DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 and the prior art have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, as necessitated by amendment.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wavelength filter formed on a convex side of the lens base material” (claim 17) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 5, the claim recites “a power DD provided by the diffraction structure is 15% or more and less than 50% of a prescription power D” which is unclear what is “a prescription power D”. Is this the same prescription power from claim 1? If it is, then what is 15-50% of zero? Is this some other prescription power, if so, the prescription power of what? Such power D appears entirely arbitrary as a relative variable (MPEP 2173.05(b)). The metes and bounds are unclear since how DD is 15 to 50% of an entirely arbitrary power is unclear, or, assuming the same claim 1 prescription power, what 15-50% of 0 is. Examiner will understand the claim such that so long as the art teaches a diffractive structure, the requirement 0.15 ≤ DD/D ≤ 0.50 is necessarily met for any arbitrarily defined D.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 2010/0045929; of record) in view of Bakaraju et al. (US 2020/0073174 - Bakaraju).
As to claim 1, Suzuki teaches a near-sightedness progression suppression ophthalmic lens (Suzuki Fig. 1; Figs. 6-9; Fig. 11) comprising
a prescription power is zero or less (Suzuki Fig. 9; Fig. 11; para. [0020]; Tables 1-2; para. [0112]; Tables 3-4; para. [0122]);
a diffraction structure for which a blaze wavelength (Suzuki para. [0042]) is set to be in the visible range is provided on at least one of an object-side surface side and an eyeball-side surface side (Suzuki Fig. 6; Figs. 7-9, 11 - DOE; para. [0042]);
the ophthalmic lens has a positive longitudinal chromatic aberration provided by the diffraction structure (Suzuki para. [0112] - teaching the focal lengths for blue light (F-line = 486.113nm) and red light (C-line = 656.272nm) are fF = 0.03065; fC = 0.57604. Thus the focal length of blue (fF) being less than the focal length of red (fC) (or conversely the power (1/fF) of blue is greater than the power (1/fC) of red) which is positive longitudinal chromatic aberration (LCA));
the ophthalmic lens comprises wavelength filter for attenuating light with a wavelength in a range of 564nm to 830nm (Suzuki para. [0056] - lens can include a polarizing filter which necessarily attenuates light of wavelengths 564nm to 830nm to any arbitrary attenuation amount).
Suzuki doesn’t specify the blazed (design) wavelength being 477nm to 535nm. In the same field of endeavor Bakaraju teaches myopia control lenses having blazed diffraction with a design wavelength greater than 477nm and 535nm (Bakaraju - Abstract; Fig. 1B - 5; Fig. 3B - 26B; Figs. 3I-K; para. [0018], [0037], [0224]; para. [0002] - This disclosure also relates at least in part to one or more of the following: altering, changing and/or reducing the longitudinal chromatic aberration of the wearer's eye for the wavelengths between approximately 510 nm and approximately 610 nm that may serve as a stop signal to the progressing myopic eye). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide the blaze (design) wavelength between 477nm and 535nm since, as taught by Bakaraju, such wavelength allows for changing the peak wavelengths of the M cones to control myopia (Bakaraju para. [0037], [0002]).
As to claim 5 (as understood), Suzuki in view of Bakaraju teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Suzuki further teaches the focal length of the diffractive structure is -124.558mm (Suzuki para. [0112]) which corresponds to a DD = 1000/-124.558 = -8.02 D, which is necessarily 15%-50% of any arbitrarily defined D.
As to claim 7, Suzuki in view of Bakaraju teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Suzuki further teaches the ophthalmic lens is an eyeglass lens (Suzuki Fig. 1; para. [0003]).
As to claim 17, Suzuki in view of Bakaraju teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Suzuki further teaches a lens base material (Suzuki Fig. 5 - L12) and the wavelength filter formed on a convex side of the lens base material (Suzuki Fig. 5 - L11; para. [0056]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki and Bakaraju as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Larson (US 2002/0126256).
As to claim 18, Suzuki in view of Bakaraju teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 17, but doesn’t specify the wavelength filter is formed by applying dye to the lens base.
In the same field of endeavor Larson teaches dyeing lens bases (Larson Fig. 9, 14, 15; para. [0063]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide the dye since, as taught by Larson, such dyes are well known in the art for the purpose of controlling the transmission of light through the lens (Larson para. [0063]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 21, as detailed above, Suzuki and Bakaraju teach providing the blazed design wavelength from 510-610nm with examples at 510nm, 535nm which is outside the claimed range of 477nm to 480nm, in combination with the limitations of claim 1.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Reardon et al. (US 12,271,057); Bakaraju et al. (US 11,226,497); Suzuki (US 7,845,796); Bandhauer et al. (US 7,455,404); Larson (US 6,604,824) are cited as additional examples of features of the lens as claimed.
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 April 30, 2026