DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings filed 2/4/2022 are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2011-0080421 (herein referred to as “Sang”) in view of JP 2010-2585338 (herein referred to as “Yoshinari”) and Applicant’s admissions.
Sang teaches coverlays for a flexible printed board comprising an adhesive applied to one side of a base film (herein understood to read on the claimed “base substrate”) and then bonding a release film layer to said adhesive. The adhesive comprises (1) 100pbw of epoxy resin, (2) 10-70 pbw of an inorganic filler, and ; (3) 50-250 pbw of a thermoplastic resin composition (0008). The thermoplastic wherein the rubber component comprises a nitrile butadiene rubber (see abstract). The coverlay film is manufactured by applying an adhesive to one side of a base film (herein understood to read on the claimed base substrate) as in the case of a circuit board to make it a semi-cured state, and then bonding a release film layer (0079).
Sang teaches the inorganic filler may be elected from the group consisting of silica (aka.” silica dioxide”), aluminum hydroxide, and magnesium oxide (0036) or mixtures thereof but does not teach the claimed blending ratio. However, the courts have held it is prima facie obvious to combine two or more compositions, in nay relative amount, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose. T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize a blend of aluminum hydroxide, metal oxide, and silica dioxide in any relative amounts as the filler taught in Sang. The motivation for doing so would have been that the courts have recognized it is prima facie obvious to combine two or more compositions, in nay relative amount, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose. The examiner takes the position that the genus “metal oxide” is sufficiently small that the skilled artisan could “at once envisage” the use of magnesium oxide.
Sang does not teach the composition should further comprise an acrylic rubber. However, Yoshinari teaches a coverlay film for a flexible wiring board wherein the adhesive layer comprise an epoxy resin, a synthetic rubber, and an inorganic filler Said reference teaches the epoxy resin should comprise rubbers such as acrylic rubber, acrylonitrile butadiene rubber, and mixtures thereof. The courts have held it is prima facie obvious to combine two or more compositions, in nay relative amount, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose. T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize a blend of acrylonitrile rubber and acrylic rubber in any relative amounts as the thermoplastic resin taught in Sang. The motivation for doing so would have been that the courts have recognized it is prima facie obvious to combine two or more compositions, in nay relative amount, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.
Said references fails to teach the claimed surface protection film disposed on the opposite surface of the base substrate. However, applicant acknowledges that protection films are known in the art (0107). A prior art search supports the conclusion said protective films are known in the art (e.g. US2017/0064838; KR2017-0084672; JP2019-102501). Thus, it would have been obvious to apply a surface protection film to the base substrate on the surface opposite the adhesive as applicant admits such protection films are known in the art.
With regards to claim 6, the examiner takes the position that a chemical composition which is identical to the claimed invention will necessarily possess the same physical properties.
With regards to claim 12, Sang teaches the coverlay film may be applied to a printed circuit board body.
With regards to claim 16, Mitsui describes that an epoxy resin containing 2 epoxy groups in the 1 molecules, and the epoxy equivalent is within the range of the 200-100g/eq.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/KEVIN R KRUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787