DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed 1/16/2026:
Claims 1-24 are pending
Claims 21-24 are added
35 USC112b rejection is withdrawn
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it recites…S independent speakers, wherein S<M. There exists a scenario of M=2 and S=1. In such a scenario, the later recitation of “a first matrix application module … for playback on the multiple independent speakers,
a second matrix application module … for playback on the multiple independent speakers….”
Further, a more proper way to connect the independent speakers would be to recite “…on the S independent speakers”. Clarification from the Applicant is sought in the next response.
Claims 12 and 21 recite similar claim language and are thus rejected for the same rationale as above.
Claims 2-11, 13-20, and 22-24 are rejected as being dependent upon an indefinite parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, 12, 19-21, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chon et al (US20160269845, hereinafter “Chon”).
Regarding claim 1, Chon teaches an audio renderer for rendering a multi-channel input audio signal having M channels to a portable device having S independent speakers, wherein S<M (¶1, 37-39, audio rendering apparatus capable of outputting a multi-channel audio signal using a lesser amount of output channels versus the greater amount of input channels), comprising:
a first matrix application module for applying a primary rendering matrix to the input audio signal to provide a first pre-rendered signal suitable for playback on the multiple independent speakers (¶58-60, 71-72, a first rendering matrix may be defined as the applause signal which is sent to a 2D renderer),
a second matrix application module for applying a secondary rendering matrix to the input audio signal to provide a second pre-rendered signal suitable for playback on the multiple independent speakers, wherein the second rendering matrix is different than the first rendering matrix (¶58-60, 71-72, a second rendering matrix may be defined as the main signal and sent to a 3D renderer – wherein the rendering matrix for the applause signal and the main channel signal differ in that the applause signal requires only a 2D renderer and can be output to a horizontal channel);
a channel analysis module configured to calculate a mixing gain according to a time-varying channel distribution (¶22, 47, various gain values are applied accordingly; since no explicit recitation of a tone signal (e.g. non-varying in time) is taught it can be assumed that the multichannel audio signal is of the time-varying variety); and
a mixing module configured to produce a rendered output signal by mixing the first and second pre-rendered signals based on the mixing gain (Fig. 2, mixer and output unit configured to mix the 3D and 2D rendered signal as an output signal).
Regarding claim 9, Chon teaches wherein at least some entries of the primary rendering matrix are subdivided in specific frequency bands (¶71, downmix matrix can be defined by a function of an input channel, output channel, and a frequency).
Regarding claim 12, it is rejected similarly as claim 1. The method can be found in Chon (¶1, method).
Regarding claim 19, it is rejected similarly as claim 1. The computer program can be found in Chon (¶148, digital information recorded on a computer medium).
Regarding claim 20, it is rejected similarly as claim 1. The medium can be found in Chon (¶148, medium).
Regarding claim 21, Chon teaches an audio renderer for rendering a multi-channel input audio signal having M channels to a portable device having S independent speakers, wherein S < M (¶1, 37-39, audio rendering apparatus capable of outputting a multi-channel audio signal using a lesser amount of output channels versus the greater amount of input channels), comprising:
a first matrix application module for applying a primary rendering matrix to the input audio signal to provide a first pre-rendered signal suitable for playback on the multiple independent speakers (¶58-60, 71-72, a first rendering matrix may be defined as the applause signal which is sent to a 2D renderer);
a channel analysis module (Fig. 2, apparatus 200) configured to:
determine that one or more channels of the input audio signal are degraded (¶48, to avoid signal degradation, an “add-to-the-closest-channel” rendering technique can be applied);
select at least one second rendering matrix from a plurality of second rendering matrices based on determining that one or more channels of the input audio signal are degraded (¶48, upon determining that signal degradation may occur, an “add-to-the-closest-channel” rendering technique can be applied by the 3D renderer);
a second matrix application module for applying the at least one secondary rendering matrix to the input audio signal to provide a second pre-rendered signal suitable for playback on the multiple independent speakers (¶58-60, 71-72, a second rendering matrix may be defined as the main signal and sent to a 3D renderer); and
a mixing module configured to produce a rendered output signal by mixing the first and second pre-rendered signals based on a mixing gain (Fig. 2, mixer and output unit configured to mix the 3D and 2D rendered signal as an output signal).
Regarding claim 23, Chon teaches wherein the channel analysis module computes at least one gain based on a ratio of energy of the degraded channel and a total energy of the M channels (¶117-124, gain of the mixed signals may be based on the power value of the signals), a smoothing module smooths the at least one gain (¶117-124, smoothing equation can be applied), and the mixing module applies the at least one smoothed gain to the first pre-rendered signal and at least one second pre- rendered signal (Fig. 8, ¶134, a final signal is output after a smoothing process is applied).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chon et al (US20160269845, hereinafter “Chon”) in view of Schreiner et al (US20120308049, hereinafter “Schreiner”).
Regarding claim 8, Chon fails to explicitly teach wherein the entries of the primary rendering matrix and the secondary rendering matrix are real constants or frequency dependent complex vectors.
Schreiner teaches wherein the entries of the primary rendering matrix and the secondary rendering matrix are real constants or frequency dependent complex vectors (Schreiner, Fig. 8, entries of the downmix matrix is real constant).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of using a target rendering matrix (as taught by Schreiner) to the audio rendering apparatus (as taught by Chon). The rationale to do so is to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield the predictable result of allowing the user the freedom to choose a specific rendering setup (Schreiner, ¶125).
Regarding claim 10, Chon in view of Schreiner teaches wherein at least some entries of the primary rendering matrix and the secondary rendering matrix are equal (Schreiner, Fig. 8, downmix matrix can contain any combination of values including 0, 1, and values between 0 and 1 such as 0.5).
Claim(s) 2-3, 7, 13-14, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chon et al (US20160269845, hereinafter “Chon”) in view of Robinson et al (US20140133683, hereinafter “Robinson”).
Regarding claim 2, Chon fails to explicitly teach wherein the secondary rendering matrix is configured to ignore at least one of the channels in the input audio signal.
Robinson teaches wherein the secondary rendering matrix is configured to ignore at least one of the channels in the input audio signal (¶109, the adaptive audio authoring tool allows for mix values according to a playback configuration such that when there are no height speakers, the original height channel signal can be modified accordingly; Schreiner, ¶120, downmix matrix allows for a value of 0 to be input to represent that specific object to be removed from the output).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the audio rendering system (as taught by Chon) with the adaptive output module (as taught by Robinson). The rationale to do so is to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of optimizing playback according to any playback environment (Robinson, ¶53).
Regarding claim 3, Chon in view of Robinson teaches wherein the input audio signal includes two height channels, and the secondary rendering matrix is configured to ignore said height channels (Robinson, ¶109, output audio can be modified based on a playback environment (where there are no height speakers); Chon, ¶42, multichannel audio signal can include an overhead channel for outputting an elevation signal).
Regarding claim 7, Chon in view of Robinson teaches further comprising a smoothing module to smooth a mixing gain for a current frame based on mixing gains for a set of previous frames (Robinson, ¶124, 139, Table 12 provides a tool for providing object smoothing during playback such as creating a smoother pan across the screen).
Regarding claims 13-14, they are rejected similarly as claims 2-3, respectively. The method can be found in Chon (¶1, method).
Regarding claim 18, it is rejected similarly as claim 7. The method can be found in Chon (¶1, method).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 11, 15-17, 22, and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of References Cited for a listing of analogous art.
/QIN ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691