DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the response filed 07/22/2026, the claims were amended.
These amendments are hereby entered.
In light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of claim 8 as failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention, and the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 of claims 1-5 and 8 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2016/0013430 A1), and of claim 10 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2015/0364694 A1), are withdrawn by the Office.
Claims 1-10 were originally filed.
Claims 6-7 and 9 are canceled.
Claims 1 and 8 are instantly amended.
Claims 1-5, 8, and 10 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichihashi et al. (WO 2015/182547 A1, using the provided translation for references), as evidenced by Enomoto et al. (Enomoto, R.; Hoshi, M.; Oyama, H.; Agata, H.; Kurokawa, S.; Kuma, H.; Uekusa, H.; Murakami, Y., 2021, van der Waals solid solution crystals for highly efficiency in-air photon upconversion under subsolar irradiance, Mater, Horiz. 8, 3449).
With respect to claim 1, Ichihashi discloses an organic electroluminescent device (Example 1, paragraph 0206) comprising an anode (ITO), a hole transport area (HAT-CN/HT-1), an emissive layer (H-1/D-1), an organic functional layer (electron transport layer, Compound 15, paragraph 0208), an electron transport area (an electron injection layer, LiF), and a cathode (Al) (paragraphs 0206-0207).
The compound of the organic functional layer (Compound 15) and the compound of the emission layer (H-1) are pictured below to facilitate discussion.
Compound 15 is derived from Ichihashi formula (8) (paragraph 0080) when HAr is a terpyridinyl group. Ichihashi also teaches that HAr is represented by a group of [Chemical 8] (paragraph 0084), such as the substituted triazine below (paragraph 0087).
Examiner is interpreting the combination of emissive host H-1 in a light emitting layer and modified compound 15 in an adjacent layer to meet the requirements of the instant claim. Support for this interpretation comes from the use of the above modified compound 15 as a preferred embodiment of the claimed invention, as given in compound 16 on page 46 of the specification dated 04/07/2025. Support for the use of host compound H-1 comes from Enomoto who provides the evidence that compound H-1 (9-(2-naphthyl)-10-[4-(1-naphthyl)phenyl]anthracene, ANNP) has a refractive index of 1.81 (see page 5 of the provided Electronic Supplementary Information). Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties, and it has been held that when the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (See MPEP 2112.01(II)), and the compounds of Ichihashi reads on the claims.
Ichihashi is silent to the refractive index and HOMO energy level of the compounds. However, these properties are considered to be properties of the composition. Support for this presumption comes from the use of like materials and like processes when the compound is used as a material of the electron transport layer of an electroluminescent device, which would result in the claimed properties described in the instant claims. Therefore, the claims are considered to be obvious over Ichihashi, and the burden shifts to applicant to show that there is an unobvious difference between the claimed composition and the composition in the prior art. See MPEP 2112 (V). In addition, the presently claimed properties are considered to be present once the work of Ichihashi was first provided. See MPEP 2112.01 (II).
Ichihashi includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Ichihashi being a lack of the aforementioned triazine combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known electron withdrawing substituent from the finite list of possible substituents to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a compound with high carrier mobility and high electron acceptability, which can be incorporated into a layer with improved sublimation property, vapor deposition stability, film stability and high glass transition temperature and decreased crystallinity, and a light emitting element that can be driven at low voltage with high light-emitting efficiency (paragraph 0068), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 2, Ichihashi teaches the device of claim 1 and the organic function layer is in direct contact with the emissive layer, as discussed above.
Examiner is interpreting the combination of emissive host H-1 and modified compound 15 to produce a composition that meets the difference in refractive indices requirement of the instant claim. Support for this interpretation comes from the use of the above modified compound 15 as a preferred embodiment of the claimed invention, as given in compound 16 on page 46 of the specification dated 04/07/2025. Support for the use of host compound H-1 comes from Enomoto who provides the evidence that compound H-1 (9-(2-naphthyl)-10-[4-(1-naphthyl)phenyl]anthracene, ANNP) has a refractive index of 1.81 (see page 5 of the provided Electronic Supplementary Information). Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties, and it has been held that when the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (See MPEP 2112.01(II)), and the compounds of Ichihashi reads on the claims.
Ichihashi is silent to the refractive indices of the compounds. However, this property is considered to be a property of the composition. Support for this presumption comes from the use of like materials and like processes when the compounds are used in the emissive and electron transport layers of an electroluminescent device, which would result in the property described in the instant claims. Therefore, the claims are considered to be obvious over Ichihashi, and the burden shifts to applicant to show that there is an unobvious difference between the claimed composition and the composition in the prior art. See MPEP 2112 (V). In addition, the presently claimed properties are considered to be present once the work of Ichihashi was first provided. See MPEP 2112.01 (II).
With respect to claims 3 and 4, Ichihashi teaches the device of claim 1, and Ichihashi also teaches that the emissive layer is a blue emissive layer (see column 4 of Table 1), which comprises the fluorescent blue dopant D-1 (see column 3 of Table 1).
Examiner is interpreting modified compound 15 to meet the refractive index requirement of the instant claim. Support for this interpretation comes from the use of the above modified compound 15 as a preferred embodiment of the claimed invention, as given in compound 16 on page 46 of the specification dated 04/07/2025. Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties, and it has been held that when the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (See MPEP 2112.01(II)), and the compound of Ichihashi reads on the claims.
Ichihashi is silent to the refractive index of the compounds described. However, this property is considered to be a property of the composition. Support for this presumption comes from the use of like materials and like processes when the compounds are used in an electron transport layer of an electroluminescent device, which would result in the property described in the instant claims. Therefore, the claim is considered to be obvious over Ichihashi, and the burden shifts to applicant to show that there is an unobvious difference between the claimed composition and the composition in the prior art. See MPEP 2112 (V). In addition, the presently claimed properties are considered to be present once the work of Ichihashi was first provided. See MPEP 2112.01 (II).
With respect to claim 5, Ichihashi teaches the device of claim 1, as discussed above.
Examiner is interpreting modified compound 15 to meet the HOMO energy level requirement of the instant claim. Support for this interpretation comes from the use of the above modified compound 15 as a preferred embodiment of the claimed invention, as given in compound 16 on page 46 of the specification dated 04/07/2025. Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties, and it has been held that when the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (See MPEP 2112.01(II)), and the compound of Ichihashi reads on the claims.
Ichihashi is silent to the HOMO energy level of the described compounds. However, this property is considered to be a property of the composition. Support for this presumption comes from the use of like materials and like processes when the compounds are used in an electron transport layer of an electroluminescent device, which would result in the property described in the instant claims. Therefore, the claim is considered to be obvious over Ichihashi, and the burden shifts to applicant to show that there is an unobvious difference between the claimed composition and the composition in the prior art. See MPEP 2112 (V). In addition, the presently claimed properties are considered to be present once the work of Ichihashi was first provided. See MPEP 2112.01 (II).
With respect to claim 8, Ichihashi teaches the device of claim 1, as discussed above.
Examiner is interpreting modified compound 15 to meet the electron absorptivity relationship requirement of the instant claim. Support for this interpretation comes from the use of the above modified compound 15 as a preferred embodiment of the claimed invention, as given in compound 16 on page 46 of the specification dated 04/07/2025. Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties, and it has been held that when the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (See MPEP 2112.01(II)), and the compound of Ichihashi reads on the claims.
Ichihashi is silent to the electron absorptivity of the electron withdrawing group and the fluoranthrene group of the described compounds. However, this property is considered to be a property of the composition. Support for this presumption comes from the use of like materials and like processes when the compounds are used in an electron transport layer of an electroluminescent device, which would result in the property described in the instant claims. Therefore, the claim is considered to be obvious over Ichihashi, and the burden shifts to applicant to show that there is an unobvious difference between the claimed composition and the composition in the prior art. See MPEP 2112 (V). In addition, the presently claimed properties are considered to be present once the work of Ichihashi was first provided. See MPEP 2112.01 (II).
With respect to claim 10, Ichihashi teaches the device of claim 1, and Ichihashi also teaches that the electron transport layer may be a single layer or a plurality of layers which may be in contact with the cathode of the light emitting layer (paragraph 0142, lines 1-3) and may include an electron injection layer (paragraph 0158).
In this respect, Ichihashi teaches one or more electron transport layer (an auxiliary electron transport layer and an electron transport layer), and an electron injection layer.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the fluoranthrene compound in one or both electron transport layers of a multilayered electron transport area in a device with the claimed structure with a reasonable expectation of achieving a layer with improved sublimation property, vapor deposition stability, film stability and high glass transition temperature and decreased crystallinity, and a light emitting element that can be driven at low voltage with high light-emitting efficiency (paragraph 0068), as taught by Ichihashi.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHEL SIMBANA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786