DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s claim amendments filed 7/28/2025 have been entered. Applicant has amended claim 9 to overcome the 112(a) rejection, therefore it is withdrawn. Applicant has canceled claim 11, leaving claims 9-10 and 12 for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terada, K. US20100240813 over Bremner et al “Melt Flow Index Values and Molecular Weight Distributions of Commercial Thermoplastics,” Journal of Applied Science.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Terada teaches an aromatic vinyl-unsaturated dicarboximide copolymer (B) that comprises 40-68 wt.% of an aromatic vinyl compound, 32-60 wt.% of an unsaturated dicarboximide, and 0-20 wt.% of a copolymerizable vinyl compound, ¶[0017]. The unsaturated dicarboximide includes maleimide derivatives such as maleimide and N-phenylmaleimide, ¶[0073]. The co-polymerizable vinyl compound includes unsaturated dicarboxylic anhydrides, such as maleic anhydride, and cyanided vinyl compounds, such as acrylonitrile, ¶¶[0077-0079]. These weight percents of the monomer compounds overlap with the claimed weight percents of instant claim 10, rendering them obvious.
Terada does not have an embodiment where the unsaturated dicarboxylic anhydride (maleic anhydride) and the cyanided vinyl (acrylonitrile) are added to copolymer B simultaneously, but Terada suggests the aromatic vinyl-unsaturated dicarboximide copolymer (B) may be one or a mixture of a combination of two or more, ¶[0090]. Terada specifically lists styrene/N-phenylmaleimide/maleic anhydride copolymers and styrene/N-phenylmaleimide/acrylonitrile copolymers ¶[0083]. It would be obvious to the skilled artisan to utilize both acrylonitrile and maleic anhydride as the co-polymerizable vinyl compounds for copolymer B because Terada teaches acrylonitrile is preferable from the viewpoint of transparency, ¶[0079], and that maleic anhydride is preferable from the viewpoint of the control of the degree of polymerization, ¶0078]. The skilled artisan would look to the examples for the amount of maleic anhydride to add, and see that 1 wt.% is used, which is between the claimed range, rendering it obvious.
Terada further teaches the glass transition temperature of copolymer B is 165°C to 250°C, ¶[0092], and the weight average molecular weight of copolymer B is 70,000-250,000 g/mol, ¶[0036], both of which overlap with the claimed range, rendering them obvious.
Terada is silent as to what the melt flow rate is for the copolymer (B).
But Terada teaches the same monomers as applicant, in overlapping weight percents and overlapping molecular weights, as explained above, applicant shows on pages 41-42 of the instant specification that all of the copolymers (comprising the same monomers as taught by Terada) with molecular weights between the claimed 50,000-100,000 g/mol have an MFR between the claimed range. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested, when tested appropriately, the copolymers of Terada that have a Mw that overlaps with the claimed range must have an MFR within the claimed range because every one of applicant’s examples which have similar molecular weights have the claimed MFR.
If it is found that what is taught above is insufficient, Bremner et al discloses that for various polyolefin polymers, which copolymer B has significant portions of, it is well known in the art that the weight average molecular weight (Mw) has an inverse relationship to melt flow rate MFR or melt flow index MFI.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make Terada’s copolymer B and control/ lower the Mw, as claimed, to increase the melt flow rate because increasing the melt flow rate will improve the ease of handling/ processing the polymer to form the final product.
Regarding claim 12, Terada does not explicitly disclose the residual maleimide monomer, and is presumed absent. Because the copolymer is presumed to have 0 ppm residual maleimide, this satisfies the limitation because it is less than 300 ppm.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terada, K. US20100240813 over Bremner et al “Melt Flow Index Values and Molecular Weight Distributions of Commercial Thermoplastics,” Journal of Applied Science and further in view of Shikisai US6599978B1.
Regarding claim 12, Terada modified by Bremner teaches the invention according to claim 9 as explained above. Terada is silent as to the residual maleimide monomer content.
Shikisai discloses maleimide and/or unsaturated acid anhydride-based copolymers that are excellent in heat resistance, transparency, mechanical strength, moldability, and unlikely to degrade thermally, Col. 1 lines 5-20. The disclosed process results in unreacted maleimide monomer in an amount of 200 ppm or less, abstract. Shikisai further discloses that keeping the residual monomer to a minimum prevents discoloration, or pollution, of the molded product, Col. 2 lines 1-15.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have practiced the process of modified Terada but kept the residual maleimide monomer at a minimum, less than 200 ppm, with the motivation of obtaining a process with lower emitted pollution and discoloration of the molded product, as taught by Shikisai.
Conclusion
/V.L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1766
/RANDY P GULAKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1766