DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 5-11 are pending, and claims 1 and 5-6 are currently under review.
Claims 2-4 are cancelled.
Claims 7-11 are withdrawn.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/15/2025 has been entered. Claims 1 and 5-11 remain(s) pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talonen (US 2017/0268076).
Regarding claim 1, Talonen discloses an austenitic stainless steel having a composition as seen in table 1 below [abstract, 0009]. The examiner notes that the overlap between the composition of Talonen and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Talonen does not expressly teach compositional formulas (1) to (3) as claimed. However, the examiner notes that these formulas merely further limit the Mn, C, Cu, Cr, Ni, N, and Si amounts, which still overlaps with the disclosed ranges of Talonen. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Talonen further teaches a grain size of less than 5 micrometers which falls within the claimed range [claim10].
Talonen does not expressly teach a tensile strength and yield strength as claimed. However, the examiner submits that overlapping strength values would have naturally flowed from the prior art, which is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2112 & MPEP 2144.05(I). Specifically, one of ordinary skill would readily understand that mechanical properties (ie. strength) depend upon the microstructure and composition of the steel and as discussed above the steels of the instant application and Talonen have an identical microstructure and overlapping compositions, and so the examiner submits that overlapping mechanical properties, including yield and tensile strengths, would naturally flow from the steel of Talonen, which is prima facie obvious.
Alternatively, the instant specification discloses that the instantly claimed mechanical property ranges are achieved by controlling the alloy composition, cold annealing in the range of 800-1000°C, and cold reducing at >50% reduction ratio [000116-000117, instant spec]. Talonen discloses annealing at 700-1050°C with cold reduction of at least 50% [0010, Talonen]. Since Talonen discloses an overlapping steel composition and method of manufacture, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected mechanical properties overlapping with those as instantly claimed to naturally flow from Talonen. See MPEP 2112 & MPEP 2144.05(I).
Table 1.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 1 (wt.%)
Talonen (wt.%)
C
0.06 – 0.15
0 – 0.4
N
0 – 0.3
0.05 – 0.5
Si
1 – 2
0 – 3
Mn
5 – 7
3 – 20
Cr
15 – 16
10 – 30
Ni
0 – 0.3
0 – 4.5
Cu
0 – 2.5
0 – 3
Fe & Impurities
Balance
Balance
Regarding claims 5-6, Talonen discloses the steel of claim 1 (see previous). Talonen does not expressly teach an elongation as claimed. However, the examiner submits that overlapping elongation values would have naturally flowed from the prior art, which is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2112 & MPEP 2144.05(I). Specifically, one of ordinary skill would readily understand that mechanical properties (ie. elongation) depend upon the microstructure and composition of the steel and as discussed above the steels of the instant application and Talonen have an identical microstructure and overlapping compositions, and so the examiner submits that overlapping mechanical properties, including elongation, would naturally flow from the steel of Talonen, which is prima facie obvious.
Alternatively, the instant specification discloses that the instantly claimed mechanical property ranges are achieved by controlling the alloy composition, cold annealing in the range of 800-1000°C, and cold reducing at >50% reduction ratio [000116-000117, instant spec]. Talonen discloses annealing at 700-1050°C with cold reduction of at least 50% [0010, Talonen]. Since Talonen discloses an overlapping steel composition and method of manufacture, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected mechanical properties overlapping with those as instantly claimed to naturally flow from Talonen. See MPEP 2112 & MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim(s) 1 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leinonen (EP3878983).
Regarding claim 1, Leinonen discloses an austenitic stainless steel having a composition as seen in table 2 below [abstract, 0032-0033]. The examiner notes that the overlap between the composition of Leinonen and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Leinonen does not expressly teach compositional formulas (1) to (3) as claimed. However, the examiner notes that these formulas merely further limit the Mn, C, Cu, Cr, Ni, N, and Si amounts, which still overlaps with the disclosed ranges of Leinonen. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Leinonen et al. further teaches achieving a yield strength of at least 500 MPa and a tensile strength of at least 720 MPa, which also overlaps with the claimed ranges [0026-0027]. Leinonen further teaches a grain size of 0.5 to 5 micrometers, which falls within the claimed range [0025].
Table 2.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 1 (wt.%)
Leinonen (wt.%)
C
0.06 – 0.15
0 – 0.3
N
0 – 0.3
0 – 0.8
Si
1 – 2
0 – 3
Mn
5 – 7
0 – 21
Cr
15 – 16
15 – 28
Ni
0 – 0.3
0 – 26
Cu
0 – 2.5
0 – 4
Fe & Impurities
Balance
Balance
Regarding claims 5-6, Leinonen discloses the steel of claim 1 (see previous). Leinonen further teaches an elongation of at least 20 percent, which overlaps with the claimed ranges [0028]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Response to Arguments
The previous double patenting rejections have been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the instant application controls grain size and phase stabilization by different means relative to the cited prior art. In response, the examiner notes that the instant claims are directed to a steel product, wherein the cited prior art teaches all of the compositional and structural limitations of the claimed product. The specific means by which the claimed composition and structure is achieved is irrelevant to patentability. See MPEP 2113. Again, if applicant is arguing that the claimed formulas achieve critical and unexpected results over the prior art, the examiner cannot concur absent specific reasoning and/or evidence demonstrating said criticality and unexpected results, which applicant has not presented.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734