Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the amendment filed 4/28/2025 have been considered but are considered moot on grounds of new art presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rune et al. (US 2022/0240326 A1) ( Support in Provisional “62/859,365”) in view of Li et al. (US20190075598A1 ) in further view of You et al. (CN111867125A)
Regarding Claim 1, Rune teaches, A method for random access by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: Fig 4 random access between terminal- 402 and UE-404 using two step random access.
receiving, from a base station, a signal-strength threshold value and random access-related information; [585]- The RSRP threshold for SSB selection for RACH resource association is configurable by network(=receiving from network. Fig 23 step S140 and S142- selection of beam that meets a certain threshold and S142 performing 2 step procedure(= selection) based on step 140.
determining a random access type as one of a two-step random access type and a four-step random access type based on the a comparison of the signal- strength threshold value and a strength of a reception signal received from the base station; [585]- The RSRP threshold for SSB selection for RACH resource association is configurable by network. An additional RSRP threshold for SSB (or CSI-RS) selection for 2-step random access association is configurable by network and only when both conditions are fulfilled the WD performs 2-step RA (otherwise the WD performs 4-step RA). Fig 23 step S140 and S142- selection of beam that meets a certain threshold and S142 performing 2 step procedure(=selection) based on step 140.
and transmitting, to the base station, a signal related to a second preamble, based on the identified backoff indicator.[552]-select a random backoff time according to a uniform distribution between 0 and the PREAMBLE BACKOFF; > perform the Random-Access Resource selection procedure (see subclause 5.1.2) after the backoff time (=transmitting, to the base station, a signal based on BI).
Rune does not teach, transmitting, to the base station, a signal related to a first preamble for random access, based on the determined random access type and the random access-related information, wherein the signal related to the first preamble for random access is transmitted
Li teaches, transmitting to the base station, a signal related to a first preamble for random access, based on the determined random-access type and the random access-related information; Fig 10B step 1101,1021.[135]- After the preamble detection at block 1011, the network device 101 is not aware of a type of the RA procedure yet. At block 1021, the network device 101 attempts to blindly detect an Msg3 that is possibly transmitted together with the preamble.
wherein the signal related to the first preamble for random access is transmitted based on a common resource for the two-step random access type and the four-step random access type Fig 10B [134]- In this example, at block 1011, the network device 101 detects a preamble in a configured RACH resource (for example, a common/shared resource configured for the two-step RA and the four-step RA),
the common resource being configured to be shared for the two-step random access type and the four-step random access type in time and frequency; Fig. 10B [78]- For example, a common/shared set of PRACH preamble sequences may be configured for the two-step RA procedure and the four-step RA procedure, the type of the RA procedure can be identified based on a resource used for transmitting the preamble by the terminal device.[70]- In addition, time-frequency resources configured for the first RA type may partially or fully overlap with the time-frequency resource configured for the second RA type(=random access type in time and frequency).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rune , transmitting, to the base station, a signal related to a first preamble for random access, based on the determined random access type and the random access-related information, wherein the signal related to the first preamble for random access is transmitted as taught by Li to add threshold value to make a decision between two or 4 step RACH to saving power.
Rune in view of Li does not teach, in case that a message B (Msg B) according to the two-step random access type and a message 2 (Msg 2) according to the four-step random access type are transmitted by the base station and the determined random access type is the two-step random access type, identifying, among a message B (Msg B) according to the two-step random access type and a message 2 (Msg 2) according to the four-step random access type, a backoff indicator included in the Msg B; in case that the determined random-access type is the four-step random access type, identifying, among Msg B and Msg 2, a backoff indicator included in the Msg 2;
You teaches, in case that a message B (Msg B) according to the two-step random access type and a message 2 (Msg 2) according to the four-step random access type are transmitted by the base station and the determined random access type is the two-step random access type, identifying, among the Msg B and the Msg 2 a backoff indicator included in the Msg B; pg 15 para 9 Step 404a: In the case that the four-step random access procedure fails, the terminal performs random access resource selection among the target type random access resources within the backoff time when the first condition is satisfied within the backoff time. The target type random access resource is a two-step random access resource. pg 15 para 12 - Step 405a: If step 404a is executed, the terminal can initiate random access with the random access resource selected within the backoff time.
in case that the Msg B and Msg 2 are transmitted by the base station, and the determined random-access type is the four-step random access type, identifying, among the Msg B and Msg 2, a backoff indicator included in the Msg 2; pg 16 para 6 Step 504a: In the case that the two-step random access procedure fails, the terminal performs random access resource selection among the target type random access resources within the backoff time when the first condition is satisfied within the backoff time. The target type random access resource is a four-step random access resource.. pg 16 para 9 - If step 504a is performed, the terminal can initiate random access with the random access resource selected within the backoff time.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rune in case that the determined random access type is the two-step random access type, identifying, among a message B (Msg B) according to the two-step random access type and a message 2 (Msg 2) according to the four-step random access type, a backoff indicator included in the Msg B;in case that the determined random-access type is the four-step random access type, identifying, among Msg B and Msg 2, a backoff indicator included in the Msg 2 as taught by You to add threshold value to make a decision between two or 4 step RACH to saving power.
Regarding Claim 2, Rune teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting to the base station the signal related to the second preamble comprises: transmitting to the base station the signal related to the second preamble after a backoff time corresponding to the backoff indicator included in the Msg B, in case that the determined random-access type is the two-step random access type; and [108]-[114] Network response to msgA (i.e., msgB/msg2) can include the following: c) Backoff Indication. Upon receiving the fallbackRAR, the WD may proceed to msg3 step of 4-step RACH procedure
transmitting to the base station the signal related to the second preamble after a backoff time corresponding to the backoff indicator included in the Msg 2, in case that the determined random access type is the four-step random access type. [584]- 4> perform the Random Access Resource selection procedure (see subclause 5.1.2) after the backoff time.
Regarding Claim 3, Rune teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the signal related to the first preamble is a message A (Msg A) including a preamble and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) in a case of the two-step random access type, and wherein the signal related to the first preamble is a message 1 (Msg 1) in a case of the four- step random access type see [635]
Regarding Claim 4, Rune teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein determining the random access type comprises:
determining the random access type as the two-step random access type in case that the strength of the reception signal is greater than or equal to the signal-strength threshold value, and Fig 23 step 140-142 meet a predefined threshold and step S142 chooses 2 step.
determining the random access type as the four-step random access type in case that the strength of the reception signal is less than the signal-strength threshold value.[284]- As an example, the WD 22 may initiate 2-step RA if resources are configured and the channel quality is above a configured or standardized threshold, but instead initiates 4-step RA if the channel quality is below the threshold.
Regarding Claim 5, Rune teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the Msg 2 includes response information on random access, and [32]- The network, i.e., the gNB, also transmits a Msg2 to the requesting WD, in response to the Msg1, confirming the successful reception of the Msg1 and confirming that the requested SI will be broadcast.
wherein the Msg B includes response information on random access and contention resolution-related information[108]-[114]-
Network response to msgA (i.e., msgB/msg2) can include the following:
Regarding Claim 6,Rune teaches, A method for random access by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting to a terminal, a signal-strength threshold value and random access-related information; Fig 23 step 140-142 meet a predefined threshold and step S142 chooses 2 step.
receiving, from the terminal, a signal related to a first preamble for random access according to the random access-related information, wherein the signal related to the first preamble is received with only a preamble; [270]- One aspect of the 2-step RA configuration is how the selected beam (e.g., SSB-x) maps to a PRACH resource and a PUSCH resource for the transmission of MsgA (i.e., PRACH preamble+MsgAPUSCH).[278]- where the selected beam (e.g., selected SSB) maps to a resource to transmit the preamble (and in the case of 2-step RA, may also map to resources for transmission of MsgAPUSCH on PUSCH).
Rune does not teach, in response to determining that the signal related to the first preamble for random access is received based on a common resource for a two-step random access type and a four-step random access type, transmitting, to the terminal, a message B (Msg B) according to the two-step random access type including a backoff indicator and a message 2 (Msg 2) according to the four-step random access type including a backoff indicator; the common resource being configured to be shared for the two-step random access type and the four-step random access type in time and frequency.
Li teaches, in response to determining that the signal related to the first preamble for random access is received based on a common resource for a two-step random access type and a four-step random access type, transmitting, to the terminal, a message B (Msg B) according to the two-step random access type including a backoff indicator and a message 2 (Msg 2) according to the four-step random access type including a backoff indicator; Fig 10B step 1101,1021.[135]- After the preamble detection at block 1011, the network device 101 is not aware of a type of the RA procedure yet. At block 1021, the network device 101 attempts to blindly detect an Msg3 that is possibly transmitted together with the preamble. Fig 10B [134]- In this example, at block 1011, the network device 101 detects a preamble in a configured RACH resource (for example, a common/shared resource configured for the two-step RA and the four-step RA).
the common resource being configured to be shared for the two-step random access type and the four-step random access type in time and frequency; Fig. 10B [78]- For example, a common/shared set of PRACH preamble sequences may be configured for the two-step RA procedure and the four-step RA procedure, the type of the RA procedure can be identified based on a resource used for transmitting the preamble by the terminal device.[70]- In addition, time-frequency resources configured for the first RA type may partially or fully overlap with the time-frequency resource configured for the second RA type(=random access type in time and frequency).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rune in response to determining that the signal related to the first preamble for random access is received based on a common resource for a two-step random access type and a four-step random access type, transmitting, to the terminal, a message B (Msg B) according to the two-step random access type including a backoff indicator and a message 2 (Msg 2) according to the four-step random access type including a backoff indicator; the common resource being configured to be shared for the two-step random access type and the four-step random access type in time and frequency as taught by Li to add threshold value to make a decision between two or 4 step RACH to saving power.
Rune in view of Li does not teach, receiving, from the terminal, a signal related to a second preamble
You teaches, receiving, from the terminal, a signal related to a second preamblepg 15 para 9 Step 404a: In the case that the four-step random access procedure fails, the terminal performs random access resource selection among the target type random access resources within the backoff time when the first condition is satisfied within the backoff time. The target type random access resource is a two-step random access resource. pg 15 para 12 - Step 405a: If step 404a is executed, the terminal can initiate random access with the random access resource selected within the backoff time.
and wherein in case that the signal related to the first preamble is for the four-step random access type, the backoff indicator included in the Msg 2 is applied for the signal related to the second preamble. pg 16 para 6 Step 504a: In the case that the two-step random access procedure fails, the terminal performs random access resource selection among the target type random access resources within the backoff time when the first condition is satisfied within the backoff time. The target type random access resource is a four-step random access resource. pg 16 para 9 - If step 504a is performed, the terminal can initiate random access with the random access resource selected within the backoff time.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rune receiving, from the terminal, a signal related to a second preambleas taught by You to add threshold value to make a decision between two or 4 step RACH to saving power.
Rgarding Claim 7, Rune teaches, The method of claim 6, wherein the Msg 2 includes response information on random access, and [32]- The network, i.e., the gNB, also transmits a Msg2 to the requesting WD, in response to the Msg1, confirming the successful reception of the Msg1 and confirming that the requested SI will be broadcast.
wherein the Msg B includes response information on random access and contention resolution-related information. [108]-[114]
Network response to msgA (i.e. msgB/msg2) can include the following:
Regarding Claim 8, Rune teaches, The method of Claim 6 whereinSection 2.2-Q7-OPPO- We prefer to have two parts msgB (=msg B indicates two step). MsgB includes BI and backoff indication (=backoff indicator in MSG B) which is addressed to multiple UEs.
wherein in case that the signal related to the first preamble is for the Four-step random access type, the signal related to the second preamble is received after a backoff time corresponding to the backoff indicator included in the Msg 2.[794]- 4> perform the Random Access Resource selection procedure (see subclause 5.1.2) after the backoff time.5> 5> continue the procedure with 4-step RA only.
Regarding Claim 9, Rune teaches, A terminal in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising: a transceiver: Fig 29
And a controller configured to:
receive, from a base station via the transceiver, a signal strength threshold value and random access-related information, [585]- The RSRP threshold for SSB selection for RACH resource association is configurable by network (=receiving from network. Fig 23 step S140 and S142- selection of beam that meets a certain threshold and S142 performing 2 step procedure (= selection) based on step 140.
determine a random access type as one of a two-step random access type and a four-step random access type based on a comparison of the signal-strength threshold value and a strength of a reception signal received from the base station, [585]- The RSRP threshold for SSB selection for RACH resource association is configurable by network. An additional RSRP threshold for SSB (or CSI-RS) selection for 2-step random access association is configurable by network and only when both conditions are fulfilled the WD performs 2-step RA (otherwise the WD performs 4-step RA). Fig 23 step S140 and S142- selection of beam that meets a certain threshold and S142 performing 2 step procedure (=selection) based on step 140.
and transmit a signal related to a second preamble to the base station based on the identified backoff indicator. .[552]-select a random backoff time according to a uniform distribution between 0 and the PREAMBLE BACKOFF; > perform the Random-Access Resource selection procedure (see subclause 5.1.2) after the backoff time (=transmitting, to the base station, a signal based on BI).
Rune does not teach, transmit, to the base station via the transceiver, a signal related to a first preamble for random access, based on the determined random access type and the random access- related information, wherein the signal related to the first preamble for random access is transmitted based on a common resource for the two-step random access type and the four-step random access type, in case that the determined random access type is the two-step random access type, the common resource being configured to be shared for the two-step random access type and the four-step random access type in time and frequency.
Li teaches transmit, to the base station via the transceiver, a signal related to a first preamble for random access, based on the determined random-access type and the random access- related information, Fig 10B step 1101,1021.[135]- After the preamble detection at block 1011, the network device 101 is not aware of a type of the RA procedure yet. At block 1021, the network device 101 attempts to blindly detect an Msg3 that is possibly transmitted together with the preamble.
wherein the signal related to the first preamble for random access is transmitted based on a common resource for the two-step random access type and the four-step random access type, in case that the determined random-access type is the two-step random access type, Fig 10B [134]- In this example, at block 1011, the network device 101 detects a preamble in a configured RACH resource (for example, a common/shared resource configured for the two-step RA and the four-step RA),
the common resource being configured to be shared for the two-step random access type and the four-step random access type in time and frequency Fig. 10B [78]- For example, a common/shared set of PRACH preamble sequences may be configured for the two-step RA procedure and the four-step RA procedure, the type of the RA procedure can be identified based on a resource used for transmitting the preamble by the terminal device.[70]- In addition, time-frequency resources configured for the first RA type may partially or fully overlap with the time-frequency resource configured for the second RA type(=random access type in time and frequency).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rune transmit, to the base station via the transceiver, a signal related to a first preamble for random access, based on the determined random access type and the random access- related information, wherein the signal related to the first preamble for random access is transmitted based on a common resource for the two-step random access type and the four-step random access type, in case that the determined random access type is the two-step random access type, the common resource being configured to be shared for the two-step random access type and the four-step random access type in time and frequency as taught by Li to add threshold value to make a decision between two or 4 step RACH to saving power.
Rune in view of Li does not teach, identify, among the Msg B and the Msg 2, a backoff indicator included in the Msg B, in case that the determined random access type is the four-step random access type, identify, among Msg 2 according to the two-step random access type and Msg B according to the four-step random access type, a backoff indicator included in the Msg 2, and transmit a signal related to a second preamble to the base station based on the identified backoff indicator.
You teaches in case that a message B (Msg B) according to the two-step random access type and a message 2 (Msg 2) according to the four-step random access type are transmitted by the base station and the determined random access type is the two-step random access type, identifying, among the Msg B and the Msg 2 a backoff indicator included in the Msg B, pg 15 para 9 Step 404a: In the case that the four-step random access procedure fails, the terminal performs random access resource selection among the target type random access resources within the backoff time when the first condition is satisfied within the backoff time. The target type random access resource is a two-step random access resource. pg 15 para 12 - Step 405a: If step 404a is executed, the terminal can initiate random access with the random access resource selected within the backoff time.
in case that Msg B and Msg 2 are transmitted by the base station and the determined random access type is the four-step random access type, identify, among the Msg B and the Msg 2, a backoff indicator included in the Msg 2, and transmit, to the base station via the transceiver, a signal related to a second preamble, based on the identified backoff indicator pg 16 para 6 Step 504a: In the case that the two-step random access procedure fails, the terminal performs random access resource selection among the target type random access resources within the backoff time when the first condition is satisfied within the backoff time. The target type random access resource is a four-step random access resource.. pg 16 para 9 - If step 504a is performed, the terminal can initiate random access with the random access resource selected within the backoff time.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rune in view of Li in case that a message B (Msg B) according to the two-step random access type and a message 2 (Msg 2) according to the four-step random access type are transmitted by the base station and the determined random access type is the two-step random access type, identifying, among the Msg B and the Msg 2 a backoff indicator included in the Msg B; in case that Msg B and Msg 2 are transmitted by the base station and the determined random access type is the four-step random access type, identify, among the Msg B and the Msg 2, a backoff indicator included in the Msg 2, and transmit, to the base station via the transceiver, a signal related to a second preamble, based on the identified backoff indicator as taught by You to add threshold value to make a decision between two or 4 step RACH to saving power.
Regarding Claim 10, Rune teaches, The terminal of claim 9, wherein the controller is configured to:
transmit-a, to the base station via the transceiver, the signal related to the second preamble after a backoff time corresponding to the backoff indicator included in the Msg B, in case that the determined random access type is the two-step random access type; and Section 2.2-Q7-OPPO- We prefer to have two parts msgB (=msg B indicates two step). MsgB includes BI and backoff indication (=backoff indicator in MSG B) which is addressed to multiple UEs.
transmit to the base station via the transceiver, the signal related to the second preamble after a backoff time corresponding to the backoff indicator included in the Msg 2, in case that the determined random access type is the four-step random access type.[794]- 4> perform the Random Access Resource selection procedure (see subclause 5.1.2) after the backoff time.
Regarding Claim 11, Rune teaches, The terminal of claim 9, wherein the signal related to the first preamble is a message A (Msg A) including a preamble and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) in a case of the two-step random access type, and wherein the signal related to the first preamble is a message 1 ( Msg 1) in a case of the four- step random access type. see [635]
Regarding Claim 12,Rune teaches, The terminal of claim 9, wherein the controller is configured to: determine the random-access type as the two-step random access type in case that the strength of the reception signal is greater than or equal to the preconfigured threshold value; and Fig 23 step 140-142 meet a predefined threshold and step S142 chooses 2 step.
determine the random-access type as the four-step random access type in case that the strength of the reception signal is less than the preconfigured threshold value.[284]- As an example, the WD 22 may initiate 2-step RA if resources are configured and the channel quality is above a configured or standardized threshold, but instead initiates 4-step RA if the channel quality is below the threshold.
Regarding Claim 13, Rune teaches, The terminal of claim 9, wherein the Msg 2 includes response information on random access, [32]- The network, i.e., the gNB, also transmits a Msg2 to the requesting WD, in response to the Msg1, confirming the successful reception of the Msg1 and confirming that the requested SI will be broadcast.
and wherein the Msg B includes response information on random access and contention resolution-related information. [108]-[114]-
Network response to msgA (i.e., msgB/msg2) can include the following:
Regarding Claim 14, Rune teaches, A base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver; and a controller configured to:
transmit, to a terminal via the transceiver, a signal- strength threshold value and random access-related information, Fig 24
transmit, to a terminal via the transceiver, a signal-strength threshold value and random access-related information, [585]- The RSRP threshold for SSB selection for RACH resource association is configurable by network(=receiving from network. Fig 23 step S140 and S142- selection of beam that meets a certain threshold and S142 performing 2 step procedure(= selection) based on step 140.
receive, from the terminal via the transceiver, a signal related to a first preamble for random access according to the random access-related information, wherein the signal related to the first preamble for random access is received with only a preamble. [270]- One aspect of the 2-step RA configuration is how the selected beam (e.g., SSB-x) maps to a PRACH resource and a PUSCH resource for the transmission of MsgA (i.e., PRACH preamble+MsgAPUSCH).[278]- where the selected beam (e.g., selected SSB) maps to a resource to transmit the preamble (and in the case of 2-step RA, may also map to resources for transmission of MsgAPUSCH on PUSCH).
receive, from the terminal via the transceiver, a signal related to a second preamble, .[552]-select a random backoff time according to a uniform distribution between 0 and the PREAMBLE BACKOFF; > perform the Random-Access Resource selection procedure (see subclause 5.1.2) after the backoff time (=transmitting, to the base station, a signal based on BI).
Rune does not teach, in case that the signal related to the first preamble for random access is received on a common resource for a two-step random access type and a four-step random access type, transmit, to the terminal via the transceiver, a message B (Msg B) according to the two-step random access type including a backoff indicator and a message 2 (Msg 2) according to the four-step random access type including a backoff indicator, in response to the signal related to the first preamble; the common resource being configured to be shared for the two-step random access type and the four-step random access type in time and frequency.
Li teaches, in response to determined that the signal related to the first preamble is received on a common resource for a two-step random access type and a four-step random access type, transmit, to the terminal via the transceiver, a message B (Msg B) according to the two-step random access type including a backoff indicator and a message 2 (Msg 2) according to the four-step random access type including a backoff indicator, Fig 10B step 1101,1021.[135]- After the preamble detection at block 1011, the network device 101 is not aware of a type of the RA procedure yet. At block 1021, the network device 101 attempts to blindly detect an Msg3 that is possibly transmitted together with the preamble. Fig 10B [134]- In this example, at block 1011, the network device 101 detects a preamble in a configured RACH resource (for example, a common/shared resource configured for the two-step RA and the four-step RA).
the common resource being configured to be shared for the two-step random access type and the four-step random access type in time and frequency, Fig. 10B [78]- For example, a common/shared set of PRACH preamble sequences may be configured for the two-step RA procedure and the four-step RA procedure, the type of the RA procedure can be identified based on a resource used for transmitting the preamble by the terminal device.[70]- In addition, time-frequency resources configured for the first RA type may partially or fully overlap with the time-frequency resource configured for the second RA type(=random access type in time and frequency).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rune in response to determined that the signal related to the first preamble is received on a common resource for a two-step random access type and a four-step random access type, transmit, to the terminal via the transceiver, a message B (Msg B) according to the two-step random access type including a backoff indicator and a message 2 (Msg 2) according to the four-step random access type including a backoff indicator; the common resource being configured to be shared for the two-step random access type and the four-step random access type in time and frequency as taught by Li to add threshold value to make a decision between two or 4 step RACH to saving power.
Rune in view of Li does not teach, wherein in case that the signal related to the first preamble is for the two-step random access type, the backoff indicator included in the Msg B is applied for the signal related to the second preamble, and wherein in case that the signal related to the first preamble is for the four-step random access type, the backoff indicator included in the Msg 2 is applied for the signal related to the second preamble.
NPL 1 teaches, wherein in case that the signal related to the first preamble is for the two-step random access type, the backoff indicator included in the Msg B is applied for the signal related to the second preamble, pg 15 para 9 Step 404a: In the case that the four-step random access procedure fails, the terminal performs random access resource selection among the target type random access resources within the backoff time when the first condition is satisfied within the backoff time. The target type random access resource is a two-step random access resource. pg 15 para 12 - Step 405a: If step 404a is executed, the terminal can initiate random access with the random access resource selected within the backoff time.
wherein in case that the signal related to the first preamble is for the four-step random access type, the backoff indicator included in the Msg 2 is applied for the signal related to the second preamble. pg 16 para 6 Step 504a: In the case that the two-step random access procedure fails, the terminal performs random access resource selection among the target type random access resources within the backoff time when the first condition is satisfied within the backoff time. The target type random access resource is a four-step random access resource. pg 16 para 9 - If step 504a is performed, the terminal can initiate random access with the random access resource selected within the backoff time.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rune in view of Li wherein in case that the signal related to the first preamble is for the two-step random access type, the backoff indicator included in the Msg B is applied for the signal related to the second preamble, and wherein in case that the signal related to the first preamble is for the four-step random access type, the backoff indicator included in the Msg 2 is applied for the signal related to the second preamble as taught by NPL1 to add threshold value to make a decision between two or 4 step RACH to saving power.
Regarding Claim 15, Rune teaches, The base station of claim 14, wherein the Msg 2 includes response information on random access and [32]- The network, i.e., the gNB, also transmits a Msg2 to the requesting WD, in response to the Msg1, confirming the successful reception of the Msg1 and confirming that the requested SI will be broadcast.
wherein the Msg B includes response information on random access and contention resolution-related information. [108]-[114]
Network response to msgA (i.e., msgB/msg2) can include the following:
Regarding Claim 16, Rune teaches, The base station of The base station of wherein in case that the signal related to the first preamble is for the two-step random access type, the signal related to the second preamble is received after a backoff time corresponding to the backoff indicator included in the Msg B, and Section 2.2-Q7-OPPO- We prefer to have two parts msgB (=msg B indicates two step). MsgB includes BI and backoff indication (=backoff indicator in MSG B) which is addressed to multiple UEs.
wherein in case that the signal related to the first preamble is for the Four-step random access type, the signal related to the second preamble is received after a backoff time corresponding to the backoff indicator included in the Msg 2. [794]- 4> perform the Random Access Resource selection procedure (see subclause 5.1.2) after the backoff time.5> 5> continue the procedure with 4-step RA only.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANINDITA SEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478