DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-4, 6-13, 15, 21-22, 33, 38-40, and 46 are currently pending. Claims 5, 14, 16-20, 23-32, 34-37, 41-45, 47-49, and 51-52 were previously cancelled. Claim 50 is currently cancelled. Claim 1 is currently amended. No new subject matter is added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-13 and 21, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke (US 20140005618 A1) in view of Coulthard et al. (US 20120109083 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Coulthard”, and in further view of Ballantyne et al. (US 20130317837 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Ballantyne”.
Regarding Claim 1, Locke teaches a dressing interface (system 100, Figures 1-6B) for connecting a source of fluid from a therapy device (remote base unit 114 and reduced-pressure source 116) to a dressing (reduced-pressure dressing 112) disposed at a tissue site (102) and sensing properties of fluids at the tissue site (via sensor 126a), the dressing interface comprising:
a housing having a wall (body of interface 132a and sealing member 120, see Figures 1A-B) forming:
a therapy cavity (sealed cavity of interface 132a, see annotated Figure 2a below) having an opening configured to be in fluid communication with the tissue site (the opening on the lower side of interface 132a, through which negative pressure is communicated from the interface 132a to
the tissue site, see Figure 1A), and
a negative-pressure port fluidly coupled to the therapy cavity and adapted to be fluidly coupled to a negative-pressure source (port of the reduce pressure interface 132a connecting to a reduced-pressure delivery conduit 134, see annotated Figure 1B below);
a control device disposed within the component cavity (board 127 which may be a flexible printed circuit, see Paragraph [0030]; Figure 1C and 3), the control device including a microprocessor (first processor 124; the processor is a part of an enhanced RFID technology which is a Wireless Identification and Sensing Platform (WISP) device, wherein the WISP device
has a microcontroller, see Paragraph [0027]);
one or more sensors (sensors 126a, see Figure 1C), each having:
a sensing portion disposed within the therapy cavity for sensing the properties of fluids at the tissue site (sensor 126a measures a pressure differential between the atmosphere and the tissue site, see Paragraph [0047]; sensor 126a can also be temperature sensor, pH sensor, humidity sensor, or blood sensor, see Paragraph [0040]), and
a portion electrically coupled to the microprocessor through the wall of the housing (the board 127 may be a flexible printed circuit comprising the first RFID antenna 122, the first processor 124, and the first sensor 126, see Paragraph [0030]; a coupling wire may extend from the RFID antenna to the first processor or first sensor adjacent to or on the distribution manifold, see Paragraph [0084]); and
a target device (RFID antenna 122, see Paragraph [0043]) coupled to the control device (coupled to the printed board 127, see Figure 3) and configured to receive a wireless control signal from an initiator (the second processor 148 with the RFID reader 146 transmits an ID inquiry signal to the first RFID antenna 122 to inquire about the identification of the first, wireless, reduced-pressure dressing 112, see Paragraph [0055]) disposed in therapy device to enable pairing between the target device and the therapy device (the remote base unit 114 comprises a processor 148 including memory and instructions necessary to perform a pairing protocol with the reduce pressure dressing 112; this paring is performed by the cooperation of the processor 148 and the RFID reader 146 in the remote base unit 114, and the RFID antenna 122 and the first processor 124 in the interface 132a, see Paragraph [0055]-[0056] and Figure 3).
However, Locke does not explicitly disclose a component cavity an opposite side of the wall from the therapy cavity, the component cavity disposed on an upper portion of the wall; and
a flange coupled to the wall of the housing and disposed proximate to the opening of the therapy cavity, the component cavity being spaced from the flange.
Coulthard et al. (US 20120109083 A1) teaches a reduce pressure dressing (see Abstract; Figure 10) comprising:
a housing (sealing member 320) having a wall (diverter layer 326); a component cavity (cavity housing micro-pump 316 and antenna 312, see below) an opposite side of the wall from the therapy cavity (above the diverter layer 326, see below), the component cavity disposed on an upper portion of the wall (disposed on the upper portion of layer 326, see Figure 10); and
a flange coupled to the wall of the housing (see below) and disposed proximately to the opening of the therapy cavity (disposed proximately to the sealed space 318), the component cavity being spaced from the flange (see Figure 10).
Locke and Coulthard are analogous art because both discloses a reduce pressure dressing.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the housing, wall, and cavity of Locke and further including a component cavity an opposite side of the wall from the therapy cavity, the component cavity disposed on an upper portion of the wall; and a flange coupled to the wall of the housing and disposed proximate to the opening of the therapy cavity, the component cavity being spaced from the flange, as taught by Coulthard. Coulthard teaches the micro-pump may be separate from an absorbent layer or absorbent member, such that after use, the micro-pump may be readily separated. The micro-pump may then be reconditioned and reused, see Paragraph [0071]).
Locke and Coulthard teaches all of the limitations as discussed above. However, Locke and Coulthard do not explicitly disclose a wireless transceiver coupled to the microprocessor; the wireless transceiver being configured to transmit information from the one or more sensors to the therapy device; and pairing between the wireless transceiver and the therapy device.
Ballantyne teaches a system and method for establishing electronic patient care for transmitting an order or receiving patient-related information (see Abstract; Figure 8); wherein the electronic patient care comprises a hub (802) and a patient-care device (830), a wireless transceiver coupled to the microprocessor (the pairing from a first device (e.g., hub) with a second device (e.g. patient-care device) may be configured and/or initialized using a first communications link such that the devices are paired using a second communications link; for example, near-field communications may set up pairing between the devices using Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, see Paragraph [0056]); the wireless transceiver being configured to transmit information from the one or more sensors to the therapy device (it is understood after using bluetooth to pair the near-field communication device the RFID antenna 122 and 126 of Locke can communicate sensor information); and pairing between the wireless transceiver and the therapy device (see Paragraph [0056])).
Locke, Coulthard, and Ballantyne are analogous art because both teach a medical device monitoring system with wireless communication.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the microprocessor of Modified Locke and further include a wireless transceiver is a second communications link; for example, near-field communications may set up pairing between the devices using Bluetooth, as taught by Ballantyne. Ballantyne teaches the device allows a communication interface between the client monitoring station and the various diverse patient-care devices allows for discovery and protocol translation, as well as various other functionalities such as power provisioning, regulatory compliance, and user interface to name a few (see Paragraph [0328]).
Regarding Claim 2, Modified Locke further teaches wherein the target device (RFID antenna 122) is further configured to receive a wireless control signal from an initiator disposed in a remote device to enable pairing between the wireless transceiver and the remote device (in the pairing protocol, the second processor 148 with the RFID reader 146 transmits an ID inquiry signal to the first, wireless, reduced-pressure dressing 112 to inquire about the identification of the first, wireless, reduced-pressure dressing 112, see Paragraph [0055]).
Regarding Claim 3, Modified Locke teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1. However, Modified Locke does not explicitly disclose wherein the remote device is a cell phone.
Ballantyne teaches a system and method for establishing electronic patient care for transmitting an order or receiving patient-related information (see Abstract; Figure 8) and pairing between a monitoring client and a patient-care device (see Paragraph [0502]), wherein the monitoring client is a remote communicator (11), and wherein the remote device is a cell phone (the remote communicator 11 is a cell phone, see Paragraph [0502]).
Locke, Coulthard, and Ballantyne are analogous art because both teach a medical device monitoring system with wireless communication.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the remote device of Modified Locke and further include wherein the remote device is a cell phone, as taught by Ballantyne. Ballantyne teaches smart phones may serve as a convenient portable communicator 11 for providers who are not at a fixed location, such as at an office or remote nursing station, (see Paragraph [0385]).
Regarding Claim 4, Modified Locke teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1. However, Modified Locke does not explicitly disclose wherein the target device is a near field communication (NFC) tag disposed within the component cavity.
Ballantyne teaches a system and method for establishing electronic patient care for transmitting an order or receiving patient-related information (see Abstract; Figure 8); wherein the electronic patient care comprises a hub (802) and a patient-care device (830) wherein the target device is a near field communication (NFC) tag disposed within the component cavity (the pairing from a first device (e.g., hub) with a second device (e.g. patient-care device) may be configured and/or initialized using a first communications link such that the devices are paired using a second communications link; for example, near-field communications may set up pairing between the devices using Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, see Paragraph [0056]).
Locke, Coulthard, and Ballantyne are analogous art because both teach a medical device monitoring system with wireless communication.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the target device of Modified Locke and further include wherein the target device is a near field communication (NFC) tag, as taught by Ballantyne. Ballantyne teaches the NFC tag allows a communication interface between the client monitoring station and the various diverse patient-care devices that allows for discovery and protocol translation, as well as various other functionalities such as power provisioning, regulatory compliance, and user interface to name a few (see Paragraph [0328]).
Regarding Claim 6, Modified Locke teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1. However, Modified Locke does not explicitly disclose wherein the target device is an NFC tag and the wireless transceiver is a Bluetooth® device.
Ballantyne teaches a system and method for establishing electronic patient care for transmitting an order or receiving patient-related information (see Abstract; Figure 8); wherein the electronic patient care comprises a hub (802) and a patient-care device (830), wherein the target device is an NFC tag and the wireless transceiver is a Bluetooth® device (the pairing from a first device (e.g., hub) with a second device (e.g. patient-care device) may be configured and/or initialized using a first communications link such that the devices are paired using a second communications link; for example, near-field communications may set up pairing between the devices using Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, see Paragraph [0056]).
Locke, Coulthard, and Ballantyne are analogous art because both teach a medical device monitoring system with wireless communication.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the target device of Modified Locke and further include wherein the target device is a near field communication (NFC) tag and the wireless transceiver is a Bluetooth® device, as taught by Ballantyne. Ballantyne teaches the device allows a communication interface between the client monitoring station and the various diverse patient-care devices allows for discovery and protocol translation, as well as various other functionalities such as power provisioning, regulatory compliance, and user interface to name a few (see Paragraph [0328]).
Regarding Claim 7, Modified Locke teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in Claim 1 and Locke further teaches a power supply and wherein the wireless control signal enables the target device to electrically couple the power supply to the wireless transceiver (a battery may be included to provide the necessary power. With the power from the battery, the first, wireless, reduced-pressure dressing 112 may transmit signals independent of any signal from the remote base unit 114, see Paragraph [0052]).
Regarding Claim 8, Modified Locke teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in Claim 1 and Locke further teaches wherein the wireless control signal enables the target device to initiate the transfer of sensor information and/or information regarding the dressing from the wireless transceiver to the therapy device (the second processor 148, the RFID reader 146, the first RFID antenna 122, and the first processor 124 may be configured to perform the following steps: transmitting an ID inquiry signal from the remote base unit 114 to the first, wireless, reduced-pressure dressing 112; receiving the ID inquiry signal at the first, wireless, reduced-pressure dressing 112 and producing an ID message signal; transmitting the ID message signal from the first, wireless, reduced-pressure dressing 112 to the remote base unit 114, see Paragraph [0056]).
Regarding Claim 9, Modified Locke teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 8. However, Modified Locke does not explicitly disclose wherein the wireless control signal includes a password associated with a user.
Ballantyne teaches a system and method for establishing electronic patient care for transmitting an order or receiving patient-related information (see Abstract; Figure 8); wherein the wireless control signal includes a password associated with a user (the remote interface and/or the one or more applications on the remote interface may be password or other protected and is paired with the one or more devices, see Paragraph [0488]).
Locke, Coulthard, and Ballantyne are analogous art because both teach a medical device monitoring system with wireless communication.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the wireless control signal of Modified Locke and further include the wireless control signal includes a password associated with a user, as taught by Ballantyne. Ballantyne teaches a user may access the information from any device and or may download the information to any device including any device specific applications and therefore the user information may be downloaded to any device including, but not limited to, history, preferred settings, etc., information (see Paragraph [0489]).
Regarding Claim 10, Modified Locke teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 7 and Locke further teaches wherein the wireless control signal includes information instructing the wireless transceiver to communicate sensor information to a remote device (the RFID reader 146 of the remote base unit 114 may be a transceiver for transmitting to and receiving signals from the first RFID antenna 122, see Paragraph [0040] and [0054]).
Regarding Claim 11, Modified Locke teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 7 and Locke further teaches wherein the wireless control signal includes information for pairing the wireless transceiver to a remote device (the second processor 148 includes memory and instructions necessary to perform various desired steps. For example, a pairing protocol may be executed. In the pairing protocol, the second processor 148 with the RFID reader 146 transmits an ID inquiry signal to the first, wireless, reduced-pressure dressing 112 to inquire about the identification of the first, wireless, reduced-pressure dressing 112, see Paragraph [0055].
Regarding Claim 12, Modified Locke teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and Locke further teaches wherein the therapy device and/or remote device (114) comprises a user interface for displaying information for assisting a user to link the target device to the initiator (a control panel 158, such as a push-button panel or graphical user interface, may be included to receive input from a user, see Paragraph [0053]).
Regarding Claim 13, Modified Locke teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and Locke further teaches a vent port fluidly coupled to the therapy cavity and adapted to enable airflow into the therapy cavity (vent line 168 may be used to allow the micro-pump 117 to vent or exhaust outside of the first, wireless, reduced-pressure dressing 112, see Paragraph [0068]).
Regarding Claim 21, Modified Locke teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and Locke further teaches wherein the one or more sensors comprises a pressure sensor (the sensor 126 may be, for example, a pressure sensor, see Paragraph [0040]), and wherein the sensing portion of the pressure sensor is disposed in the therapy cavity so that the sensing portion is proximate a tissue interface when positioned at the tissue site (the first sensor 126 may be located at any location in the first, wireless, reduced-pressure dressing 112, see Paragraph [0051]).
Claims 33, 38-40, and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke (US 20140005618 A1) in view of Ballantyne et al. (US 20130317837 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Ballantyne”.
Regarding Claim 33, Locke teaches a method of utilizing a dressing interface (interface 132a, Figures 1-6B) capable of sensing a property of fluid (via sensor 126a) at a tissue site (102), the method comprising:
positioning the dressing interface on the tissue site (see Figure 1A), the dressing interface having a therapy cavity (the cavity communicating with the port with the tissue site, Figure 1A) and a component chamber fluidly isolated from the therapy cavity (the cavity formed by the lower part of the interface 132a and coating 129, wherein the sensor 126a is encapsulated within this cavity, see Paragraph [0046]), a control device disposed within the component chamber (processor 124a, see Figure 1C), and a sensor disposed within the therapy cavity (sensors 126a; the sensor may be located anywhere in or on the dressing and are operable to communicate with a remote base outside of the body cavity, see Paragraph [0081]), and coupled to the control device (the board 127 may be a flexible printed circuit comprising the first RFID antenna 122, the first processor 124, and the first sensor 126, see Figure 1C; Paragraph [0030]);
sending a wireless control signal (Wireless Identification and Sensing Platform (WISP) device, see Paragraph [0050]) to a target device (RFID antenna 122) coupled to the control device for activating the control device to enable pairing with a wireless device (to pair with remote base unit 114, see Paragraphs [0055]-[0056]);
sensing the property of the fluid within the therapy cavity with the sensor disposed within the therapy cavity and electrically coupled to the control device (sensor 126a measures a pressure differential between the atmosphere and the tissue site, see Paragraph [0047]; sensor 126a can also be temperature sensor, pH sensor, humidity sensor, or blood sensor, see Paragraph [0040]); and
providing a property signal to the wireless device indicative of the property of the fluid sensed by the sensor (the remote base unit 114 may be configured to transmit a pressure inquiry signal to the first, wireless, reduced-pressure dressing 112; in response, the first, wireless, reduced-pressure dressing 112 ascertains the pressure with the first sensor 126 and transmits a pressure message signal to the remote base unit 114, see Paragraph [0065]).
Regarding Claim 38, Locke further teaches wherein the sensor is a pressure sensor (the sensor 126 may be, for example, a pressure sensor, see Paragraph [0040]) and further comprising providing a property signal indicative of pressure properties to the control device (the sensor 126 may thus develop a signal indicative of pressure sensed at a desired site in or on the first, wireless, reduced-pressure dressing 112 and that signal may be referred to as a pressure message signal, see Paragraph [0041].
Regarding Claim 39, Locke further teaches wherein the dressing interface comprises one or more sensors comprising a temperature sensor (the sensor 126 may be, for example, a temperature sensor, see Paragraph [0040]), the method further comprising providing a property signal indicative of temperature properties to the control device (all the necessary energy for the first processor 124 and first sensor 126 is harvested from signals received by the first RFID antenna 122 from the remote base unit 114, see Paragraph [0052]).
Regarding Claim 40, Locke further teaches wherein the dressing interface comprises one or more sensors comprising a humidity sensor (the sensor 126 may be, for example, a humidity sensor, see Paragraph [0040]), the method further comprising providing a property signal indicative of humidity properties to the control device all the necessary energy for the first processor 124 and first sensor 126 is harvested from signals received by the first RFID antenna 122 from the remote base unit 114, see Paragraph [0052]).
Regarding Claim 46, Locke further teaches sensing pH properties of the fluid within the therapy cavity provided from a pH sensor disposed within the therapy cavity and coupled to the control device (the sensor 126 may be, for example, a pH sensor, see Paragraph [0040]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke, Coulthard, and Ballantyne, as applied in claim 1, and in further view of Locke et al. (US 20170014606 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Locke 606’”.
Regarding Claim 15, Modified Locke teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1. However, Modified Locke does not explicitly disclose an instillation port fluidly coupled to the therapy cavity and adapted to fluidly couple an instillation source to the tissue site.
Locke 606’ teaches a reduce pressure wound treatment system (10, see Figure 1) comprising a dressing interface (adapter 22) having a therapy cavity (60, see Figure 2), wherein the adapter further comprises an instillation port (second ancillary port 58 and the second port extension 37b, see Figure 10) fluidly coupled to the therapy cavity (see Figure 10) and adapted to fluidly couple an instillation source (instillation reservoir 41) to the tissue site (instillation of fluids through the port extension 37 when the distal end 45 of the port extension 37 is in contact with or in close proximity to a surface of the tissue site 25, see Paragraph [0081]-[0082]).
Modified Locke and Locke 606’ are analogous art because both teach a negative pressure wound therapy system.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the negative pressure system of Modified Locke and further include an instillation port fluidly coupled to the therapy cavity and adapted to fluidly couple an instillation source to the tissue site, as taught by Locke 606’. Locke 606’ teaches the adapter may be configured to prevent or reduce instances of unintentional liquid ingress into measurement lumens or sensing lumens associated with a therapy system. Such a configuration may increase the accuracy of pressure measurements at the tissue site, and provide for efficient use of instillation fluid (see Paragraph [0043]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke, Coulthard, and Ballantyne, as applied in claim 1, and in further view of Raahemifar et al. (US 20180070866 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Raahemifar”.
Regarding Claim 22, Modified Locke teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and further teaches wherein the one or more sensors comprises a pH sensor (the sensor 126 may be, for example, a pH sensor, see Paragraph [0040]). However, Locke does not explicitly disclose a pH sensor electrically coupled to an input of a front-end amplifier having an output electrically coupled to the microprocessor.
Raahemifar teaches a device consisting of multiple chemoreceptive sensors, a microprocessor, a signal amplifier, signal filtering, error correction algorithms, analog-to-digital converter and wireless electromagnetic data transmitter to a remote device for further processing and/or data storage (see Paragraph [0001]), wherein the pH sensor is electrically coupled to an input of a front-end amplifier having an output electrically coupled to the microprocessor (from the sensor the electrical current is amplified in an ultra-low noise amplifier, filters (to remove noise and random spikes of current) via microcontroller. The microcontroller output is then transmitted wirelessly to a remote PC or computing device (e.g. desktop computer, smart phone, laptop, tablet, etc.), see Paragraph [0035]).
Modified Locke and Raahemifar are analogous art because all teach a negative pressure wound therapy system.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the pH sensor of Modified Locke and further include the pH sensor electrically coupled to an input of a front-end amplifier having an output electrically coupled to the microprocessor, as taught by Raahemifar. Raahemifar teaches it is beneficial to possess a signal conversion system and/or signal filtering system and/or software to analyze sensor data and/or software to improve signal-to-noise ratio and/or software to remove artifacts from raw sensor data and/or sensor fusion processing methods, for the processing of digital and/or analog signals into a form to optimize efficiency within the microcontroller and central processing system (see Paragraph [0056]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 1-3, filed 05/19/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Coulthard (US 20120109083 A1). Coulthard reads on the newly amended limitations of a component cavity and therapy cavity being separated by a wall and comprising a flange (see below).
Applicant's arguments filed 05/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Specifically Applicant argues in Claim 33 that Locke (US 20140005618 A1) fails to teach “a sensor disposed within the therapy cavity and coupled to the control device”. The examiner respectfully disagrees that Locke fails to teach a sensor disposed within the therapy cavity. As discussed above, Paragraph [0081] teaches the sensor may be located anywhere in or on the dressing and are operable to communicate with a remote base outside of the body cavity. Therefore, Locke would read on all the limitations of Claim 33.
Conclusion
/ERIC RASSAVONG/ (9/29/2026)Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/JESSICA ARBLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781