DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 11/14/2025 is acknowledged. Claims, 1, 34, 58, and 82 are amended. Claims 26, 41, 43, 48, 50, and 148 are cancelled.
Claim Status
Claims 1, 34, 36, 56, 58, 65, 71, 72, 75, 77, 82, 90, and 149-150 are pending and under examination in the instant office action.
Withdrawal of Rejections
The rejection of claims 34, 48, and 58 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims.
The rejection of claim 48 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form is moot due to the cancellation of claim 48.
The rejection of claim 82 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, for scope of enablement is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims.
The rejection of claims 1, 26, 34, 36, 56, 58, 65, 71, 72, 75, 77, 82, 90, and 148-150 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2017040344 to Schellenberger et. al. published 9 March 2017 (Of Record, 892 dated 27 January 2025) is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims.
The rejection of claims 1, 26, 34, 56, 58, 65, 71, 72, 77, and 148-150 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1, 8, 9, 11, 18, 29, 36, and 39 of U.S. Patent No. 11713358 is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims.
The rejection of claims 36, 75, 82, and 90 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1, 8, 9, 11, 18, 29, 36, and 39 of U.S. Patent No. 11713358 as applied to claims further in view of WO2017040344 to Schellenberger et. al. published 9 March 2017 is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims.
The provisional rejection of claims 1, 26, 34, 36, 41, 43, 48, 50, 56, 58, 65, 71, 72, 75, 77, 82, 90, and 148-150 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1, 2, 5-9, 11, 20, 22, 25, 35, 36, 39, 47, 50, 58, 59, 60-62, 64, 65, and 66 of copending Application No. 18636855 is withdrawn in view of the abandonment of Copending application No. 18636855 on July 30, 2025.
Claim Objections- New
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “comprises at least three different amino acid sequences selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 672-675 and amino acid sequence at least 90% identical to any one of SEQ ID NOs: 676-734”. The recitation appears to inadvertently omit an “s” for plural “sequences least 90% identical to any one of SEQ ID NOs: 676-734” in line 19. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 150 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recites "and a heavy chain variable region (VL)" in lines 2-3. It appears that the “VL” in parentheses is an inadvertent error and should be “VH” to refer to the heavy chain variable region. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)- New
Claims 1, 34, 36, 56, 58, 65, 71, 72, 75, 77, 82, 90, and 149-150 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Scope of the claims
Regarding claim 1, the claim is directed towards a polypeptide comprising a first antibody binding fragment, a second antibody binding fragment, a first extended recombinant polypeptide (XTEN1), and a first release segment (RS1) between the XTEN1 and the AF1, wherein the RS1 comprises an amino acid sequence that is at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO: 99. The specification and the state of the art do not allow for predictable variation in SEQ ID NO: 99 up to 10% while preserving the claimed release segment peptide function as described.
SEQ ID NO: 99 is 16 amino acids long. Therefore, 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 99 allows for any amino acids at one unspecified position in SEQ ID NO: 99. The breadth of the genus, therefore, includes at least 304 possible RSs (19 standard amino acid substitutions possible across 16 different positions), just starting with the 20 standard amino acids.
State of the Relevant Art
Regarding masking peptides for antibodies and protease-cleavable release segments, these are known in the art. For example, Chen, IJ., Chuang, CH., Hsieh, YC. et al. Selective antibody activation through protease-activated pro-antibodies that mask binding sites with inhibitory domains. Sci Rep 7, 11587 (2017) teaches and anti-EGFR antibody linked to a masking peptide by a substrate of MMP-2 (See Abstract, Fig. 1). Chen et. al. teaches that the MMP-2 substrate sequence is GPLGVR. WO2017040344 to Schellenberger et. al. published 9 March 2017 (Of Record, PTO-892 dated 27 January 2025) describes an anti-EGFR antibody linked by a release-segment to a protease cleavable linker, wherein the release segment is selected from embodiments including those in Table 4 (starting on p. 128). Schellenberger teaches a release segments BSRS3 and BSRS6 that are cut by MMP-2, 7, 9, 14, matriptase, uPA, and legumain which are 62.8% and 44.2% identical to the instant RS SEQ ID NO: 99, respectively as shown in the alignment below:
RESULT 1
AASEQ2_12082025_171446
Query Match 62.8%; Score 54; DB 1; Length 16;
Best Local Similarity 71.4%;
Matches 10; Conservative 1; Mismatches 3; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 2 AGRSANHTPAGLTG 15
|||| ||:| || |
Db 2 AGRSDNHSPLGLAG 15
RESULT 1
AASEQ2_12082025_171129
Query Match 44.2%; Score 38; DB 1; Length 16;
Best Local Similarity 66.7%;
Matches 8; Conservative 0; Mismatches 4; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 2 AGRSANHTPAGL 13
|||| || | |
Db 2 AGRSDNHEPLEL 13
Schellenberger also teaches some additional cleavage sequences consensus sequences, stating “the listing of multiple amino acids before, between, or after a slash indicate alternative amino acids that can be substituted at the position” (p. 132, bottom). For example, RS112 for Legumain teaches PTAWS/TPASI/N, indicating that the legumain cleavage site in BSRS3 may equally be “SAN” rather than “SDN”. However, the consensus sequences described are not sufficient to allow an artisan to at once envision how all variants of any single amino acid at any position may be cleaved. Song, Jiangning, et al. "iProt-Sub: a comprehensive package for accurately mapping and predicting protease-specific substrates and cleavage sites." Briefings in bioinformatics 20.2 (2019): 638-658 teaches the identification of protease substrates using a bioinformatic cleavage site prediction model. Song et. al. teaches “The specificity of proteases can vary significantly, depending on the protease and the active sites, with the cleavage site selectivity ranging from preferences for limited and specific amino acids at specific positions, to more general preferences with little discrimination. Current experimental methods for proteolytic cleavage characterization include one-dimensional and two-dimensional gel-based methods (used for identifying the substrates) [12], N-terminal peptide identification methods (for identifying both substrates and cleavage sites), methods using mass spectrometry, as well as quantitation methods of proteolysis to better understand the dynamics and extent of proteolytic events such as the TAILS method [13]. Despite the advances of these experimental methods, they are labor intensive, expensive and time-consuming, and are often limited to the investigation of one protease each time” (Introduction ¶2). Song et. al. further teaches “Third, the accuracy of protease-specific cleavage site prediction varies substantially between different proteases and different protease families. The difficult cases include cleavage site prediction of the MMP family and other proteases (e.g. thrombin) whose activities are also regulated by confounding factors such as the presence of exosites (sites that are located outside the active sites)” (Results and discussion, “Performance evaluation based on a different sequence encoding schemes”, ¶2). Thus, it is difficult to predict and describe all protease sites for all proteases, since each protease requires different, sometimes unpredictable, structural features to both the cleavage site and sometimes to other aspects of the target protein. As an additional example, US20150218217 to Moore et. al. teaches activatable antibodies comprising substrates cleavable by matriptase and/or uPA, but not by plasmin and/or tPA ([0579], Example 7). Moore et. al. teaches a library of potentially cleavable substrates (“CYTX-DP Display Platform), wherein 148 independent substrate-containing display platforms were tested; of these, from pools selected for matriptase and uPA, matriptase, and combined substrates, the cleavage rate for one of the two enzymes alone producing >20% cleavage was between 35% and 96% ([0580], Example 7). Given the wide range and the requirement for screening a library of substrate sequences, it is clear that an artisan would not immediately envision all of the variants 90% identical SEQ ID NO: 99 that preserve matriptase, uPA, legumain, and MMP-2, 7, 9, and 14 substrate function as described.
Summary of species disclosed in the original specification
The original specification discloses 88 different sequences that comprise SEQ ID NO: 99, but there are no variants comprising a sequence only 90% identical to SEQ ID NO: 99 disclosed. There are no amino acid substitutions, insertions, or deletions at any position resulting in a sequence less than 100% identical but more than 90% identical to SEQ ID NO: 99.
Do the species disclosed in the specification describe a genus?
MPEP 2163 states that a “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. The instant specification only discloses one sequence more than 90% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 99. Given the breadth of the genus including at least 304 sequences at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO: 99 with no additional guidance or examples provided, an artisan would not understand applicant to be in possession of the entire genus at the time of filing.
Identifying characteristics and structure/function correlation
In the absence of a representative number of species, the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied by the disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics (i.e. structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or discloses correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. To meet the requirement in the instant case, the specification must describe structural features that the skilled artisan, as of the effective filing date, would have expected to convey the claimed activity.
As noted above, the art teaches that although consensus sequences may be described for some proteases, this does not necessarily result in predictability of the cleavage interaction between the protease and the substrate sequence of the release site. There are no alternate residues within SEQ ID NO: 99 disclosed in the specification, nor particular guidance of where and how SEQ ID NO: 99 may be altered in order to preserve the disclosed function of being a multi-protease substrate (Fig. 6). Therefore, there insufficient structure/function correlation to define a genus of release segments comprising an amino acid at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO: 99.
Summary
A genus of species is not present in the instant specification or prior art that would demonstrate a structure/activity relationship would be known for release segment residues for the recited function of matriptase, uPA, legumain, and MMP-2, 7, 9, and 14 cleavage substrate. There is a lack of an appropriate number of species with identical or alternative amino acid residues within the SEQ ID NO: 99 that indicate which amino acid residues: i) are essential for protease binding; ii) can be changed and still allow protease binding and substrate cleavage; and iii) disrupt protease binding and substrate cleavage. One of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the applicant was not in possession of the genus of substitutions and deletions of the polypeptide of claim 1 at the time of filing. Regarding claims 34, 36, 56, 58, 65, 71, 72, 75, 77, 82, 90, and 149-150 the claims are ultimately dependent on the rejected claim 1 without narrowing the claimed subject matter and thus are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103- New
Claims 1, 34, 36, 56, 58, 65, 71, 72, 75, 77, 82, 90, and 149-150 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2017040344 to Schellenberger et. al. published 9 March 2017 (Of Record, PTO-892 dated 1/27/2025) in view of WO2019126576 to Yang et. al. effectively filed 21 December 2017 (Of record, IDS dated 11/14/2025).
The applied reference (WO2019126576 to Yang et. al.) has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Regarding claims 1, 34, 58, and 149-150, Schellenberger et. al. teaches a chimeric polypeptide comprising a first portion, wherein the first portion comprises a first binding domain with binding specificity to a target cell marker and a second binding domain with binding specificity to an effector cell, and further comprising a third portion comprising a bulking moiety (claim 1) and wherein the first binding domain and the second binding domain are scFvs (claim 10); wherein the effector cell antigen is CD3 (claim 14); The chimeric polypeptide assembly of any one of the preceding claims, wherein the first binding domain comprises VH and VL regions derived from a monoclonal antibody capable of binding said tumor specific marker (claim 21); The chimeric polypeptide wherein the bulking moiety is XTEN (claim 33) and wherein the XTEN comprises an amino acid sequence at least 90% identical to a sequence selected from the group set forth in Table 5 (claim 34). “[T]he first binding domain VH and VL regions are arranged in the order VL— VH. In other cases, the first binding domain comprises a CDR-H1 region, a CDR-H2 region, a CDR-H3 region, a CDR-L1 region, a CDR-L2 region, and a CDR-H3 region, wherein each of said regions is derived from monoclonal antibody sequences selected from the group of sequences set forth in Table 2” [0010]. Table 2 teaches the sequence of panitumumab, an anti-HER1 (EGFR) antibody VH SEQ ID NO: 97 (100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 36) and VL of SEQ ID NO: 194 (100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 35). Regarding claim 149, because the VH and VL are identical the CDRs by Kabat numbering are also identical. Additionally, Schellenberger et. al. teaches “In some embodiments, wherein less than 100% of amino acids of an XTEN in the chimeric polypeptide assembly compositions are selected from glycine (G), alanine (A), serine (S), threonine (T), glutamate (E) and praline (P), or wherein less than 100% of the sequence consists of the XTEN sequences of Table 5, the remaining amino acid residues of the XTEN are selected from any of the other 14 natural L-amino acids, but are preferentially selected from hydrophilic amino acids such that the XTEN sequence contains at least about 90%, 91 %, 92%, 93%, 94%, 95%, 96%, 97%, 98%, or at least about 99% hydrophilic amino acids. The content of hydrophobic amino acids in the XTEN utilized in the chimeric polypeptide assembly compositions can be less than 5%, or less than 2%, or less than 1% hydrophobic amino acid content” [00296]. Table 5 teaches an XTEN sequence called “AE144” which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 676, is at least 36 amino acid residues in length, comprises at least 4 different amino acids selected from the group consisting of G, A, S, T, E, and P, and comprises each of the different amino acid sequences from SEQ ID NOs: 672-675 (Table 5, p. 138, [00297]).
Schellenberger et. al. teaches the polypeptide further comprising a release segment between the XTEN and the AF1: “thus the RS is located between the first [binding] portion and the XTEN or other bulking moiety” [00277]. Schellenberger teaches that “the invention relates to chimeric polypeptide assembly compositions incorporating release segment peptide sequences capable of being cleaved by one or more mammalian proteases, wherein upon exposure of the RS to the protease (or proteases) the RS is cleaved and the bispecific binding domains are released from the composition. Upon release of the bispecific binding domains and the shielding bulking moiety of the subject chimeric polypeptide compositions, the binding domains regain, due to the loss of the shielding effect of the bulking moiety, their full capacity to concurrently bind to an effector T cell and a cancer, tumor or target cell, resulting in damage or cytolysis of the cancer, tumor or target cell” [00276]. Schellenberger et. al. teaches that the RS is a substrate from a group of proteases which includes MMP-2, MMP-9, MMP-11, MMP-14, urokinase, and matriptase [00282]; “In one embodiment, the RS of the chimeric polypeptide assembly composition is a substrate for at least two proteases selected from the group consisting of MMP-2, MMP-9, uPA, and matriptase” [00282].
Schellenberger et. al. teaches that the RS may be one of the exemplary RSs in Table 4 (p. 128), including RS “BSRS3” that is 62.6% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 99 (see alignment in the 112(a) rejection above).
Regarding claim 36, Schellenberger et. al. teaches that the polypeptide of the invention is expressed as a fusion protein and depicts a configuration wherein the fusion protein is arranged tumor-associated binding moiety (equivalent to AF1), RS, XTEN (See Fig. 6B and Fig. 6D, for example and Fig. 11) as well as tandem scFv constructs where the structural arrangement from N-terminus to C-terminus is AF1-RS1-XTEN1 (See bottom two examples Fig. 13B).
Regarding claim 56, Schellenberger et. al. teaches that the first and second binding domain are connected by a flexible linker as disclosed in Table 8 and Table 9 [00306], wherein the linkers comprise at least two of glycine, serine, and proline (e.g. L1 is a (G4S)3 linker).
Regarding claim 65, Schellenberger et. al. teaches an embodiment of the polypeptide comprises a second release segment (RS2) wherein the RS2 is a substrate for cleavage by a mammalian protease from the group recited in Table 3 ([0007], [0016]), wherein Table 3 includes MMP-2, MMP-9, MMP-11, MMP-14, urokinase, and matriptase.
Regarding claims 71, 72, and 75, Schellenberger et. al. teaches embodiments that further comprise a second bulking moiety, wherein the bulking moiety is an XTEN of the same composition as the first XTEN, comprising at least 90% of amino acids G, A, S, T, E, P, and is at least 36 amino acids in length (e.g. AE144, as described above), and comprises at least four different amino acids from the group G, A, S, T, E, P as described from the first XTEN domain above (See Fig. 9A, [0016], [00186]). The fifth portion comprising the second bulking moiety (e.g. XTEN) from Table 5, including AE144 which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 676. Schellenberger et. al. describes:
“In another embodiment, the invention provides a composition having the configuration of formula III (depicted N-terminus to C-terminus):
(fifth portion)-(fourth portion)-(first portion)-(second portion)-(third portion) III wherein first portion is a bispecific comprising two scFv wherein the first binding domain has specific binding affinity to a tumor-specific marker or an antigen of a target cell and the second binding domain has specific binding affinity to an effector cell; the second portion comprises a release segment (RS) capable of being cleaved by a mammalian protease; the third portion is a bulking moiety; the fourth portion comprises a release segment (RS) capable of being cleaved by a mammalian protease which may be identical or different from the second portion; and the fifth portion is a bulking moiety that may be identical or may be different from the third portion. In the foregoing embodiment, the first portion binding domains can be in the order (VL-VH)1-(VL-VH)2, wherein "1" and "2" represent the first and second binding domains, respectively, or (VL-VH)1-(VH-VL)2, or (VH-VL)1-(VLVH)2, or (VH-VL)1-(VH-VL )2, wherein the paired binding domains are linked by a polypeptide linker as described herein, below” [320].
Regarding claim 77, Schellenberger et. al. teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising the polypeptide and a suitable carrier or excipient [00322].
Regarding claim 82, Schellenberger et. al. discloses a method of treating a disease comprising administering the chimeric polypeptide or pharmaceutical composition to a subject with cancer, wherein the cancer is selected from a large group such as that recited in claim 82, including for example, breast cancer [00326].
Regarding claim 90, Schellenberger et. al. teaches a polynucleotide encoding the polypeptide [00345].
Schellenberger et. al. does not teach a working example with the particular embodiment comprising the anti-EGFR binding domain comprising the VH and VL of panitumumab.
Schellenberger et. al. teaches that bispecific antibodies, in particular T cell engagers with the embodiment of an anti-EPCAM x anti-CD3 have a significantly longer half-life than the cleaved bispecific (Example 9, [00427]). Schellenberger et. al. teaches that the protease sensitive bispecific has anti-tumor properties in vivo in mouse models of colorectal cancer and ovarian cancer (Examples 10, 11, 16, 18, 19), and that at particular doses of proTIA the proteases in the tumor microenvironment are sufficient to cleave the XTEN domain from the pro form and activate the anti-tumor activity of the T-cell engaging bispecific antibody. Schellenberger et. al. also teaches that the cleavable chimeric polypeptides of the invention because they are “superior in one or more aspects including enhanced terminal half-life, targeted delivery, and reduced toxicity to healthy tissues compared to conventional bispecific antibody preparations in use” ([0004], See also Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to create the particular embodiments of a subgenus of bispecific polypeptide comprising binding a binding domain against the tumor antigen EGFR further comprising the VH/VL of panitumumab, a second anti-effector cell binding domain comprising an anti-CD3 binding domain, and a bulking moiety comprising an XTEN domain comprising at least 90% of the amino acid residues of which are selected from glycine (G), alanine (A), serine (S), threonine (T), glutamate (E) and proline (P), and which is at least 36 amino acid residues in length; at least 4 different amino acids selected from the group consisting of G, A, S, T, E and P; and at least three different amino acid sequences selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOS:672-675 and amino acid sequence at least 90% identical to any one of SEQ ID NOs: 676-734 as taught in Schellenberger et. al. to benefit from the extension of half-life of anti-tumor bispecific T-cell engagers with targeted delivery and reduced toxicity to healthy tissues as taught by Schellenberger et. al. while developing a polypeptide to target EGFR-positive cancers. This would have a predictable effect because Schellenberger et. al. teaches that the format of a bispecific T-cell engager with an XTEN domain is an improvement over existing bispecific T-cell engagers and an artisan would expect the mechanism to work well with existing anti-tumor binding domains such as panitumumab coupled with art-known anti-CD3 domains.
Schellenberger et. al. does not explicitly teach that the release segment comprises an amino acid sequence at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO: 99.
This deficiency is resolved by Yang et. al.
Yang et. al. teaches release segments to attach antigen-binding domains to bulky masking domains in order to make activatable bispecific antibodies [0004-0005]. Yang et. al. teaches an anti-EGFR x anti-CD63 antibody and activity of the bispecific against HCT-16 cells with human PBMC ([00105], Example 61, Fig. 80). Yang et. al. teach a release segment of amino acid sequence EAGRSANHEPLGLVAT that is cleaved by legumain, MMP-2, MMP-7, MMP-9, MMP-14, uPA, and matriptase [00209]. Yang et. al. teach an embodiment of the anti-EGFR x CD3 bispecific with release segment RSR2295 which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 99 (p. 64 Table 1, Example 47, Table 17 p. 224) and that it is expected anti-EGFR x CD3 bispecific comprising RSR2295 was able to bind to CD3 and EGFR positive cells after protease treatment [00550] and that it is expected that the bispecific will activate PBMC in the presence of HCT-116 target cells when activated by protease treatment [00554]. Yang et. al. also teach that the RSR2295 is effective in the context of an anti-EpCAM x CD3 bispecific antibody at protecting mice from in vivo activity of the cleaved bispecific (Example 56, [00579]) and that cleaved EpCAM x CD3 bispecific comprising RSR2295 had the highest in vitro cytotoxic activity against HCT-116 cancer cells (Example 55, Table 20, [00575-00576]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to substitute the RS of the anti-EGFR x CD3 bispecific of Schellenberger et. al. between the antigen-binding segment and the XTEN segment for the RS2295 as taught by Yang et. al. in order to benefit from the release segment with the best in vitro cytotoxicity after exposure to protease (and therefore the best unmasking) that still masks the antibody in the absence of protease to reduce toxicity as taught by Yang et. al. This would have a predictable effect because Yang et. al. teach that the anti-EGFR x CD3 antibody comprising the RSR2295 would be expected to have a similar cytotoxicity and protection benefit as the anti-EpCAM x CD3 bispecific and both Yang et. al. and Schellenberger et. al. teach release segments cleaved by MMP-2, MMP-9, MMP-11, MMP-14, urokinase, and matriptase for the release segment portion of an activatable antibody joined to an XTEN by a release segment.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Response to arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 34, 36, 56, 58, 65, 71, 72, 75, 77, 82, 90, and 149-150 (Remarks 11/14/2025 p. 7) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting- New
Claims 1, 34, 56, 58, 65, 71, 72, 77, and 149-150 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 9, 11, 18, 29, 36, and 39 of U.S. Patent No. 11713358 (Of record, cited in PTO-892 dated 1/27/2025) in view of WO2019126576 to Yang et. al. effectively filed 21 December 2017 (Of record, IDS dated 11/14/2025).
The applied reference (WO2019126576 to Yang et. al.) has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
‘358 teaches a chimeric polypeptide comprising a first, second, and third portion where the first portion comprises a binding domain with specificity to a target cell marker and a binding domain specific for a effector cell antigen, wherein the effector cell antigen is CD3 (claim 5); the second portion comprises a release segment capable of being cleaved by one or more mammalian proteases (claim 1, 29, 36); the target cell marker is a tumor specific marker from a group including EGFR (claim 2); the chimeric polypeptide wherein the first binding domain comprises a VH and VL regions derived from a monoclonal antibody capable of binding the target cell marker (claim 8) and have VH and VL or the sequences SEQ ID NOs: 141-236. SEQ ID NO: 194 is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 35; wherein the first and second binding domains are scFvs (claim 29).
Additionally, the third portion comprises an extended recombinant polypeptide wherein the extended recombinant polypeptide is capable of being released from the first portion (reads on XTEN) (claim 1). The extended recombinant polypeptide is selected from the amino acids sequences of SEQ ID NO: 374-417 (claim 2), wherein SEQ ID NO: 374 is AE144, which is equivalent to instant SEQ ID NO: 676 and at least 90% of the amino acid residues of which are selected from glycine (G), alanine (A), serine (S), threonine (T), glutamate (E) and proline (P), and which is at least 36 amino acid residues in length; comprises at least 4 different amino acids selected from the group consisting of G, A, S, T, E and P; and comprises at least three different amino acid sequences selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOS:672-675.
Although the claims do not recite the VH sequence of the anti-EGFR antibody, the scope of claim 8 is broad and therefore the specification was consulted in order to better understand the scope of the VH sequences claimed. Table 2 teaches VH sequence of SEQ ID NO: 97, which comprises the identical CDRs of instant SEQ ID NO: 36. ‘358 teaches the polypeptide further comprises a release segment with an amino acid sequence capable of being cleaved by a protease from among a group including MMP-2, MMP-7, MMP-9, MMP-11, MMP-14, urokinase (uPA), and matriptase, wherein the extended recombinant polypeptide comprises an amino acid sequence selected from amino acid sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 374-417, or a second release segment of SEQ ID NOs: 243-358 (claims 11, 18, 29, 39).
Regarding claims 65, 71, 72, and 75, ‘358 teaches the polypeptide comprising a fourth portion comprising a RS capable of being cleaved by a protease (e.g. MMP-2) and a fifth portion comprising an extended recombinant polypeptide, wherein the extended recombinant polypeptide comprises SEQ ID NO: 374-417, wherein SEQ ID NO: 374 is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 676 and at least 90% of the amino acid residues of which are selected from glycine (G), alanine (A), serine (S), threonine (T), glutamate (E) and proline (P), and which is at least 36 amino acid residues in length; comprises at least 4 different amino acids selected from the group consisting of G, A, S, T, E and P; and comprises at least three different amino acid sequences selected from the group consisting of instant SEQ ID NOs: 672-675.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to make a species of the invention as recited in the claim of ‘358 in order to make an effective polypeptide with half-life extension for the treatment of EGFR-positive cancers with a bispecific T-cell engager.
‘358 claims do not teach the release segment comprises an amino acid sequence 90% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 99.
This is resolved by Yang et. al.
Yang et. al. teaches release segments to attach antigen-binding domains to bulky masking domains in order to make activatable bispecific antibodies [0004-0005]. Yang et. al. teaches an anti-EGFR x anti-CD63 antibody and activity of the bispecific against HCT-16 cells with human PBMC ([00105], Example 61, Fig. 80). Yang et. al. teach a release segment of amino acid sequence EAGRSANHEPLGLVAT that is cleaved by legumain, MMP-2, MMP-7, MMP-9, MMP-14, uPA, and matriptase [00209]. Yang et. al. teach an embodiment of the anti-EGFR x CD3 bispecific with release segment RSR2295 which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 99 (p. 64 Table 1, Example 47, Table 17 p. 224) and that it is expected anti-EGFR x CD3 bispecific comprising RSR2295 was able to bind to CD3 and EGFR positive cells after protease treatment [00550] and that it is expected that the bispecific will activate PBMC in the presence of HCT-116 target cells when activated by protease treatment [00554]. Yang et. al. also teach that the RSR2295 is effective in the context of an anti-EpCAM x CD3 bispecific antibody at protecting mice from in vivo activity of the cleaved bispecific (Example 56, [00579]) and that cleaved EpCAM x CD3 bispecific comprising RSR2295 had the highest in vitro cytotoxic activity against HCT-116 cancer cells (Example 55, Table 20, [00575-00576]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to substitute the RS of the anti-EGFR x CD3 bispecific of the ‘358 claims between the antigen-binding segment and the XTEN segment for the RS2295 as taught by Yang et. al. in order to benefit from the release segment with the best in vitro cytotoxicity after exposure to protease (and therefore the best unmasking) that still masks the antibody in the absence of protease to reduce toxicity as taught by Yang et. al. This would have a predictable effect because Yang et. al. teach that the anti-EGFR x CD3 antibody comprising the RSR2295 would be expected to have a similar cytotoxicity and protection benefit as the anti-EpCAM x CD3 bispecific and both Yang et. al. and the ‘358 claims teach release segments cleaved by MMP-2, MMP-9, MMP-11, MMP-14, urokinase, and matriptase for the release segment portion of an activatable antibody joined to an XTEN by a release segment.
This non-statutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claims 36, 75, 82, and 90 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 9, 11, 18, 29, 36, and 39 of U.S. Patent No. 11713358 (Of record, cited in PTO-892 dated 1/27/2025) in view of WO2019126576 to Yang et. al. effectively filed 21 December 2017 (Of record, IDS dated 11/14/2025) as applied to claims 1 and 71 above, and further in view of WO2017040344 to Schellenberger et. al. published 9 March 2017 (Of Record, PTO-892 dated 1/27/2025).
The claims of ‘358 do not explicitly teach the structure of the polypeptide from N to C terminus of claims 36 and 75; do not explicitly teach a method for treating a disease in a subject comprising administering the polypeptide of claim 82; and do not explicitly teach an isolated nucleic acid comprising a polynucleotide encoding the polypeptide of claim 90.
These deficiencies are resolved by Schellenberger et. al.
As described in the 103 rejection above:
Regarding claim 36, Schellenberger et. al. teaches that the polypeptide of the invention is expressed as a fusion protein and depicts a configuration wherein the fusion protein is arranged tumor-associated binding moiety (equivalent to AF1), RS, XTEN (See Fig. 6B and Fig. 6D, for example and Fig. 11) as well as tandem scFv constructs where the structural arrangement from N-terminus to C-terminus is AF1-RS1-XTEN1 (See bottom two examples Fig. 13B).
Regarding claims 75, Schellenberger et. al. teaches embodiments that further comprise a second bulking moiety, wherein the bulking moiety is an XTEN of the same composition as the first XTEN, comprising at least 90% of amino acids G, A, S, T, E, P, and is at least 36 amino acids in length (e.g. AE144, as described above), and comprises at least four different amino acids from the group G, A, S, T, E, P as described from the first XTEN domain above (See Fig. 9A, [0016], [00186]). The fifth portion comprising the second bulking moiety (e.g. XTEN) from Table 5, including AE144 which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 676. Schellenberger et. al. describes:
“In another embodiment, the invention provides a composition having the configuration of formula III (depicted N-terminus to C-terminus):
(fifth portion)-(fourth portion)-(first portion)-(second portion)-(third portion) III wherein first portion is a bispecific comprising two scFv wherein the first binding domain has specific binding affinity to a tumor-specific marker or an antigen of a target cell and the second binding domain has specific binding affinity to an effector cell; the second portion comprises a release segment (RS) capable of being cleaved by a mammalian protease; the third portion is a bulking moiety; the fourth portion comprises a release segment (RS) capable of being cleaved by a mammalian protease which may be identical or different from the second portion; and the fifth portion is a bulking moiety that may be identical or may be different from the third portion. In the foregoing embodiment, the first portion binding domains can be in the order (VL-VH)1-(VL-VH)2, wherein "1" and "2" represent the first and second binding domains, respectively, or (VL-VH)1-(VH-VL)2, or (VH-VL)1-(VLVH)2, or (VH-VL)1-(VH-VL )2, wherein the paired binding domains are linked by a polypeptide linker as described herein, below” [320].
Regarding claim 77, Schellenberger et. al. teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising the polypeptide and a suitable carrier or excipient [00322].
Regarding claim 82, Schellenberger et. al. discloses a method of treating a disease comprising administering the chimeric polypeptide or pharmaceutical composition to a subject with cancer, wherein the cancer is selected from a large group such as that recited in claim 82, including for example, breast cancer [00326].
Regarding claim 90, Schellenberger et. al. teaches a polynucleotide encoding the polypeptide [00345].
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to use the polypeptide of ‘358 in the specific configuration, method for treating disease, and polynucleotide encoding the polypeptide as taught by Schellenberger et. al. in order to make and use a specific embodiment of the invention. This would have a predictable effect because Schellenberger et. al. teaches embodiments of the same polypeptides of the claims of ‘358.
Claims 1, 34, 36, 56, 58, 65, 71, 72, 75, 77, 82, 90, and 149-150 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-71 of copending Application No. 19346310 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the '310 application anticipate the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The claims of ’310 teach a chimeric polypeptide comprising a bispecific antibody domain, wherein the bispecific antibody domain comprises a first antigen binding domain that specifically binds EGFR and a second antigen binding domain that binds CD3, wherein the first antigen binding domain comprises VH CDRs 1-3 SEQ ID NOs: 562, 563, and 564 identical to the CDRs of instant SEQ ID NO: 36 and VL CDRs 1-3 SEQ ID NOs: 565, 566, and 567 identical to the CDRs of instant SEQ ID NO: 35. The chimeric polypeptide further comprises a mask polypeptide joined to the bispecific antibody via a linker comprising a protease-cleavable release segment position between the mask polypeptide and the bispecific antibody such that the mask polypeptide is capable of reducing the binding of the bispecific to CD3 or EGFR (claim 1). Claim 5 recites wherein the linker is cleaved at a rate that is less than 25% of the rate that RSR-2295 is cleaved by legumain, wherein the sequence of RSR-2295 is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 99. Claim 9 teaches wherein the structural arrangement from N to C is first antigen binding domain – second antigen binding domain – linker – mask polypeptide; second antigen binding domain – first antigen binding domain – linker – mask polypeptide; mask polypeptide – linker – first antigen binding domain – second antigen binding domain; or mask polypeptide – linker – second antigen binding domain – first antigen binding domain. Claim 10 teaches wherein the mask is an extended length non-natural polypeptide. Claim 11 teaches wherein the is a second mask polypeptide joined to the second antigen binding domain. Claim 20 teaches the release segment (RS) comprises an amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO: 7627 wherein X is any amino acid other than N, wherein SEQ ID NO: 7627 is 91.9% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 99. Claims 26-29 teach wherein the first and second antigen binding domains are Fab, an scFv, or an ISVD, optionally wherein the ISVD is a VHH domain (reads on single domain antibody). Claim 38 teaches the scFv wherein the first antigen binding domain comprises SEQ ID NO: 449, wherein SEQ ID NO: 449 is an scFv comprising a VL which is 98% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 35 and a VH 96.5% identical to SEQ ID NO: 36. Claims 39-41 recite wherein the RS comprise a protease cleavage site cleaved by at least one protease in table 6; wherein the RS comprises and amino acid having at least 85% identity to a sequence listed in Table 7a; wherein the chimeric polypeptide is cleavable by uPA, ST14, MMP2, MMP7, MMP9, and MMP14. Claim 42 teaches wherein the RS is not cleavable by legumain or wherein legumain cleaves the RS in human plasma at a rate less than 25% of the rate that RSR-2295 is cleaved by legumain, wherein RSR-2295 is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 99. Claim 50 teaches wherein the first ELNN and the second ELNN (reads on XTEN peptide) comprise at least 90% amino acids are G, A, S, T, E, P, or any combination thereof, and each comprise at least three types of amino acids selected from G, A, S, T, E, P. Claim 51 teaches that the first and second ELNN are at least 100 amino acid residues and comprises a plurality of non-overlapping sequence motifs wherein the motifs are repeated at least two times. Claims 53 and 54 teach particular ELNN sequences. Claims 58 and 59 teach that the chimeric polypeptide is at least 85% identical to SEQ ID NO: 1000 and is SEQ ID NO: 1000, respectively, wherein SEQ ID NO: 1000, wherein SEQ ID NO: 1000 comprises a VL 98% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 35 comprising the CDRs of SEQ ID NO: 35 and a VH 96.5% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 36 comprising the CDRs of SEQ ID NO: 36, comprising a RS 94.2% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 99; and further comprising an ELNN (equivalent to an XTEN) comprising at least 90% G, A, S, T, E, P, and at least four different amino acids from G, A, S, T, E, P and comprising at least three different amino acid sequences selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 672-675 and sequences 90% identical to SEQ ID NOs: 676-734. Claim 60 teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising the chimeric polypeptide. Claim 62-63 teach a polynucleotide encoding the chimeric polypeptide and an expression vector comprising. Claim 64 teaches a host cell comprising the expression vector. Claim 65 teaches a method of producing the chimeric polypeptide. Claims 66-68 teach a method of treating cancer comprising administering the chimeric polypeptide, wherein the cancer expresses EGFR.
Claims 1, 34, 36, 56, 58, 65, 71, 72, 75, 77, 82, 90, and 149-150 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-107 of copending Application No. 18765614 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the '614 application anticipates the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The claims of the ‘614 application are broadly directed towards a polypeptide comprising a release segment wherein the RS is a substrate for cleavage by a mammalian protease (claim 1), wherein the RS1 comprises an amino acid sequence having at least 88% identity to a sequence selected from the sequences set forth in table 1 (claim 2). Table 1 includes RSR-2295 (SEQ ID NO: 47), which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 99. Claim 4 teaches the polypeptide comprises a first binding moiety (FBM) having a binding affinity for a target cell marker or a target tissue or cell. Claim 7 teaches wherein the RS1 is a substrate for a protease selected from legumain, MMP-2, MMP-7, MMP-9, MMP-11, MMP-14, uPA, and matriptase. Claims 8-12 teach the RS is a substrate for multiple proteases of the group. Claim 16 teaches wherein the FBM1 is an antibody or a fragment thereof. Claim 17 teaches the polypeptide further comprises an XTEN1, wherein the XTEN1 comprises an amino acid sequence having 90% identity to a sequence selected from the sequences set forth in Table 8 or Table 10 (comprising SEQ ID NO: 855, 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 676, is at least 36 amino acid residues in length, comprises at least 4 different amino acids selected from the group consisting of G, A, S, T, E, and P, and comprises each of the different amino acid sequences from SEQ ID NOs: 672-675). Claim 20 teaches the polypeptide wherein in an uncleaved state the polypeptide is arranged FBM-RS1-XTEN1 or XTEN1-RS1-FBM, Claim 22 teaches wherein the FBM is an antibody fragment selected from a group including Fv, Fab, and scFv among others. Claims 23-25 teaches wherein the antibody fragment has binding affinity for an effector cell antigen, wherein the antigen is CD3. Claim 30 teaches wherein the polypeptide has a second binding moiety (SBM), wherein the SBM is an antibody fragment having binding affinity for a cell marker, wherein the antibody fragment is selected from a group including scFv. Claims 31-33 teach wherein the target cell marker is a marker on a cancer cell and wherein the marker is selected from a group of antigens including EGFR. Claim 34 teaches wherein the SBM is an antibody fragment comprising a VH and VL selected from the sequences set forth in table 5; claim 36 teaches wherein the SBM has the CDRs of the monoclonal antibody in Table 5. Table 5 teaches an anti-EGFR monoclonal antibody panitumumab comprising VH SEQ ID NO: 696 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 36 and VL of SEQ ID NO: 797 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 35. Claim 76 teaches a pharmaceutical composition. Claim 83 teaches a method of treating a disease by administering the polypeptide, claim 84 teaches the method wherein the disease is selected from a group that include many cancers. Claim 100 teaches a nucleic acid encoding the polypeptide. Claim 101 teaches an expression vector comprising the nucleic acid.
Double Patenting- Maintained, changes necessitated by Amendment
Claims 1, 34, 36, 56, 58, 65, 71, 72, 75, 77, 82, 90, and 149-150 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US Patent No. 12060424.
The claims of ‘424 teach a recombinant polypeptide comprising a first release segment of SEQ ID NO: 47 wherein the polypeptide further comprises a first binding moiety having binding affinity for a target cell marker on a target tissue (claim 1). SEQ ID NO: 47 is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 99. Claim 3 and 4 teaches wherein the FBM is an antibody and claim 5 teaches the structure of the antibody fragment including an scFv. Claim 6 teaches that the FBM binds to CD3. Claim 12 teaches the polypeptide with a second binding moiety wherein the SBM is an antibody fragment with binding affinity for a target cell marker and wherein the antibody fragment format is selected from a group including scFv. Claim 13 teaches the polypeptide wherein the tumor-associated proteases cleave RS1 and wherein the fused FBM and SBM exhibit a half-life that is at least five-fold less compared to the polypeptide that is not cleaved. Claim 15 teaches the recombinant polypeptide comprising a first extended recombinant polypeptide; claim 16 teaches that the recombinant polypeptide comprises a second release segment and a second extended recombinant polypeptide with a second binding moiety. Claim 18 teaches wherein the recombinant peptide comprises a bulking moiety including an extended recombinant polypeptide of at least 350 amino acids consisting of proline, serine, and alanine. In order to construe the scope of the claims in regards to the second binding moiety target cell marker (Claim 12), the disclosure was consulted. Table 5 includes target cell markers and includes EGFR.
Thus, the main difference between the claims of ‘424 and the instant invention is that the claims of ‘424 do not make obvious an anti-EGFR sequence VH 90% identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 28-32 or VL 90% identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 25-27. The claims of ‘424 also do not teach the sequences of the XTEN domains as the bulking moiety. Schellenberger et. al. resolves this deficiency.
The teachings of Schellenberger et. al. are described in the 103 rejection above. To summarize, Schellenberger et. al. teaches an anti-EGFR bispecific T-cell engager comprising the VH and VL of panitumumab (identical to instant VH and VL SEQ ID NOs: 35 and 36) and an anti-CD3 binding domain, and further comprising an XTEN domain attached by a release segment to the binding domains, wherein the XTEN and wherein the XTEN comprises an amino acid sequence at least 90% identical to a sequence selected from the group set forth in Table 5 (claim 34). “[T]he first binding domain VH and VL regions are arranged in the order VL— VH. In other cases, the first binding domain comprises a CDR-H1 region, a CDR-H2 region, a CDR-H3 region, a CDR-L1 region, a CDR-L2 region, and a CDR-H3 region, wherein each of said regions is derived from monoclonal antibody sequences selected from the group of sequences set forth in Table 2” [0010]. Table 2 teaches the sequence of panitumumab, an anti-HER1 (EGFR) antibody VH SEQ ID NO: 97 (100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 36) and VL of SEQ ID NO: 194 (100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 35). Regarding claim 149, because the VH and VL are identical the CDRs by Kabat numbering are also identical. Additionally, Schellenberger et. al. teaches “In some embodiments, wherein less than 100% of amino acids of an XTEN in the chimeric polypeptide assembly compositions are selected from glycine (G), alanine (A), serine (S), threonine (T), glutamate (E) and praline (P), or wherein less than 100% of the sequence consists of the XTEN sequences of Table 5, the remaining amino acid residues of the XTEN are selected from any of the other 14 natural L-amino acids, but are preferentially selected from hydrophilic amino acids such that the XTEN sequence contains at least about 90%, 91 %, 92%, 93%, 94%, 95%, 96%, 97%, 98%, or at least about 99% hydrophilic amino acids. The content of hydrophobic amino acids in the XTEN utilized in the chimeric polypeptide assembly compositions can be less than 5%, or less than 2%, or less than 1% hydrophobic amino acid content” [00296]. Table 5 teaches an XTEN sequence called “AE144” which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 676, is at least 36 amino acid residues in length, comprises at least 4 different amino acids selected from the group consisting of G, A, S, T, E, and P, and comprises each of the different amino acid sequences from SEQ ID NOs: 672-675 (Table 5, p. 138, [00297]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the anti-EGFR scFv sequence and the XTEN sequences as taught by Schellenberger et. al. in the polypeptide of ‘424 as the second binding moiety targeting EGFR because both ‘424 and Schellenberger et. al. teaches similar polypeptides with two binding sites (bispecific), one of which is targeting CD3 and the other targeting a tumor cell, specifically EGFR. This would have a predictable effect because Schellenberger et. al. teaches the structure of a specific anti-EGFR binding moiety and XTEN bulking domains for use in a bispecific to improve half-life of an anti-EGFR T cell engager.
Claims 1, 34, 36, 56, 58, 65, 71, 72, 75, 77, 82, 90, and 149-150 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 19063195.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patently distinct from each other.
Claims 1-8 of the ‘195 application teach a polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 1000. SEQ ID NO: 1000 comprises an anti-EGFR scFv binding domain comprising the CDRs of SEQ ID NO: 35 and SEQ ID NO: 36 and a second scFv antigen binding domain that specifically binds CD3 comprising CDRs identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 735, 738, 740, and 744; and further comprising an XTEN domain comprising a sequence identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 680 (which comprises at least three of instant SEQ ID NOs: 672-675) and comprising at least 90% of four different of the amino acids G, A, S, T, E, P, and is at least 36 amino acids in length. Further, SEQ ID NO: 1000 comprises a release segment comprising an amino acid sequence 94.2% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 99 as shown below:
RESULT 1
US-19-063-195-1000
Query Match 94.2%; Score 81; DB 1; Length 1453;
Best Local Similarity 93.8%;
Matches 15; Conservative 1; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 EAGRSANHTPAGLTGP 16
||||||:|||||||||
Db 295 EAGRSASHTPAGLTGP 310
Claim 3 recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising the polypeptide. Claims 4-5 recites a method of treatment comprising administering the polypeptide to a subject with an EGFR+ cancer selected from the group including breast cancer. Thus, claims 1-8 teaches a species of the instant claim 1 and therefore anticipates the genus. SEQ ID NO: 1000 also teaches a second XTEN at the N-terminus. Thus, claims 1-8 of copending application No. 19063195 teaches a species of the instant invention which anticipates the instant genus of anti-EGFR/anti-CD3 bispecific polypeptides comprising XTEN sequences.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments dated 11/14/2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding the ‘358 patent (Remarks 11/14/2025 p. 9), the argument is moot in view of the new NSDP rejection of the claims of ‘358 in view of Yang et. al., above, which teaches the missing limitation of the polypeptide comprising a release segment at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO: 99, which is obvious to substitute for the reasons stated in the NSDP rejection above. As noted in the NSDP rejection, Yang et. al. has a common assignee with the instant application but due to the earlier effective filing date is prior art under 102(a)(2).
Regarding the ‘855 application, Applicant notes this Application has been abandoned (Remarks 11/14/2025 p. 9). This is persuasive and the rejection is withdrawn as noted above.
Regarding the ‘195 application, Applicant notes that the application has a later priority date than the instant Application (Remarks 11/14/2025 p. 9). Although the effective filing dates of the applications are so noted (instant application EFD: 6/26/2019; ‘195 application EFD: 4/17/2023), this is not persuasive because the claims have not yet been found otherwise allowable, and therefore the provisional rejection may not be withdrawn (MPEP 804.I.B.1.b).
Regarding the ‘424 patent, Applicant requests that the rejection be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is identified. This is not persuasive because non-statutory double patenting rejections may not be held in abeyance (MPEP 804.I.A and B.1).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KATHLEEN CUNNINGCHEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1646
/GREGORY S EMCH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1678