DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 12-15, 19, 23-24, 26 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bose et al (US 2009/0173908, ‘908 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1, 4-5, 12-15, 19, 23-24 and 28-29, ‘908 discloses a magnetic shape-memory composition ([0007]) comprising a shape memory polymer matric being elastomeric material polynorbornene having Tg being around 37°C, which has Young’s modulus satisfying present claims 4 and 5 ([0008]-[0010], since the polynorbornene having Tg around 37°C, the polymer at 25°C is in the glass state which generally has Young’s modulus in the presently claimed range as in claim 5, the polymer in the temperature higher than Tg (in rubber state) generally has Young’s modulus in the range of present claim 4); and a population of hard-magnetic particle having particle size 1 to 999 microns ([0015]) including NdFeB being a rare earth-transition metal-metalloid and Barium ferrite being a hexagonal ferrite ([0012]). ‘908 discloses that the magnetic particles can be either hard magnetic particle, soft magnetic particle or the mixture of these particles ([0011]-[0013]), but does not specifically set forth a composition comprising two magnetic particles as presently claimed. However, since ‘908 teaches that both soft magnetic particles and hard magnetic particles can be used to make the composition having desired mechanic properties for a damping application ([0001], [0011]-[0014]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to further use these particles together in the composition disclosed by ‘908, to render the composite having desired properties. It is well settled that it is prima facie obvious to combine two ingredients each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. The idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (See MPEP 2144.06). The soft magenetic particle can be iron or iron alloy powders ([0011]), which natually has coercive force lower than the hard magetiv particles as recited in the presetn claims 25 and 26. ‘908 also discloses that the volume concentration of magnetic particle can be 10 to 50 vol% ([0015]), and the particle content and size satisfying present claims 28 and 29 ([0015]). ‘908 does not expressly set forth that the composition exhibits reversible, fast and controllable transforming deformation; shape-locking and reprogramming capabilities, however, since 908 fairly suggests a compostion being substantially identical to the presently claimed magnetic shape-memory composition; it is reasonable to expected that the prior art composition would have possessed the same properties; including reversible, fast and controllable transforming deformation, shape-locking and reprogramming capabilities as presently claimed; in absence of an objective showing to the contrary (See MPEP 2112).
Regarding claim 30, ‘908 also discloses an article can be made from the composition ([0030], [0031]).
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bose et al (US 2009/0173908, ‘908 hereafter) in view of Lahelin et al (Composite part A, 2009, p125-129, of record, see IDS filed on 12/20/2021).
Regarding claims 3 and 8, ‘908 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but ‘908 does not disclose that the polymer matric is one of the resins as recited in the present claim 8, However, in the same field of endeavor, Lahelin et al discloses a magnetic shape memory composition comprising magnetic particles and a polymer matrix (Table 1, page 127), wherein an epoxy resin is used to make the composite for the epoxy resin has good adhesion with magnetic particles (See Results and discussion section, page 127). In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have use epoxy resin as known in the art, to modify the composition of ‘908, in order to render a composition having better mechanic properties by taking the advantage of better adhesion between polymer matrix and embedded magnetic particles. Lahelin et al discloses that the Tg of the resin can be in the range as recited in the present claim 3 (peaks of Tan Delta, see Fig. 3a and Fig 3b, pages127-128).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of elements as claimed provides magnetic shape-memory compositions that exhibit a particularly desirable suite of performance characteristics, including reversible, fast, and controllable transforming deformation, shape-locking, and reprogramming capabilities. However, no experimental data has been shown to demonstrate that the combination of a shape memory polymer matrix, a hard-magnetic particles and an auxiliary magnetic particles as claimed shows unexpected effects on the properties such as deformation, shape-locking and reprogramming capabilities; especially comparisons between a composition having hard-magnetic particle and soft-magnetic particle together, with a composition having hard-magnetic particle alone and a composition having soft-magnetic particle alone.
For the reasons set forth above and of record, the claims stand properly rejected.
Conclusion
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782