DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to papers filed 11/05/2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, ZNG790-AS1 and MSCAS1 in the reply filed on 3/05/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-11, 16-20 are pending. Claims 12-15 has been cancelled.
Claims 16-18 are withdrawn as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
The following rejections for claims 1-11 and 19-20 are maintained or modified with response to arguetmsn following.
This action is FINAL.
Withdrawn Objections and Rejections
The claim objection made in the previous office action is withdrawn based upon amendments to the claims.
The 35 USC 112b, 35 USC 101 rejection made in the previous office action is withdrawn based upon amendments to the claims.
The 35 USC 102 rejection made in the previous office is withdrawn based upon amendments to the claims. However, it is noted that the reference used in the 35 USC 102 is used in the 35 USC 103 rejection proved below.
Maintained Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are drawn to methods of determining levels or amounts of methylation in any biological sample in any subject and further diagnosing or identifying as suffering from a gastric cancer when the genes are hypermethylated.
The claims are drawn to a very large genus of examining methylation levels or amounts of any samples from any type of individual to diagnosing gastric cancer. Based upon the description in the specification although the skilled artisan could readily use a methylation analysis, the artisan would first need to determine if it functionally detectable of diagnosing gastric cancer, in the samples from any of the different species as such the specification has not provided written support for the structures with the recited functionality.
In analyzing whether the written description requirement is met for genus claims, it is first determined whether a representative number of species have been described by their complete structure. The instant specification has not provided the critical structures in any species in any sample to functionally determine gastric cancer using hypermethylated methylation of MSC-AS1 and ZNF790-AS1 rather the specification provides a specific human and a specific sample type.
Further, the art does not provide guidance to sufficiently describe relevant identifying characteristics or functional attributes that would distinguish different members of the claimed genus. In the instant case it is not clear that the functionality of bladder cancer can be extrapolated to non-human individuals or in any sample type based upon methylation levels of MSC-AS1 and ZNF790-AS1 particular sample from a specific species. This finding is supported by Feng (PNAS 2010 Vol 107 No 19 pages 8689-8694). Specifically, Feng teaches that although DNA methylation likely has a conserved role in gene silencing, the levels and patterns of DNA methylation appear to vary drastically among different organisms (abstract).
Herein the claims are drawn to any type of sample in any subject however, there is no written support that methylation detection or levels would between the different types of samples and species would be functionally the same.
In analysis of the claims for compliance with the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, the written description guidelines note regarding genus/species situations that "Satisfactory disclosure of a ``representative number'' depends on whether one of skill in the art would recognize that the applicant was in possession of the necessary common attributes or features of the elements possessed by the members of the genus in view of the species disclosed." (See: 'Written Description" Requirement, Federal Register, Vol. 66, No. 4, pages 1099-1111, Friday January 5, 2001.) As such, one of skill in the art would not recognize that applicant was in possession of the genus of markers, encompassed by the broadly claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
The reply traverses the rejection. A summary of the arguments is provided below with response to arguments following. The reply asserts that a specific subset of patients that have or are suspected of having gastric cancer (p. 5). The reply asserts that the specification provides that hypermethylation of the genes are assessed (p. 5). The reply asserts that claim 3 and 19 both limit the biological sample to blood and humans (p. 5-6).
These arguetmsn have been reviewed but have not been found persuasive.
The independent claims are not limited to hypermethylation, blood or humans and as such the breadth of the claims is larger than the examples pointed to in the reply. As noted above such correlations without critical structures would not be described by the specification. The reply asserts that claim 1 is limited to subjects that has or is suspected of having gastric cancer. Although the limitation of “subjects that have gastric cancer” would be limiting, the specification has not described which limitations are necessary to be “suspected”. The specification does not describe the limitations of “suspected” and as such it is broadly interpreted as any subject that has the capability of having gastric cancer, as the phrase is not limited to clinical determinations.
Modified Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vrba et al. (WO2019/068082 April 4, 2019).
With regard to claim 1, Vrba et al. teaches a method of determining the level of methylation of MSC-AS1 and KCNA3 (p. 15 SKCM 6 marker set and para 36). However, Vrba et al. does not teach ZNF790-AS1.
Vrba et al. suggests that the subject can have a stomach cancer (p 34) and as such suggests a subject that is suspected of gastric cancer.
With regard to claim 2, the claim is interpreted as an optional limitation. In particular the correlation to gastric cancer only needs to be determined “when” there is hypermethylation. As Vrba et al. teaches any level of methylation it would encompass the breadth of the claims.
With regard to claim 3, Vrba et al. teaches that the biological sample is a human blood sample (para 28).
With regard to claim 4, Vrba et al. teaches a method of methylation detection by next generation sequencing (para 67).
With regard to claim 5, Vrba et al. teaches determination of methylation of the entirety of the gens and therefore teaches that methylation is determined of the recited regions within the gene.
With regard to claim 7, as VRBA teaches NGS sequencing it suggests determination of methylation simultaneously. However, Vrba et al. does not teach ZNF790-AS1.
Response to Arguments
The reply traverses the rejection. A summary of the arguments is provided below with response to arguments following. The reply asserts that the claims require that the subject has or is suspected of having gastric cancer. The reply asserts that the combination was used for testing skin cutaneous melanoma (p. 7). It is noted that the rejection of Bernstein has been withdrawn.
These arguments have been reviewed but have not been found persuasive.
Vrba et al. suggests that the subject can have a stomach cancer (p 34) and as such suggests a subject that is suspected of gastric cancer. Although the specific genes were found associated with skin cutaneous melanoma, Vrba et al. teaches screening the genes across a number of sample types with a variety of cancer. As such Vrba et al. suggests that at least one of the samples was suspected of gastric cancer.
Claim(s) 8,11,19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vrba et al. (WO2019/068082 April 4, 2019) as applied to claims 1-5, 7 in view of Ahlquist et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0058356 March 2, 2017).
Vrba et al. teaches a method of determining the level of methylation of MSC-AS1 and KCNA3 (p. 15 SKCM 6 marker set and para 36). Vrba et al. suggests that the subject can have a stomach cancer (p 34) and as such suggests a subject that is suspected of gastric cancer.
However, Vrba et al. do not teach determining methylation levels at different time points.
With regard to claim 8, Ahlquist et al. teaches methods of determining levels of methylation at multiple time points in genes including KCNA3 (para 15,20,40, 211).
With regard to claim 10, as VRBA teaches NGS sequencing it suggests determination of methylation simultaneously
With regard to claim 19, Vrba et al. teaches that the biological sample is a human blood sample (para 28).
With regard to claim 11, Ahlquist et al teaches comparison with a reference (para 211-218).
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify Vrba and Bernstein to measure methylation at more than one time point as suggested by Ahlquist et al.. The ordinary artisan would be motivated in order to measure changes in methylation in a sample across time to determine how external changes effect methylation.
Response to Arguments
The reply traverses the rejection. A summary of the arguments is provided below with response to arguments following. The reply is traverses based upon the arguetmsn set forth and replied to above.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE D SALMON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682