DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of a certified copy of JP 2020-165903 filed September 30, 2020 as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Receipt is also acknowledged of WO 2022/070499, a copy of the WIPO publication of PCT/JP 2021/018300 filed May 13, 2021.
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Remarks and Claim Amendments filed June 2, 2026.
Filing Date
June 2, 2026
Amended
1, 6
Cancelled
2-4
Pending
1, 5-13
The applicant argues amended claims 1 and 6 have a minimum “b” value of 0.001 as supported by [0041] (p. 4 para. 1).
Response to Remarks filed June 2, 2026
Katsuto
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks p. 5, filed June 2, 2026, with respect to Katsuto have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of Katsuto has been withdrawn.
The applicant persuasively argues b is 0.001 or more for improving corrosion resistance as evidenced by the higher corrosion potential and lower corrosion current density for samples with 0.001≤b≤0.070 (applicant’s [0041], Tables 3A to 3B) (p. 5 para. 3), whereas Katsuto does not disclose P (p. 5 para. 4).
New Grounds
In light of claim amendment a new grounds of rejection is made over Katsuto in view of Zhou.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-8, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsuto (JP S58-225613 including machine translation) in view of Zhou (CN 101840764 machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Katsuto discloses a soft magnetic alloy with a composition that falls within the scope of that claimed ((CoxFe1-x)75Mn0.5Si10B14.5 where x = 0.4) (p. 60 col. 2 para. 2, Fig. 1).
Variable
Range
Katsuto
a
0.020 to 0.200
0.145
b
0 to 0.070
(0 to 0.050)
0
c
0 to 0.100
0.10
d
0 to 0.050
0
e
0 to 0.040
(0.001 to 0.020)
0
f
0.002 to 2.800 at%
0.5
alpha
0.150 to 0.500
0.4
beta
0 to 0.200
(0.001 to 0.050)
0
gamma
0 to < 0.030
(>0 to < 0.030)
0
1-(a+b+c+d+e)
0.720 to 0.900
(0.780 to 0.890)
0.75
f/alpha(1-gamma)(1-(a+b+c+d+e))
0.050 to 8.0
0.94
Katsuto is silent to P, b, of 0.001 to 0.070.
Zhou discloses a soft magnetic alloy ([0002], [0016]) with 0.002 to 5 at% P (0.00002 to 0.05 atomic ratio) ([0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the soft magnetic alloy of Katsuto to include 0.002 to 5 at% P to enhance amorphous formation and inhibit crystallization without decreasing the saturation magnetic induction (Zhou [0034]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 6, Katsuto in view of Zhou discloses 0.001 ≤ b ≤ 0.050 is satisfied (0.002 to 5 at%, 0.00002 to 0.05) (Zhou [0034]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 7, the (CoxFe1-x)75Mn0.5Si10B14.5, x = 0.4 example of Katsuto (p. 60 col. 2 para. 2, Fig. 1) is silent to 0.780 ≤ 1-(a+b+c+d+e) ≤ 0.890.
Katsuto discloses M is selected from Co, Fe, and Ni and is 50 to 95 (0.50 to 0.95) (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the example of Katsuto to vary the Co and Fe content from 0.50 to 0.95 because this is within the scope of the inventive alloy composition of Katsuto (Abstract), which has reduced variation in squareness resulting from non-uniformity of internal stresses and excellent squareness (Katsuto Abstract, machine translation p. 1 para. 1). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 8, the (CoxFe1-x)75Mn0.5Si10B14.5, x = 0.4 example of Katsuto (p. 60 col. 2 para. 2, Fig. 1) is silent to 0.001 ≤ β ≤ 0.050.
Katsuto discloses M is selected from Co, Fe, and Ni (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the example of Katsuto to include Ni with the Co and Fe because this is within the scope of the inventive alloy composition of Katsuto (Abstract), which has reduced variation in squareness resulting from non-uniformity of internal stresses and excellent squareness (Katsuto Abstract, machine translation p. 1 para. 1). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 10, Katsuto discloses an amorphous alloy (Abstract) inventive composition (machine translation p. 1), which reads on a more than 50% amorphous ratio X. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 13, Katsuto discloses a magnetic component (core) made of the soft magnet alloy according to claim 1 (Abstract, p. 60 col. 2 para. 2, Fig. 1, machine translation).
Claims 5, 8, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsuto (JP S58-225613 including machine translation) in view of Zhou (CN 101840764 machine translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoshizawa (US 2010/0040503).
Regarding claim 5, the (CoxFe1-x)75Mn0.5Si10B14.5, x = 0.4 example of Katsuto (p. 60 col. 2 para. 2, Fig. 1) is silent to 0.001 ≤ e ≤ 0.020.
Yoshizawa discloses a soft magnetic alloy ([0001]) with Cr of less than 1 atomic% (less than 0.01) ([0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the example composition of Katsuto to include less than 1 at% of Cr to help fine crystal grains grow and contribute to improvement in soft magnetic properties (Yoshizawa [0020]). Therefore, α(1-γ){1-(a+b+c+d+e)} x e x 10000, is less than 30, (0.4(1-0)(0.75)*0.01*10000, where minimum b of 0.002 at% does not change the upper limit) (Zhou [0034]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 8, the (CoxFe1-x)75Mn0.5Si10B14.5, x = 0.4 example of Katsuto (p. 60 col. 2 para. 2, Fig. 1) is silent to 0.001 ≤ β ≤ 0.050.
Yoshizawa discloses a soft magnetic alloy ([0001]) with less than 2 at% Ni relative to the amount of Fe ([0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the example composition of Katsuto to include less than 2 at% Ni relative to the amount of Fe to control induced magnetic anisotropy and improve corrosion resistance (Yoshizawa [0019]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 9, the (CoxFe1-x)75Mn0.5Si10B14.5, x = 0.4 example of Katsuto (p. 60 col. 2 para. 2, Fig. 1) is silent to 0 < γ < 0.030.
Yoshizawa discloses a soft magnetic alloy ([0001]) with at least one of Ti, Zr, Hf, V, Nb, Ta, Mo, W, Re, Au, Ag, Zn, In, Sn, As, Sb, Bi, Y, N, O, and rare earth elements of less than 1 atomic% (less than 0.01) ([0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the example composition of Katsuto to include less than 1 at% of at least one of Ti, Zr, Hf, V, Nb, Ta, Mo, W, Re, Au, Ag, Zn, In, Sn, As, Sb, Bi, Y, N, O, and rare earth elements to help fine crystal grains grow and contribute to improvement in soft magnetic properties (Yoshizawa [0020]). Therefore, γ is less than 0.01. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 11, Katsuto discloses a thin plate (Abstract, machine translation p. 1).
Katsuto is silent to the alloy being in a form of powder.
Yoshizawa discloses a soft magnetic alloy ([0001]) that is a thin film (plate) or powder ([0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the example composition of Katsuto to be a powder because it is capable of giving excellent characteristics and it is an art recognized equivalent of a ribbon (Yoshizawa [0030]). It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents known for the same purpose. MPEP 2144.06(II).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsuto (JP S58-225613 including machine translation), Zhou (CN 101840764 machine translation), and Yoshizawa (US 2010/0040503) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Inoue (JP 2010-212442).
Regarding claim 12, Katsuto in view of Zhou and Yoshizawa is silent to the average Wadell’s circularity of the powder.
Inoue discloses amorphous soft magnetic powder ([0001]) with a Wadell’s sphericity preferably 0.90 or more ([0022]-[0025], [0048]-[0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the powder of Katsuto in view of Yoshizawa with a Wadell’s sphericity (circularity) of 0.90 or more to advantageously reduce the number of contacts between powder particles, enabling higher packing density during compaction, resulting in higher green density and magnetic permeability (Inoue [0023]) and enabling production by low pressure molding (Inoue [0024]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Related Art
Blazquez (Blazquez et al. Influence of Mn and Cu addition on the hyperfine parameters of amorphous and nanocrystalline FeCoNbB alloys. Journal of Alloys and Compounds 370 (2004) 36-42.)
Blazquez discloses an amorphous ribbon with a composition of Fe37Co39Mn2Nb6B16 (2. Experimental, x=2, y=0).
Ishida (JP H01-119642 machine translation)
Ishida discloses a soft magnetic material with 25-65 wt% Co, 0.005-1.0 wt% B, 0.05-5.0 wt% Mn, and balance of Fe (Abstract, pp. 1-2, Table 1).
Zhou ‘812 (CN 101935812 machine translation)
Zhou ‘812 discloses an iron-based amorphous soft magnetic alloy ([0002], [0014]) including 0.002 to 8 at% P to reduce the saturation magnetic induction without dropping it very low and to also improve the amorphous forming ability of the alloy ([0052]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/STEPHANI HILL/Examiner, Art Unit 1735