DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of amended claims 30-42 and 48-49 in the reply filed on 8/22/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 43-47 were withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected computing a prediction error in an artificial nervous system G06N3/006, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/22/25.
Claim Objections
Claims 38 objected to because of the following informalities:
“determines the rate of change” should be “determines a rate of change”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a module for processing” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 30-31, 37, 41-42, 48-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn United States Patent Application Publication US 2014/0093849 in view of Dimitriadis United States Patent Application Publication US 2015/0235655.
Regarding claim 30, Ahn discloses a computer implemented emotion system of an artificial nervous system, for animating a virtual object, digital entity, or robot (Ahn, abstract, learning emotion of a robot), comprising:
a plurality of states, each state of the plurality of states representing an emotional state (ES) of the artificial nervous system (Ahn, para [0044], emotional space contains emotions of happiness, surprise, sadness, love, dislike, fear, and anger. Each emotion represents a state);
a module for processing a plurality of inputs (Ahn, para [0039], receives detected information, such as a facial expression, gesture and tone; Ahn, para [0050], emotion decision processing unit receives an emotional vector that is mapped from the internal state space (personality information) to the emotion space (emotion space)).
Ahn does not disclose:
wherein the module determines modality-independent activity patterns of the inputs over time, the processed plurality of inputs applied to the plurality of states,
wherein a respective current level of one or more of the plurality states is affected by the application of the plurality of inputs and
wherein the respective current level of one or more of the plurality states represents one of the active emotional states of the artificial nervous system.
Dimitriadis discloses:
wherein the module determines modality-independent activity patterns of the inputs over time, the processed plurality of inputs applied to the plurality of states (Dimitriadis, para [0016], a current emotional state of the audio signal is tracked throughout each of the plurality of segments),
wherein a respective current level of one or more of the plurality states is affected by the application of the plurality of inputs (Dimitriadis, para [0016], For each segment, it is determined whether the current emotional state of the audio signal changes to another emotional state of the plurality of emotional states based on the emotional state and the confidence score of the segment) and
wherein the respective current level of one or more of the plurality states represents one of the active emotional states of the artificial nervous system (Dimitriadis, para [0083-84], The emotion state detection unit 512 tracks the current emotional states 514.sub.1,2, . . . ,n of the speech).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the analysis to include processing based on time and emotions. The motivation for doing so would have been for quality customer care (Dimitiadis, para [0006]).
Regarding claim 31, Ahn in view of Dimitriadis discloses the emotion system of claim 30. Ahn further discloses wherein the ES of the artificial nervous system are competing ES (Ahn, para [0044], emotional space contains emotions of happiness, surprise, sadness, love, dislike, fear, and anger. Each emotion represents a state).
Regarding claim 37, Ahn in view of Dimitriadis discloses the emotion system of claim 30. Dimitriadis discloses wherein a module for processing a plurality of inputs integrates each of the plurality of inputs over time (Dimitriadis, para [0083-84], The emotion state detection unit 512 tracks the current emotional states 514.sub.1,2, . . . ,n of the speech over time).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the analysis to include processing based on time and emotions. The motivation for doing so would have been for quality customer care (Dimitiadis, para [0006]).
Regarding claim 41, Ahn in view of Dimitriadis discloses the emotion system of claim 30. Dimitriadis further discloses including at least three states, representing three competing ES of the artificial nervous system (Dimitriadis, para [0063], with regards to fig 3, emotional state detection unit contains current emotional states 304 sub 1, 2,… n).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the analysis to include processing based on time and emotions. The motivation for doing so would have been for quality customer care (Dimitiadis, para [0006]).
Regarding claim 42, Ahn in view of Dimitriadis discloses the emotion system of claim 41. Dimitriadis further discloses wherein less time is required to change from the 2nd state to the 1st state than the time required to change from 1st state to the 2nd state (Dimmitriadis, para [0064, 67], temporal evolution between states is tracked between each state).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the analysis to include processing based on time and emotions. The motivation for doing so would have been for quality customer care (Dimitiadis, para [0006]).
Regarding claim 48, Ahn in view of Dimitriadis discloses the emotion system of claim 30. Ahn further discloses wherein one or more ES are represented by a network state of the artificial nervous system (Ahn, para [0075], The emotion learning unit 400 generates feedback information corresponding to an emotion vector, that is, one point existing on the emotion space 930, based on an emotion vector decided by the emotion decision processing unit 200 and information on the type of emotion received from the user input unit 500 and changes an emotion probability distribution using the feedback information).
Regarding claim 49, Ahn in view of Dimitriadis discloses the emotion system of claim 30. Ahn further discloses wherein one or more ES are represented by a dynamic pattern of network activity of the artificial nervous system (Ahn, para [0082], The processed data can become an internal state input value. Furthermore, a dynamic emotional expression can be made by changing the emotion value group in response to the internal state input value).
Claim(s) 32-36, 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn United States Patent Application Publication US 2014/0093849 in view of Dimitriadis United States Patent Application Publication US 2015/0235655 in further view of Bullivant United States Patent Application Publication US 2016/0180568.
Regarding claim 32, Ahn in view of Dimitriadis discloses the emotion system of claim 30. Ahn in view of Dimitriadis does not disclose the additional limitations of the present claim. Bullivant discloses wherein each of the plurality of inputs represents a neural input (Bullivant, para [0252], input into a neurobehavioral model).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system to include inputs into a neural network. The motivation for doing so would have been to create a visual response that is believable to the user (Bullivant, para [0003]).
Regarding claim 33, Ahn in view of Dimitriadis in further view of Bullivant discloses the emotion system of claim 32. Bullivant additionally discloses wherein a neural input is a sensory input provided to the emotion system(Bullivant, para [0225], sensor input).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system to include inputs into a neural network. The motivation for doing so would have been to create a visual response that is believable to the user (Bullivant, para [0003]).
Regarding claim 34, Ahn in view of Dimitriadis discloses the emotion system of claim 30. Ahn in view of Dimitriadis does not disclose the additional limitations of the present claim.
Bullivant discloses further including an output module that conveys one or more of respective current levels of the active emotional states of the artificial nervous system to a User in a perceptible format (Bullivant, para [0241], outputs are visual, audible or graphic).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system to include inputs into a neural network. The motivation for doing so would have been to create a visual response that is believable to the user (Bullivant, para [0003]).
Regarding claim 35, Ahn in view of Dimitriadis in further view of Bullivant discloses the emotion system of claim 34. Bullivant additionally discloses wherein the perceptible format is one of a visual format and an auditory format(Bullivant, para [0241], outputs are visual, audible or graphic).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system to include inputs into a neural network. The motivation for doing so would have been to create a visual response that is believable to the user (Bullivant, para [0003]).
Regarding claim 36, Ahn in view of Dimitriadis in further view of Bullivant discloses the emotion system of claim 35. Bullivant additionally discloses wherein the perceptible format is a visual two-dimensional representation of at least a portion of a mammal model (Bullivant, para [0243], human or human-like features).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system to include inputs into a neural network. The motivation for doing so would have been to create a visual response that is believable to the user (Bullivant, para [0003]).
Regarding claim 40, Ahn in view of Dimitriadis discloses the emotion system of claim 30. Ahn in view of Dimitriadis does not disclose the additional limitations of the present claim.
Bullivant discloses wherein a module for processing a plurality of inputs integrates each of the plurality of inputs over time, sums all the plurality of inputs together, and sums integrations of all of the plurality of inputs (Bullivant, para [0260-261], time series activity used for training a learning model).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system to include inputs into a neural network. The motivation for doing so would have been to create a visual response that is believable to the user (Bullivant, para [0003]).
Claim(s) 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn United States Patent Application Publication US 2014/0093849 in view of Dimitriadis United States Patent Application Publication US 2015/0235655 in further view of Miller IV United States Patent Application Publication US 2019/0325633.
Regarding claim 38, Ahn in view of Dimitriadis discloses the emotion system of claim 30. Ahn in view of Dimitriadis does not disclose the additional limitations of the present claim.
Miller IV discloses wherein a module for processing a plurality of inputs determines the rate of change of each of the plurality of inputs over time (Miller IV, para [0236], rate of change of expressions on a face).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the display to include a rate of the change of emotions. The motivation for doing so would have been to include a more efficient way for users to interact together in a virtual environment (Miller IV, para [0003]).
Regarding claim 39, Ahn in view of Dimitriadis discloses the emotion system of claim 30. Ahn in view of Dimitriadis does not disclose the additional limitations of the present claim.
Miller IV discloses wherein a module for processing a plurality of inputs determines the rate of change of each of the plurality of inputs over time, sums all the plurality of inputs together, and sums all of the plurality of inputs determined rate of change (Miller IV, para [0236], If the speed of sweep is faster than the rate of change of expressions, the whole face (or at least a portion thereof) can have the previous expression before the new expression starts to be shown on the face).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the display to include a rate of the change of emotions. The motivation for doing so would have been to include a more efficient way for users to interact together in a virtual environment (Miller IV, para [0003]).
Conclusion
/HOPE C SHEFFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2141