DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note
Applicant has amended (amendment filed 26 Apr. 2024) the polymer list in claim 1 to no longer include cyclic olefin copolymer (COC), while including cyclic olefin polymer (COP) in the listing of allowed polymeric materials. No guidance is provided in applicant’s specification nor in applicant’s responses filed 04 Nov. 2024, 14 Mar. 2025, 24 Jun. 2025, and 22 Dec. 2025 regarding the monomeric content of a cyclic olefin polymer versus the monomeric content of a cyclic olefin copolymer. For the claim rejections below, examiner is interpreting cyclic olefin polymer as being composed of only cyclic olefin monomers. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 33 is confusing, as it is not clear in what way the thickness of the base layer is dependent on the material of construction of the base layer. Further, the group of polymers from which the base layer is selected is not listed in this claim.
Claim 35 is confusing, as it is not clear in what way the thickness of the contact layer is based on the type of lamination used to form the claimed laminate film.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8, 11, 24-25, and 33-35 are rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Statelman (WO 2015/171443 A1, published 12 Nov. 2015, hereinafter Statelman) in view of Naegeli et al. (US Patent 5,353,985, published 11 Oct. 1994, hereinafter Naegeli) and evidence provided by Omnexus (“Comprehensive guide on polyethylene terephthalate (PET),” accessed 03 May 2024, hereinafter Omnexus).
Regarding claims 1-2, 8, 25, and 33, Statelman teaches a paperboard barrier structure comprising a paper layer (first outer layer), film layer (base layer) of PET, and second sealing layer (contact layer) of HDPE (Abstract and paragraphs 0016, 0026-0027, and 0034). Statelman teaches that his second sealing layer is applied to a laminate containing his film layer (base layer) via adhesive lamination (paragraph 0035). Statelman teaches that the thickness of his PET film is 36 to 142 gauge (9 to 35 µm) (paragraph 0026). Statelman teaches that his first barrier coating attached to his film layer of PET is an aluminum oxide coating (paragraph 0030).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected thicknesses of PET layer (base layer) from the overlapping portions of the ranges taught by Statelman because overlapping ranges have been held to be prima facie obviousness.
As evidenced by Omnexus, polyethylene terephthalate (PET) shows resistance to moisture (page 1, 1st paragraph); hence, PET is water resistant.
Statelman does not disclose the thickness of his HDPE seal layer.
Naegeli teaches a package with an HDPE seal layer with a thickness of 1 to 100 µm (Abstract and col. 4, lines 46-50).
Given that Statelman and Naegeli are drawn to multilayer films for packaging, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the thickness of a HDPE seal layer as taught by Naegeli in the laminate process taught by Statelman. Since Statelman and Naegeli are both drawn to multilayer films for packaging, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in using the thickness of a HDPE seal layer as taught by Naegeli in the laminate process taught by Statelman. Further, Naegeli teaches these sealing layers are known in the art (col. 4, lines 46-50), and Naegeli teaches his seals allow for sterilizing treatment and subsequently permits easy opening of a sealed-on lid (col. 2, lines 61-64).
Regarding claim 3, Statelman in view of Naegeli teaches claim 1, and Statelman does not disclose that his second sealing layer (contact layer) is a multilayer, hence it is the examiner’s position that this layer is a monolayer.
Regarding claim 11, Statelman in view of Naegeli teaches claim 1, and Statelman teaches that his second sealing layer may be activated, such as with radiation (paragraph 0034). Thus, it is the examiner’s position that Statelman is teaching that the surface of this layer is corona treated.
Regarding claim 24, Statelman in view of Naegeli teaches claim 1, and Statelman teaches that his laminate may be used as a lid (paragraph 0042 and Figure 2).
Regarding claim 34, Statelman in view of Naegeli teaches the elements of claim 1.
Statelman in view of Naegeli does not disclose the oxygen or water vapor transfer rates of his aluminum oxide-coated polyester film. However, given that given that the aluminum-oxide coated polyester film taught by Kunz in view of Naegeli is composed of the same two materials with overlapping thicknesses as the claimed invention, within the overlapping thickness, the aluminum oxide-coated polyester film of Kunz in view of Naegeli would inherently have the same oxygen and water vapor transfer rates as the claimed invention, and therefore, would fall within the claimed ranges for oxygen and water vapor transfer rates.
Regarding claim 35, Statelman in view of Naegeli teaches the elements of claim 1, and Naegeli teaches a package with an HDPE seal layer with a thickness of 1 to 100 µm (Abstract and col. 4, lines 46-50), and Statelman teaches that his second sealing layer is applied to a laminate containing his film layer (base layer) via adhesive lamination (paragraph 0035).
It is the examiner’s position that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to factor in the type of lamination to be implemented in determining the thickness of Statelman in view of Naegeli’s HDPE film (contact layer).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Statelman (WO 2015/171443 A1, published 12 Nov. 2015, hereinafter Statelman) in view of Naegeli et al. (US Patent 5,353,985, published 11 Oct. 1994, hereinafter Naegeli) and further in view of Nomura and Koyama (JP 2004/010655 A, published 15 Jan. 2004, hereinafter Nomura) and evidence provided by Palmetto Industries (“Is polypropylene waterproof? What about polypropylene fabric?”, published 15 Apr. 2022, hereinafter Palmetto) and Omnexus (“Comprehensive guide on polyethylene terephthalate (PET),” accessed 03 May 2024, hereinafter Omnexus).
Note: Citation references to Nomura are based on the supplied English translation.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Statelman in view of Naegeli teaches the elements of claim 1.
Statelman teaches the use of adhesive lamination (paragraph 0035) and the use of a polyurethane adhesive as an adhesive for elsewhere in his multilayer laminate (paragraph 0035); however, Statelman in view of Naegeli does not disclose the specific claimed polyurethane adhesive.
Nomura teaches the use a two-package curable polyurethane adhesive for gas barrier laminates that has good adhesion to various polymers, paper, and metals (Abstract). Nomura teaches that his polyurethane composition comprises aromatic polyfunctional amines or aliphatic polyfunctional amines (claim 7). Nomura teaches the solvent for his polyurethane composition is ethyl acetate (page 4, lines 158-161).
Given that Statelman and Nomura are drawn to multilayer films for packaging, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the adhesive composition taught by Nomura in the adhesive lamination process taught by Statelman in view of Naegeli. Since Statelman and Nomura are both drawn to multilayer films for packaging, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in using the adhesive composition taught by Nomura in the adhesive lamination process taught by Statelman in view of Naegeli. Further, Nomura teaches that his polyurethane composition has good adhesion to various polymers, especially after being subjected to boiling or retorting treatments (Abstract), and his polyurethane composition has both high gas barrier properties and high adhesion properties, especially good adhesion to various polymers (page 2, lines 58-63).
Claims 1-4, 8, 11, 24-26, and 33-35 are rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunz et al. (US Patent 5,387,449, published 07 Feb. 1995, hereinafter Kunz) and evidence provided by Amborski and Flierl (“Physical properties of polyethylene terephthalate films,” Ind.Eng.Chem., Vol. 45, No. 10, pp. 2290-2295, published Oct. 1953, hereinafter Amborski).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4, 8, 11, 24-26, and 33, Kunz teaches a composite of plastic films for packaging for a pouch, with the composite comprising a polyester film (first outer layer) with a thickness of 6 to 23 µm, a ceramic layer of thickness 10 to 500 nm, a polyester film (base layer) of thickness of 6 to 23 µm, and a polyolefin film of thickness 15 to 200 µm (Abstract and col. 2, lines 13-16). Kunz teaches the ceramic layer is be deposited the intermediate polyester film (base layer) (col. 2, lines 64-66), and the ceramic layer is the oxides of aluminum and/or silicon (col 4, lines 36-39). Kunz teaches the polyolefin is high-density polyethylene (HDPE) (col. 3, lines 14-16). Kunz teaches the layers are laminated via adhesive lamination or extrusion lamination (col. 6, lines 31-35), and the adhesive is a solvent-containing urethane (col. 5, line 66 – col. 6, line 8). Kunz teaches the layers undergo a corona treatment to improve adhesion (col. 6, lines 24-30). Kunz teaches the polyester in his polyester films (base layer and first outer layer) is polyethylene terephthalate (PET) (col. 28-31). Kunz teaches the total thickness of his composite is 27 (6+6+15+0.01) to 247 µm (23+23+200+0.5) (claim 1).
As evidenced by Amborski, polyethylene terephthalate films are relatively impermeable to oxygen (page 2294, 1st column, 3rd paragraph).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected thicknesses of the sealant layer (contact layer), polyester film (base layer), and full composite film (laminate film) from the overlapping portions of the ranges taught by Kunz because overlapping ranges have been held to be prima facie obviousness.
In light of the overlap between the claimed method for the providing a laminate film and that disclosed by Kunz, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a method for the providing a laminate film, including the method taught by Kunz, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 3, Kunz teaches the elements of claim 1.
Kunz does not disclose that his sealant layer (contact layer) is composed of multiple layers; therefore, Kunz’s sealant layer (contact layer) is a monolayer.
Regarding claim 34, Kunz teaches the elements of claim 1.
Kunz does not disclose the oxygen or water vapor transfer rates of his ceramic-polyester film. However, given that given that the ceramic-polyester film taught by Kunz is composed of the same two materials with overlapping thicknesses as the claimed invention, within the overlapping thickness, the ceramic-polyester film of Kunz would inherently have the same oxygen and water vapor transfer rates as the claimed invention, and therefore, would fall within the claimed ranges for oxygen and water vapor transfer rates.
Regarding claim 35, Kunz teaches the elements of claim 1, and Kunz teaches a range of thicknesses for his HDPE film (contact layer) of 15 to 200 µm (Abstract and col. 3, 14-16), and Kunz teaches his laminate may be formed by adhesive or extrusion lamination (col. 6, lines 31-35).
It is the examiner’s position that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to factor in the type of lamination to be implemented in determining the thickness of Kunz’s HDPE film (contact layer).
Claim 5 is rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunz et al. (US Patent 5,387,449, published 07 Feb. 1995, hereinafter Kunz) in view of Nomura and Koyama (JP 2004/010655 A, published 15 Jan. 2004, hereinafter Nomura) and evidence provided by Amborski and Flierl (“Physical properties of polyethylene terephthalate films,” Ind.Eng.Chem., Vol. 45, No. 10, pp. 2290-2295, published Oct. 1953, hereinafter Amborski).
Note: Citation references to Nomura are based on the supplied English translation.
Regarding claim 5, Kunz teaches the elements of claim 4, and Kunz teaches the layers are laminated via adhesive lamination (col. 6, lines 31-35), and the adhesive is a solvent-containing urethane (col. 5, line 66 – col. 6, line 8)
Kunz does not disclose the claimed two-component polyurethane adhesive.
Nomura teaches the use a two-package curable polyurethane adhesive for gas barrier laminates that has good adhesion to various polymers, paper, and metals (Abstract). Nomura teaches that his polyurethane composition comprises aromatic polyfunctional amines or aliphatic polyfunctional amines (claim 7). Nomura teaches the solvent for his polyurethane composition is ethyl acetate (page 4, lines 158-161).
Given that Kunz and Nomura are drawn to multilayer films for packaging, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the adhesive composition taught by Nomura in the adhesive lamination process taught by Kunz. Since Kunz and Nomura are both drawn to multilayer films for packaging, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in using the adhesive composition taught by Nomura in the adhesive lamination process taught by Kunz. Further, Nomura teaches that his polyurethane composition has good adhesion to various polymers, especially after being subjected to boiling or retorting treatments (Abstract), and his polyurethane composition has both high gas barrier properties and high adhesion properties, especially good adhesion to various polymers (page 2, lines 58-63).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 22 Dec. 2025 have been fully considered. Examiner cited the thickness of Kunz’s ceramic layer based on the units given in Kunz’s Abstract in the Non-Final mailed 02 Jul. 2025. The units for this thickness, as presented in the body of the patent, are nanometers, not microns. Since applicant drafted their response based the incorrect thickness units cited by the examiner, this Office Action is Non-Final.
Applicant amended claims 1 and 33 and added claims 34 and 35.
Applicant argues that Bhandari does not teach the limitations of amended claim 1.
Examiner agrees, and the rejections based on Bhandari have been withdrawn.
Applicant argues that Statelman does not teach the thickness of the base layer as required in claim 1.
Due to an oversight by the examiner, the previous rejection based on Statelman did not cite the thickness of the base film. An amended set of rejections based on Statelman, including the base layer thickness taught by Statelman, as the primary reference are presented above.
Applicant argues that Tohara and Stanley do not teach the limitations of the amended claim 1.
Examiner agrees, and these rejections have been withdrawn. However, both of these references teach all the limitations of claim 1 except for the inclusion of a coating of aluminum oxide or silicon oxide on their polyester films. A secondary reference would be necessary to teach the inclusion of such a coatings, and it is the examiner’s position that the coating of polyester films with thin ceramic coatings to improve their barrier properties is well-known in the packaging industry.
Applicant argues that Kunz does not teach a base layer within the thickness requirement of claim 1.
Examiner cited the thickness of Kunz’s ceramic layer based on the units given in Kunz’s Abstract in the Non-Final mailed 02 Jul. 2025. The units for this thickness, as presented in the body of the patent, are nanometers, not microns. As presented above, based on the correct thickness of the ceramic layer on his polyester film, Kunz teaches a base layer thickness that overlaps with the claimed base layer thickness.
Conclusion
/JOHN VINCENT LAWLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787