DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application is a 371 National Stage Entry of PCT/EP2020/067263 filed on June 21, 2020 which claims benefit to the provisional application 62/864,073 filed on June 20, 2019.
Status of Claims
Acknowledgement is made of the previously presented (10, 17-20, 26) claims filed on April 17, 2026. Claims 10, 17-20, and 26 are pending in instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed April 17, 2026, have been fully considered.
Applicant's arguments are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that intravenous administration is not taught (see 4/17/26 Remarks at p. 6 and at p. 8), the Examiner notes that “the test for obviousness is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those having ordinary skill in the art.” In re Mouttet, 686 F.3d 1322, 1333 (Fed. Cir. 2012). And “just because better alternatives exist in the prior art does not mean that an inferior combination is inapt for obviousness purposes” (Id at 1334). While the prior art Mills discusses dietary supplementation of DHA, one skilled in the art would recognize in light of US’924 that LPC-DHA is suitable for systemic administration (US’924 p. 12 ¶[0168]).
In response to Applicant’s arguments regarding prophylaxis of TBI (see 4/17/26 Remarks at p. 6), US’924 teaches preventative use, which embraces “prophylactic”, for neurological diseases or disorders (see US’924 at p.1 ¶[0003], p. 5 ¶[0061], p.5 ¶[0065]) such as traumatic brain injury (see US’924 at p. 1 [0007]). Halstead teaches a patient population seeking to avoid (reading on prophylactic) a TBI by explaining severe adverse effects of a single or multiple concussions (see Halstead at p. 606 “Postconcussion Syndrome” and 4/21/25 Office Action at p. 6 ¶3 lines 5-7). A pre-concussed patient being treated with LCP-EPA/LPC-DHA falls within the patient population of a subject desiring to avoid a TBI (see also 4/21/25 Office Action at p. 5). Mills teaches prophylactic treatment of TBI with DHA is known in the art (see Mills at p.474 Conclusion) (also reading on prophylactic). LPC-DHA and DHA are structurally similar compounds, and as discussed by US’924 LPC-DHA is an improved form suitable for crossing blood-brain barrier (see US’924 at p. 21 ¶[0283]) which would be ideal for intravenous administration purposes for preventative use.
In response to Applicant’s arguments regarding Wientzek (see 4/17/26 Remarks at p. 8), the Examiner notes that the prior art US’924 still teaches using LPC-DHA for treating and preventing neurological diseases or disorders such as traumatic brain injury, designed to cross the blood-brain barrier (see US’924 at p.1 ¶[0007] and p. 21 ¶[0283).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by US 2018/0325924 A11 in view of Polette et. al.2, Nguyen et. al.3, Halstead et. al.4, and Mills et. al.5
Regarding claim 10 and a administering a compound of Formula 1 or 3 when R1 or R2 is OH, US’924 claims methods of treating traumatic brain injury in patients by administering to a subject the same compounds (compare instant Formulas 1 and 3 with US’924 at claim 15-20), wherein R1 is DHA or EPA or OH, R2 is OH or EPA, and R3 is identical (choline) (see, e.g., US’924 at claim 15 showing Formula I). US‘924 discloses the positional isomers of LPC-DHA (compare instant claim 10 Formula 3 with US’924 sn-1 DHA LPC sn-2 DHA LPC [0069]), wherein R1 is DHA or OH and R2 is DHA or OH (see US’924 at Figures 11A-D).
Regarding claim 10 and a administering a compound of Formula 1 or 3 when R1 or R2 is O-CO-(CH2)n-CH, Polette teaches CAS# 262423-49-4 and CAS# 262423-48-3 (Formula 1 or 3 respectively, when R1 or R2 is O-CO-CH3) (see Polette at p. 1335 Scheme 1) as a stable forms of LPC-DHA to prevent isomerization of DHA as it accumulates in the brain (see Polette at p. 1333 right col. par. 1).
Regarding intravenous administration, US’924 claims methods requiring “administering” (see id.), wherein “administering” is defined to explicitly include intravenous administration as an option (see, e.g., US’924 at [0056]). In addition, Nguyen teaches intravenous administration of LPC-14CDHA to male mice (see at p. 505 Figure 4) which was imported into the brain across the blood-brain barrier by Mfsd2a transporter (see Nguyen at Abstract).
The prior art differs from instant claims as follows: While US’924 and Nguyen teach intravenous administration of LPC-DHA, Polette teaches stable acetyl LPC-DHA, and US’924 teaches treatment of traumatic brain injuries, the prior art does not disclose prophylaxis of traumatic brain injury.
However,
Halstead teaches athletes with 3 or more concussions are more likely to have had loss of consciousness, postevent amnesia, confusion, and 3 to 4 abnormal on-field markers of concussion (see Halstead at p. 606 "Long-term Effects"). Halstead also teaches second-impact syndrome results in cerebral vascular congestion, which often can progress to diffuse cerebral swelling and death (see Halstead at p. 606 "Second-Impact Syndrome"). Furthermore, Halstead teaches adverse symptoms of post-concussion syndrome include: headache; dizziness; fatigue; irritability; difficulty with concentrating and performing mental tasks; impairment of memory; insomnia; and reduced tolerance to stress, emotional excitement, or alcohol (see Halstead at p. 606 "Postconcussion Syndrome").
Mills teaches dietary supplementation with DHA in rats increases serum levels and, if given prior to traumatic brain injury, reduces the injury response, as measured by axonal injury counts, markers for cellular injury and apoptosis, and memory assessment by water maze testing (see Mills at p.474 Conclusion). Mills states potential for DHA to provide prophylactic
benefit to the brain against traumatic injury (see id).
LPC-DHA
DHA
US’924 teaches LPC-DHA is a form of DHA for improving DHA levels in the brain (see US’924 at p. 6 ¶[0087]- ¶[0088] and at Figures 3-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, either before the effective filing date of the claimed invention or otherwise at the time the invention was made, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention in view of the prior art for at least the following reason(s):
Regarding acetyl LPC-DHA, Per MPEP § 2143(I)(B), a prima facie case of obviousness exists for simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. In addition, or in the alternative, per MPEP § 2143(I)(D), a prima facie case of obviousness exists for applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Polette teaches acetyl LPC-DHA as a stable form of DHA to prevent isomerization. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the LPC-DHA in the methods of US’924 for Polette’s acetyl LPC-DHA because Polette teaches a structurally similar, more stable form of LPC-DHA that would not isomerize during tissue delivery (see Polette at Abstract).
Furthermore, it is well-within the ordinary skill in art to substitute one form of LPC-DHA known in the art (as taught by US’924) for another (as taught by Polette) according to known methods (as taught by US’924).
Regarding intravenous administration, per MPEP § 2143(I)(A), a prima facie case of obviousness exists for combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. US’924 teaches administering LPC-DHA and positional isomers to treat traumatic brain injury and suggests intravenous administration while Nguyen reduces to practice embodiments of LPC-DHA intravenous administration to male mice. Halstead teaches a motivation for preventing traumatic brain injury in previously-concussed patients and any patient population due to the adverse side effects of a concussion.
Regarding prophylaxis, the prior art teaches administering LPC-DHA for treating TBI (as taught by US’924), and prophylactically administering structurally similar DHA prior to TBI (as taught by Mills). In addition, the prior art teaches a patient population of subjects suffering from TBI, wanting to avoid a second TBI (e.g. second impact syndrome) (as taught by Halstead). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to prophylactically treat with LPC-DHA a subject wishing to avoid TBI, or a subject who has already suffered a TBI wishing to avoid a second because i) LPC-DHA is known to treat TBI (as taught by US’924) and ii) DHA is known to prophylactically treat TBI (as taught by Mills), and LPC-DHA is an art-recognized suitable alternative to DHA (as taught by (US’924) (see MPEP § 2144.07, 2143(I)(B)). Furthermore it is well-within the ordinary skill in the art to administer LPC-DHA in lieu of DHA.
In addition, even though US’924is silent regarding “prophylaxis”, by practicing the method taught by the prior art “treating traumatic brain injury” one will also be “prophylaxis” of a second traumatic brain injury (a patient population identified by Halstead) even though the prior art was not aware of it.
In addition, per MPEP § 2144.09, a prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. In instant case, the prior art teaches structurally similar DHA prophylactically administered to benefit the brain against TBI (as taught by Mills). LPC-DHA is known to be an improved form of DHA for increasing DHA levels in the brain (as taught by US’924). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to administer LPC-DHA prior to a TBI because DHA was known for TBI prophylaxis, and LPC-DHA is a known improved form of DHA (see also MPEP § 2143(I)(D)).
Furthermore, it is well-within the ordinary skill in art to prophylactically administer LPC-DHA for a TBI since the prior art teaches administering LPC-DHA for treating TBI. Furthermore, it is well-within the ordinary skill in art to select a known embodiment of intravenous administration when selecting an administration route.
Therefore, an artisan would arrive at the same invention as presently claimed for reasons taught in the prior art.
Accordingly, claim 10 is rejected as obvious.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0325924 A1 in view of Polette, Nguyen, Halstead, and Mills as applied to claim 10 above.
The prior art differs from the claims as follows: While US’924, Polette, Nguyen, and Halstead teach intravenous administration of LPC-DHA forms for prophylaxis of TBI, they do not explicitly reduce to practice or claim embodiments wherein the LPC-DHA of Formula I constitutes from 10-99%, 20-99%, 50-99%, or 70-99% by weight of the administered pharmaceutical composition.
However,
US’924 identifies that the dosage utilized may vary from “about 0.1 µg/kg to up to about 100 mg/kg or more” (see, e.g., US’924 at [0059], [0167]-[0169]), teaches intravenous administration (see, e.g., US’924 at [0056], [0104]), and reasonably informs artisans of how to prepare formulations for intravenous administration (see, e.g., US’924 at [0104]-[0119]). US’924 expressly identifies that pharmaceutical formulations may vary by content of carriers and solvents (id. at [0108]-[0109]), optionally contain surfactants (id. at [0110]), optionally contain preservatives (id. at [0111], [0118]), optionally contain pH buffers (id. at [0112], [0116]), optionally contain water-soluble polymers (id. at [0113]), and optionally contain tonicity agents (id. at [0116]). Accordingly, an artisan would readily appreciate that the exact weight of a dosage as taught by US’924 would vary depending upon “effective concentration” required for a particular patient, the volume of the injection, and the design choices to include or exclude optional components as set forth above. Furthermore, the exact % amount of LPC-DHA administered would vary depending upon the presence or absence of additional compounds, such as those additional compounds taught and disclosed by US’924 to achieve the same effect (see, e.g., US’924 at claims 15-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, either before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) or otherwise at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ), to arrive at the instantly claimed invention in view of the prior art for at least the following reason(s):
Per MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A), “[g]enerally, differences in concentration . . . will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration . . . is critical.” Here, US’924 provides the effective concentration ranges, identifies the application of intravenous dosages, and identifies how such intravenous formulations may be varied; therefore, an artisan would readily appreciate that the percent by weight of active agent would vary depending upon the amount of surfactants, carriers, solvents, preservatives, water-soluble polymers, buffers, and additional active agents were present, and additionally the effective concentration of compound required for a patient and the volume of the injection needed. Accordingly, it would amount to routine optimization to identify the optimal weight percentage of the pharmaceutical compound required to treat traumatic brain injury via intravenous administration as taught, claimed, and suggested in view of US’924. It has long been settled to be no more than routine experimentation for one of ordinary skill in the art to discover an optimum value of a result effective variable. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum of workable ranges by routine experimentation." Application of Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235-236 (C.C.P.A. 1955). "No invention is involved in discovering optimum ranges of a process by routine experimentation." Id. at 458, 105 USPQ at 236-237. The "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." Application of Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276, 205 USPQ 215, 218-219 (C.C.P.A. 1980). Accordingly, since Applicant has not disclosed that the specific limitations recited in instant claims 17-20 are for any particular purpose or solve any stated problem and the prior art teaches that intravenous formulations often vary according optional components, and various parameters appear to work equally as well, absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to discover the optimum workable ranges of the methods disclosed by the prior art by normal optimization procedures known in the traumatic brain injury art.
Furthermore, it is well-within the ordinary skill in the art to formulate a known compound for use in a known methods of treating a known condition via a known route of administration and a known effective concentration range.
Therefore, an artisan would arrive at the same invention as presently claimed for reasons taught in the prior art.
Accordingly, claims 17-20 are rejected as obvious.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0325924 A1 in view of Polette, Nguyen, Halstead, and Mills as applied to claims 10, 17-20 above.
The prior art differs from the claims as follows: While US’924, Polette, Nguyen, and Halstead teach intravenous administration of LPC-DHA forms for prophylaxis of TBI, they do not explicitly reduce to practice or claim embodiments wherein Formula 1 and Formula 3 are in a molar ratio of 1:1 to 1:5.
However, US’924 teaches and claims methods of treating traumatic brain injury by administering either LPC-DHA or LPC-EPA (see, e.g., US’924 at claims 15-20, wherein R1 may be -OH, EPA, or DHA, and wherein R2 may be -OH or EPA; compare id. at claim 15 with instant claims 10, 17-20, and 26, noting that US’924 teaches at least instantly recited Formula 1). Critically, in view of such claims, an artisan would readily appreciate that both of these compounds are identified as functional equivalents for the treatment of traumatic brain injury by US’924 (see, e.g., US’924 at claims 15-20), wherein such compounds are administered at “about 0.1 µg/kg to up to about 100 mg/kg or more” (see, e.g., US’924 at [0059], [0167]-[0169]) via intravenous administration (see, e.g., US’924 at [0056], [0104]). Accordingly, the prior art fairly informs artisans that such compounds treat the same condition at the same (or overlapping) concentration range via the same route of administration.
Additionally, US’924 discloses formulation of DHA or EPA LPC micelles “for parenteral delivery, such as injection or infusion, in the form of a solution or suspension” (see US’924 at [106]). While US’924 does not disclose specific ratios for EPA/DHA micelles, micelles do require specific ratio ranges of components for the designated micelle size in order to hold their structure and their carrier load. This would require routine optimization for one skilled in the art to arrive at successful ratios for micelle formation at desired micelle sizes with reasonable expectation of success (see MPEP § 2144.05(II)) which may encompass the claimed ratio ranges.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, either before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) or otherwise at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ), to arrive at the instantly claimed invention in view of the prior art for at least the following reason(s): The ratios at claim 26 are obvious because US’924 reasonably informs artisans that the recited compounds are functional equivalents for the purpose of treating traumatic brain injuries, and therefore it is obvious to combine such functional equivalents, and likewise to simply substitute one for the other to achieve the same purpose as taught by the prior art (see, e.g., MPEP §§ 2144.06(I)-(II)). Accordingly, an artisan would readily appreciate that an effective amount of a blend of one, two, or more prior art substances taught by US’924 could be predictably and desirably utilized to treat traumatic brain injuries, wherein the total combined amounts would fall within the range of effective concentration (i.e., “about 0.1 µg/kg to up to about 100 mg/kg or more”) as taught by the prior art. Therefore, the prior art renders obvious the entire range of ratios and blends of such functional equivalents (see, e.g., MPEP § 2144.05(I)). No unexpected results have been placed on record to date.
Furthermore, it is well-within the ordinary skill in the art to formulate a known compound for use in a known methods of treating a known condition via a known route of administration and a known effective concentration range.
Therefore, an artisan would arrive at the same invention as presently claimed for reasons taught in the prior art.
Accordingly, claim 26 is rejected.
Double Patenting
Claim 10, 17-20, and 26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-18 of copending Application No. 17/874,677 (US 2023/0047556 reference application, hereafter App’677) in view of Halstead6. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as explained below.
The applicable analysis for Nonstatutory Double Patenting is set forth in MPEP § 804(II), and specifically MPEP § 804(II)(B). MPEP § 804(II)(B)(2)-(3) identifies that a Nonstatutory Double Patenting Rejection may be appropriate based upon either an anticipation analysis or an obviousness analysis. The instant analysis is an obviousness analysis.
Regarding instant claim 10 and Formulas 1 and 3, instant Formulas 1 and 3 and App’677 general compound structure are analogous in both sets. The table below depicts the instant and reference chemical structures, which read on one another when reference R3 is choline, and reference R1 and R2 may be DHA or OH (App’677 claim 2, instant claim 10).
Copending Reference App’677
Claim 2 Phospholipid Generic Structure
Instant Application
Formulas 1 and 3 of Claim 10
wherein R1 and R2 are a fatty acid residue (DHA or EPA) or -OH, and R3 may be choline
wherein R1 and R2 is OH
Accordingly, the copending claim sets are directed to methods of treating patient populations using the same compounds.
The copending claim scope of App’677 differs from the instant claims follows: First, the claim sets ostensibly recite different patient populations. Second, the instant claims require intravenous administration but the claims of App’677 do not specify a type of administration. Third, the instant claims do not recite or require a 15-60% w/w lysophospholipid content. Fourth, App’677 does not specify the ratios as set forth at instant claim 26.
However, these differences do not render the copending claim sets patentably distinct as explained below.
Regarding instant claims 10, 17-19, and the patient population of prophylaxis of traumatic brain injury, App’677 claims a method for “improving cognitive performance” including treating “memory loss”, “forgetfulness”, “short-term memory loss”, “aphasia”, “disorientation”, “disinhibition”, and “age-associated memory impairment or decline” (see App’677 at claims 2 and 5-18). This is pertinent because such issues are understood to be symptoms associated with cognitive diseases/conditions such as concussions.
Halstead teaches athletes with 3 or more concussions are more likely to have had loss of consciousness, postevent amnesia, confusion, and 3 to 4 abnormal on-field markers of concussion (see Halstead at p. 606 "Long-term Effects"). Halstead also teaches second-impact syndrome results in cerebral vascular congestion, which often can progress to diffuse cerebral swelling and death (see Halstead at p. 606 "Second-Impact Syndrome"). Furthermore, Halstead teaches adverse symptoms of post-concussion syndrome include: headache; dizziness; fatigue; irritability; difficulty with concentrating and performing mental tasks; impairment of memory; insomnia; and reduced tolerance to stress, emotional excitement, or alcohol (see Halstead at p. 606 "Postconcussion Syndrome").
Accordingly, the patient populations addressed in both claim sets are understood to substantially overlap in scope (e.g., patients wishing to avoid traumatic brain injuries), and therefore the different phrasing is insufficient to patentably distinguish the copending claim sets with respect to this issue.
Regarding instant claims 10, 17-20, and intravenous administration, App’677 at claims 2-3 and 5-18 broadly recite “administering” (see App’677 at claims 2 and 12), which broadly encompasses all forms of administration, including intravenous administration. Accordingly, this difference does not differentiate the copending claim scope since the claims of App’677 would be readily understood to broadly encompass all forms of administration including intravenous administration. Accordingly, the administration route does not patently distinguish the copending claim scopes.
Regarding instant claims 17-20 and the weight % of LPC-DHA, App’677 claims a substantially overlapping range. Specifically, App’677 claims the range of 15-60 wt%, whereas instant claims 17-20 recite 10-99, 20-99, 50-99, and 70-99 wt% (compare instant claims 17-20 with App’677 at claim 2). Regarding instant claims 17-19, MPEP §§ 2144.05(I) states a prima facie case of obviousness exists when claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art”. Regarding instant claim 20, although claim 20 recites a slightly higher range of “from 70 to 99%”, the MPEP states that a prima facie case of obviousness also exists “where the claimed ranges do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close” (see MPEP §§ 2144.05(I)). The range at claim 20 would vary not by changing the active ingredient, but merely including other routine components (e.g., surfactants, preservatives, etc.). An artisan would readily appreciate that the exact weight of a dosage as taught by App’677 would vary depending upon “effective concentration” required for a particular patient, the volume of the injection, and the design choices to include or exclude optional components as set forth above (see MPEP §§ 21440.05(II)(A)). Furthermore, the exact % amount of LPC-DHA administered would vary depending upon the presence or absence of additional compounds, such as those additional compounds taught and disclosed by App’677 to achieve the same effect (see, e.g., App’677 at [0044]).
Regarding instant claim 26 and the ratio of LPC-EPA:LPC-DHA, App’677 does not claim specific ratios of LPC-EPA:LPC-DHA, only a “mixture of phospholipid molecules” comprising at least 1% LPC-EPA or LPC-DHA (see App’677 claim 2). However, this amounts to a routine optimization of active ingredients. Accordingly, such difference does not render the claims patentably distinct because the it has long been settled to be no more than routine experimentation for one of ordinary skill in the art to discover an optimum value of a result effective variable. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum of workable ranges by routine experimentation." Application of Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235-236 (C.C.P.A. 1955). "No invention is involved in discovering optimum ranges of a process by routine experimentation." Id. at 458, 105 USPQ at 236-237. The "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." Application of Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276, 205 USPQ 215, 218-219 (C.C.P.A. 1980). Since Applicant has not disclosed that the specific limitations recited in instant claim 26 are for any particular purpose or solve any stated problem and the prior art teaches that functionally equivalent active ingredients often vary and such parameters are expected to work equally as well, absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to discover the optimum workable ranges of the methods disclosed by the prior art by normal optimization procedures known in the pharmaceutical arts (see MPEP §§ 2144.05(II)).
Therefore, under an obviousness rationale, the pending claims are not patentably distinct from one another because administering the same compounds to overlapping patient populations via the same or overlapping administration routes, at the same or overlapping dosages, using the same or overlapping concentrations (see MPEP §§ 2144.05(II)(A)), would be expected to have and exhibit the same properties (see MPEP §§ 2144.06(II)). Accordingly, the copending claim sets are patentably indistinct.
Accordingly, claims 10, 11, 17-20, and 26 are provisionally rejected.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 11, 17-20, 26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10 of copending Application No. 18/226,3857 (US 2023/0364157 A1 reference application, hereafter App’385) in view of Halstead8. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as explained below.
The applicable analysis for Nonstatutory Double Patenting is set forth in MPEP § 804(II), and specifically MPEP § 804(II)(B). MPEP § 804(II)(B)(2)-(3) identifies that a Nonstatutory Double Patenting Rejection may be appropriate based upon either an anticipation analysis or an obviousness analysis. The instant analysis is an obviousness analysis.
Regarding instant claims 11, 17-20, 26 and LPC-DHA Formulas 1 and 3, instant Formulas 1 and 3 and App’385 Formulas 1 and 3 are analogous in both sets (see App’385 claims 1, 2, 4). The table below depicts the instant and reference chemical structures, which read on one another when reference R1 and R2 may be OH (App’385 claim 2 and 5, instant claim 10) or -OC(O)(CH2)nCH3 and n is 0, 1, or 2 (instant claim 10).
Copending Reference App’385
Claim 1 Phospholipids
Instant Application
Formulas 1 and 3 of Claim 10
wherein R1 and R2 are -OH or
-OC(O)(CH2)nCH3 and n is 0, 1, or 2
wherein R1 and R2 is OH or
-OC(O)(CH2)nCH3 and n is 0, 1, or 2
Regarding claim 26 and a molar ratio range of LPC-EPA:LPC-DHA 1:1 to 5:1, App’385 recites the range LPC:EPA:LPC-DHA of 1:3 to 5:1, which lies inside the instantly claimed range.
Regarding claim 26 and the number of moles of LPC-DHA or -EPA is the number of moles of 1-substituted + the number of moles of 2-substituted, App’385 recites the proviso that and the total number of moles of LPC-DHA or -EPA is the number of moles of 1-substituted + the number of moles of 2-substituted (App’385 claim 1, 5).
Regarding claim 26 and intravenous administration, App’385 specifies intravascular administration (App’385 claims 8, 10)
Regarding instant claims 17-20 and LPC-DHA 10-99% by weight of the composition, App’385 recites wherein the total LPC composition comprises 10 to 100% by weight of the LPC composition (App’385 claim 11).
The copending claim scope of App’385 differs from the instant claims follows: First, the claim sets ostensibly recite different patient populations (App’385 claims 1, 6, 8 reciting methods for treating liver disease vs instant prophylaxis TBI). Second, the instant claims require intravenous administration but the claims of App’385 specify intravascular administration. Third, the molar ratio ranges overlap.
However, these differences do not render the copending claim sets patentably distinct as explained below.
Regarding instant claim 26 and the patient population of prophylaxis of traumatic brain injury, Halstead teaches adverse symptoms of post-concussion syndrome include: headache; dizziness; fatigue; irritability; difficulty with concentrating and performing mental tasks; impairment of memory; insomnia; and reduced tolerance to stress, emotional excitement, or alcohol (see Halstead at p. 606 "Postconcussion Syndrome").
Accordingly, the patient populations addressed in both claim sets are understood to substantially overlap in scope (e.g., patients wishing to avoid traumatic brain injuries, including patients with liver diseases), and therefore the different phrasing is insufficient to patentably distinguish the copending claim sets with respect to this issue.
Regarding intravenous administration, App’385 teaches intravascular administration which encompasses the instantly claimed intravenous. Per MPEP § 2143(I)(E), a prima facie case of obviousness exists for choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. It would have been obvious to select “intravenous” from the limited number of known “intravascular” administration routes.
Regarding overlapping ranges, per MPEP § 2144.05(I), a prima facie case of obviousness exists when claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art”. The ranges of instant claim 17 (10 to 99%), 18 (20 to 99%), 19 (50 to 99%) and 20 (70 to 99%) all lie within App’385 claim 11 “10 to 100%”. Furthermore instant claim 26 molar ratio range of LPC-EPA:LPC-DHA 1:1 to 5:1 overlaps with App’385 claim 1 LPC-EPA:LPC-DHA 1:3 to 5:1.
Therefore, under an obviousness rationale, the pending claims are not patentably distinct from one another because administering the same compounds to overlapping patient populations via the same or overlapping administration routes, at the same or overlapping dosages, using the same or overlapping concentrations (see MPEP §§ 2144.05(II)(A)), would be expected to have and exhibit the same properties (see MPEP §§ 2144.06(II)). Accordingly, the copending claim sets are patentably indistinct.
Accordingly, claims 11, 17-20, 26 are provisionally rejected.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 10, 17-20, 26 are rejected.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.R./ Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/JENNIFER A BERRIOS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613
1 Filed May 10, 2018 and published Nov. 15, 2018; cited in IDS filed 1/19/2024 as Cite 8. Hereinafter US ‘924. Referenced in 12/18/24 Office Action.
2 Polette et. al. "Synthesis of acetyl, docosahexaenoyl-glycerophosphocholine and its characterization using nuclear magnetic resonance" Lipids, 1999, 34, 12, 1243-1349. DOI: 10.1007/s11745-999-0486-1. Hereinafter Polette.
3 Nguyen et. al. "Mfsd2a is a transporter for the essential omega-3 fatty acid docosahexaenoic acid" Nature, 2014, 509, 503-506. DOI: 10.1038/nature13241. Hereinafter Nguyen.
4 Halstead et. al. "Clinical Report—Sport-Related Concussion in Children and Adolescents" Pediatrics, 2010, 126, 3, 597-615. DOI: 10.1542/peds.2010-2005. Hereinafter Halstead.
5 Mills et. al. "Dietary Supplementation With the Omega-3 Fatty Acid Docosahexaenoic Acid in Traumatic Brain Injury" Neurosurgery, 2011, 68, 2, 474-481. DOI: 10.1227/NEU.0b013e3181ff692b. Hereinafter Mills.
6 Halstead et. al. "Clinical Report—Sport-Related Concussion in Children and Adolescents" Pediatrics, 2010, 126, 3, 597-615. DOI: 10.1542/peds.2010-2005. Hereinafter Halstead.
7 Filed July 26, 2023
8 Halstead et. al. "Clinical Report—Sport-Related Concussion in Children and Adolescents" Pediatrics, 2010, 126, 3, 597-615. DOI: 10.1542/peds.2010-2005. Hereinafter Halstead.