DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment and argument filed 07/31/2026 in response to the non-final rejection, are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Any previous rejection or objection not mentioned herein is withdrawn.
Claims 1-6, 8, 11-33 are pending of which claims 5 and 17-24 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/08/2024.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 11-16 and 25-33 are being examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 11-16 and 25-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The applicant’s claims are too broad and there is no support of the different components being claimed. It cannot be expected that the applicant could possibly be in possession of such many components and such a wide range of combinations of components. The applicant has only demonstrated that they were in possession of a mere fraction of specific components. For instance, the applicant’s novelty and invention appears to be enhancing the solubility of certain specific components through the use of polymers: fish hydrolyzed collagen 3000 Da, hydrolyzed collagen 5000 Da, glycerol, dextrin, modified starch, with certain triterpenes: boswellic acids, extract of Boswellia, bacosdies, jujubogenin, extract of bacopa monieri serrata, asiaticoside, ursolic acid, rice protein and pumpkin seed protein (see instant examples, tables 1-4).
The very limited testing on triterpenes, triterpenoids and/or at least one in their glycosylated forms and mixtures thereof, does not give the applicant possession of the widely claimed components.
In analyzing whether the written description requirement is met for genus claims, it is first determined whether a representative number of species has been sufficiently described. In this case, only fish hydrolyzed collagen 3000 Da, hydrolyzed collagen 5000 Da, glycerol, dextrin, modified starch and certain triterpenes: boswellic acids, extract of Boswellia, bacosdies, jujubogenin, extract of bacopa monieri serrata, asiaticoside, ursolic acid and the proteins, rice protein and pumpkin seed protein have been described for the claimed proteins, polysaccharides, oligosaccharides, triterpenes, triterpenoids. This limited amount of testing using only a relatively small amount of each component is deemed insufficient to reasonably convey to one of skill in the art that applicant was in possession of all those claimed proteins, polysaccharides, oligosaccharides, triterpenes, triterpenoids etc. As discussed in MPEP section 2163:
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species… A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure “indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us].” See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Fed. Cir. 2004).
The description of such a small number of species for each of the genera being claimed is not considered to adequately describe the entire genera. Thus, it is concluded that the written description requirement is not satisfied for the claimed general.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 11-16 and 25-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for specific embodiments claimed, does not reasonably provide enablement for all tetracyclic and pentacyclic triterpene and/or triterpenoid as claimed in claim 1. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The applicant claims “A composition in the form of a thermoformed extrudate comprising at least one triterpene and/or at least one triterpenoid and/or at least one of the glycosylated forms thereof… and “said at least one triterpene and/or at least one triterpenoid and/or said at least one of the glycosylated forms thereof comprising at least one first amorphous phase and optionally one second crystalline phase, said at least one triterpene and/or at least one triterpenoid and/or at least one of the glycosylated forms thereof being tetracyclic or pentacyclic” and the applicant does not have support for the broad set of triterpenes and/or triterpenoids and their glycosylated forms as claimed. There are more than 20,000 triterpenes and pentacyclic make up the majority of those with tetracyclic coming directly behind that amount as can be appreciated from Q. Michaudel’s publication from Sigma-Aldrich 2013, included in the file wrapper.
The Applicant's attention is drawn to In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (CAFC1988) at 1404 where the court set forth eight factors to consider when assessing if a disclosure would have required undue experimentation. Citing Ex parte Forman, 230 USPQ 546 (BdApls 1986) at 547 the court recited eight factors:
(1) The nature of the invention; (2) the state of the prior art; (3) the relative skill of those in the art; (4) the predictability or unpredictability of the art; (5) the breadth of the claims; (6) the amount of direction or guidance presented; (7) the presence or absence of working examples; and (8) the quantity of experimentation necessary.
The nature of the invention is broad, and the state of the prior art does not lend support or evidence that all pentacyclic/tetracyclic triterpenes and triterpenoids would still be functional after being thermoformed and extruded. The applicant has a very limited amount of testing for the claimed components and it would not be expected that any and all pentacyclic/tetracyclic triterpenes and triterpenoids would be able to be thermoformed or extruded without possibly being degraded or made the proteins inviable or without function.
The breadth of the claims are broad in the sense the applicant is trying to claim any and all pentacyclic/tetracyclic triterpenes and triterpenoids and their glycosylated forms. The relative skill in the art is high and there would need to be many more working examples and/or experimentation needed to determine if these are compatible with the claimed invention.
Therefore, in view of the Wands factors, as discussed above, Applicants fail to provide sufficient information to practice the claimed invention for preventing and curing any of the claimed diseases.
It is noted by the examiner that this rejection previously brought up during prosecution was dropped, however after additional consideration the rejection is brought back for the above broadly claimed tetracyclic and pentacyclic triterpene and/or at least one triterpenoid and/or at least one of the glycosylated forms as the applicant’s claims are still too broad.
Claims 30-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 30 and 32 recite “20% by weight of at least one triterpene and/or at least one triterpenoid and/or at least one of the glycosylated forms thereof; 70% by weight of hydrolyzed collagens not having the ability to gel or native collagens; and 10% by weight of a plasticizer” and there does not appear to be support for this in the application as filed. Although the applicant does show support for 20% of bacosides, this is not the same as 20% by weight of at least one triterpene and/or at least one triterpenoid and/or at least one of the glycosylated forms. This is support for a specific triterpenoid, not any triterpenoid. Additionally, there does not appear to be support for the specific number of hydrolyzed collagens and plasticizers as claimed making the limitations new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 11-14, 16, 23-24, 30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brough et. al. (US20140039031A1). These rejections are maintained with slight modifications to take into the amendments filed on 07/31/2026.
Regarding claims 1-3, 6, 11, 24, Brough discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising an active pharmaceutical ingredient selected from the group consisting of acetyl-11-keto-β-boswellic acid, (instantly claimed triterpenes also known as 3-acetyl-11-keto- β-boswellic acid) diindolylmethane, and curcumin, and one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients (see claims 1, 11, 17) and Brough teaches wherein the excipient can be selected from a group of excipients and wherein one selection can be cyclodextrin, which is a known derivative of dextrin (see 065-066). Brough discloses that the composition is created through a hot melt extrusion process (see claim 13). Brough discloses that the active pharmaceutical ingredients (APIs) have an amorphous, crystalline, or intermediate morphology (see 0020, Fig. 7-8) and discloses that the composite made by the thermokinetic compounding (TKC) creates an amorphous composite (see 0019).
Brough discloses wherein the composition can be in a heterogeneous and amorphous (see 0050) and teaches wherein the amorphous is AKBA (Acetyl-11-keto-β-boswellic acid) while dispersing in a polymeric, nonpolymeric or combination excipient carrier (see 0102). Brough also teaches including one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients for enhanced solubility to increase bioavailability and improve therapeutic efficacy (see abstract).
Regarding claims 12, Brough discloses that the TKC may be conducted with a processing agent which can include a plasticizer and a lubricant (see 0019, 0050, 0070, 0109, claim 14).
Regarding claim 13, Brough discloses water, sucrose esters, diethylphthalate as a pharmaceutical excipient agent (see 0065, 0070) which would also act as the instantly claimed plasticizer.
Regarding claim 14, Brough discloses antioxidants in the composition (see curcumin in 0010 and see 0014).
Regarding claim 16, Brough teaches the composition to be in the form of pellets (see 0055), ointments (see 0063), powders (see 0112).
Brough teaches that “it is also understood that acetyl-11-keto-β-boswellic acid (AKBA) possesses potent anti-inflammatory properties by inhibiting 5-lipoxygenase, human leukocyte elastase and the nuclear factor κB pathway, without exerting the adverse effects known for steroids. For example, AKBA has been indicated in the treatment of peritumoral brain edema accompanying brain tumors. AKBA has been found to induce apoptosis in prostate cancer cells, as well as to potently inhibit prostate tumor growth through inhibition of angiogenesis. AKBA has also shown effectiveness against multiple myeloma, colon cancer, prostate cancer, meningioma, ileitis, nociception and atherosclerosis (see 0008).
Regarding claim 23, pertaining to wherein the use of the composition is for preventative or curative treatment to human and/or animals for certain pathologies, this limitation is an intended use of the claimed product and does not structurally or functionally change the composition. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the composition rendered obvious by the prior art would be structurally the same as the claimed composition. Therefore, the composition rendered obvious by the prior art would be capable of performing the claimed intended use if applicant’s invention functions as claimed.
Regarding claims 30 and 32, Brough teaches including AKBA at 25% by weight (see 0151). Brough teaches including the excipient (instantly claimed plasticizer) in formulations with the AKBA in ratios of 1:2 (see 0017) and this would equate to the amount being claimed.
Regarding claim 4, Brough does not specifically teach that triterpenoids to be between 51 and 100% by mass of an amorphous phase and between 0 and 49% by mass of a crystalline phase. It would have also been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art to optimize the active components such as the triterpenoids to be between 51 and 100% by mass of an amorphous phase and between 0 and 49% by mass of a crystalline phase, because Brough teaches in certain embodiments the active pharmaceutical ingredients to be as amorphous or as crystalline phases. An amorphous phase so broadly claimed can be granules or powders of heterogenous sizes which are typical in compositions in the art and Brough teaches methods of hot melt extrusion and melt granulation which ultimately implements these active ingredients into amorphous phase. So having 100% of the active ingredients (triterpenes) in an amorphous phase would have been obvious to persons skilled in the art. Additionally, Brough teaches the triterpenes to be in heterogenous and amorphous phase which when considered would be in amounts that differ from each other such as the instantly claimed range, which is prima facie obvious given Brough’s teachings.
Brough does not specifically teach that the composition exhibits a higher solubility and/or dispersion of said at least one triterpene and/or triterpenoid and/or glycosylated form thereof than the solubility and/or dispersion of said at least one triterpene and/or triterpenoid and/or glycosylated form thereof in isolation, however Brough indeed teaches including one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients for enhanced solubility to increase bioavailability and improve therapeutic efficacy. Please note, since the Office does not have the facilities for examining and comparing applicants’ composition with the composition of the prior art, the burden is on applicant to show a novel or unobvious difference between the claimed product and the product of the prior art. See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980), and “as a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith.” In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972).
It would have also been obvious to select cyclodextrin as the excipient from a list of excipients listed from Brough and to optimize to the instantly claimed amount as this is prima facie obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the instant invention because Brough teaches the same components and teaches enhanced solubilities for increasing bioavailability of the active ingredients.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Brough et. al. (US20140039031A1) as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 11-14, 16, 23-24, 30 and 32, and further in view of Reinisalo et. al. (Polyphenol Stilbenes: Molecular Mechanisms of Defense against Oxidative Stress Aging-Related Diseases, Oxidative Medicine and Cellular Longevity, Vol 2015, p 1-24). This is a new rejection based on the amendments filed on 07/31/2026.
Brough teaches the instantly claimed composition as discussed above, however is silent on wherein the composition further comprises stilbenes.
Reinisalo teaches “There is convincing data that stilbene compounds, a diverse group of natural defense phenolics, abundant in grapes, berries, and conifer bark waste, may confer a protective effect against aging-related diseases” (see abstract).
Reinisalo teaches “there is emerging in vitro and preclinical data to indicate that stilbene compounds are capable of suppressing oxidative stress, inflammation, and energy expenditure as well as modulating the secretion of neurotropic factors” (see conclusions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to persons having skill in the art to include stilbenes in the composition taught by Brough because these are a diverse group of phenolics which are known to suppress inflammation, oxidative stress and energy expenditure as discussed by Reinisalo. Brough teaches including components such as AKBA in the composition for having anti-inflammatory properties and so including stilbenes in Brough’s composition and expecting the composition to have enhanced anti-inflammatory properties with the addition of an additional ingredient known for reducing inflammation would have been prima facie obvious.
Claims 8 and 26-28 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brough et. al. (US20140039031A1) as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 11-14, 16, 23-24, 30 and 32 above, and further in view of Byung Soo, Chun (WO2015182859A1). This is a new rejection based on the amendments filed on 07/31/2026.
Brough teaches the instant invention however is silent on the proteins being fish collagen as instantly claimed.
Chun teaches “a method for obtaining low molecular weight collagen derived from fish, comprising the step of hydrothermally hydrolyzing a high molecular weight collagen powder extracted from at least one fish processing by-product selected from the group consisting of fish bones, shells and intestines” (see page 4, para. 6) and teaches that it is economically beneficial to use collagens recovered from fish waste (see page 6, para. 7).
Chun teaches “collagen is a biomaterial for tissue regeneration due to its excellent bio-compatibility, bio-degrability and anti-aging properties, and is widely used in industries such as food, cosmetics, biopharmaceuticals, and pharmaceuticals” (see page 6, para. 3).
Chun teaches wherein the molecular weight of the hydrolyzed fish collagen is about 3 kDa (see at least page 6, 2nd para.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art to use fish collagen which is hydrolyzed and not having the ability to gel because as Chun teaches it is economically beneficial to use hydrolyzed fish collagen for its many pharmaceutical and cosmetic effects. It would have also been obvious to optimize the molecular weight of the collagen to be 5000 Da as Chun teaches methods of hydrolyzing the collagen to low molecular weights through the use of high pressure and temperature and for creating collagens that can be absorbed through the skin. This optimization, given the prior art would have been one which any skilled artisan could do without any undue experimentation.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brough et. al. (US20140039031A1) as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 11-14, 16, 23-24, 30 and 32 above, and further in view of BlueCross BlueShield (https://www.fepblue.org/news/2019/05/20/13/12/5-health-benefits-of-collagen-supplements). This is a new rejection based on the amendments filed on 07/31/2026.
Brough teaches the instant invention, however, is silent on the use of non-hydrolyzed collagens.
BlueCross BlueShield’s web article teaches of 5 reasons to use collagen supplements for promoting healthy skin, relieving joint pain, fighting osteoporosis, supporting muscle health and improving heart health (see article).
Therefore it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to use non-hydrolyzed collagens because BlueCross BlueShield teaches of the many health benefits which comes from the application of collagens which are not discussed as being hydrolyzed.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brough et. al. (US20140039031A1) as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 11-14, 16, 23-24, 30 and 32 above, and further in view of Gary N. Nickel (US20090317513A1). This is a new rejection based on the amendments filed on 07/31/2026.
Brough teaches the instant invention, however, is silent on the use of acid-hydrolyzed amylopectin.
Gary teaches of methods for harvesting amylose host material comprising enzymatically treating starch after chemically modifying it (see abstract and claim 18). In this manner the starch is modified to a product that can be dried and then rehydrated to retain its meltable, thermoreversable characteristics (see 0002). Gary teaches wherein “acid hydrolysis is a very crude method of shortening the amylose chains. It is very temperature dependant and somewhat uncontrollable resulting in mixtures of varying chain lengths. Low pH environments also result in the dismantling or removal of the substituent acetyl groups thus removing the amylose stabilizing components. Without a predictable substituent construction the resulting gels will release gust material in a haphazard fashion. The use of a suitable enzyme, when combined with specific temperature thresholds to cleave bonds selectively, preserves these substituents, thereby resulting in a product of much more predictable uniformity and effectiveness. The host molecule can thus be engineered in this fashion to yield a material that can act as a host to hydrophobic materials at a much wider range of temperatures and concentrations and can be dried while retaining its hosting/emulsification capabilities” (see 0088).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use acid-hydrolyzed amylopectin along with suitable enzymes and temperature thresholds to selectively cleave bonds which would result in a product with much more predictability and uniformity when creating the product taught by Brough.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brough et. al. (US20140039031A1) as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 11-14, 16, 23-24, 30 and 32 above, and further in view of Caleb I. Heck et. al. (US20180077950A1). This is a new rejection based on the amendments filed on 07/31/2026.
Brough teaches the instant invention, however is silent on the composition comprising pea protein.
Heck teaches extruded protein compositions suitable for thermal processing and thermally processed protein compositions made from extruded protein composition (see abstract) and teaches examples of sources for plant derived proteins include legumes (e.g., soy, pea, pulses such as beans and lentils, and the like) (see 0033) and discusses wherein commercially available meat analogs are pea protein based (see 0055 or Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include pea protein in an extruded triterpene composition taught by Brough because Heck teaches there are commercially available forms of pea protein which can be incorporated for creating stable extruded protein food compositions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that Brough does not teach the instant composition comprising specifically of the instantly claimed Markush grouping of polymers because Brough does not demonstrate that such a composition, comprising acetyl-11-keto-beta-boswellic acid and a polymer of the closed Markush formulation of claim 1, exhibits a higher solubility and/or dispersion of acetyl-11-keto-beta-boswellic acid (AKBA) in isolation. Brough teaches of AKBA and of a dextrin and the composition to have enhanced solubility and to increase bioavailability and improve therapeutic efficacy, thus there is a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the instant invention. Please note, since the Office does not have the facilities for examining and comparing applicants’ composition with the composition of the prior art, the burden is on applicant to show a novel or unobvious difference between the claimed product and the product of the prior art. See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980), and “as a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith.” In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972). Brough does not necessarily need to give working examples for the art to be enabled as what is being argued. The applicant argues that Brough only demonstrates an enhanced solubility (Example 5, Figure 6) of formulations of acetyl-11-keto-(3-boswellic acid prepared by thermokinetic compounding with AQOAT-LF, AQOAT-MF, Soluplus, and/or L100-55 (Example 4, Table 3). AQOAT is hydroxypropyl methylcellulose acetate succinate (HPMCAS, Table 1), Soluplus is a polyvinyl caprolactam-polyvinyl acetate-polyethylene glycol graft copolymer manufactured by BASF ( [0069]), and L100-55 refers to Eudragit L100-55 ( [0069]), which is a methacrylic acid/ethyl acrylate (1:1) copolymer manufactured by Evonik. Just because Brough’s working examples are directed to other embodiments does not mean these are the only teachings of Brough. Brough can teach the instant invention, which is evident from the above rejection and still giving working examples of a broader or more narrow scope of embodiments.
The applicant argues that the remaining relied upon secondary pieces of art do not cure the deficiencies of Brough, however those argued deficiencies are not missing from Brough. The applicant argues that Reinisalo is completely silent on including a polymer of the closed Markush group. Brough already teaches the polymer and Reinisalo is relied upon for teaching the stilbenes component as the Office makes an obviousness type rejection and not an anticipatory one.
The applicant argues that Chun is completely silent on the ability of hydrolyzed fish collagen to improve the solubility of any active agent. Chun does not have to teach the same reason to include the hydrolyzed fish collagen as the applicant has done and one would indeed include the collagen as argued above for being economically beneficial, because the composition is already taught to have increased solubility of active components as taught by Brough.
The applicant argues that BlueCross BlueShield fails to teach including non-hydrolyzed collagen to improve the solubility of any active agent. BlueCross BlueShield does not have to teach the same reason to include the non-hydrolyzed collagen just as argued above.
The applicant argues that Nickel fails to teach including acid-hydrolyzed collagen to improve the solubility of any active agent. Nickel does not have to teach the same reason to include the acid-hydrolyzed collagen just as argued above.
Conclusion
Currently no claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JACOB A BOECKELMANExaminer, Art Unit 1655
/ANAND U DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1655