Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the amended claim 1, 4-5, and 13-18.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument on page 9 paragraph 4 “Warashina does not describe the feature of "a top major surface of the common optical reference substrate is formed with a degree of flatness for defining an optical reference plane for placement of one or more optical components of the laser source assembly"”. The Examiner disagrees with the Applicant because the top surface 28 as indicated in the annotated figure is flat. In addition, Fig. 3 from Warashina shows a 3D figure where the bottom of substrate of 40, equivalent to substrate 10 in Fig. 2 shows a flat bottom in all the directions of the figure. Finally, the applicant does not specify a range of degrees to be considered flat.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument on page 10 paragraph 1 “However, the mount 15 is mounted on the light transmitting substrate 10 instead of the wiring substrate 28. In fact, the light transmitting substrate 10 is present between the mount 15 and the wiring substrate 28”. The Examiner disagree with the Applicant because the word “ON” is a broad word that does not limit to have layers in between the mount 15 and the wiring substrate 28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Previous rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warashina (US Patent US-7486846-B2) in the view of Nakanishi (US Patent US-6513993-B1) hereinafter Nakanishi.
Regarding claim 1, Warashina teaches a laser source assembly (optical transmitting and receiving module in Figs. 1-3) comprising a common optical reference substrate (Fig. 2 wiring substrate #28), a top major surface of the common optical reference substrate (Annotated Fig. 2 indicates the top surface of wiring substrate #28) is formed with a degree of flatness (Fig. 2 the top surface of wiring substrate #28 has a degree of flatness as seen in the annotated figure; Fig. 3 shows a 3D of the device where the bottom of substrate #40, equivalent to substrate #10, is flat) for defining an optical reference plane (Annotated Fig. 2 indicates the optical reference plane defined by the top surface of wiring 28) for placement of one or more optical components of the laser source assembly (Fig. 2 lenses 22 and 24 are optical components placed in the defined optical reference plane, see annotated figure below); a receiving block (Fig. 2 light transmitting substrate #10 where V-grooves #11 are located) attached to the top major surface of the common optical reference substrate (Fig. 2 light transmitting substrate #10 where V-grooves #11 are located is attached to wiring substrate #28) at a first defined location (Annotated Fig. 2 indicates the first location), the receiving block (Fig. 2 light transmitting substrate #10 where V-grooves #11 are located) including a plurality of V-grooves (Fig. 2 light transmitting substrate #10 includes V-groove #11; Fig. 3 shows a plurality of V-groove #11A-C) configured to support a plurality of optical fibers (Fig. 3 plurality of V-groove #11 supports a plurality of optical fibers 21A-C); a submount (Fig. 2 submount #15) attached to the top major surface of the common optical reference substrate (Fig. 2 submount #15 is attached to the top surface of wiring substrate #28) at a second defined location (Annotated Fig. 2 shows the second location where the submount #28 is located), spaced apart from the first defined location (Annotated Fig. 2 shows first and second location are spaced apart), the submount (Fig. 2 submount #15) for supporting an array of laser diode sources (Fig. 2 submount #15 supports laser diode #25; Fig. 3 shows that the submount #43 can support a plurality of lasers #25A-C) in optical alignment with the plurality of optical fibers (Fig. 2 shows the path light between laser #25 and optical fiber #21; column 7 lines 26-30 states “optical fiber 21, ball lenses 22 and 24, and dielectric multilayer film filter 23, into the corresponding grooves, these elements can be aligned precisely”; hence, it is inherent that laser diode #25 is align with optical fiber #21) supported by the receiving block (Fig. 3 optical fibers #21A-C are supported by V-grooves 11A-C ) in a one-to- one association (Fig. 3 laser diodes #25A-C are in one to one association with optical fibers #21A-C); and a plurality of passive optical devices (Fig. 2 filter #23, ball lenses #24 and #22 are plurality of passive optical devices) attached to the top major surface of the common optical reference substrate (Fig. 2 filter #23, ball lenses #24 and #22 are attached to the top surface of wiring substrate #28) and disposed between the receiving block and the submount (Fig. 2 filter #23, ball lenses #24 and #22 are disposed are in between V-groove #11 and submount #15), the plurality of passive optical devices (Fig. 2 filter #23, ball lenses #24 and #22) utilized to achieve optical alignment between the plurality of laser diode sources and the plurality of optical fibers (Fig. 2 shows the path light between laser #25 and optical fiber #21 that includes filter #23 and ball lenses #24 and #22; column 7 lines 26-30 states “optical fiber 21, ball lenses 22 and 24, and dielectric multilayer film filter 23, into the corresponding grooves, these elements can be aligned precisely”; hence filter #23, ball lenses #24 and #22 are utilized to achieve optical alignment between the plurality of laser diode #25 and the plurality of optical fiber #21).
Warashina fails to teach a silicon submount.
However, Nakanishi teaches a silicon submount where laser diodes are mounted (Fig. 7 LD/PD #30 is fixed to Si bench #28).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Warashina’s device by having the surmount made of silicon as taught by Nakanishi because it would allow to further interconnect the device with different electronic components and facilitate further lithography process.
Regarding claim 2, Warashina’s modified device teaches the laser source assembly as defined in claim 1, wherein the receiving block is configured to exhibit a height H (from Warashina Annotated Fig. 2 shows the height “H”), as measured from the optical reference plane (from Warashina Annotated Fig. 2 height “H” can be measured from the optical reference plane shown in the annotated figure), associated with enabling optical alignment between a core region of a supported optical fiber and an associated laser diode of the array of laser diode sources (from Warashina column 7 lines 26-30 states “optical fiber 21, ball lenses 22 and 24, and dielectric multilayer film filter 23, into the corresponding grooves, these elements can be aligned precisely”; therefore it is inherent that the height “H” is associated with enabling optical alignment with laser diodes #25 and optical fibers #21).
Regarding claim 15, Warashina in the view of Nakanishi teaches the passive optical components (from Warashina Fig. 3 lenses 24A-C, filter #42, and lenses 22A-C) comprise a plurality of focusing lenses (from Warashina Fig. 3 lenses 24A-C) attached to the top major surface of the common optical substrate (from Warashina Fig. 2 lenses 24 are attached to top surface of wiring substrate #28) at a position adjacent to the silicon submount (from Warashina Fig. 3 lenses 24A-C are located adjacent of mount #43; from Nakanishi Fig. 7 mount #28 is made of silicon).
Regarding claim 16, Warashina’s modified device teaches the top major surface of the common optical reference substrate (from Warashina Fig. 2 wiring substrate #28) is processed (it is inherent that wiring substrate #28 undergoes to a process to be part of receiving module #1 in Fig. 2) to form a plurality of focusing lens bond pads (from Warashina column 5 and lines 16-18 states “A second ball lens 24, which is a collimating lens of this invention, is set in second lens groove 14, and second ball lens 24 is adhered to substrate 10 by an adhesive agent”; therefore the adhesive added at groove #14 can be considered bond pads for the lenses 24) at locations (from Warashina Fig. 2 groove #14; Fig. 3 grooves #14A-C) used in providing optical alignment between the plurality of optical fibers and the plurality of laser diodes (from Warashina column 5 lines 20-23 state “the center of second ball lens 24 is positioned along the optical axis of light that enters into or exits from the optical fiber and is transmitted through dielectric multilayer film filter 23”).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warashina (US Patent US-7486846-B2) in the view of Nakanishi (US Patent US-6513993-B1), as per claim 1, in further view of Miura (US Patent US-5966488-A), hereinafter Miura, and Lee (US Patent US-5854867-A) hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 3, Warashina modified device teaches the assembly comprises an array of optical fibers (from Warashina Fig. 3 optical fibers 21A-C), receiving block V-grooves (from Warashina Fig. 3 V-grooves 11A-C).
Warashina and Nakanishi fail to teach fiber array support module , the fiber array support module including an array of support module V-grooves and alignment features such that the support module V-grooves align with the receiving block V-grooves when the fiber array support module is disposed over and attached to the receiving block.
However Miura teaches fiber array support module (Fig. 7a retaining board #38A) , the fiber array support module (Fig. 7a retaining board #38A) including an array of support module V-grooves (Fig. 7a retaining board #38A includes V-grooves 39A corresponding to V-groove #42 of the mounting board #35) such that the support module V-grooves (Fig. 7a V-grooves #39A) align with the receiving block V-grooves (Fig. 7a-b V-grooves #39A aligns with V-grooves #42 from mounting board #35) when the fiber array support module is disposed over and attached to the receiving block (Fig. 7b shows the retaining board #38A is disposed and attached over the mounting board #35). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Warashina’s modified device in the view of Nakanishi to add a fiber array support module as taught by Miura because having a fiber array support would allow to retain the optical fibers in place avoiding undesired movement of the optical fibers.
Warashina’s modified device in the view of Nakanishi and Miura also fails to teach alignment features.
However, Lee teaches alignment features (Fig. 3 alignment marks #89 and #78) to align the laser chip with the V-groove (Fig. 3 alignment marks #89 and #78 are used to aligned the laser chip #85 on V-groove #81, see column 9 and lines 36-41). ). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Warashina’s in the view of Miura device with alignment features as taught by Lee (e.g. having alignment marks on the surface of retaining board #38A and mounting board #35) because having alignment features would facilitate to easily align the fiber array support module with the receiving block.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warashina (US Patent US-7486846-B2) in the view of Nakanishi (US Patent US-6513993-B1), Miura (US Patent US-5966488-A) and Lee (US Patent US-5854867-A), as per claim 3, in further view of Tu (US Patent US-6219470-B1) hereinafter Tu.
Regarding claim 4, Warashina’s device in the view of Miura teaches the fiber array support module (from Miura Fig. 7a retaining board #38A), a receiving block (from Warashina Fig. 2 light transmitting substrate #10), an array of optical fibers(from Warashina Fig. 3 optical fibers 21A-C) and an array of laser diode sources (from Warashina Fig. 3 laser diodes 25A-C).
Warashina, Nakanishi, Miura and Lee fail to teach a cover plate, wherein an end wall of the cover plate is positioned to contact an end wall of the receiving block to define a separation between the array of optical fibers and the array of laser diode sources.
However, Tu teaches a cover plate (Fig. 7 cover #313); wherein an end wall of the cover plate (Fig. 7 alignment ribs #321) is positioned to contact an end wall of the receiving block (Fig. 7 alignment ribs #321 are positioned to contact the surface alignment notches #320 that is part of silicon substrate #301). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Warashina’s modified device in the view of Nakanishi, Lee and Miura with a cover plate as taught by Tu (e.g. adding a cover plate on top of retaining board #38A taught by Miura) because a cover plate would allow to cover and further protect the optical fiber.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warashina (US Patent US-7486846-B2) in the view of Nakanishi (US Patent US-6513993-B1), Miura (US Patent US-5966488-A) and Lee (US Patent US-5854867-A), as per claim 3, in further view of Harada (Foreign Patent JP-4221034-B2) hereinafter Harada.
Regarding claim 5, Warashina modified device teaches the array of optical fibers (from Warashina Fig. 2 optical fibers 21A-C).
Warashina , Nakanishi, Miura and Lee fail to teach the optical fiber comprises a polarization-maintaining optical fiber.
However, Harada teaches a laser module that comprises a polarization maintaining optical fiber (Fig. 3 light emitted from laser diode #41 passes through a lens #42, plates #43 & #44 to reached polarization-maintaining optical fiber #45).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Warashina’s device in the view of Nakanishi, Miura and Lee with an array of polarization-maintaining optical fiber as taught by Harada because it would allow to preserve the polarization state of propagating light with a stress-added layer (see Harada translated document page 1 paragraph 2 “Polarization-maintaining optical fiber is an optical fiber that can preserve the polarization state of propagating light with a stress-added layer”).
Claim(s) 6, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warashina (US Patent US-7486846-B2) in the view of Nakanishi (US Patent US-6513993-B1), as per claim 1, in further view of Siriani (US Patent US-20190273356-A1) hereinafter Siriani.
Regarding claim 6, Warashina’s device in the view of Nakanishi teaches a top major surface of the common optical reference substrate (from Warashina Annotated Fig. 2 in claim 1 indicates the top surface of wiring substrate #28), the receiving block (from Warashina Fig. 2 light transmitting substrate #10) at the first location (from Warashina Annotated Fig. 2 in claim 1 indicates the first location), and the silicon surmount (from Nakanishi Fig. 8 LD/PD #30 is fixed to Si bench) in the second location (from Warashina Annotated Fig. 2 in claim 1 shows the second location where the submount #28 is located).
Warashina, and Nakanishi fail to teach alignment fiducials and bond lines for positioning and attaching the receiving block at the first defined location and the silicon submount at the second defined location.
However, Siriani teaches a substrate (Fig. 3 substrate #310; or Fig. 7b wafer #700) includes alignment fiducials (Fig. 3C alignment features #380; also seen in Fig. 7b) and bond lines (Fig. 3C pads #360; also seen in Fig. 7b) for positioning (Fig. 3C alignment features #380 are used to positioning submount #300 in Fig. 3B; also paragraph [0067] states “The bottom-view 702 shows a plurality of assembly features (e.g., TSV 320 and alignment features 380) that are associated with the individual dies of the QD submounts 300 ”) and attaching a submount (Fig. 3C pads #360 are used to bond QD laser submount #300; paragraph [0057] states “The pads 360 are positioned on one or more of the bottom surface 311 of the silicon stratum 111, above an upper side of the dielectric 340, or on top of the second III-V stratum 191 so that other components can be physically attached to and/or electrically connected to the QD laser”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Warashina’s device in the view of Nakanishi to include alignment fiducials and bond lines on the top major surface of the common optical reference substrate in the first and second location as taught by Siriani because it would facilitate to fix the receiving block/submount (e.g. even though the submount is not in physically contact with the wiring substrate #28 having the fiducials and bond lines on top of #28 would allow to properly fix the substrate #10 at first/second location).
Regarding claim 7, Warashina modified device teaches the common optical reference substrate (from Warashina wiring substrate #28).
Warashina, and Nakanishi fail to teach the common optical reference substrate comprises a silicon material.
However, Siriani teaches a Silicon substrate substrate (Fig. 1 Si wafer substrate #110) that comprises optical and electrical elements (paragraph [0020] states “The wafer 110 comprises a Si substrate from which various optical and electrical components may be grown or eutectically bonded” ) It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Warashina’s device in the view of Nakanishi to have a Si substrate (e.g. wiring substrate #28 made of silicon that includes various optical and electrical components to wiring connections) as taught by Siriani because having a Si substrate as taught by Siriani it would allow to be used to further interconnect the device, have superior physical properties, greater ease of manufacture, and/or greater production yields than InP-based QW lasers or QW/QD lasers grown from Si substrates (see paragraph [0018] from Siriani).
Regarding claim 8, Warashina’s device in the view of Nakanishi teaches a top major surface of the common optical reference substrate (from Warashina Annotated Fig. 2 in claim 1 indicates the top surface of wiring substrate #28), the receiving block (from Warashina Fig. 2 light transmitting substrate #10) at the first location (from Warashina Annotated Fig. 2 in claim 1 indicates the first location), and the silicon surmount (from Nakanishi Fig. 8 LD/PD #30 is fixed to Si bench) in the second location (from Warashina Annotated Fig. 2 in claim 1 shows the second location where the submount #28 is located).
Warashina, and Nakanishi fail to teach the common optical reference substrate is patterned to define locations for alignment fiducials and bond lines; the silicon material etched to define positions for attachments.
However, Siriani teaches a substrate being patterned to define locations for alignment fiducials (Fig. 3C alignment features #380 on substrate #310 also seen in Fig. 7b; paragraph [0052] states “etched alignment features 380 are shown”)and bond lines (Fig. 3C pad #360 ; paragraph [0038] states “etching is also applied to the Si substrate to produce various assembly features… One example of an assembly feature is a through-silicon via (TSV), which defines a through-hole in the Si substrate and through which an electric contact is run the underside of the Si substrate to one or more layers grown on the top side of the Si substrate”; paragraph [0052] states “FIG. 3C, three pads 360 (associated with TSV 320) ”; therefore pads #360 are also etched); the silicon material etched (paragraph [0038] states “etching is also applied to the Si substrate to produce various assembly features such as through-silicon via -TSV- or alignment feature “) to define positions for attachments (Fig. 3C and Fig. 7b assembly features are define position for attaching submount #300). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Warashina’s device in the view of Nakanishi to have a Si substrate (e.g. wiring substrate #28 made of silicon that includes various optical and electrical components to wiring connections) as taught by Siriani because having a patterned Si substrate with alignment fiducials and bond lines it would facilitate to fix the receiving block/submount (e.g. even though the submount is not in physically contact with the wiring substrate #28 having the fiducials and bond lines on top of #28 would allow to properly fix the substrate #10 at first/second location).
Claim(s) 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warashina (US Patent US-7486846-B2) in the view of Nakanishi (US Patent US-6513993-B1), as per claim 1, in further view of Sherrer (US-7888793-B2) hereinafter Sherrer.
Regarding claim 13, Warashina modified device teaches the array of lasers (from Warashina Fig. 3 lasers 25A-C) and the array of optical fibers (from Warashina Fig. 3 optical fibers 21A-C, filter #42 and ), and an area defining a free space optical path between the array of laser diode devices and the plurality of optical fibers (from Warashina Fig. 3 area where lenses 24A-C, 22A-C and filter are located).
Warashina and Nakashi fail to teach a lid component disposed over an area defining a free space optical path between the array of laser diode devices and the plurality of optical fibers.
However, Sherrer teaches a lid component (Fig. 5A-B lid #200) disposed over an area defining a free space optical path between the array of laser diode devices and the plurality of optical fibers (Fig. 5-B lid 200 is disposed over an area where lens #22 is disposed; lid #200 also covers an area of free space between lens#200 and laser #12 as well an area of free space between lens #200 and optical fiber #42; therefore lid #200 is disposed over an area defining a free space optical ).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Warashina’s device in the view of Nakashi with a lid (e.g. having a lid over components 22-24 in Warashina’s device) as taught by Sherrer because it would allow to protect the devices disposed in between the laser and optical fiber.
Regarding claim 14, Warashina modified device teaches the top major surface of the common optical reference substrate (from Warashina Fig. 2 wiring substrate #28).
Warashina and Nakashi fail to teach the top major surface of the common optical reference substrate is formed to include bond lines defining a location for positioning and attaching sidewalls of the lid component.
However, Sherrer teaches a top major surface of a substrate (Fig. 5A-B top surface of optical microbench #100) is formed to include bond lines (Fig. 5A-B top surface of optical microbench #100 includes bonding material #240) defining a location (Fig. 5A inclided side walls #65, #63 and mounting channels #62, 64) for positioning and attaching sidewalls of the lid component (The inclined sidewalls 65, 63 of the front and rear lid mounting channels 62, 64 may assist in guiding the respective sidewalls 220 of the lid 200 to seat at a desired location within the lid mounting channels 62, 64).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Warashina’s device in the view of Nakashi with bond lines for positioning and attaching sidewalls of the lid component as taught by Sherrer because it would allow to have the lid to be fixed avoiding undesired displacements of the lid.
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warashina (US Patent US-7486846-B2) in the view of Nakanishi (US Patent US-6513993-B1), as per claim 1, in further view of Shastri (US Patent US-20190086618-A1) hereinafter Shastri.
Regarding claim 17, Warashina modified device teaches the passive optical components (from Warashina Fig. 2 lenses 24 and filter 42), optical substrate (from Warashina Fig. 2 wiring substrate #28), plurality of lenses (from Warashina Fig. 3 lenses 24A-C) and receiving block (from Warashina substrate #10 where V-groove #11 are located).
Warashina and Nakanishi fail to teach a plurality of optical isolators attached to the top major surface of the common optical substrate at a position between the plurality of focusing lenses and the receiving block.
However, Shastri teaches a plurality of optical isolators (Fig. 43 isolator #152; paragraph [0112] states “an array of isolators 152 -and lenses 150- are used in combination with an array of laser diodes”) attached to the top substrate (Fig. 43 isolator #152 is attached top surface of substrate #20) at a position between the plurality of focusing lenses and the receiving block (Fig. 43 isolator #152 is at position between lenses #150 and central recess area #66).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Warashina’s device in the view of Nakanishi to add a plurality of optical isolator as taught by Shastri (e.g. having a plurality of isolators in between lenses #24A-C and V-grooves #11 being positioned with additional groves having adhesive material to bond the optical isolator) because an isolator would prevent reflections along the output path from re-entering laser diode 60 (from Shastri see paragraph [0112]).
Regarding claim 18, Warashina in the view of Nakanishi in further view of Shastri further teaches the top major surface of the common optical reference substrate (from Warashina Fig. 2 wiring substrate #28) is processed (it is inherent that wiring substrate #28 undergoes to a process to be part of receiving module #1 in Fig. 2 from Warashina) to form a plurality of bond lines (from Warashina column 5 and lines 16-18 states “A second ball lens 24, which is a collimating lens of this invention, is set in second lens groove 14, and second ball lens 24 is adhered to substrate 10 by an adhesive agent”) at locations defined for placement of the plurality of optical isolators (from Shastri Fig. 43 isolator #152; paragraph [0112] states “an array of isolators 152 -and lenses 150- are used in combination with an array of laser diodes”) in optical alignment with the plurality of coupling lenses (paragraph [0112] states “Isolator 152 is included to prevent reflections along the output path from re-entering laser diode 60. It is to be understood that in this configuration, as well as other laser transmitter modules, an array of isolators 152 (and lenses 150) are used in combination with an array of laser diodes as positioned within the laser transmitter module 40”; therefore isolator #152 is in optical alignment with the plurality of coupling lenses).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ziari ( US Patent US-20030108304-A1) teaches submount 38 where laser 32 sits and submount 55 where optical fiber 34 sits.
/FERNANDA ADRIANA CAMACHO ALANIS/Examiner, Art Unit 2828
/MINSUN O HARVEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2828