teeth (fig. 1, there are the same number of teeth in the first and second sets of teeth).
Claims 13, 14, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Ouyang et al. (US 2004/0149773), hereafter Ouyang.
Regarding Claim 13, Ouyang discloses a ratchet mechanism comprising: a ratchet ring (fig. 2, first indicator wheel 241, [0017] lines 5-6) rotatable about an axis ([0029]) relative to a chassis (fig. 2, chassis includes 269, 246), with a general direction of rotation determined by teeth of the ratchet mechanism (fig. 2, teeth are angled to prevent reverse movement [0030]), wherein the ratchet ring comprises a first set of teeth arranged regularly around the ratchet ring (see annotated fig. 2, upper set of teeth 251, [0019])) and protruding in a first axial direction from the ratchet ring (teeth extend in an axial direction upward from the ratchet ring) and a second set of teeth arranged regularly around the ratchet ring (see annotated fig. 2, teeth 270 [0019]) and protruding in a second opposite axial direction from the ratchet ring (teeth 270 extend axially downward from the ratchet ring in the opposite direction); and the chassis comprising a third set of teeth arranged regularly (see annotated fig. 2, teeth 264 [0020]) and protruding in the second axial direction (teeth extend downward axially) and generally opposed to the first set of teeth (the third set of teeth 264 oppose teeth 251, fig 2), and a fourth set of teeth arranged regularly (fig. 2, fourth set of teeth 248 [0018]) and protruding in the first axial direction (teeth 248 extend upward axially) and generally opposed to the second set of teeth (teeth 248 oppose teeth 270), wherein: each tooth protruding in the first axial direction or the second axial direction comprises a leading edge and a trailing edge with respect to the general direction of rotation of the ratchet ring (see annotated fig. 2), the trailing edge on each tooth of the first set of the teeth and the second set of teeth is oriented in the axial direction of protrusion (see annotated fig., the trailing edges of the teeth on the first and second sets of teeth are shown as vertical, i.e., extending in the axial direction) and the leading edge on each tooth of the first set of teeth and the second set of teeth is angled towards the trailing direction with respect to the axial direction of protrusion (see annotated fig., the leading edges of the first and second sets of teeth are the angled edges of the teeth), and the leading edge on each tooth of the third set of teeth and the fourth set of teeth is oriented in the axial direction of protrusion (see annotated fig., the orientation of the third and fourth sets of teeth are oriented in the opposing direction as the first and second in order to prevent reverse movement of the indicator wheel, [0030]) and the trailing edge on each tooth of the third set of teeth and the fourth set of teeth is angled towards the leading direction with respect to the axial direction of protrusion (see annotated fig., the third and fourth sets of teeth have angled trailing edges).
Regarding Claim 14, Ouyang discloses a ratchet mechanism as in claim 13, wherein the teeth from the first set of teeth and the third set of teeth are arranged to align with each other at a different relative position of the ratchet ring and the chassis to those at which teeth from the second set of teeth and the fourth set of teeth are arranged to align (the first and third set of teeth are designed to align differently than the second and fourth set of teeth so that the ‘tens’ indicia are incremented only once for every ten increments of the ‘units’ indicia, [0029]).
Regarding Claim 16, as best understood based on the 112(b) rejection above, Ouyang discloses a ratchet mechanism as in claim 13, wherein the vertical spacing between distal ends of the third set of teeth and the fourth set of teeth is less than the spacing between distal ends of the first set of teeth and second set of teeth (fig. 2, when assembled, the distance between the tips of the third set and teeth and the fourth set of teeth is less than the distance between the first and second sets of teeth in order to engage both sides of the ratchet ring 241, otherwise, the ratchet ring 241 would slip between the third and fourth sets of teeth).
Regarding Claim 18, Ouyang discloses a ratchet mechanism as in claim 13, wherein the first set of teeth and the second set of teeth protrude from opposite surfaces of the ratchet ring (see annotated fig. 2, the first set of teeth protrude upward from the ratchet ring and the second set of teeth protrude downward from the ratchet ring in opposite directions).
Regarding Claim 19, Ouyang discloses a ratchet mechanism as in claim 13, wherein the number of teeth in the first set of teeth and the number of teeth in the third set of teeth are related by an integer multiple (fig. 2, the number of teeth in the first set and third set matches, thus the number is related by an integer (1)).
Regarding Claim 20, Ouyang discloses a ratchet mechanism as in claim 13, wherein the number of teeth in the second set of teeth and the number of teeth in the fourth set of teeth are related by an integer multiple (fig. 2, there are 3 teeth shown in the second set and one can estimate from the drawing in fig. 2 that there are 3 sets of indicia 0-9 on indicator wheel 241, with a tooth for each indicia 247 [0017-0018]; thus the number of second teeth to fourth teeth is related by an integer (10)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 and 22-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 15, Ouyang discloses a ratchet mechanism as in claim 14, but is silent on wherein the teeth are arranged such that opposition of teeth from the first set of teeth and the third set of teeth occurs at primary positions of the ratchet ring and opposition of teeth from the second set of teeth and the fourth set of teeth occurs at secondary positions of the ratchet ring, such that the primary positions and the secondary positions alternate as the ratchet ring is rotated in the general direction of rotation. This limitation has been interpreted by the examiner according to the original specification pages 18-19 to mean that the alignment of the teeth alternate between the top set of teeth (first and third) contacting in opposition, followed by the bottom set of teeth (second and fourth) contacting in opposition as the ratchet ring is rotated around the chassis.
There does not appear to be any prior art of record that indicates a ratchet mechanism with all the limitations of claim 14 which also has the above limitations.
Thus, claim 15 would be allowed should it overcome the above objection.
Regarding Claim 22, Ouyang discloses a portable inhaler, comprising a ratchet mechanism as in claim 13, wherein the portable inhaler comprises a rotary actuation mechanism having a driving component (fig. 2, axial depression of the cap 269 causes lower ring 254 to compress toward upper ring 253, which due to the helical coil 243, is transferred into rotational movement to drive the ratchet and dispense medication [0026] and [0030]); however, Ouyang is silent on the driving component being coupled to rotary movement by a user of a first part of the portable inhaler relative to a second part of the portable inhaler (emphasis added).
While other inhalers disclose driving component coupled to rotary movement by a user (see for example US 2003/0209245), there appears to be no motivation to modify or teach rotary movement by a user into Ouyang’s without rendering the device inoperable.
Thus, claim 22 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the above objection. Claims 23-24 would also be allowed as dependent upon claim 22.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2004026380 A2 discloses and inhaler with a rotary drive indicator (fig. 3 in particular).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARA K TOICH/Examiner, Art Unit 3785 /VICTORIA MURPHY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 4100