DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of a certified copy of JP 2020-165903 filed September 30, 2020 as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Receipt is also acknowledged of WO 2022/070499, a copy of the WIPO publication of PCT/JP 2021/018300 filed May 13, 2021.
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Remarks and Claim Amendments filed October 1, 2025.
Filing Date
October 1, 2025
Amended
1
Cancelled
2-4
Pending
1, 5-13
The applicant argues claim 1 has been amended to incorporate the subject matter of claim 4 as supported by [0006] (Remarks p. 4 para. 1).
Response to Remarks filed October 1, 2025
Yoshizawa
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks p. 5 paras. 2-3, filed October 1, 2025, with respect to Yoshizawa have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection over Yoshizawa’s composition No. 13 has been withdrawn.
The applicant persuasively argues Cu has been removed from the X1 Markush group, such that Cu is an “other element” and limited to 0.1 mass% or less and the FebalCo14Cu1.35B14Si1.5Mn0.5 composition of Yoshizawa No. 13 does not satisfy this amended claim (Remarks p. 5 paras. 2-3).
David
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks p. 4 para. 4, filed October 1, 2025, with respect to David have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection over David’s Table 1 Symbol B3 composition has been withdrawn.
The applicant persuasively argues the pending claims contain the limitation of previous claim 4, which was not rejected over David, such that the rejection over David is requested to be withdrawn (Remarks p. 4 para. 4).
For the Table 1 Symbol B3 composition of David, f/α(1-γ){1-(a+b+c+d+e)} is 8.7, 2.6/0.23(1-0)(0.77).
New Grounds
In light of claim amendment a new grounds of rejection is made of Katsuto
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Katsuto (JP S58-225613 including machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Katsuto discloses a soft magnetic alloy with a composition that falls within the scope of that claimed ((CoxFe1-x)75Mn0.5Si10B14.5 where x = 0.4) (p. 60 col. 2 para. 2, Fig. 1).
Variable
Range
Katsuto
a
0.020 to 0.200
0.145
b
0 to 0.070
(0 to 0.050)
0
c
0 to 0.100
0.10
d
0 to 0.050
0
e
0 to 0.040
(0.001 to 0.020)
0
f
0.002 to 2.800 at%
0.5
alpha
0.150 to 0.500
0.4
beta
0 to 0.200
(0.001 to 0.050)
0
gamma
0 to < 0.030
(>0 to < 0.030)
0
1-(a+b+c+d+e)
0.720 to 0.900
(0.780 to 0.890)
0.75
f/alpha(1-gamma)(1-(a+b+c+d+e))
0.050 to 8.0
0.94
Regarding claim 6, Katsuto discloses 0 ≤ b ≤ 0.050 is satisfied (b is 0 for (CoxFe1-x)75Mn0.5Si10B14.5 where x = 0.4) (p. 60 col. 2 para. 2, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Katsuto discloses a magnetic component (core) made of the soft magnet alloy according to claim 1 (Abstract, p. 60 col. 2 para. 2, Fig. 1, machine translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsuto (JP S58-225613 including machine translation).
Regarding claim 7, the (CoxFe1-x)75Mn0.5Si10B14.5, x = 0.4 example of Katsuto (p. 60 col. 2 para. 2, Fig. 1) is silent to 0.780 ≤ 1-(a+b+c+d+e) ≤ 0.890.
Katsuto discloses M is selected from Co, Fe, and Ni and is 50 to 95 (0.50 to 0.95) (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the example of Katsuto to vary the Co and Fe content from 0.50 to 0.95 because this is within the scope of the inventive alloy composition of Katsuto (Abstract), which has reduced variation in squareness resulting from non-uniformity of internal stresses and excellent squareness (Katsuto Abstract, machine translation p. 1 para. 1). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 8, the (CoxFe1-x)75Mn0.5Si10B14.5, x = 0.4 example of Katsuto (p. 60 col. 2 para. 2, Fig. 1) is silent to 0.001 ≤ β ≤ 0.050.
Katsuto discloses M is selected from Co, Fe, and Ni (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the example of Katsuto to include Ni with the Co and Fe because this is within the scope of the inventive alloy composition of Katsuto (Abstract), which has reduced variation in squareness resulting from non-uniformity of internal stresses and excellent squareness (Katsuto Abstract, machine translation p. 1 para. 1). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 10, Katsuto discloses an amorphous alloy (Abstract) inventive composition (machine translation p. 1), which reads on a more than 50% amorphous ratio X. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claims 5, 8, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsuto (JP S58-225613 including machine translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoshizawa (US 2010/0040503).
Regarding claim 5, the (CoxFe1-x)75Mn0.5Si10B14.5, x = 0.4 example of Katsuto (p. 60 col. 2 para. 2, Fig. 1) is silent to 0.001 ≤ e ≤ 0.020.
Yoshizawa discloses a soft magnetic alloy ([0001]) with Cr of less than 1 atomic% (less than 0.01) ([0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the example composition of Katsuto to include less than 1 at% of Cr to help fine crystal grains grow and contribute to improvement in soft magnetic properties (Yoshizawa [0020]). Therefore, α(1-γ){1-(a+b+c+d+e)} x e x 10000, is less than 30, (0.4(1-0)(0.75)*0.01*10000). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 8, the (CoxFe1-x)75Mn0.5Si10B14.5, x = 0.4 example of Katsuto (p. 60 col. 2 para. 2, Fig. 1) is silent to 0.001 ≤ β ≤ 0.050.
Yoshizawa discloses a soft magnetic alloy ([0001]) with less than 2 at% Ni relative to the amount of Fe ([0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the example composition of Katsuto to include less than 2 at% Ni relative to the amount of Fe to control induced magnetic anisotropy and improve corrosion resistance (Yoshizawa [0019]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 9, the (CoxFe1-x)75Mn0.5Si10B14.5, x = 0.4 example of Katsuto (p. 60 col. 2 para. 2, Fig. 1) is silent to 0 < γ < 0.030.
Yoshizawa discloses a soft magnetic alloy ([0001]) with at least one of Ti, Zr, Hf, V, Nb, Ta, Mo, W, Re, Au, Ag, Zn, In, Sn, As, Sb, Bi, Y, N, O, and rare earth elements of less than 1 atomic% (less than 0.01) ([0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the example composition of Katsuto to include less than 1 at% of at least one of Ti, Zr, Hf, V, Nb, Ta, Mo, W, Re, Au, Ag, Zn, In, Sn, As, Sb, Bi, Y, N, O, and rare earth elements to help fine crystal grains grow and contribute to improvement in soft magnetic properties (Yoshizawa [0020]). Therefore, γ is less than 0.01. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 11, Katsuto discloses a thin plate (Abstract, machine translation p. 1).
Katsuto is silent to the alloy being in a form of powder.
Yoshizawa discloses a soft magnetic alloy ([0001]) that is a thin film (plate) or powder ([0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the example composition of Katsuto to be a powder because it is capable of giving excellent characteristics and it is an art recognized equivalent of a ribbon (Yoshizawa [0030]). It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents known for the same purpose. MPEP 2144.06(II).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsuto (JP S58-225613 including machine translation) and Yoshizawa (US 2010/0040503) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Inoue (JP 2010-212442).
Regarding claim 12, Katsuto in view of Yoshizawa is silent to the average Wadell’s circularity of the powder.
Inoue discloses amorphous soft magnetic powder ([0001]) with a Wadell’s sphericity preferably 0.90 or more ([0022]-[0025], [0048]-[0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the powder of Katsuto in view of Yoshizawa with a Wadell’s sphericity (circularity) of 0.90 or more to advantageously reduce the number of contacts between powder particles, enabling higher packing density during compaction, resulting in higher green density and magnetic permeability (Inoue [0023]) and enabling production by low pressure molding (Inoue [0024]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Related Art
Blazquez (Blazquez et al. Influence of Mn and Cu addition on the hyperfine parameters of amorphous and nanocrystalline FeCoNbB alloys. Journal of Alloys and Compounds 370 (2004) 36-42.)
Blazquez discloses an amorphous ribbon with a composition of Fe37Co39Mn2Nb6B16 (2. Experimental, x=2, y=0).
Ishida (JP H01-119642 machine translation)
Ishida discloses a soft magnetic material with 25-65 wt% Co, 0.005-1.0 wt% B, 0.05-5.0 wt% Mn, and balance of Fe (Abstract, pp. 1-2, Table 1).
Contact Information
/STEPHANI HILL/Examiner, Art Unit 1735