DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's amendments filed 09/15/2025, with respect to the U.S.C. 112f interpretation and the U.S.C. 112a and b rejections, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, these rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the U.S.C. 103 claim(s) 1-5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new rejection is made in view of Kurnianto (US 20160332296 A1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Un Je (KR20180001153A A) in view of Kurnianto (US 20160332296 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Un Je teaches a slave device comprising: a lower shaft and an upper shaft connected to the lower shaft in one degree of freedom (character 130);
a lower delta robot rotatably coupled to the lower shaft and configured to movably support the lower gripper and an upper delta robot configured to movably support the upper shaft and an upper delta robot rotatably coupled to the upper shaft and configured to movably support the upper shaft (reference characters 110 and 120 show the upper and lower delta robots; see also Par. 0069);
Un Je does not teach wherein the wherein the upper and lower delta robots are independently controllable relative to one another so as to cause the lower shaft and the upper shaft to slidably move relative to one another along the one degree of freedom.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kurnianto teaches a delta robot assembly for controlling an end effector (Abstract and Par. 0002) wherein the moving members, i.e. shafts are slidably connected to one another (Par. 0050) in order to allow maneuvering of the end effector to a desired placement in space (Par. 0050).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have taken the teachings of Un Je and modified them by having the shafts be slidably connected to one another, as taught and suggested by Kurnianto, in order to allow maneuvering of the end effector to a desired placement in space (Par. 0050 of Kurnianto).
In regards to claim 2, the combined teachings of Un Je and Kurnianto as applied to claim 1 teach the slave device of claim 1, wherein the lower shaft is configured to maintain a position relative to the lower shafe irrespective of a change in a distance between the lower shaft and the upper shaft in an axial direction of the lower shaft (Par. 0039 of Un Je teaches fixing the positions).
In regards to claim 3, the combined teachings of Un Je and Kurnianto as applied to claim 1 teach the slave device of claim 1, wherein each of the lower delta robot and the upper delta robot comprises: three support rods, three movement parts, each of the three movement parts configured to move in a longitudinal direction of each of the three support rods and three guide rods arranged in parallel with the three support rods and configured to guide movements of the three movement parts (Par. 0071 and Fig 5 of Un Je teaches and shows using multiple rods);
three arms configured to connect the three movement parts and a corresponding one of the lower and upper shafts (Par. 0067of Un Je teaches three arms).
In regards to claim 4, the combined teachings of Un Je and Kurnianto as applied to claim 1 teach the slave device of claim 3, wherein the three support rods of the lower delta robot are provided laterally side by side with and separated from the three support rods of the upper delta robot (Fig 5 of Un Je shows the support rids 111 and 121 being side by side)
In regards to claim 5, the combined teachings of Un Je and Kurnianto as applied to claim 1 teach the slave device of claim 1, further comprising: a surgical instrument comprising a surgical tip having a smaller thickness than the lower shaft and a rotation module which is placed at a lower end of the lower shaft and configured to rotate the surgical tip (Par. 0066 of Un Je teaches the surgical robot having a surgical instrument [140]. Fig5 of Un Je shows the instrument having a tip with a smaller thickness than the shaft).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/MICHAEL W KAHELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792