CTNF 17/621,303 CTNF 83442 DETAILED ACTION Election/Restrictions Applicant's election with traverse of Group I and species “CCL19”, “antibodies”, and an “immune blockade inhibitor” in the reply filed on 8/25/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Warren et al. does not teach the newly amended limitation of a hydrogel matrix comprising a viral vector. This is found persuasive, however due to the newly added claim amendment, Mooney et al. (US PgPub 2019/0216910) is presented to break unity between Groups I, II and III. Mooney et al. teaches a hydrogel scaffold comprising an expression vector encoding a cytokine, such as a cytokine (CCL19) that attracts a dendritic cell into the scaffold (see paragraphs [42], [54], and [59]), wherein the expression vector can be a viral vector (see paragraph [365]), therefore the technical feature recited in amended Claim 1 is not novel over the prior art. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. After further consideration the species requirements listed in the restriction mailed 5/23/2025 is hereby withdrawn and all species will be examined. 08-05 AIA Claim s 9-11, 13-15, 17-20, 22-24, 27-28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/25/2025 . Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 7 are pending and will be examined on the merits . 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1, 2, 4, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mooney et al. (PgPub 2019/0216910) . The claims are drawn to a hydrogel matrix comprising a viral vector encoding at least one transgene and one or more chemoattractants, wherein the chemoattractants attract and retain an immune cell to the hydrogel. The claims are further drawn to wherein the at least one transgene encodes a CAR, an NK cell receptor, an NK T cell receptor, and/or a T cell receptor and the hydrogel matrix further comprises one or more antibodies, cytokine and/or co-stimulatory molecules and a chemotherapeutic agent or immune blockade inhibitor. Mooney et al. teach a scaffold composition and any one of, or any combination of (e.g., in or on the scaffold composition), the following: (a) at least one antigen; (b) at least one immunostimulatory compound; (c) at least one compound that attracts an immune cell to or into the delivery vehicle; (d) at least one compound that induces immunogenic cell death of a tumor cell; (e) at least one compound that inhibits T-cell or dendritic cell suppression; and/or (f) at least one compound that inhibits an immune-inhibitory protein.. Mooney et al. further discloses the scaffold composition (i) comprises open interconnected macropores; or (ii) is a pore-forming scaffold composition. In some embodiments, the scaffold composition comprises a hydrogel or a cryogel. Mooney et al. disclose the device/scaffold further comprises a mRNA or expression vector encoding a cytokine. In some embodiments, the cytokine is granulocyte macrophage colony-stimulating factor (GM-CSF), FMS-like tyrosine kinase 3 ligand (Flt3L), Chemokine (C-C Motif) Ligand 20 (CCL20), Interleukin 15 (IL-15), Chemokine (C Motif) Ligand 1 (XCL1), Chemokine (C-X-C Motif) Ligand 10 (CXCL10), Interferon Alpha 1 (IFN-alpha), Interferon Beta (IFN-beta), or Interleukin 12 (IL-12) (see paragraph [59]). Mooney et al. discloses an mRNA molecule or expression vector encodes the cytokine described herein, and the expression vectors are typically viruses or plasmids (see paragraphs [59] and [365]). Mooney et al. discloses each and every limitation of instant claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 7. Conclusion Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 7 are rejected. No claim is allowed. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MEERA NATARAJAN whose telephone number is (571)270-3058. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9AM - 5PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JULIE WU can be reached at 571-272-5205. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Meera Natarajan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643 Application/Control Number: 17/621,303 Page 2 Art Unit: 1643 Application/Control Number: 17/621,303 Page 3 Art Unit: 1643 Application/Control Number: 17/621,303 Page 4 Art Unit: 1643