DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In light of Applicant’s amendment, claim(s) 1 and 27 is/are amended, and claim(s) 2, 9, 16, and 22-26 were previously canceled. Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, 17-21 and 27-29 are pending examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, filed 4/2/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 27 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered. Examiner agrees the additional limitation to claim 1 of “at least a portion of the support device extends proximally into the catheter separately from the feeding unit” and the limitation to claim 27 to specify “a second filter mesh separate and distinct from the first filter mesh is arranged on the distal frame” overcomes the previous rejection. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Schumacher in view of Carpenter et al and Krahbichler for claim 1 and in view of of Schumacher in view of Carpenter et al and Wang et al for claim 27.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "feeding unit" in claim 1.
Claim 1 recites the limitation of a “feeding unit”. The term “unit” is used as a substitute for “means” and is modified by functional language “feeding”. There is no corresponding structure in the claim, therefore invoking 112(f). According to the specification, the corresponding structure for “a feeding unit” is “a wire, preferably a coil consisting of multiple thin wires” or equivalents thereof (Page 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 11, 20, and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schumacher et al. (WO 2018077458 A1) (noted on IDS) (paragraph citations correspond to attached Espacenet translation and figure citations correspond to original document submitted by applicant) (previously of record) in view of Carpenter et al. (US 20160317277 A1) (noted on IDS) in view of Krahbichler (US 20150313701 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Schumacher discloses an embolic protection device (1) for inserting into an aortic arch from a feeder vessel, the embolic protection device (Figure 1, 5A-B, 8; Paragraph 0010; 0122), comprising:
a feeding unit (7) (As indicated above, the limitation “a feeding unit” invokes 112f. The corresponding structure in Schumacher is a wire, which is equivalent to the wire disclosed in the present disclosure.) (Figure 1, 5A-B, 8; Paragraph 0036; 1048);
a filtering unit (3+5) coupled to the feeding unit (Paragraph 0122) comprising a frame (5) and at least one filter mesh (fibers of filter unit 3), the at least one filter mesh arranged on the frame (Figure 8; Paragraph 0122; 0149; 0155), and
wherein the filtering unit is configured to exit a catheter (25) and be positioned at least partially in the aortic arch by the feeding unit (Figure 14; Paragraph 0153; 0166; 0170).
Schumacher fails to explicitly disclose a support device independent from the frame and coupled to the filtering unit, the support device extending proximally from the filtering unit and wherein the frame is divided into a proximal frame in a proximal area of the filtering unit and a distal frame in a distal area of the filtering unit, the distal frame separate from the proximal frame, wherein the support device is coupled to the filtering unit at the proximal area, and wherein, once the filtering unit exits the catheter and is positioned by the feeding unit, at least a portion of the support device extends proximally into the catheter separately from the feeding unit and is operable independently from the feeding unit to allow a user to actively collapse the proximal area of the filtering unit toward the feeder vessel.
However, Carpenter is directed to an embolic protection device and teaches a filtering unit (106) wherein the frame is divided into a proximal frame (134) in a proximal area of the filtering unit and a distal frame (132) in a distal area of the filtering unit, the distal frame separate from the proximal frame (Figure 6A; Paragraph 0086).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Schumacher such that the frame is divided into a proximal frame in a proximal area of the filtering unit and a distal frame in a distal area of the filtering unit, the distal frame separate from the proximal frame, as taught by Carpenter, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to embolic protection devices. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schumacher with the teachings of Carpenter by incorporating the frame is divided into a proximal frame in a proximal area of the filtering unit and a distal frame in a distal area of the filtering unit, the distal frame separate from the proximal frame in order to have the frame configured such that it is transformed from a first, low-profile reduced configuration during delivery to a second, expanded configuration while in use, and if necessary, back to the first low-profile reduced configuration for later removal (Carpenter Paragraph 0081).
Further, Krahbichler is directed to an embolic protection device (200) with a filtering unit (132+133) and teaches a delivery unit (130), functioning as a support device as it supports the implant during delivery, independent from the frame (133) and coupled to the filtering unit (132) (Figure 2, 13; Paragraph 0020), the support device extending proximally from the filtering unit (Figure 2; Paragraph 0020; 0053), wherein the support device is coupled to the filtering unit at the proximal area (131) (Figure 12; Paragraph 0020; 0034; 0053); and wherein, once the filtering unit exits the catheter (160), at least a portion of the support device (proximal end of 130) extends proximally into the catheter to allow a user to actively collapse the proximal area of the filtering unit toward the feeder vessel (120) (Figure 1, 12; Paragraph 0053; 0107).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Schumacher as modified by Carpenter such that to include a support device independent from the frame and coupled to the filtering unit, the support device extending proximally from the filtering unit, wherein the support device is coupled to the filtering unit at the proximal area, as taught by Krahbichler, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to embolic protection devices. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schumacher as modified by Carpenter with the teachings of Krahbichler by incorporating a support device independent from the frame and coupled to the filtering unit, the support device extending proximally from the filtering unit, wherein the support device is coupled to the filtering unit at the proximal area, and wherein, once the filtering unit exits the catheter and is positioned by the feeding unit, at least a portion of the support device extends proximally into the catheter separately from the feeding unit and is operable independently from the feeding unit to allow a user to actively collapse the proximal area of the filtering unit toward the feeder vessel in order to easily deliver and maneuver the embolic protection device (Krahbichler Paragraph 0020), as Schumacher is silent to the delivery of the device.
Further, as a result of the combination, the modified device would be fully capable of wherein, once the filtering unit exits the catheter, at least a portion of the support device extends proximally into the catheter separately from the feeding unit, as the support device would be a different component to Schumacher’s feeding unit, and is operable independently from the feeding unit, as the support device would be a different component to Schumacher’s feeding unit, and thus would be fully capable to allow a user to actively collapse the proximal area of the filtering unit toward the feeder vessel, as the device of Krahbichler is directed to a collapsible embolic protection device (Krahbichler abstract).
Regarding claim 3, Schumacher further discloses wherein haptic feedback is generated when the filtering unit is appropriately positioned to signal a final position to the user (Paragraph 0017; 0180).
Regarding claim 4, Schumacher further discloses wherein the proximal frame and the distal frame each comprise two ends (labeled in Annotated Figure 5A), extending in parallel to one another in an interior of the frame (Annotated Figure 5A; Paragraph 0072), and connected with the feeding unit (Paragraph 0072-73).
Regarding claim 5, Schumacher further discloses wherein the distal area and/or the proximal areas comprise an anchorage (20), configured to increase a radial rigidity of the frame (Figure 5A-B; Paragraph 0133-134).
Regarding claim 6, Schumacher further discloses wherein the ends of the frame (labeled in Annotated Figure 5A) extending along and/or perpendicular to a direction of blood flow are configured to be bent (Figure 5A-B).
Regarding claim 7, Schumacher further discloses wherein the ends of the frame and/or sides of the frames can be given an angle (WI) of between 5° and 85°, in the direction of blood flow (Paragraph 0129).
Regarding claim 8, Schumacher further discloses wherein the proximal area is configured to be actively and/or passively collapsed, independently of the distal area, when the embolic protection device is removed (Paragraph 0185).
Regarding claim 11, Schumacher further discloses a single filter (3) expands over both the proximal and distal frames (the filter 3 is part of the filter unit and extends over both the distal and the proximal portions of the frame) (Figure 1, 8; Paragraph 0057).
Regarding claim 20, Schumacher discloses a medical device comprising the embolic protection device (1) of Claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1 above) and the catheter (25) (Figure 14; Paragraph 0166; 0170).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schumacher in view of Carpenter and Krahbichler and further in view of Lashinski (US 20110022076 A1) (previously of record).
Regarding claim 10, Schumacher as modified by Carpenter and Krahbichler discloses the embolic protection device in accordance with Claim 1, but fails to specifically disclose that a respective independent filter is stretched over each of the proximal and distal frames.
However, Lashinski is directed to a filter device (100) and teaches two independent filters (115, 130) stretched over each of a proximal and distal frames (portions of 105 attached to 115, 130 respectively) (Figure 1; Paragraph 0015).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Schumacher as modified by Carpenter and Krahbichler such that a respective independent filter is stretched over each of the proximal and distal frames, as taught by Lashinski, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to embolic protection devices. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schumacher as modified by Carpenter and Krahbichler with the teachings of Lashinski by incorporating a respective independent filter is stretched over each of the proximal and distal frames in order to allow filtering of different sized particles if provided with different sized openings or to allow filtering of two different vessels simultaneously (Lashinski Paragraph 0017-18).
Claims 12-17, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schumacher in view of Carpenter and Krahbichler, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of McNamara et al. (US 5624396 A) (previously of record) in view of Lenker et al. (US 20100114017 A1) (previously of record).
Regarding claim 12-17 and 19, Schumacher as modified by Carpenter and Krahbichler discloses a medical device comprising the embolic protection device of claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1 above), but fails to specifically disclose a handle comprising a first connecting piece, a handle shell, a slide, and a second connecting piece; wherein the first connecting piece is configured to be actively secured to a catheter; wherein the first connecting piece comprises notches on an inside surface of the first connecting piece configured to receive blades of a catheter; wherein the second connecting piece is configured to reversibly clamp the feeding unit; wherein the slide is configured to exert a tractive and/or compression force for loading and positioning of the embolic protection device; wherein the slide comprises a locking device anchoring the slide such that a position of the slide is adjustable in relation to the handle shell and the handle shell comprises an interior guide tube insertable into the slide.
McNamara is directed to a medical device and teaches a handle (proximal portion of Figures 1-2) for a medical device, characterized in that the handle comprises a first connecting piece (34), a handle shell (66), and a second connecting piece (64) (Figure 1; Col 4, lines 33-48, lines 63-66); wherein the first connecting piece is configured to be actively secured to a catheter (26) (Figure 2; Col 4, lines 34-36), wherein the first connecting piece comprises notches on an inside surface of the first connecting piece configured to receive blades of a catheter (threads of catheter 26) (Figure 2; Col 4, lines 34-36); wherein the second connecting piece is configured to reversibly clamp the feeding unit (the second connecting piece 64 is a telescoping inner housing, which is moveable and thus is fully capable of being configured to reversibly clamp the feeding unit) (Figure 2; Col 5, lines 36-38); and the handle shell comprises an interior guide tube (30) insertable into the slide, (which is fully capable of being inserted into the slide if it were provided) (Figure 1-2; Col 4, lines 34-36).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Schumacher as modified by Carpenter and Krahbichler such that the device includes a handle comprising a first connecting piece, a handle shell, a slide, and a second connecting piece; wherein the first connecting piece is configured to be actively secured to a catheter; wherein the first connecting piece comprises notches on an inside surface of the first connecting piece configured to receive blades of a catheter; wherein the second connecting piece is configured to reversibly clamp the feeding unit and the handle shell comprises an interior guide tube insertable into the slide, as taught by McNamara, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to medical devices. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schumacher as modified by Carpenter and Krahbichler with the teachings of McNamara by incorporating a handle comprising a first connecting piece, a handle shell, a slide, and a second connecting piece; wherein the first connecting piece is configured to be actively secured to a catheter; wherein the first connecting piece comprises notches on an inside surface of the first connecting piece configured to receive blades of a catheter; wherein the second connecting piece is configured to reversibly clamp the feeding unit and the handle shell comprises an interior guide tube insertable into the slide, as Schumacher is silent to any handle and such a modification to incorporate a known handle would have been obvious, namely to allow the user to hold and manipulate the device of Schumacher.
Furthermore, Lenker is directed to a medical device and teaches a handle (5) for a medical device, characterized in that the handle (5) comprises a first connecting piece (3604) (Figure 36A; Paragraph 0260), a handle shell (3602) (Figure 36A; Paragraph 0261), and a slide (3610) (Figure 36A; Paragraph 0260); wherein the slide is configured to exert a tractive force for loading and positioning of a device (Paragraph 0261); wherein the slide comprises a locking device (3612) anchoring the slide such that a position of the slide is adjustable in relation to the handle shell (Paragraph 0261).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Schumacher as modified by Carpenter and Krahbichler as modified by McNamara to include a slide wherein the slide is configured to exert a tractive and/or compression force for loading and positioning of the embolic protection device; wherein the slide comprises a locking device anchoring the slide such that a position of the slide is adjustable in relation to the handle shell, as taught by Lenker, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to medical devices. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schumacher as modified by Carpenter and Krahbichler as modified by McNamara with the teachings of Lenker by incorporating a slide wherein the slide is configured to exert a tractive and/or compression force for loading and positioning of the embolic protection device; wherein the slide comprises a locking device anchoring the slide such that a position of the slide is adjustable in relation to the handle shell in order to easily actuate the handle and control deployment of a device (Lenker Paragraph 0261).
Regarding claim 21, Schumacher as modified by Carpenter, Krahbichler, McNamara and Lenker teaches the medical device of claim 12 and Schumacher further discloses the catheter (25) (Figure 14; Paragraph 0166; 0170).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schumacher in view of Carpenter, Krahbichler, McNamara and Lenker, as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Goldfarb et al. (US 20040049207 A1) (previously of record).
Regarding claim 18, Schumacher as modified by Carpenter, Krahbichler, McNamara and Lenker discloses the medical device of Claim 12, but fails to specifically disclose that the handle comprises a hemostatic valve.
However, Goldfarb is directed to a catheter device and teaches a handle (1056) comprises a hemostatic valve (1090) (Figure 74; Paragraph 0286).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Schumacher as modified by Carpenter, Krahbichler, McNamara and Lenker such that the handle comprises a hemostatic valve, as taught by Goldfarb, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to catheter devices. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schumacher as modified by Carpenter, Krahbichler, McNamara and Lenker with the teachings of Goldfarb by incorporating the handle comprises a hemostatic valve in order to provide leak-free sealing, prevent back bleeding, and reduce the possibility of air introduction (Goldfarb Paragraph 0286).
Claims 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schumacher et al. (WO 2018077458 A1) (noted on IDS) (paragraph citations correspond to attached Espacenet translation and figure citations correspond to original document submitted by applicant) (previously of record) in view of Carpenter et al. (US 20160317277 A1) (noted on IDS) in view of Wang et al. (US 20140100597 A1).
Regarding claim 27, Schumacher discloses an embolic protection device (1) for inserting into an aortic arch from a feeder vessel, the embolic protection device (Figure 1, 5A-B, 8; Paragraph 0010; 0122), comprising:
a feeding unit (7) (As indicated above, the limitation “a feeding unit” invokes 112f. The corresponding structure in Schumacher is a wire, which is equivalent to the wire disclosed in the present disclosure.) (Figure 1, 5A-B, 8; Paragraph 0036; 1048);
a filtering unit (3+5) coupled to the feeding unit (Paragraph 0122) comprising a frame (5) and at least one filter mesh (fibers of filter unit 3), the at least one filter mesh arranged on the frame (Figure 8; Paragraph 0122; 0149; 0155),
wherein the filtering unit is configured to be positioned at least partially in the aortic arch by the feeding unit (Figure 17; Paragraph 0063; 0074.
Schumacher fails to explicitly disclose wherein the frame is divided into a proximal frame in a proximal area of the filtering unit and a distal frame in a distal area of the filtering unit, the distal frame separate from the proximal frame, wherein a first filter mesh is arranged on the proximal frame and a second filter mesh separate and distinct from the first filter mesh is arranged on the distal frame, and wherein the proximal frame and the distal frame each comprise two ends coupled to the feeding unit.
However, Carpenter is directed to an embolic protection device and teaches a filtering unit (106) wherein the frame is divided into a proximal frame (134) in a proximal area of the filtering unit and a distal frame (132) in a distal area of the filtering unit, the distal frame separate from the proximal frame (Figure 6A; Paragraph 0086), wherein the proximal frame and the distal frame each comprise two ends (ends of 110, 120 within junction 130) coupled to the feeding unit (300) ((Figure 6A, 8; Paragraph 0081; 0086; 0105; 0107). (As indicated above, the limitation “feeding unit” invokes 112(f). The corresponding structure in Carpenter is a deployment shaft, which is equivalent to a wire, as disclosed in the present disclosure.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Schumacher such that the frame is divided into a proximal frame in a proximal area of the filtering unit and a distal frame in a distal area of the filtering unit, the distal frame separate from the proximal frame, and wherein the proximal frame and the distal frame each comprise two ends coupled to the feeding unit as taught by Carpenter, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to embolic protection devices. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schumacher with the teachings of Carpenter by incorporating the frame is divided into a proximal frame in a proximal area of the filtering unit and a distal frame in a distal area of the filtering unit, the distal frame separate from the proximal frame, and wherein the proximal frame and the distal frame each comprise two ends coupled to the feeding unit in order to have the frame configured such that it is transformed from a first, low-profile reduced configuration during delivery to a second, expanded configuration while in use, and if necessary, back to the first low-profile reduced configuration for later removal ( Carpenter Paragraph 0081).
Further, Wang is directed to an embolic protection device (310) and teaches wherein a first filter mesh (336) is arranged on the proximal frame (330) (Figure 9; Paragraph 0044) and a second filter mesh (326) separate and distinct from the first filter mesh is arranged on the distal frame (320) (Figure 9; Paragraph 0043).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Schumacher as modified by Carpenter such that wherein a first filter mesh is arranged on the proximal frame and a second filter mesh separate and distinct from the first filter mesh is arranged on the distal frame, as taught by Wang, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to embolic protection devices. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schumacher as modified by Carpenter with the teachings of Wang by incorporating wherein a first filter mesh is arranged on the proximal frame and a second filter mesh separate and distinct from the first filter mesh is arranged on the distal frame in order to allow flexibility in placing the device, such as by allowing the two frames to be placed in different vessels or arteries (Wang Paragraph 0043-44).
Regarding claim 28, Schumacher as modified by Carpenter and Wang teaches the embolic protection device of Claim 27, and Carpenter further teaches wherein the proximal frame is configured to be actively and/or passively collapsed toward the feeder vessel independently of the distal frame (the first lobe 132 and second lobe 134 are biased in opposing radially outwards directions, thus the proximal frame (134) is fully capable of being biased, i.e., collapsed towards the feeder vessel independently of the distal frame, as the two frames extend in opposing directions) (Paragraph 0086).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Schumacher, Carpenter and Wang further teaches wherein the proximal frame and the distal frame each comprise an independent wire forming a loop (110, 120, respectfully) such that the frame comprises four wire ends (labeled in Annotated Figure 6A) coupled to the feeding unit (Figure 6A; Paragraph 0086).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11534284 B2 (Schumacher et al.) in view of Carpenter et al (US 20160317277 A1) and Krahbichler (US 20150313701 A1).
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of 11534284 B1 claims an embolic protection device (1) for inserting into an aortic arch (Col 18, lines 46-47),
comprising a feeding unit (7) (Col 18, lines 48-51);
a filtering unit (3+5) coupled to the feeding unit (Col 19, lines 20-24) and comprising a frame (5) and at least one filter mesh (filter unit 3) and the at least one filter mesh is arranged on the frame (Col 18, lines 49, 51),
a support device (4) (Col 18, lines 54-55),
wherein the filtering unit comprises a proximal area (9) and a distal area (2), wherein the filtering unit is designed in such a way that it can, at least partially, be positioned in the aortic arch by the feeding unit (Col 18, lines 46-47; 53-55).
11534284 B1 fails to explicitly claim a support device independent from the frame and coupled to the filtering unit, the support device extending proximally from the filtering unit, wherein the frame is divided into a proximal frame in a proximal area of the filtering unit and a distal frame in a distal area of the filtering unit, the distal frame separate from the proximal frame, wherein the filtering unit is configured to exit a catheter and be positioned at least partially in the aortic arch by the feeding unit, and wherein, once the filtering unit exits the catheter and is positioned by the feeding unit, at least a portion of the support device extends proximally into the catheter and is operable independently from the feeding unit to allow a user to actively collapse the proximal area of the filtering unit toward the feeder vessel
However, Carpenter is directed to an embolic protection device and teaches a filtering unit (106) wherein the frame is divided into a proximal frame (134) in a proximal area of the filtering unit and a distal frame (132) in a distal area of the filtering unit, the distal frame separate from the proximal frame (Figure 6A; Paragraph 0086).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify 11534284 B1 such that the frame is divided into a proximal frame in a proximal area of the filtering unit and a distal frame in a distal area of the filtering unit, the distal frame separate from the proximal frame, as taught by Carpenter, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to embolic protection devices. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified 11534284 B1 with the teachings of Carpenter by incorporating the frame is divided into a proximal frame in a proximal area of the filtering unit and a distal frame in a distal area of the filtering unit, the distal frame separate from the proximal frame in order to have the frame configured such that it is transformed from a first, low-profile reduced configuration during delivery to a second, expanded configuration while in use, and if necessary, back to the first low-profile reduced configuration for later removal (Carpenter Paragraph 0081).
Further, Krahbichler is directed to an embolic protection device (200) with a filtering unit (132+133) and teaches a delivery unit (130), functioning as a support device as it supports the implant during delivery, independent from the frame (133) and coupled to the filtering unit (132) (Figure 2, 13; Paragraph 0020), the support device extending proximally from the filtering unit (Figure 2; Paragraph 0020; 0053), wherein the support device is coupled to the filtering unit at the proximal area (131) (Figure 12; Paragraph 0020; 0034; 0053); and wherein, once the filtering unit exits the catheter (160), at least a portion of the support device (proximal end of 130) extends proximally into the catheter to allow a user to actively collapse the proximal area of the filtering unit toward the feeder vessel (120) (Figure 1, 12; Paragraph 0053; 0107).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Schumacher as modified by Carpenter such that to include a support device independent from the frame and coupled to the filtering unit, the support device extending proximally from the filtering unit, wherein the support device is coupled to the filtering unit at the proximal area, as taught by Krahbichler, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to embolic protection devices. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schumacher as modified by Carpenter with the teachings of Krahbichler by incorporating a support device independent from the frame and coupled to the filtering unit, the support device extending proximally from the filtering unit, wherein the support device is coupled to the filtering unit at the proximal area, and wherein, once the filtering unit exits the catheter and is positioned by the feeding unit, at least a portion of the support device extends proximally into the catheter separately from the feeding unit and is operable independently from the feeding unit to allow a user to actively collapse the proximal area of the filtering unit toward the feeder vessel in order to easily deliver and maneuver the embolic protection device (Krahbichler Paragraph 0020), as Schumacher is silent to the delivery of the device.
Further, as a result of the combination, the modified device would be fully capable of wherein, once the filtering unit exits the catheter, at least a portion of the support device extends proximally into the catheter separately from the feeding unit, as the support device would be a different component to Schumacher’s feeding unit, and is operable independently from the feeding unit, as the support device would be a different component to Schumacher’s feeding unit, and thus would be fully capable to allow a user to actively collapse the proximal area of the filtering unit toward the feeder vessel, as the device of Krahbichler is directed to a collapsible embolic protection device (Krahbichler abstract).
However, Schumacher ‘458 is directed to a similar device and teaches a support device (43) coupled to the filter mesh (Figure 2; Paragraph 0125), wherein the support device is operable independently from the feeding unit (Paragraph 0098; 0176), such that the support device is configured to actively draw the filter mesh towards a roof of the aortic arch (Paragraph 0090; 0176) (Schumacher is provided with a thread, which corresponds to device 23 of the present disclosure, which is fully capable of functioning as claimed. If desired, the thread can be extended to deploy the device at any time, even once the filtering unit is positioned by the feeding unit. The thread can be actuatable independently as the distal end of the frame is deployable prior to the deployment of the proximal end (Paragraph 0179). Further, a delivery unit is fully capable of actuating the device to actively draw the filter mesh towards a roof of the aortic arch (Paragraph 0063; 0090)), wherein the filtering unit is configured to exit a catheter (25) and be positioned at least partially in the aortic arch by the feeding unit (Figure 14; Paragraph 0153; 0166; 0170), and
wherein, once the filtering unit exits the catheter and is positioned by the feeding unit (the limitation “once the filtering unit exits the catheter and is positioned by the feeding unit” is seen as functional language and not necessarily required to be disclosed as a step if the claimed components are capable of performing the function of the claimed components), at least a portion of the support device extends proximally into the catheter and is operable independently from the feeding unit (Paragraph 0098; 0176), to allow a user to actively collapse a proximal area of the filtering unit toward the feeder vessel (Paragraph 0162) (Schumacher is provided with a thread, which corresponds to device 23 of the present disclosure, which is fully capable of functioning as claimed. If desired, the thread can be extended to deploy the device at any time, even once the filtering unit is positioned by the feeding unit. The thread can be actuatable independently as the distal end of the frame is deployable prior to the deployment of the proximal end (Paragraph 0179). Further, a delivery unit is fully capable of actuating the device to actively collapse a proximal area of the filtering unit toward the feeder vessel (Paragraph 0063; 0090)).
It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schumacher with the teachings of Schumacher ‘458 by incorporating the support device independent from the frame and coupled to the filter mesh wherein once the filtering unit is positioned by the feeding unit, the support device is operable independently from the feeding unit to allow a user to actively draw the filter mesh towards a roof of the aortic arch in order to secure the frame and filter and also control insertion of the device to position it according to the anatomy of the patient.
Further, Carpenter is directed to an embolic protection device and teaches a filtering unit (106) wherein the frame is divided into a proximal frame (134) in a proximal area of the filtering unit and a distal frame (132) in a distal area of the filtering unit, the distal frame separate from the proximal frame (Figure 6A; Paragraph 0086) and the support device (130) extending proximally from the filtering unit (Figure 6A, 8; Paragraph 0086; 0107) (junction 130 secures the wires 110, 120 of the frame, thus is a support device).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Schumacher such that the frame is divided into a proximal frame in a proximal area of the filtering unit and a distal frame in a distal area of the filtering unit, the distal frame separate from the proximal frame and the support device extending proximally from the filtering unit, as taught by Carpenter, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to embolic protection devices. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schumacher with the teachings of Carpenter by incorporating the frame is divided into a proximal frame in a proximal area of the filtering unit and a distal frame in a distal area of the filtering unit, the distal frame separate from the proximal frame in order to have the frame configured such that it is transformed from a first, low-profile reduced configuration during delivery to a second, expanded configuration while in use, and if necessary, back to the first low-profile reduced configuration for later removal (Carpenter Paragraph 0081) and the support device extending proximally from the filtering unit to allow for an attachment between the frame and a delivery device.
Conclusion
/Z.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/KATHERINE H SCHWIKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771